Consumer Reviews
4.5
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
10 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
James
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 30, 2019
6,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Volvo XC90 Inscription is a comfortable ride with excellent handling. The interior leather is top quality and I love the feel and comfort of the seats. The car has the horsepower when you need it and while the gas mileage is not what is advertised for the high end, I do realize that this is because I am almost exclusively city driving. I get approximately 18 MPG which both the car reports as well as my phone app. I chose the XC90 for its simplicity while in the drivers seat. I do not have a dozen or more buttons to contend with while I am driving and I prefer that simplicity over Volvo's competitors. The center display is simple to use and fairly responsive, but I have noticed that it can be slow on really cold mornings. The autostart feature and the phone app are wonderful. The rear compartment is a favorite feature as the third row lays completely flat; unlike some competitors. I strongly recommend the leather dash, the heated steering wheel (trust me, you won't be disappointed), and the heated rear seats option; which also comes with massage seats in the front. If I have any complaint, it is that my hand will sometimes inadvertently hit the mute button for the stereo while putting the car into park or even slightly move the knob to increase/decrease the volume; sometimes into a loud volume.
Tammy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 11, 2019
3,300 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I'm extremely happy with my Volvo XC90 R type. The ride is smooth, there is great pep in acceleration and it gets great with gas mileage. I like the ability to change drive styles and the tech in the car is outstanding. The little extras I never thought I would care for have now become necessities. Heated steering and heads up display for instance are must haves for the future. The trunk space is amazing and even when the 3rd row is in use there is still room for sports gear or bags. The 3rd row isn't too cramped when in use either, which happens often with many other vehicles!
Tim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
7,500 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My wife and I leased the XC90 last year and could not be more impressed with the vehicle overall. The handling and a comfort are exceptional. We love the seats for their comfort and easy to care for leather. The 4 cyl Turbo is extremely powerful to handle any mountain. We are up skiing every weekend and enjoy driving the XC90. I would highly recommend you try this vehicle before making your final decision. Not to mention the room this SUV provides. We are Volvo for life now!
Kapil
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
7,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
XC90 is great overall. It is spacious and as a family of four it is very comfortably and spacious. There is good amount of tech in the car including all kind of cameras, leather feels super nice, panoramic roof is phenomenal, and rise is comfortable. The only issue is with low fuel efficiency. We never get more than 19 miles per gallon when it is rated much higher. I'd hope Volvo would fix that or fix fuel rating.
Mark
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
11,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The interior is gorgeous and luxurious. Very refined. The exterior is stunning. While the T6 has 316HP, I wish there was a V6 option. There really isn't any advantage to the 4Cyl as there is no clear gas mileage perk. Fit and finish on everything is on par. Would buy one again.
Heimdallr
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
8,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great but could be excellent It’s a perfectly priced car considering the options and features. Has a very advanced safety system. Top quality interior materials (certain trims and optional) Paint quality is a bit iffy, same applies to front windshield (assuming it’s to do with the actual front panels material, seems carbon fiber or composite) Infotainment system “synsus” is a bit glitchy. Slightly less powerful than my taste (T6) don’t know about T8. Other than that the car hums like a bee. Keep a wide open eye when you are shopping as the options are inconsistent from dealer to another on similar trims and engines PS. I’m reviewing based on my ownership of a T6 R-Design 2018 second edition. And a previous similarly equipped T6 momentum 2018 first edition.
mk
December 18, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Just bought a xc90 Inscription....disappointments are: lack of acceleration if not driving in dynamic mode, poor voice recognition in Navigation....forces you to use apple play....
Positives are: Comfortable ride, nice handling, outstanding upgraded sound system. great integration with apple play, strong braking
Need to step up their sales and customer service if they want to compete with the big boys at this price point
Plug Please
July 30, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Smooth drive, Not quite luxury though. no usb ports except driver console and one is for apple/android auto! No power inverter, No easy/express entry/exit. Not a deal breaker, but very poor form that has not been remedied over the last 4 years its been out. check engine light comes on in brand new car... many complaints about it. You will definitely need a comprehensive extended warranty if you keep this puppy. Excellent BW audio, great, simple styling. Great electric range i get 25mi hypermiling. 20miles routine driving w/ AC etc. avg 28 mpg on petrol.
ff0101
January 02, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
So we bought a 2018 T6 Inscription on Dec. 30. We tried many other 3-row SUV makes, including VW, Honda, Toyota, Audi, Mazda, Infiniti, and Buick. We did not try Lexus (ugly grill, no mid-size 3 row), BMW (too common), Jaguar or Porsche (no 3-row). This was the classiest vehicle of them all. The only knock, and it''s minor, is that there are only 2 USB ports. But its luxury and other safety and high-tech amenities more than make up for them. I was worried the Sensus would be an issue, but now that I''m used to it, no issues. I really like and endorse the heads-up display and B&W stereo.
Mitch
November 01, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best in class
2018 Volvo 1216 XC90 30376 392413
Write a Review for the 2018 Volvo XC90
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  Expert Reviews
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Volvo XC90
954
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel