Consumer Reviews
4.4
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
23 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
B Dog
December 28, 2019
1,500 miles
|
Owned 1 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have the Rebel Crew Cab. Absolutely amazing truck!
Dale Hannah
September 11, 2019
8,500 miles
|
Owned 11 months
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought the new Limited last October. Beautiful truck, thought it would be an awesome experience. Well, it turned out to not be awesome, an awful one. After four trips to the dealer, a call to CFA, and a lot of stress, I'm still extremely disappointed. I have the 12" center screen which works when it wants to, the Navigation is the same. Works if it wants to,won't do or show anything except the truck setting at the house. When I contacted the dealer and CFA they say there is a software update coming, but won't say when. If you buy a Ram, don't buy a Limited.!! They can't fix it, don't care.!!
aholmes2006
June 14, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Goldeneyee
April 23, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Just a wonderful truck. Came out of a chevy--no comparison.
Anonymous
April 07, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Richard
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 27, 2019
600 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
runs well runs good runs better than most cant fit in my garage runs good on the highway..parking is difficult
Stan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 25, 2019
8,200 miles
|
Owned 6 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The gas mpg was supposed to be in the 22 - 24 range hwy. We have gotten 19 at best. With an average of 15. Mostly hwy miles. Our front leather seats had a layer peeling off. With 5000 miles, Chrysler said it was natural wear and did not want to warranty. The miles were all highway with very little in and out of seats. Used Uber when we got to our destinations. Chrysler finally replaced. I do like the way the Ram handles and the roominess inside. The box leaks in a lot of water with a cover. We have to make sure important stuff is sealed to keep it dry. We had the same box covers on our F150 and we had no leakage.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 18, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I’m driving them every day
Jabbers00
March 14, 2019
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I traded my 14 limited in on 19 limited and must of got me a lemon. Worse fuel economy ever.
Lots of noise from back of cab.
Multiple defects,and or recalls on delivery.
All I can say is it''s a very pretty truck with a lot of useless options you probably won''t use.
Adam
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 07, 2019
3,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
6 months and 3k miles on the Laramie has been flawless so far - technology works as it should, rides much smoother than the other trucks we test drove (new F150, Silverado), and the flat floor for the rear in the crew cab is wonderful. Acceleration is very good (surprising for a truck this big, but I did go with the 3.92 rear end to maximize tow capacity). 4wd and electronic locker have helped in a few situations with all the snow this winter. The big selling points for me were the ride, interior quality (others just aren't in the same league right now), and the Ramboxes. I laughed at them at first, but my wife and I decided they made a lot of sense. Now that I've had them I don't think I'll ever get a truck without them - less clutter in the cab, still plenty of room in the bed. I really wanted the "long box" (6'4"), but in the end the 5'7" box has worked out fine for us so far, and parking is a bit easier with the slightly shorter wheelbase. I opted for the larger screen and 360 degree camera - I use it more than I thought I would, and it makes parking a breeze (my first vehicle with a camera). I also opted for the air suspension which works well, but isn't as refined as my '07 Land Rover LR3 was.
Dustin
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 02, 2019
7,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Ram 1500 is an exceptional vehicle. I purchased it to accommodate my needs for work, but it far surpassed my expectations for comfort for my family. Its comfort and reliability is second t none. I would highly recommend this vehicle for anyone who needs a tough truck and also a great family vehicle.
M
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
9,990 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my RAM! THE front bumper not so much, it has lost paint from rocks or debris. My limited has everything I need from the BIG touch screen to the reclining rear seats. There is just to much to list. This is my fourth ram in 25 years. I love it!
Zach
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
After 3 months in my new Ram 1500, I still look forward to driving it every day. In my opinion, you can't beat the ride, styling, or features in this truck. The interior is enormous and well-appointed with all the newest features. So far, the only cons I have experienced are that CarPlay can occasionally be glitchy (require me to unplug/replug my phone) and the rear backup sensors. The setting on the rear sensors often causes the truck to automatically brake as if it is going to hit something, when in fact there is nothing there. Other than those two thing, I couldn't be happier.
Kenneth
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
2,750 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love everything about my 2019 Ram 1500 Laramie Longhorn. The quality of the interior and new body is exceptional and the ride is the best of any truck on the market. There are some small details/features that I wish it had, but they don't impact the 5 star rating. I wish it came with a tailgate step (you have to buy aftermarket) and I wish it had a feature that turned off the bed lights automatically after a programmed period of time. (Not having this feature can drain your battery). Overall the best 1/2 Ton truck on the market and I'm a former Ford F-150 Limited owner.
Bob
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
6,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my first Luxury Pickup, and my first true crew cab. I've been driving Dodge Rams for years. The gas mileage has been great in my quad cab trucks so that has brought me back to Dodge. This truck doesn't get quite the gas mileage, which makes me think the crew cab must weigh more than the quad cab. I'm getting 17 for a combo of in city and highway driving. I can live with that. Especially coming out of a V8 hemi. I pull a deep V fishing boat all over the United States and my truck has the power when I need it and the gas mileage when I keep my foot out of it. I'm very pleased.
Michael o.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
8,200 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have the 2019 ram 1500 limited and If you’re looking at other brands besides the 2019 ram 1500 Look no farther. I love my ram and I’m so glad I got it over the competitors because I did a lot of back and forth between brands until I test drove the ram! The thing I love most about it is how much technology is packed in the truck! From the adaptive cruise control to the automatic parking. You name it the ram has is. The ride in this truck is amazing the best ride in any truck I have ever ridden in espically if you have the 4 corner air suspension like I do and the in cabin noise is almost non-existent with the adaptive noise cancelation. There are so many positive things about this truck I have not one single negative thing to say about it.
Larry
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
1,600 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the red interior of the Dodge 1500 Rebel. I really enjoy that when the temperature is below 40 when I use my remote start it kicks on the heated steering wheel and my seat automatically. And I really love the sunroof.
MD
December 30, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Gmedina
December 26, 2018
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My truck is at the shop for the second week in a row Steering issues that are not safe. Also signs of major electrical issues. Radio shuts off on its own, and truck makes a load noise every now and then. Shutting truck down cleares most issues, but the power steering issue is not safe, could happen at any time and you can not steer truck in any direction for 5 seconds.
MAc
December 07, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best truck I have ever owned.
JH84
November 24, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have owned all types of trucks (Tundra, GMC, Chevy, Ford and Ram). This 2019 Ram 1500 is by far my favorite. I am absolutely in love with this truck. Especially with the new body design. At first I wasn''t too keen on it, thought it looked like a Tundra. But the more I looked at it and looked at other trucks, I was hooked. Ford and Chevy are doing the same look with their front ends so Ram fits right in. The power of this truck is uncontested!!! The interior is beautiful and the ride quality is immaculate!!! Hands down Second to NONE!!!
Sold my ''15 Ram Big Horn for the new ''19 Ram Big
Tommy G
September 08, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great truck I have had ford''s chevy GMC and ram''s by far this the best truck I have ever had love my 2019 1500 Laramie 4x4
Drake23
June 24, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2019 Ram Crew 4 x 4 limited 6''4" box
20.4 MPG average so far. Truck is extremely quiet, and rides very smooth. Handles more like a cross over SUV than a truck.
Power
Truck accelerates 0-60 in 6.5-6.7 seconds. Has plenty of passing power. Tows a 6800lb camper with ease with 3.92 gears. This truck has no issues in the power category, and is not reliant on any turbos, or gimmicks to give you power. Old fashioned V-8. you do get away with not having to deal with the annoying Start/Stop technology.
Interior is 2nd to none. Beautiful and luxurious. Amazing truck.
2019 Ram Truck 1386 1500 31169 398311
Write a Review for the 2019 Ram Truck 1500
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Redesigned for the 2019 model year, the Ram 1500 is the company’s basic half-ton, full-size pickup truck. Marketed under the Dodge brand until 2011, this lighter-duty Ram can appeal to families as well as performing commercial duties ΓÇô especially in roomy four-door Crew Cab form.

Like competitive big pickups, Ram 1500s come in a bewildering selection of possibilities: cab type, bed length, engine, drive configuration, trim level ΓÇô plus a dizzying array of options to choose from.

In their latest form, Ram pickups have been lightened, dropping an average of 225 pounds. Rear legroom in Crew Cabs has grown. Additional safety features are available as options. New eTorque mild-hybrid technology, standard with the V-6 engine, can be added to the V-8 at extra cost.

Peak payload has increased to 2,300 pounds, while maximum towing capacity now reaches 12,750 pounds. A newly optional 4×4 Off-road package includes a raised (one-inch) suspension and electronic locking rear axle.

Trim-level choices start with the Tradesman work truck, and run through Big Horn, similar Lone Star (sold only in Texas), off-roading Rebel, Laramie, Laramie Longhorn, and top-rung Limited. A budget-priced Express Special also is available.

Two cab types are offered: extended (Quad Cab) and Crew Cab. Cargo beds come in two lengths: 5-feet 7-inch or 6-feet 4-inch. Extended-cab models come only with the longer bed. Ram Trucks also offers a regular-cab, two-door model ΓÇô a Classic continuation of the previous-generation design.

The standard 3.6-liter V-6 engine is rated at 305 horsepower and 269 pound-feet of torque. The V-6 incorporates an eTorque 48-volt mild-hybrid system. Although that system supplies 90 pound-feet of supplemental torque, its primary goal is to improve fuel economy.

Optional is FiatChrysler’s familiar 5.7-liter V-8, producing 395 horsepower and 410 pound-feet. Like the V-6, it can be fitted with the mild-hybrid eTorque system. The V-8 can run on half of its cylinders as a fuel-saving measure. A vibration cancellation system reduces shudder when those cylinders shut down.

Each engine works with an 8-speed automatic transmission and either rear-drive or four-wheel drive. Two 4WD systems are available: part-time, or full-time, each with a two-speed transfer case.

Advanced safety technology is available, but at extra cost. Blind-spot monitors are standard on Limited trim, but optional for others (except base-level models). An Advanced Safety Group for upper trim levels includes automatic emergency braking, active lane control, and automatic emergency braking. On Rams with 8.4- and 12.0-inch infotainment screens, the rearview camera includes a zoom function.

The IIHS gave Quad Cab and Crew Cab models “Good” ratings in each crash-test. Headlights were rated only “Marginal” on lower trim levels, but LED units on top trims were deemed “Good.” With those LED headlights, the 2019 Crew Cab earned a Top Safety Pick+ award.

Crash-testing of the Crew Cab by the NHTSA resulted in five-star ratings overall and for side-impact, but only four stars for frontal impact. (The Quad Cab earned only four stars overall.) Rollover prevention (a calculated figure) warranted four stars, which is typical for taller vehicles.

An off-road variant, the Ram Rebel, fits between conventional four-wheel-drive operation and the antics of a desert racer. Its coil-spring suspension sits an inch taller than on other Rams.

Pickup buyers who anticipate heavy loads might consider the heavier-duty Ram 3500 series.

Model Lineup

Prices are for standard V-6 engine and do not include $1,695 destination charge. A V-8 engine adds $1,345 to price ($2,645 with the eTorque mild-hybrid system).

 

Quad Cab

Tradesman with 6’4″ Bed ($31,795 with rear-drive, $35,295 with four-wheel drive) comes with a three-place front bench, vinyl upholstery, air conditioning, remote keyless entry, power locks/windows, 5.0-inch infotainment touchscreen, Bluetooth, rearview camera, and 18-inch steel wheels.

Big Horn/Lone Star with 6’4″ Bed ($35,895 with RWD, $39,395 with 4WD) includes cloth-upholstered front bucket seats, a leather-wrapped steering wheel, foglights, and 18-inch alloy wheels

Laramie with 6’4″ Bed ($39,795 with RWD, $43,295 with 4WD) adds semi-aniline leather upholstery, an 8.4-inch touchscreen, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility, 7.0-inch instrument cluster, dual-zone automatic climate control, LED headlights, and 20-inch alloy wheels.

Rebel 4WD with 6’4″ Bed ($44,795) comes with Goodyear Wrangler Duratrac tires and an electronic locking rear differential, as well as tow hooks, a power sliding rear window, and power driver’s seat with power lumbar support.

 

Crew Cab

Tradesman with 5’7″ Bed ($34,595 with RWD, $38,095 with 4WD) is equipped similar to Quad Cab Tradesman,

Tradesman with 6’4″ Bed ($34,895 with RWD, $38,395 with 4WD)

Big Horn/Lone Star with 5’7″ Bed ($38,595 with RWD, $42,095 with 4WD) is equipped similar to Quad Cab models.

Big Horn/Lone Star with 6’4″ Bed ($38,895 with RWD, $42,395 with 4WD)

Laramie with 5’7″ Bed ($42,495 with RWD, $45,995 with 4WD) is equipped similar to Quad Cab Laramie.

Laramie with 6’4″ Bed ($42,795 with RWD, $46,295 with 4WD)

Rebel with 5’7″ Bed ($44,095 with RWD, $47,595 with 4WD) is equipped similar to Quad Cab Rebel

Laramie Longhorn with 5’7″ Bed ($50,495 with RWD, $53,995 with 4WD) features a western theme, including semi-aniline leather upholstery, wood trim, 8.4-inch touchscreen with navigation, LED headlights, and 20-inch wheels.

Laramie Longhorn with 6”4″ Bed ($50,795 with RWD, $54,295 with 4WD)

Limited with 5’7″ Bed ($53,095 with RWD, $56,595 with 4WD) includes air suspension, power running boards, wireless charging, blind-spot monitors, polished aluminum 20-inch wheels, and a 12.0-inch infotainment screen.

Limited with 6’4″ Bed ($53,395 with RWD, $56,895 with 4WD)

 

Ram Trucks also offers a regular-cab model with either bed length, but it’s a continuation of the prior-generation design.

Walkaround

Even though the redesigned Ram 1500 retains the familiar “big-rig” styling theme, it doesn’t stand out as much as before. Kinship to mighty semi trailer-trucks is less evident. More conservative as well as aerodynamic in appearance, the body has a smoother-looking overall shape. Though the look is clean and cohesive, it’s also rather anonymous.

Quad and Crew Cab models get four front-hinged doors. Crew Cab trucks with the 6-foot 4-inch bed have a 153.5-inch wheelbase; 5-foot 7-inch beds ride on a 144.6-inch wheelbase.

Each trim level has a specific look. Work-focused Tradesman trucks get steel wheels and unpainted bumpers. Mid-level Big Horn and Lone Star trim levels add some chrome and a few flourishes. Top Laramie Longhorn and Limited editions serve as flagships, featuring urban and western themes, respectively. The crosshair-style grille seen on previous Rams has faded away.

Interior

High-tech in tone, the Ram 1500 pickup’s cabin ranks with the best, even though it’s less distinctive than in the past. Even the workhorse Tradesman edition shows off some luxury undertones.

Most popular of the Ram 1500s has been the Big Horn ΓÇô a step above Tradesman. (Texans can gravitate to the similar Lone Star edition). Spacious and comfortable, with soft-touch surfaces and supportive front seats, even the Big Horn interior might be deemed sublime.

The mid-level Laramie trim is as classy as top models from some competitors. Stepping up another notch, the Laramie Longhorn approaches decadent status, highlighted by gorgeous leather and bountiful wood trim. A “branded-in” badge intensifies the western appeal.

In each trim level, quality is high, with hard plastic trim evident mainly in the Tradesman.

Front passengers can expect comfortable seating, whether on a three-place bench or twin buckets. A massive, configurable center console comes with the latter.

Crew-cab configurations have gained four inches of legroom for 2019, mainly in the back seat, which promises plenty of stretch-out space. Rear backrests can recline, while the back bench base slide fore/aft.

Dashboards are convenient and attractive, rising to luxurious in top trim levels. Controls are easy to locate and reach. Most accessories are controlled by toggle switches below the climate adjustors. Storage cubbies and pockets are plentiful.

A 5.0-inch infotainment screen is standard, but an 8.4-inch display with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity is available. Laramie and higher Rams can be fitted with a vertically-mounted 12.0-inch screen that integrates most functions. Infotainment software excels.

Driving Impressions

Although the new eTorque mild-hybrid engines are intriguing, they don’t affect fuel economy all that much. Ram’s strong and smooth V-8 performs its task well, giving these hefty pickups good acceleration. The slick-shifting 8-speed automatic helps.

Both versions (V-6 and V-8) of the eTorque mild-hybrid system function smoothly and transparently, with no shuddering evident as the vehicle halts at a stoplight. The engine restarts almost invisibly, too, with only the tiniest lag before the Ram is rolling again. The battery setup is beneath the back seat. Optional with the V-8, eTorque adds 130 pound-feet of torque with the V-8.

Four-wheel drive is standard on the Rebel and optional for every other Ram. The base transfer case is a part-time unit, not meant for dry pavement. The optional system can be left in automatic mode without attention needed.

For a big pickup, the Ram 1500 handles well. With its coil-spring suspension, each Ram rides comfortably. Smoothing bumps effectively on smooth pavement, the standard Ram also copes well with harsh dirt roads. On lumpy terrain, though, a Ram can seem to float, while isolating passengers from the commotion below.

The optional height-adjustable air suspension is noticeably firm, but not troubling. Touching a toggle switch raises the suspension a couple of inches. At higher speeds, it drops down just a bit.

Helped by its mild-hybrid system, the rear-drive V-6 Ram is EPA-rated at 20/25 mpg City/Highway, or 22 mpg. Four-wheel drive lowers the estimate to 19/24/21 mpg. The eTorque system cannot propel the truck on its own.

With V-8 power, the rear-drive Ram is EPA-rated at 15/22 mpg City/Highway, or 17 mpg Combined. Four-wheel drive lowers the highway figure to 21 mpg. If equipped with eTorque, the V-8 Ram is thriftier, EPA-rated at 17/23/19 mpg with RWD or 17/22/19 mpg with 4WD. Rams use mid-grade gasoline.

Summary

Roomy, refined, and well-equipped, with a useful choice of engines, the 2019 Ram 1500 is the most livable full-size pickup available, setting a high bar in its category. Luxury touches rival those in pickups that cost way more, though options are costly. Most buyers lean toward Big Horn level, while Laramie Longhorn and Limited editions approach luxury vehicles in content and execution.

 

Driving impressions by The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2019 Ram Truck listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2019 Ram Truck listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2019 Ram Truck 1500
659
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel