Consumer Reviews
4.8
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
5 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Leder Fotal
June 27, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love this Auto mo bile
Lui
April 29, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Nice overall car.
Lori
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 29, 2019
3,190 miles
|
Owned 5 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I would give this car 5 stars. I test drove a 2019 Mercedes E450 convertible on a lark, "knowing" I was there to buy the sedan (my previous car was a 2012 E350), but the moment I accelerated in the convertible, I was in awe. The variety of driving options (comfort, sport, sport+) make this car so much more fun to drive! I bought the white with navy top, and it is the most beautiful car I have ever seen. Because of the relatively rare color combination, I often have people comment on how nice it looks. The back seat is large enough for two adults, which is outstanding for a convertible. The stereo sounds perfect, even with the top down at high speeds. The distronic plus system also makes this car *the* best drive on the road. I will never buy a car without the distronic features again. I have been surprised that the car also has enough trunk room for two small suitcases when the top is down and one large, one medium when the top is up. Before purchasing, I did not consider that I can't talk on the phone while driving with the top down, but that's a trade I'm willing to make for this truly outstanding vehicle experience. The only thing I do not love about this car is that it does not have a CD player, nor does it have a number panel, so I can't just hit a number for a preset radio station. Mostly, you can just talk to the car for radio stations, which works quite well for Sirius stations but not very well for typical AM/FM. But again, very minor things compared to the overall experience of this car! I don't even "like" cars, and the second I drove this model was the first time I have ever truly loved a vehicle.
Jonathan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 17, 2019
2,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I’ve driven fine cars for decades. This is my first Mercedes, and it certainly wont be my last. The quality is outstanding, stem to stern. One feels coddled, and completely protected whenever driving this car. And I must say how surprised I’ve been by the amount of strangers commenting adoringly about the looks of the car. I do agree with them, the car is a stunner, while being a mechanical marvel, and at the same time instilling a deep sense of safety and security whenever I’m driving the car.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The safety features on my E300 are exceptional - I added all that were available. The interior trim is outstanding. It rides smoother than the others that I test-drove. It's a pleasure to drive.
2019 Mercedes-Benz 1115 E-Class 31793 402829
Write a Review for the 2019 Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Simply gorgeous in design, the mid-size 2019 Mercedes-Benz E-Class has quite a long list of virtues. Smooth, suave, versatile, and confident, it’s also an athletic performer. It’s sold in four body styles, including a wagon.

Two new engines have been added for the 2019 model year. The E 450 gets an upgraded twin-turbo V-6, gaining 33 horsepower, to replace the E 400. The new AMG E 53 series introduces a 429-horsepower inline-6 that incorporates a 48-volt mild-hybrid system.

Four powertrains are offered. Available only in sedan form, the 4-cylinder E 300 serves as the entry point to the E-Class lineup. Moving up to V-6 power, the E 450 comes in three body styles: coupe, cabriolet (convertible), and sedan. Two AMG-tuned variants are available.

In the base E 300, a 2.0-liter turbo-4 makes 241 horsepower and 273 pound-feet of torque. Rear-wheel drive is standard, with all-wheel drive an option. The renamed E 450 gets a twin-turbo 3.0-liter V-6, rated at 362 horsepower and 354 pound-feet of torque. Sedans and wagons come only with all-wheel drive.

A 3.0-liter inline-6 mild-hybrid powers the AMG E 53, developing 429 horsepower. The bigger battery and 48-volt starter-generator can add as much as 21 horsepower and 184 pound-feet of torque to launch the vehicle or to power accessories. Topping the range, the AMG E 63 S gets a 4.0-liter twin-turbo V-8 that puts out 603 horsepower. Acceleration to 60 mph takes a mere 3.3 seconds.

All E-Class cars come with automatic emergency braking. Blind-spot monitors and rear airbags cost extra, as does a Drive Pilot driver-assistance package.

If equipped with optional headlights, the E-Class sedan earned a Top Safety Pick+ award from the IIHS. The NHTSA has rated the current E-Class at five stars overall.

Model Lineup

Prices do not include $995 destination charge.

E 300 Sedan ($53,500 with rear-drive, $56,000 with all-wheel drive) has a 12.3-inch infotainment display, synthetic leather upholstery, power front seats, LED headlights and taillights, navigation, and smartphone integration with Apple CarPlay/Android Auto compatibility. A lowered suspension includes adaptive damping. An air suspension is optional.

E 450 Sedan with 4Matic ($59,950) substitutes the 3.0-liter V-6 engine.

E 450 Wagon with 4Matic ($64,200) is equipped similar to E 450 sedan.

E 450 Coupe ($59,800 with RWD, $62,300 with AWD) is equipped similar to E 450 sedan.

E 450 Cabriolet ($67,300 with RWD, $69,800 with AWD) is equipped similar to E 450 coupe, but with fabric top.

 

AMG E 53 Sedan ($72,550) upgrades to 3.0-liter inline-6 and all-wheel drive. AMG-specific seat upholstery, a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster, and a sport air suspension are standard.

AMG E 53 Coupe ($73,700) is equipped similar to E 53 sedan.

AMG E 53 Cabriolet ($80,350) is equipped similar to E 53 sedan.

 

AMG E 63 S Sedan with 4Matic ($106,350) escalates to a 603-horsepower, 4.0-liter V-8.

AMG E 63 S Wagon with 4Matic ($108,850) is equipped similar to E 63 S sedan.

Walkaround

Stunning in any body style, the beautifully balanced 2019 E-Class demonstrates that design excellence doesn’t mean cutting back on passenger space. Sedans retain a pleasantly rounded appearance. Coupes and convertibles adopt a more dramatic tone, with rooflines that ease smoothly into short trunk lids.

Hoods on two-door models feature twin “power bulges.” Smooth body sides give sedans a comparatively formal look. E-Class wagons duplicate the sedan’s crisp profile, but with a longer roof and wide taillights. A hood ornament is among the many options.

Interior

Warmly sensual shapes flow from the dashboard onto door panels, cascading down the center console. Even in the base E 300, natural-grain wood paneling looks and feels good. Matte-finish trim imparts a designer appearance.

Except for the E 63 version, durable synthetic leather upholstery is standard, with genuine leather an option.

Sedans and wagons are spacious, while coupes and convertibles are more limitedΓÇöindeed, cozy in back. Rear-seat riders in four-door models get 36.2 inches of legroom. In most models, both front and rear seats have exceptional comfort. Wide-opening doors help with entry, but coupes and convertibles are more challenging.

On the elegant dashboard, round vents and big infotainment and gauge-cluster screens take up considerable space. Most models get dual 12.3-inch wide-screen displays, under a single glass panel. Base models come with conventional gauges, flanked by a 12.3-inch infotainment screen. Mercedes-Benz’s standard infotainment system isn’t so easy to use, though.

Sedan trunks hold only 13.1 cubic feet of cargo. Wagons can manage 35 cubic feet. The wagon’s standard rear-facing fold-out third-row bench seat accommodates two youngsters ΓÇô but not adults.

Driving Impressions

Every E-Class vehicle behaves with steady composure. Performance reaches well past adequate in the E 300 base sedan, despite its two-ton heft. Passing is effortless with the capable 9-speed automatic transmission. The V-6-powered E 450 copes even better with on-ramps, and highway passing, again helped by the effective 9-speed.

Performance in the AMG E 53 is about as potent as a V-8 would provide, complemented by mild-hybrid fuel economy. Reserve power is plentiful, ready for passing or merging.

As for the mighty AMC E 63 S, it’s ferocious yet civilized. Performance reaches supercar level, yet riders can enjoy a cosseting, unfrazzled ride. Air springs and adjustable dampers make the difference, keeping the E 63 S docile when appropriate. Carbon-ceramic brake components are available for the E 63 S, but standard brakes are easier to modulate in heavy traffic.

The E-Class is fairly fuel-efficient. The E 300 sedan is EPA-rated at 21/30 mpg City/Highway, 25 Combined. All-wheel drive lowers the estimate slightly, to 21/29/24 mpg.

The E 450 coupe and sedan are EPA-rated at 20/28 mpg City/Highway, 23 Combined. At 21/28/24 mpg, the mild-hybrid E 53 is a tad better. As expected, the E 63 sedan is hardly miserly, EPA-rated at 15/23/18 mpg.

Summary

Especially in comfort and quality, as well as standard features, the 2019 Mercedes E-Class easily exceeds expectations. Luscious inside and out, each E-Class is spacious up front and superbly finished, with plenty of safety technology standard. Coupes and convertibles are tight for back-seat ridersΓÇöbut even in those, the E-Class fares better than some rivals.

 

Driving impressions by The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2019 Mercedes-Benz listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2019 Mercedes-Benz listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2019 Mercedes-Benz E-Class
1166
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel