Consumer Reviews
4.5
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
20 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
WP
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 18, 2019
10,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We have had MANY glitches with this car, most due to the electronics and most associated with safety issues. We've already brought it to service 2 times now IN LESS THAN A YEAR and they've replaced a few parts but still can't fix all the intermittent issues which are the main safety issues we've experienced. The car is beautiful on the inside and sleek looking on the outside and handles really well- we get alot of compliments on how it looks. With that said, I would never buy this vehicle again and could not, in good conscience, recommend it. For a company so known for their safety, this car has sadly not lived up to that expectation...not even close.
Martha
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 17, 2019
7,200 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Volvo V90 wagon gives us easy accessibility for our children, parents and dogs while also providing us with a high-end luxury experience. We like this car so much that we traded my husband's car and bought him one too!
John
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 15, 2019
3,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I do love this car. With plenty of hauling space, built in booster seats, lots of power, safety tech, fantastic comfort and a beautiful exterior design, I fell in love with this car as soon as it was introduced.   We also own an XC90 which my wife uses to haul the kids much of the time, but I'm on the hook for pickups / dropoffs at least a few times a week and so safety and the ability to accommodate the kids was a top priority.  With the built in boosters, we could comfortably and safely get our three young ones in the back with plenty of space for book bags, instruments and whatever I happen to be hauling as well. The interior is super comfortable for when I'm in the car for an hour or so, regularly, and ride comfort is mostly good in our potholed metro roads.  My only gripe here is that changing radio stations is... tedious and requires a careful read of the manual which is only available online. Heated seats and steering do make up for it in the winter, though.  And with four years of free Volvo on-call, I get to remote start the car from your phone so it's all toasty for me in the winter. The 360 degree camera is used every day when parking and maneuvering in tight spaces, and the self-driving and collision avoidance features add an extra level of comfort to know that the car is watching for unexpected road conditions as well. Adaptive high beams mean when driving on backroads, I can turn on the high beams without worrying about running a fellow motorist off the road.  The list goes on. I've recommended this vehicle to people considering it over other XC90s.  Unless you need the actual extra seats, this thing offers all the great features of the XC90, including a cavernous load area with better driving dynamics than the XC90.  Who says you can't have a bit of fun behind the wheel even when prioritizing child safety? I love this car.
Santiago
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 09, 2019
10,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
V90 has been a great car. Much better alternative to any SUV I tried. Better gas mileage and performance than the other SUV's I considered. Great space inside, absolutely stunning Volvo Interior, Great Sound System (B&W). Drives very well for a car that size. Very comfortable on the highway. Auto Pilot works "OK", meaning it helps, but could be improved.
Michael
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 07, 2019
4,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have always changed my own oil, brakes, wheel bearings etc. My new Volvo V90 Cross Country does not even have a dipstick... Have owned Volvos for since the mid 90's but thinking this to be my last one. No owners manual, it has remote start but still have not gotten it to work due to obscure download AP requirements. Too bad as other than these few quirks I feel this is truly a distinctive auto and a cut above the Benz wagon I was contemplating. IMHO, sharpest wagon/suv on the road. This is the first Volvo I have repeatedly received regular positive comments from passer-byes. Too bad there is no oil dipstick....
Don
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 18, 2019
8,300 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Exterior/Interior design outstanding. Infotainment features very user friendly. Vehicle performance and handling excellent.
Dick
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 16, 2019
13,500 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The car handles extremely well; and the safety features make it easy to drive under any circumstances. Also, extremely comfortable seats and interior.
Tom
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 16, 2019
6,500 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Choosing the new Volvo V-90 was easy for me as I have had Volvo wagons for 47 years, sometimes two at a time. The V-90 is very good looking, very comfortable on long trips, has ample cargo capacity and is just the right size for my purpose. It has all the latest safety and technology features, lane-keeping aid, auto braking, adaptive cruise control. City mileage average is 24mpg and my best highway mileage has been 35.5mpg. I would definitely buy another Volvo wagon.
Jeff
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 15, 2019
3,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The V90 Wagon (non-cross country) is, to me, a very attractive car. It is also a solid performer, with better than average power readily available across the range. Handling is surprisingly good - it remains planted and controllable on undulating and poor road surfaces, at both low and high speeds. The car does feel bumps/potholes but absorbs them better than any non-air suspension equipped car I've had. Seats are comfortable. Base sound-system is solid. Tech is unexpectedly abundant. Only real negative is that the buttons on the media screen should be bigger, in particular the "search" button for popular apps that are available within the media interface.
JC
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 15, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Pros: Top safety features, pilot assist, comfortable ride, Powerful super/turbocharged engine (T6) Cons: Not so good gas mileage, Not sporty transmission, No led rear turn signal
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 15, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Volvo is the 7th one that I have either leased or owned since 1996 and I have been very pleased with each car that I have driven all these years. My first Volvo was bought after I was hit "head-on" and after my recovery, I purchased a wagon and am so please with the room it provides to haul all of my purchases, furniture, groceries, etc. I have never had one problem with the running of any one of these cars except for the changing of batteries in a few and buying new tires for a few of them! Volvo has developed a car that drives so comfortably and rides like you are sitting on your sofa at home! I hope to always be driving a Volvo!
Elliot
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
12,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Volvo has truly designed the most luxurious, utilitarian, and attractive estate on the road today. It truly looks as good as it functions. When I first heard about these in concept, in 2011, I knew they would be great. It is hard to say which is nicer, the exterior or the interior. They are both equally as well designed and balance form with function is perfect proportion. The only thing I wish that this vehicle had would be the optional Bowers & Wilkins sound system and the *Comfort level* seating option. The stock sound system is fine, but compared to the B&W option, it is nothing to write home about. As for the seats, they are perfectly comfortable, however, the comfort seating option provides even finer leather, if you can imagine that, as well as softer seats with added adjustment options. I chose this car over the Audi allroad and the Mercedes Benz E-Class wagon because it is more attractive, better engineered in and out, and a provides a better value.
James
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
20,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
HIGH QUALITY VEHICLE INSIDE AND OUT- AMAZING IN THE SNOW AND ALL AROUND GREAT PERFORMANCE-THE T6 ENGINE IS QUICK
BJ
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Volvo V90 is responsive and more spacious than you would think. Only owned it for 7 months but very happy with it. The "bells and whistles" are many and easy to understand. Styling is a bit odd but that is Volvo's way. This is the 5th Volvo we have owned and we have enjoyed them all!
KARL
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
8,400 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2018 VOLVO V90 T6 Type R is a great looking and handling car, with comfortable interior and excellent fit/finish. The supercharged & turbocharged 2.0L engine is more than adequate for passing/accelerating, but lacks some refinement and acoustic smoothness. Fuel economy is excellent for a heavy/all-wheeldrive station wagon, averaging 25mpg in mixed cycle...
Virginia
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
15,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I drive a lot, and this car makes every mile a joy to be in it. With the ability to switch between modes for driving more economically, everyday use, and sport it can be tailored to long cruises on the freeway at 80 mph or highly entertaining jaunts through the curves at a pace that can cause passengers to get squeamish. Because it’s not an SUV they didn’t try to cram three rows of seats into it, which gives an awesome amount of legroom for both front and rear seats, all while retaining excellent cargo space with the rear hatch. Although it’s a 4 banger, supercharging a turboed motor gives great pickup and go while maintaining decent gas mileage-31mpg for a wagon is top notch. Paddle shifters, leather seats, and a top notch sound system round out the driving experience and the car sits long and low giving it a great look. There’s s number of features for which I haven’t touched on such as towing capacity, great interior and exterior lighting, and a sweet panoramic moon roof but you get the point. A v90 r design Volvo is the best driving car I’ve been in, and I’d rate it better than 90s era Ford Cobras, 2000s BMW’s 7 series and ive enjoyed it more than my experience in a 2017 Ferrari 529 - though that one MIGHT top my V90 in the looks dept. - maybe.
Salida
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
2,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
As you may be able to see I haven’t had to drive the car much...but when I do it certainly puts a smile on my face. The attention to detail is fine, rides comfortable, and for a station wagon, it gets a nice amount of looks. We are quite happy !
Mangesh
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
21,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love: B&W Audio System, Panoramic Sunroof, Interior quality, Safety systems, Looks, Uniqueness. Like: Driving dynamics, Interior space, Comfort over long road-trips, Practicality. Not a fan: Infotainment system, will be expensive to maintain out-of-warranty, limited dealership network.
Niels
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
5,500 miles
|
Owned 8 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Volvo V90 is mostly a great car. It handles and responds well and has many safety and comfort features that are useful. It is roomy, quiet, and get reasonably good gas mileage. My only complaint is that for me, it gets very uncomfortable to sit in the driver's seat for more than 45 minutes at a time. Then I have to get out and walk around for a while. This isn't much of a problem driving around town but a real pain when driving long distance. I would have bought a different car had I known.
DENNIS
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
DRIVER ASSIST FUNCTIONS DO THEIR JOB, MOST OF THE TIME. ................................................................
2018 Volvo 1216 V90 30292 391573
Write a Review for the 2018 Volvo V90
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  Expert Reviews
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
GEICO Car Insurance
15 minutes could save you 15% or more on car insurance.
Advertisement
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Volvo V90
1055
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel