Consumer Reviews
4.7
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
13 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Anonymous
August 11, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
TeleYank
July 30, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Good handling, fast and easy to drive. Very attractive car and very versatile. An excellent grand touring vehicle that loves to eat up the road.
Steve
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 12, 2019
10,267 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
A friend commented that I was buying "the SAME care" I always do, but I have ti say this is totally different, from the sound of the chimes to the growl of the exhaust to the thicker, cushier feel of the steering wheel. This car screams and imbues performance, luxury and style.
chaunceyoj
March 10, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
1999, 430 i Convertible bought 11/18/2018. Well built. The car accelerates well from stop, lacks good passing power on interstates. Get the 440 for that. 19 in wheels with staggered summer performance tires. Not good for a comfortable ride, seats are a bit hard. BMW uses run flat tires with stiff sidewalls. Racing BMW''s don''t use them. Luggage room is good, trunk expands. Wanted/needed 4 seats, To my knowledge last of all the new 4 seat hardtop convertibles so didn''t want a 2020. Better to park outside vs soft tops. Excellent gas mileage. Traded 230 SLK, 2 seat.
Barry
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 03, 2019
6,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great combination of solid car with convertible hard top. Performance is amazing. Only one downside is the road noise could be a bit less.
Lucy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
2,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I like the look of my BMW 440i. chose white exterior with fawn/black interior. Such a good looking car with all the bells and whistles. For a sports car, it is fairly quiet on the road and handles like a dream. While I looked at other convertibles, I wanted a hard-top convertible. that ruled out a few options. I'm extremely happy with my BMW and am looking forward to the spring time weather and top-down driving.
Tom
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Overall the 2019 BMW 440i is a great automobile. The general quality and performance is outstanding, especially in comparison to other new cars I've driven. If I have a major complaint it has to do with BMW's failure to integrate Android Auto and the limited usefulness of their Connected App. I've owned five other BMW's prior to this car and my wife is on her second. BMW failure to include Android Auto had me looking seriously at Porsche and Audi offerings this time around. If the Cayman were a little larger I'd be driving a Porsche.
Cindy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I like the handling of my BMW, the features, and the looks. I also was in a bad automobile accident and I was told that the car was built very well to lessen injuries.
Misty
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My BMW is fun to drive and I feel safe in it. The driver safety options are excellent, lane assist, rear view camera, front camera, parking assist. I feel it keeps me "between the lines"! This is my 3rd BMW and it won't be my last. It is true - BMW is the "Ultimate Driving Machine".
Michael
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
1,929 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Never thought I would buy a convertible, but I love mine. The Convertible Hardtop makes it so easy to use. The bonus is, it is quiet and secure when driving on the road with the top up and when I park it in a public space, I don't have to worry about someone cutting the top. BMW did an excellent job in design, considering both situations of top up or down. And it drives like I expect it too. Sporty or Comfortable, depending on what mood I am in.
Pat
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 10, 2019
3,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I like the handling of the vehicle. The interior ambiance is much better than other vehicles. I believe the gas mileage is average but better than most cars of the same size
Mike
December 04, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best car ever owned
Totesumeli
September 26, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great Car!!
2019 BMW 1026 4 Series 31298 399172
Write a Review for the 2019 BMW 4 Series
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The BMW 4-Series family of vehicles includes a coupe, convertible, and a four-door Gran Coupe sedan. With engines, the family grows even larger: There’s a 430i with a turbo-4, and a 440i with a turbo-6 and either rear- or all-wheel drive.

The short version: We’ll take any one of them.

The 2019 4-Series returns for 2019 with few changes, except for the addition of automatic emergency braking as standard equipment, along with navigation and an 8.8-inch infotainment display.

The turbo-4 has 248 horsepower, and can power the car to 60 mph in less than six seconds. That’s quick enough for the real world. The 320-hp 440i, with its turbo-6, can accelerate from zero to 60 in less than five seconds.

Both connect to a smooth and smart 8-speed automatic, but a 6-speed manual is available on coupes for purists. Ride and handling are blessed with BMW’s usual fluency.

The 2019 4-Series hasn’t been crash-tested yet. Automatic emergency braking comes with each one. Other active safety features, such as blind-spot monitors, adaptive cruise control, active lane control, and a surround-view camera system are options.

The rear-wheel-drive 430i coupe, convertible and Gran Coupe are all EPA-rated at 24 mpg city, 34 highway, 27 combined, on premium fuel. All-wheel drive costs 1 or 2 mpg, depending on the model. The 440i coupe and Gran Coupe get 21/32/25 mpg, while the convertible gets 21/29/24 mpg.

Model Lineup

The BMW 4-Series is available as a 430i (about $45,000), or about $51,000 as a 440i. The coupe and Gran Coupe cost approximately the same, while the convertible costs about $8,000 more. All-wheel drive, which BMW calls xDrive, is available on all models for $2,000.

The 430i coupe comes with synthetic leather upholstery, a moonroof, power front seats, automatic climate control, keyless ignition, Bluetooth connectivity, navigation, an 8.8-inch infotainment display, automatic emergency braking, 18-inch wheels, and Apple CarPlay compatibility for one year.

Most of the options are bundled into packages that add sport, luxury, or safety. Few stand-alone features are available. Convertibles are equipped with active roll protection.

Fully loaded, the 440i xDrive Convertible can cost more than $73,000, almost as much as a high-performance M4.

Walkaround

They all look good, but the 2019 4-Series Gran Coupe and convertible look best. The long nose and sleek windshield of the current 4-Series are sublime and its proportions are beautiful, especially as the sleek Gran Coupe. It’s a design that endures, even while BMW prepares a replacement that’s coming within a year.

Interior

The cabin of the 4-Series cars is relatively plain, but still expressive, and the infotainment software is powerful, though the infotainment knob is a bit of a reach for the driver.

The 4-Series’ power front seats are quite comfortable. Power lumbar adjustment comes in a package with heated seats and blind-spot monitors, while a different set of sport seats with even more bolstering are available. The interior materials are high in quality; the synthetic leather could pass for the real thing.

Comfort in the rear is harder to find, especially in the coupe or convertible, with the low rooflines and 33.7 inches of legroom. The Gran Coupe at least has two rear doors, so it’s easier to get in and out.

The Gran Coupe also has a big trunk, with 17 cubic feet of space. The coupe has 15.7 cubic feet and the convertible 13.1 with the top up, 7.8 with it down and stowed.

As should be expected in a car like this, the cabin is quiet, including in the convertible with its insulated top. Regardless of body style, the 4-Series is quiet and comfortable on the road without much engine noise filtering into the cabin.

Driving Impressions

The turbo-4 in the 430i is admirably smooth, with a broad powerband and no turbo lag. It’s better and smoother with the automatic, we think.

The turbo-6 goes to the heart of what BMW promises enthusiast drivers. It makes 320 horsepower with 330 pound-feet torque that seems to provide endless and effortless pull, as it effortlessly accelerates to 60 mph in less than five seconds. It costs about $6000 more, but it belongs in this car.

BMW’s all-wheel-drive system, called xDrive, divides the power 40/60, front-to-rear, but when the situation demands, can move the power all to the front wheels, or all to the rear wheels.

There are three available suspensions: standard, M Sport, and adaptive dampers. We’ve only been able to get seat time in models with the expensive adaptive dampers, which have two normal and sport modes. The difference between the modes is vivid.

The steering is relaxed but attentive. It builds weight quickly in Sport and Sport+ modes, but doesn’t feel too heavy or twitchy. It’s in fitting with the 4-Series ethic: Like a 3-Series, but more beautiful.

Summary

The 2019 BMW 4-Series marries more attractive bodies to the running gear we’ve loved in the 3-Series. The turbo-4 drivetrain can’t be faulted, but we’d never pass the chance to drive a turbo-6 BMWΓÇöespecially with the flawless 8-speed automatic. Ride and handling are in perfect tune with the power levelsΓÇöand there’s always the M4 if even that turbo-6 power isn’t enough.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2019 BMW listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2019 BMW listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2019 BMW 4 Series
819
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel