New for 2016: Acura

For 2016, Honda Motor Company’s upscale Acura brand has spiced up its lineup with a modified RDX compact premium SUV, last redesigned in 2013, which features an exterior refresh and performance modifications. In addition, there have been a few tweaks to the TLX compact premium car, which was redone for 2015. The ILX compact premium car, last redesigned in 2013, has a fresher look as well and a new powertrain. Most of the changes for 2016 to Acura’s lineup are a host of optional and standard advanced safety and driver-assistance features and fine-tuning to powertrains, plus refreshes in exterior design.

Acura has also unveiled the production version of its next-generation 2017 NSX supercar. The aerodynamic 2-seater, which is Acura’s “halo” car, will hit showrooms in the spring of 2016.

Following is an overview of new or updated features for each 2016 Acura model:

  • Freshened exterior styling with redone front and rear fascias, new grille, LED headlights, and 17-in. aluminum alloy wheels
  • New 2.4-liter 4-cylinder engine that produces 201 horsepower and 180 lb.-ft. of torque mated with 8-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission
  • Luxury refinements in cabin with dual monitor infotainment display
  • Standard features include Bluetooth, dual-zone auto climate control, heated front seats, rearview camera, USB port, connectivity, 5-in. display screen, and a 6-speaker audio system
  • Expanded trim levels: standard ILX, ILX with Premium package, and ILX with Tech Plus package
  • New optional A Spec package adds sporty side sill accents; spoiler; front fog lights; new 18-in.,10-spoke alloys; plus unique interior accents
  • More advanced safety features available including AcuraWatch suite of safety and driver-assistance technologies

  • No major revisions to Acura’s best-selling midsize premium SUV
  • Powertrain now features 9-speed automatic dual-clutch system with push-button electronic gear selector
  • AcuraWatch suite of advanced safety and driver-assistance systems is optional on base and Technology package trim levels and included on Advanced package

  • Mini refresh for 2016
  • Styling is updated with a new grille, new headlights, and taillights
  • Interior is refined with different trim
  • More standard features along with new available touch-screen system
  • More optional safety systems are available such as forward-collision warning and mitigation, adaptive cruise control, lane-departure warning, blind-spot monitor, and automatic windshield wipers

  • Flagship premium midsize car model gets few updates after redesign two years ago
  • Three trim levels for gasoline-powered RLX instead of five
  • Sport Hybrid trim level returns for 2016 with a V-6 and 7-speed automatic transmission, electric motor, plus motors controlling each rear wheel
  • Standard 19-in. wheels
  • Standard forward-collision warning and lane-departure systems and 360- degree camera system
  • Suspension tweaks for improved ride
  • Expanded list of available advanced safety technologies

  • All-new model in 2015
  • Three trim levels for Acura’s best-selling compact premium car model
  • Large portfolio of standard and optional advanced driver-assistance technologies
  • TLX trim levels equipped with the 2.4-liter engine can be upgraded with the Technology package
  • Trim levels powered by the 3.5-liter engine are available with the Technology or top-of-the-line Advance package