Consumer Reviews
4.4
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
7 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Brian
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 29, 2019
4,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love our Mini Countryman SE (Plug-in Hybrid). It is roomy, sporty, has good storage, handles the road well (including all wheel drive). I also really like the plug-in hybrid feature. The only negative is that the battery needs to be larger with a longer all electric range (~12 miles currently) and the gas tank needs to be slightly larger for when you are off electric. Other than that, it is a perfect car!
Jamie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 12, 2019
3,200 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
If you're considering a Mini then you most likely already love the way they look. I love my Countryman. The vehicle manages really well in all conditions, is incredibly fun to drive, relatively quiet especially when charged, and has wonderful features like heated seats, sport or green mode, and more. I regret leasing mine in black as it's always dirty, and personally prefer the two-tone look. My only 'complaint' about the vehicle, if you can even call it that, is that it does not have a heated steering wheel or front facing camera (there is a sensor however, which is wonderful!) The Countryman offers the feel of a small SUV or crossover feel with a similar Mini appeal. Love it very much!
Robert
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 02, 2019
8,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 2019 MINI Countryman is the BMW X1 with a Mini shell on it. It handles like a BMW, but looks like a bigger version of previous MINI cars.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 15, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent style and handling. Ordered my vehicle rather than buying off the lot so I could get the features I wanted. Sports package is required for more power and tighter handling. Large classic Mini wheels set off this vehicle from the others. Beautiful interiors styling especially at night
Bob
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is the second Mini Countryman we have owned, the previous one was a 2012. It is a "Cooper S" model. Living in a somewhat rural, mountainous, and snowy (in winter) region our vehicles must have 4 WD. The MINI is not only a good-looking vehicle, it drives like a sports car yet had available all-wheel drive when it's called for. It's performance in the snow is excellent, and we've never been stuck in the snow. We haven't had a major problem so far, except for the "low tire pressure" sensors which often go haywire, despite the actual tire pressure. Our old MINI had the same issue. Can't understand why this problem persists. The performance of the vehicle is exceptional for what it is. It's a fairly heavy car for its size, yet it handles very "sporty": tight, responsive steering, nimble on the curves, and lots of power when needed thanks to its 4-cylinder engine and twin turbos. Despite its small size, the seating in the front is excellent; I am 6'1" and can fit comfortably, with plenty more headroom available. The rear-seat passengers are always surprised at the roominess and comfort of the seating. The interior is fitted with quality materials, and feels like a much pricier car. While I would highly recommend the MINI Countryman, there are a few quirks: 1. The controls operate different than most vehicles today. Controlling the turn signals, high beams, etc. seems counter-intuitive. Functional, yes, but if you switch vehicles often (as my wife and I do sometimes) it's confusing. 2. The radio/entertainment system is ludicrously complex to set up (favorites, other settings, etc.). You will need to use the manual to figure out how to set things up, and if you need to do it again in a few weeks, you'll need the manual again. We also have a KIA which has a very intuitive system, such that you don't even NEED the manual to figure things out. I've noticed that even the MINI sales people have a hard time with it. When you think you have the presets set up just so, the next time you get in the car they are gone. 3. The Method for setting defaults for the driver(s) has the same issues as the entertainment center, probably because they use the same mixed-metaphor screen. 4. The "Sports" seats in front have a bar just under the front edge of the seat cushion which bothers some drivers, others don't notice it. Its part of the extendable leg support of the seat. I find it uncomfortable after a long drive, my wife doesn't notice it. I think it depends on your anatomy as well as the seat. Overall, it's definitely a car I highly recommend. Nothing else really comes close!
MeatMan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
6,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My 2019 MINI Countryman is a finely crafted yet sporty looking automobile. Comfortable to drive (or ride in) with its Sport Seats and readily available acceleration when needed! My 2019 MINI Countryman has a white top (preferred a black top but not available) which does show unsightly stains and does require frequent cleaning maintenance. All in all I would say my 2019 MINI Countryman has met my expectations in Workmanship Driveability Comfort and Style.
Adam
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 10, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I recently bought a 2019 Special Edition Mini Countrman Hybrid SE. I replaced an older Countryman S All 4 with this car because I was interested in getting better fuel economy. The car has delivered much better fuel economy than I read on various car review websites and blogs. I use the car to drive 30 miles round trip every day and this factored into my decision. I doubled my fuel economy from my older car and average 42-45mpg now. The special edition of the car has some very nice features including the JCW interior and exterior additions. These look and feel very nice. The car also has a very nice entertainment system powered by Apple CarPlay. I am largely happy with this system, but I will say that it can be a source of frustration -- not because of complexity or anything like that, but sometimes it simply does not work. There are many bugs in CarPlay that just need to be fixed by Apple - one example. Often if you are using an app while not in the car it will not work in the car until you interact with the phone and force close the app, then re-open it in the cars dash system. This is annoying and potentially unsafe. This is not specific to MINI, but is also repeatable in a number of cars that I have which include CarPlay. Another annoyance with the special edition is that it does not include the optional advanced cruise control features. It does have the crash mitigation feature, which is very nice and a good safety feature, but to call a car a special edition an omit one of these features is clearly an oversight by BMW/MINI. These 2 things aside, I will say that I really like the car and and am happy to drive it daily.
2019 MINI 1305 Countryman 31310 399344
Write a Review for the 2019 MINI Countryman
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The 2019 Mini Countryman is a retro-themed crossover that draws on the Mini Cooper for its heritage cues. It’s the biggest Mini yet, and it’s more practical than the hatchback CooperΓÇöand nearly as cute.

Nothing of consequence has changed for the 2019 model year. Launched as a 2011 model, the Countryman was redesigned for 2017.

Like the hatchback Mini Cooper, the Countryman comes with a choice of three engines: base 3-cylinder, 4-cylinder in Cooper S, and higher-output turbo-4 beneath the stubby bonnet of the John Cooper Works editions. The Countryman also comes with Mini’s first hybrid powertrain.

Three trim levels are available: Classic, Signature, and top-level Iconic. Classic trim omits some safety features and options. Every body color other than gray costs extra. Signature trim makes more options available, and is a better choice overall.

Rated at 134 horsepower, the turbo-3 base engine mates with either a 6-speed manual or 8-speed automatic transmission. Stepping up a sizable notch in performance, the Countryman S holds a 2.0-liter turbo-4 that generates 189 horsepower.

A higher-output turbo-4, cranking out 228 horsepower, powers John Cooper Works models. BMW (Mini’s parent company) uses the same 228-hp engine for its X1 and X2 crossovers. Turbo-4 models can have the standard 6-speed manual gearbox, but the 8-speed automatic is a no-cost option.

Front-wheel drive is standard, but most Countryman buyers are likely to pay $2,000 additional for all-wheel drive. It’s standard on the hybrid and on John Cooper Works editions. A 6-speed manual gearbox is standard, but 8-speed automatic is available without additional cost.

Mini’s first plug-in hybrid, the S E Countryman ALL4, can travel as much as 12 miles on electricity alone. A turbocharged 3-cylinder gasoline engine mates with an electric motor and a 7.6-kwh battery, for total system output of 221 horsepower.

Crash-testing by the IIHS resulted in top ΓÇ£GoodΓÇ¥ scores on all tests, including the driver-side small overlap crash. The NHTSA has not tested the Countryman. Automatic emergency braking is standard, except for base models.

Model Lineup

Prices do not include $850 destination charge. Signature and Iconic trim levels are option groups, built upon basic Classic trim.

Cooper Countryman Classic ($26,900 with front-drive, $28,900 with ALL4 all-wheel drive) uses a 3-cylinder engine and comes with a 6.5-inch touchscreen, 17-inch wheels, Bluetooth connectivity, dual-panel sunroof, synthetic leather upholstery, leather-wrapped steering wheel, and parking sensors.

Cooper Countryman Signature ($30,900 with FWD, $32,900 with ALL4 AWD) adds 18-inch wheels, heated front seats, touchscreen, dual-zone climate control, and standard automatic transmission.

Cooper Countryman Iconic ($33,900 with FWD, $35,900 with AWD) adds navigation, premium leather, LED headlights, and 19-inch wheels.

Cooper S Countryman models are available in the same trims, and get the turbo-4 engine. Cooper S E Countryman Hybrid ALL4 models get the 3-cylinder gasoline/electric powertrain and all-wheel drive. Cooper Countryman John Cooper Works ALL4 models contain the 288-horsepower engine, with all-wheel drive.

Walkaround

The Mini Countryman manages to retain the regular Cooper’s charm and character, if not its heritage, in a bigger version that at least approaches off-roading territory. Its more pronounced shoulders and haunches don’t conceal the Countryman’s close kinship to the Mini hatchback.

Front/rear bumpers and the grille differ from the hatchback’s, and the Countryman rides higher. More body cladding is used, suggesting rugged adventure possibilities.

Visually, the plug-in hybrid is virtually identical to its gas-engine mates, apart from a charging door on the front fender.

Interior

Inside, the biggest Mini model offers more space than the smaller Cooper, but shares its design themes. Materials feel high-quality in the expressive interior ΓÇô provocatively quirky, but not excessively so. As its exterior dimensions predict, cabin space is substantially greater than a Cooper hatchback, with its cramped back seat, can offer.

Front seats are comfortable for adults, adding to the luxurious feel of the interior. They also provide better thigh bolstering with more sculpted seats. Sport seats are a $2,000 option, within a leather upholstery group.

Rear seats are better yet, providing 37.6 inches of leg room. Two adults fit nicely, and three can squeeze in without too much fuss. Tall riders, though, might want to claim the front passenger seat early.

With rear seatbacks folded almost flat, cargo volume reaches 47.6 cubic feet. Raising the seatback shrinks that space to 17.6 cubic feet ΓÇô still far more than a Mini hatchback.

Driving Impressions

Nearly all Countryman variants are fun to drive ΓÇô just like comparable Cooper hatchbacks. The same trio of turbocharged engine lets the Countryman keep up with all rival crossoversΓÇöand it can be equipped with a manual transmission.

The plug-in hybrid’s powertrain is arguably the best one around. Mini claims 0-60 mph acceleration in 6.7 seconds with the hybrid.

The 3-cylinder base engine has a job in motivating the Countryman’s 3,500 pounds. The turbo-4 engines are better suited to the taskΓÇöand Mini’s automatic transmission does a fine job of shifting with any engine.

Handling qualities back up claims that, like all Minis, the Countryman is a premium vehicle. Steering is simply superb. Although the heavier Countryman is hardly as agile as a Cooper hatchback, it’s still a joy to operate.

Fuel economy generally matches small-crossover competitors. A Countryman with turbo-4 and front-wheel drive is EPA-rated at 23/32 mpg City/Highway, 27 Combined. All-wheel drive cuts 1 mpg from each figure, to 22/31/26 mpg. Manual shift reduces the estimate to 21/30/24 mpg. Premium gasoline is specified.

The base turbo-3 engine with front-wheel drive and automatic is EPA-rated at 24/32 mpg City/Highway, 27 Combined. With all-wheel drive, the EPA rating is 23/30/25 mpg. The plug-in hybrid is EPA-rated at 27 mpg Combined and 65 MPGe.

Summary

For families and folks who carry cargo, the bigger Mini Countryman is a wiser choice than the tiny Mini Cooper hatchback. Not only is a Countryman more comfortable for passengers, it looks good, and it’s still an entertaining drive.

 

Driving impressions by The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2019 MINI listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2019 MINI listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2019 MINI Countryman
675
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel