Advertisement
Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
15 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
tkb
August 18, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2019 XC40 T5 AWD Inscription has 7000 miles in first 6 months. Absolutely no problems. Mileage is better that advertised. Up to 36 on Interstate at posted speed limits. Combined mileage is around 29 MPG.
This is fully loaded. All features work as advertised. No problems to date.
Great car to drive. Easy to get around town and handles nicely on highway or city streets in n, snow, or dry pavements.
Oscar
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 13, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I'm extremely happy with my decision! First, I feel extremely safe in it! It rides like it's on rails! Amazing! And of course, it looks great! I love it!
Ashish
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 11, 2019
4,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Volvo XC 40 is fun to drive. It is the perfect size to fit in all parking spots and offers a lot of room inside. The dashboard offers speed as well as Map display which is great to have. The car play feature is awesome and finds the max use for it’s texting accessibility. I am enjoying my purchase.
Sharon
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 09, 2019
1,700 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We chose the XC40 because we wanted to downsize from our XC60 without giving up our fondness for it. The 40 is comfortable for a road trip, exceptional for in-town errands. It turns on a dime and handles like a dream; I always feel safe and in control of the vehicle when I'm out at night alone. Hubby likes to drive it better than his Porsche and I prefer the ride to that of his roadster. We are now firmly "Volvo people."
Hilary
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 07, 2019
3,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I was looking for something to take on the tough MN winter, and this car (the Volvo XC40 Inscription) has delivered! My expectations have been greatly exceeded with the adaptive cruise control in rush hour traffic (I barely have to move my feet the whole drive in), the handling in snow has been fantastic, and the comfort of the driving experience has been exceptional. The safety features are not annoying like in some cars - it will try to correct if it thinks you are going off the road, but it doesn't make sounds to chastise you. The display does take some getting used to and it does not always seem to act completely consistently (I'm thinking of when I try to pair the car to my phone's internet hotspot - it doesn't always work), but in general, it is fairly intuitive. The styling is pretty rugged, but I'm happy to have a car I love driving over the prettiest of exteriors.
bob
March 01, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best all-around vehicle I''ve owned, so far, and I''ve owned lots, from Jags and BMWs to Hondas and Toyotas. So far no problems of any kind. The car''s innovative features all work, and so do all the basics.
Brian
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 24, 2019
3,700 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The XC40 maximizes its interior space through efficient design. I also have the larger XC60, and they feel compatible in size from the inside. I have the R-Design with 20” wheels so the ride is on the stiff side, but not uncomfortable. The handling is very good for an SUV. Volvo has the most comfortable seats in the industry. The XC40 seats seem to be a bit narrower so if you are a bigger person, you may want to try it first. The steering is on the light side, but I quickly became used to it. I am very satisfied with this vehicle and wouldn’t hesitate to buy this car again.
Randy L
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
2,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I test drove many SUV models and I couldn't find one that made me happy. Once I drove the XC40 I knew I wanted one. I contacted Volvo and ordered the specific model I wanted (R Design) as this was a new model. I am thrilled with the car. It is so stylish, loaded with tech., and has a fast engine all wrapped in a gorgeous package. The seats are amazingly comfortable and the car fits me like a glove. There are so many interesting things about this car and people stare at the car all the time. I could not be happier with Volvo and I am now one of the Volvo family forever. The best part is that my insurance went WAY down as well! A new car and the insurance reduced by 35 percent!
Cameron
February 14, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Marvie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
15,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Volvo 2019 XC40 is a fun car! I want to drive it everywhere because of how safe it feels and the ride is so smooth! Great interior accessories. Even more, the app that you download on your phone to lock/unlock your car doors; to start and warm your car seats, steering wheels is amazing!
Dean
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
4,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I hold my cars for the long term, and for a change, I wanted to finally get a luxury car that didn't skimp on features. Since I might hold onto my Volvo XC40 for 20 years, it might be the last care I ever own and I wanted the safest car I could get without sacrificing performance, looks, and features. I've driven through blizzards, ice slicks, and rain so far, and this little beauty handled it all. Adaptive cruise control is amazing, and the ability to accelerate is icing on the cake. New Volvo's are sleek and good-looking: who'd have thought back in the 1980's that this would be the case?
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Gas mileage is very low and not as suggested. Build quality issues (the door gaps did not line up The auto avoidance issues are somewhat unreliable compared to Tesla
Rick
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
5,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My new Volvo XC40 is my third Volvo purchase. I love the way it handles smoothly and quietly. The new safety and driver assist features are outstanding (adaptive cruise control, lane assist, parking assist, more...). Gasoline mileage is very good, averaging around 23 mpg locally and 28-30 highway. Although this is the "baby" Volvo in their SUV line, it is sufficiently wide and comfortable for 5 passengers. The rear cargo area is a bit smaller than I enjoyed in my XC70 wagon, but it is totally adequate for my purposes (no more children at home) and can still hold my golf clubs. I also love the hands-free tailgate opening and closing feature. I'm very happy that I upgraded to this car.
Michael
February 06, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Amazing vehicle. Google videos about it. Not great gas mileage on the t5 turbo with AWD, but who cares!
Lfan
August 21, 2018
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
First month of owning the car.... the ac breaks and the car locks up the breaks almost causing me to get rear ended multiple times. Wish I got a Lexus instead. I hate this car !
2019 Volvo 1216 XC40 31027 397375
Write a Review for the 2019 Volvo XC40
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  2019 Volvo XC40 Expert Review
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2019 Volvo listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2019 Volvo listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Find Your Auto Insurance
When shopping gets hard, keep it simple and save an average of $536* with State Farm.
Disclaimer
Advertisement
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2019 Volvo XC40
665
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel