Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
18 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Florida
August 25, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Snappy, tight and comfy. I love this car!
Anonymous
August 02, 2019
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Would not own another Hyundai. The company will not stand behind their product when found faulty. Worst vehicle I ever owned.
JJ
April 28, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
DiZ
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 23, 2019
4,600 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love hot hatchbacks, finding them the perfect combination of performance and practicality. Hyundai has really improved this 2nd generation Veloster. It's been kind of an old school fun ride, in that it had to be broken in (at around 2500 miles, the car just "lit up") and when cold, it snaps and pops on throttle blips. It's tuned stiff, which I like but some may not, and I drive the manual tranny version. I will admit I wish Hyundai would dump the 3-door layout, finding the missing door on the driver's side is often inconvenient. The power band of the engine is somewhat small, with not much punch being available below 3200 RPM, nor much above 6000 RPM, but what is there in that range is decent. The B&M shifter makes the throws short, but it is very "notchy" making it sometimes difficult to engage reverse. The brakes work great, but I think they could improve the pedal "feel." Overall, the car is great fun, reliable, and pretty good looking.
jp
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 21, 2019
7,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
this is my 3rd Hyundai Veloster ... my latest is a 2019. I previously owned a 2013 & 2016. This one is peppier than the previous 2 and the ride is not as hard. I LOVED the previous two ... that is why I bought a third. I am very disappointed in the re-design and I have a HUGE problem with the GPS ... the GPS now works off the cell phone and if I am in a location with poor or no cell service the GPS stops working ... this is very unsafe since I travel alone. The voice recognition isn't always reliable either.
Jeffrey
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 14, 2019
2,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love the veloster from the inside out. It have comfortable seats, it’s a 3dr but looks like a coupe and the exterior looks like a sports car
Nicolas B.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 11, 2019
6,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I really like the Hyundai Veloster. It looks great and has a lot of neat features. I like that my phone can plug into it and use the latest features and GPS from it. I enjoy it a lot and like the three-door feature.
Jerry
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 21, 2019
9,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the MPG you can get in this Hyundai Veloster r spec 2019; I drove it from Central Florida all the way to Niagara Falls, Canada and spend less than $100 in gas. The features are awesome, the only thing I would think twice before buying a new vehicle is the collision avoidance feature, because sometimes the car hard stop and people behind you can crash on you, besides that I love my Veloster r spec
Todd
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 18, 2019
12,500 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My 2019 Veloster has been a reliable friend I have put tons of miles on. I have not once had it in for anything other then scheduled service. It has always beat the mileage numbers. I can get 39 MPG at a steady 65 MPH. It s comfortable for such a small looking package. Don't be fooled by the small size. I have put four roller bags side by side in the back trunk with the same amount of overnighters on top with the partition removed. It is quite agile and very quick. Passing power is as good as my Boxster S with less drama. My only let down is you cannot choose by verbal command music selections on a memory stick. I think that should be necessary. Otherwise, you quickly get used to the small rear view, but love the ability to park this beauty even in the smallest of spots. If this one gets totaled I will be getting another one to replace it.....If your a sunroof fan....you'll be super happy here too.
Michelle
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 17, 2019
1,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This vehicle is my 6th in Hyundai family. I am very pleased with features: safety, performance, maintenance, maneuverability, power and free oil changes 3-4 times annually. I have family members who have relied on my respect for the Hyundai vehicles and they have made Hyundai purchases. I hear of many vehicles needing recalls or repairs; yet I have not heard/seen any Hyundai messages of such. Of all the 6 Hyundai vehicles I have owned; I have yet taken ANY to the shop for ANY repairs. I truly enjoy and feel SAFE in driving my car.
Dominic
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 17, 2019
5,900 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I got my 2019 Hyundai Veloster turbo back in September of last year and I’m absolutely loving it. I’ve had a 2012 base model veloster a couple years ago and there were a lot of things wrong with it that (not mechanically) that drew me away from owning another veloster again. Until I heard they were coming out with the 2nd gens. I was a little hesitant on going to my local dealership and checking it out. So I did my research first and liked what I saw, so I went to test drive one and fell in love with it. Handles exceptionally better then the 1st gens and looks (both interior and exterior) amazing! Super aggressive on the outside and sleek and luxurious on the inside. Hyundai did an amazing job with this car and I can’t wait to see the Hyundai Veloster N.
JOEL
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 16, 2019
6,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the look of my Veloster. It is fun to drive, with lots of get up and go. The gas milage is good. My favorite feature is the adaptive cruise control that slow you down w/o having to brake and will than speed you back up when traffic gets moving again. Any features you dont like can be turned off or adjusted, like lane assist can steer for you or be changed to a warning sound. This is my second Veloster and the biggest differance in the 2019 is the abundance of safety features. I highly recomend the veloster.
Deborah H
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
6,125 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my vehicle. I am very pleased with both Hyundai They both have outstanding craftsmen shift.All my family and friends makes comments on how nice my vehicle are.
Stephanie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
5,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I really love my new Veloster even more now than when I bought it. It is my first ever brand new car and I drove it off the showroom floor with just 22 miles on it. It is fun to drive, responsive with great braking and acceleration. I usually drive it in Smart mode as I would rather be economical and environmentally friendly most of the time, and even then it is fun. The front seat fits me perfectly and the variety of adjustment options mean it will fit you, too. I love the telescoping steering column as I am tall and usually have to have my arms uncomfortably extended in most older vehicles. The dash and controls are laid out in an easy to see and use way. The third door offers easy access to the back seats and I have had no complaints from passengers as to the seating.The only issue I have ever had with this car is that the seat belt sat at an odd angle over my shoulder so that it rubbed on the side of my neck, a two dollar seat belt clip fixed that issue. Love this little car.
Kim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
After shopping many different vehicles I chose the Hyundai Veloster and I couldn't be happier with my decision. It is a fun car to drive! I also love the body style, the uniqueness of the 3 doors, and the wide moonroof which I never seem to close. I've purchased many vehicles in the past including Honda, Toyota, Dodge, and Chevy, and I am inclined to purchase another Hyundai when the time comes.
Glen
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
2,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Fun to drive while still practical for the family. I was looking for a fun car with a manual transmission that I could still live with everyday and fit a car seat. I was between the 2019 Veloster r-spec and a used GTI, but felt the Veloster had the better value.
Dr
January 16, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
December 25, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2019 Hyundai 1196 Veloster 31521 401142
Write a Review for the 2019 Hyundai Veloster
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  Expert Reviews
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2019 Hyundai listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2019 Hyundai listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Find Your Auto Insurance
When shopping gets hard, keep it simple and save an average of $536* with State Farm.
Disclaimer
Advertisement
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2019 Hyundai Veloster
520
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel