Consumer Reviews
4.6
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
22 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
suzy
August 24, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It''s a well-balanced vehicle. Does everything better than average. Holds a lot of stuff or a lot of kids.
bb
June 17, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Alaskan Dog Runner
May 23, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Ordered through the Costco Auto service and pickup up the Ascent Touring in black down in Seattle. Really enjoyed the long drive up to Alaska in the car. Very comfortable, very capable in all types of weather I went through, easily passed slower vehicles and always felt safe. The sound system was great, listened to my CD''s and satellite radio when possible. Didn''t feel sore or hurt my back, adjusted the seat every now and then to new positions to keep from getting stiff. Gas mileage was fine, better than my last trip in a F150.
Tom
May 13, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
April 28, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love this vehicle! Lots of power! Very comfortable!
Aaron
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 20, 2019
17,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Everything about this vehicle is great. The safety is high, the technology is awesome, this vehicle can go almost everywhere.
Nick M
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 18, 2019
9,800 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Pro: Great space inside, outstanding visibility, Very comfortable to drive. Con: Media sometime slow to respond and eyesight do work when windshield fog up.
steve
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 16, 2019
8,800 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I got the touring model because of all the bells and whistles,, heated steering wheel and seats were very nice this winter blind spot and emergency braking are must haves I have not gotten used to the hill brake feature yet, I'm still trying to keep my foot out of the turbo, lots of fun to accelerate quickly, car could use a larger fuel tank. needs to be fueled up on Sunday and Thursday, I can remember 40 gal gas tanks in the 90's at least you only had to fuel once a week .I like the back seat mirror so I can keep a watch on the beagles in the back. the seat extender in great on longer trips, there is a feeling in the steering that is a little weird until you realize that it is the lane centering feature . It does great in the snow. I like the roof open to allow the sunlight in,
Matt C.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 13, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
So far I've got pretty much all good things to say about this vehicle. I was looking for a 7 seater with captain chairs with the latest technology including Android Auto. Subaru had great brand recognition and I went for it, despite it being a first year model. There are a couple tech quirks but no more than my 2013 Ford Explorer had. I'm hoping Subaru can fix the minor annoyances with the radio and seatbelt warning sound. Everything else has worked as promised. The Eye Sight technology has been a huge bonus to have on this car and the Subaru all wheel drive is amazing in the snow here!
Jenni
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 13, 2019
6,800 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We love our ascent and its ability to get our growing family around town and cross country safely and comfortably. It is very apparent from the features and design that Subaru put a lot of thought into this car and who would be driving (there are 19 cup ans bottle holders).
Lori
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 24, 2019
6,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I absolutely love my Subaru Ascent. My family had been looking at upgrading to an SUV for about 3 years but just hadn't found one that met all our needs. When Subaru announced the Ascent, I knew it might be the best option for us. As a busy family of four, the Ascent offers the amenities of a mini-van but the styling of an SUV. It is a great choice for a busy family.
Nate
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 23, 2019
6,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Subaru Ascent was the only vehicle that checked all the boxes for us when comparing to VW, Audi, Acura, Toyota and Ford SUVs. Third row, decent acceleration, all-wheel drive, good in the mountains and snow (it climbs like a champ), lots of USB ports, WiFi, Panoramic sunroof, Apple Car Play, great safety features, heat and A/C to the third row, etc.
Alla
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 17, 2019
6,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We shopped around for several competitive brands. By the end of the day, this vehicle was the best deal in its class (features, quality versus price). I really like how it drives (very smooth, 20" inch wheels are a must in area, b/c the roads can be poor in places), plenty of safety features (which are not annoying), moonroof is truly breath-taking. The car sits 6 people very nicely, although most of the times, we don't have this needs. The four-wheel drive allows me to drive in snow and slippery conditions very reliably.
Kris
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Accent is very comfortable to drive and for passengers to ride in. The bucket seats for the 2nd row passengers are a nice feature. The technology is very good and the screens are easy to read. It has very good acceleration and handles well on wet and slippery roads. I have not yet driven it in snow. My only disappointment with this vehicle is that remote start is not a standard feature, which I feel it should be for this price point.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Fantastic upgrade from a Forester. Roomy and spacious, very comfortable, great visibility, handling and acceleration. Only complaint is ApplePlay sometimes doesn't work.
Albert L.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
6,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is a worthy consideration for many buyers, and you love the reliability of the Subaru, you will love this car!
Elizabeth
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Subaru Ascent! The third row seating and captains chairs are perfect for families with kids. We have had a HUGE winter and the all wheel drive has been amazing, no slipping, sliding or skidding even in raging snow storms. I can't say enough good things about the Subaru Ascent, love, Subaru driver for life!
Mike M
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
5,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We purchased our 2019 Subaru Ascent after considering similar vehicles from Toyota, Honda and Volvo. We choose the Ascent because it clearly offered the biggest bang for our buck. We loved the interior styling and the extra room it provided and were impressed with the safety features that came standard with the Ascent. Subaru has an outstanding track record for making reliable vehicles and this played a big part in our decision to buy the Ascent. After 6 months we are confident that we made the right decision. By the way... our other vehicles are a 2008 Honda Odyssey and a 2007 Toyota Tundra, both have been excellent vehicles.
Rich
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
20,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My 2019 Subaru Ascent is the best vehicle I have ever purchased. Reliable and good size as I drove a Chevy Truck before this purchase
Jeff
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 10, 2019
4,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We have the Touring model. Very comfortable and controlled ride. Plenty of power. Excellent handing. Great turbo acceleration when you need it (MPG goes down with a heavy foot). Average MPG: 20 overall; 26 highway. You can tease better mileage out of it if you watch the active mileage monitors carefully and use a light foot. This car is heavy (although it never fells like it when driving), has lots of inertia when moving and will roll quite a distance without your foot on the gas. The LED adaptive headlights are outstanding, best in class. Lots of options included like heated seats in front and 2nd row. Ventilated seats in front for summer comfort. Eyesight Safety system keeps vehicle in driving lane and monitors distance to next car when using cruise control. Front AND rear autostop if car gets too close to object. It feels like a large car on the inside, unlike many of the others in this category. Front camera shows how close you are to an object - great for parking in a garage or tight space. Additional rear camera (besides backup camera) is viewed in the rear view mirror in case the cargo area blocks your view. As with all Subarus, ground clearance is a few inches higher than with most other vehicles. Proven, sure-footed AWD system is best in class. Heated steering wheel is simply wonderful. The 3rd row is easy to get in and out of (although vans are easier, but this is NOT a van) and has a good amount of head and leg room for most average sized people, especially kids. Auto high beam headlights and auto-speed rain sensing wipers are something you didn't think you needed until you have them. Nice touch, Subaru. Car has a 5,000 pound towing ability. The engine noise in the passenger compartment is louder than some other cars in this class. Although it seems to purr on highways, the CVT transmission can lug at lower speeds and shift quite a bit on hills. Giving the car a little more gas to speed it up will always fix that issue. In fact, this car is so smooth and quiet on the highways that if you don't look, you will be doing 80 mph in no time. Flooring material is cheap and utilitarian. A nicer, plush carpet would add a lot to the upscale feel of the vehicle. There is no dash cam. That would be a nice feature. This is a terrific car for a family and a great all purpose vehicle (especially with the 3rd row seat down for added cargo capacity) for just about everyone. Overall, this is a hard vehicle to beat.
gregorydf
January 11, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Owned this car for 5 months and love it. only drawback for Handling is not enough feedback through the steering wheel. Very quiet and comfortable. Good in-town and on the Highway. Took my first highway trip over 500 miles and was not nearly as tired after as with my 2013 Subaru Outback.
Papaw
January 09, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Had this car for six months and love it. Fuel economy is ok not as good as our outback. Lots of room and the grandchildren has plenty of room in the third row. The eyesight is the best thing ever. The progressive cruise control should be standard on every car made. My wife and I love the car
2019 Subaru 1212 Ascent 31231 398811
Write a Review for the 2019 Subaru Ascent
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  2019 Subaru Ascent Expert Review
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2019 Subaru listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2019 Subaru listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Find Your Auto Insurance
When shopping gets hard, keep it simple and save an average of $536* with State Farm.
Disclaimer
Advertisement
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2019 Subaru Ascent
817
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel