2018 Volkswagen Atlas Reviews and Ratings

3.6L V6 SE 4MOTION

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2018 Volkswagen Atlas.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (8)
Overall Rating
  4.8 / 5
Reliability
  4.8 / 5
Interior
  4.8 / 5
Exterior
  4.8 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.8 / 5

By A 9/9/2017 8:41:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
The Atlas Volkswagen is an outstanding vehicle. It has a number of wonderful accommodating features, great on gas mileage and has a very smooth ride. We are extremely satisfied with our purchase.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By mindy 8/29/2017 7:56:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I absolutely love my Volkswagon Atlas. when I drive I don't feel like i am driving an SUV. It's Comfortable and roomy enough in the driver seat for someone from 5 foot to 7 foot. Easily controlled, and so much room. Love the third seat.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jeff 8/28/2017 4:59:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is the best SUV in its class. I also own a Ford Explorer for a work vehicle. I considered another Explorer until I drove the new Atlas. The Atlas is better built and the quality is ten fold better than a Ford. All of the interior trim fits and is solid. The ride and quietness is unbeatable. The technology package is great. I am considering replacing my work Explorer with another Atlas in the spring.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Peg 8/22/2017 11:48:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I am so glad I purchased the 2018 VW Atlas! This is the first 'new, new' car I've bought in 20 years. I got the ""with tech"" version and it has all the bells and whistles I could ask for - still learning! I was most concerned about cargo space as I have 2 big rotties who require a lot of room. I am so happy as the Atlas has plenty of room without having to put the 2nd row down. And the 3rd row accommodates my grandkids without any problem. They can put the 2nd row down and climb in with no problem. I LOVE THIS CAR!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Joe A 8/19/2017 9:48:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
First thing you see is the exterior design, though a little manly my wife still drives it. It has an exceptional design, even though I have yet to see another on the road. Interior design is excellent, I get a lot of favorable comments from friends about the comfort and space available. The sunroof and screen are always a conversation piece. Technology is available throughout the vehicle not only for devices, but for safety purposes. I use the lane assist quite often and the radio system is one that many would enjoy with the Fender sound system. Overall an excellent vehicle or airplane as my cousins call it. Simply because I operate it like a pilot with my wife or copilot seating next to me.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jami 8/19/2017 3:23:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I knew I wanted to wait for the new VW Atlast to launch because the lease on my Passat was coming to an end & we needed to bigger car due to the fact we have 2 & 1/2 year old twins who are still rear-facing in car seats. This is my 7th VW so I know the brand very well. It took some getting used to driving such a bigger car but now that we have the room & the 3rd row option I am so glad I waited for the Atlast to launch rather then getting into another Passat. It's a really stylish SUV with high quality interior & exterior materials.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Steven 8/18/2017 9:05:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I am enjoying this vehicle very much. It surprises me with the fuel efficiency. The ride is excellent, and people space is incredible.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Cindy 8/17/2017 10:37:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
Love to drive this vehicle/ The only thing that I do not like is the automatic lift gate feature. You can open the gate from the drivers seat but you can not close it from the drivers seat. Same is with the key fob for the lift gate. you can open it with the key but not close it easily.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2018 Volkswagen Atlas
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Volkswagen Atlas, launched as a 2018 model, is a midsize three-row crossover SUV aimed at families and can carry up to seven occupants. Volkswagen has moved into another vehicle category with its new Atlas.

Nearly 200 inches in length, the Volkswagen Atlas is comparatively large for its class. Competitors include the Ford Explorer, Honda Pilot, and Toyota Highlander. Built in Tennessee, alongside the Passat sedan, the Atlas focuses on the American market. (Volkswagen’s Tiguan and Touareg crossovers are more international in scope.)

We found the Volkswagen Atlas drives beautifully, among the best in its class, with smooth acceleration, stable braking that’s easy to modulate, solid stability at high speeds, comfortable ride, composed, responsive handling.

Three basic trim levels are offered for Atlas: S, SE, and SEL, along with several option packages.

Either a four-cylinder engine or a V6 may be installed. Base engine is a turbocharged 2.0-liter four-cylinder, producing 235 horsepower and 258 pound-feet of torque. The optional 3.6-liter V6 generates 276 horsepower and 266 pound-feet. Those figures fall a bit short of competitive models.

Both engines mate with an 8-speed automatic transmission. Front-wheel drive is standard, but Volkswagen’s 4Motion all-wheel drive is an option for V6 models. Four-cylinder versions, whose powertrain is used in other Volkswagen vehicles, are front-wheel drive only.

Because of Volkswagen’s scandalous admission to flagrantly modifying turbodiesel-engine software, in order to cheat on emissions testing, diesel power is not part of the Atlas picture.

Neither the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration nor the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety has crash-tested an Atlas as yet. Each Atlas includes six airbags and a rearview camera. A standard after-collision braking system applies and holds the brakes automatically, to prevent the vehicle from moving if it’s hit by another vehicle while stationary. All trim levels above base level feature an upgrade rearview camera, which incorporates dynamic guidelines to ease parking.

Additional safety technology is available for all but the base S model. For an additional $2,100, the SE edition may be equipped with a Technology Package that adds automatic emergency braking, adaptive cruise control, lane-departure warning, and an automatic-dimming mirror. Those safety features are standard with SEL trim.

The Stop/Start system, standard, can shut off the engine at traffic lights, to save a bit of fuel and reduce emissions.

Comparatively slim roof pillars help provide good visibility, whether over-the-shoulder or rearward. Headrests may be positioned low when not in use, so they don’t impede the view.

Model Lineup

Atlas 2.0T S ($30,500), the base model, has the four-cylinder engine and front-wheel drive. Cloth-upholstered seats, a rearview camera, 6.5-inch touchscreen, and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity are standard. So are six-speaker audio, LED headlights, and power windows/locks.

Atlas 3.6L V6 S ($31,900) substitutes the 3.6-liter V6 engine. (Prices are MSRP and do not include $925 destination charge.)

4Motion all-wheel drive ($1,800) is available for all V6 versions.

Atlas 2.0T SE ($33,590) adds leatherette upholstery, an 8.0-inch screen, automatic headlights, rain-sensing wipers, blind-spot monitoring with rear cross-traffic alert, heated front seats, and a power driver’s seat. Atlas 3.6L V6 SE ($34,900) contains the V6.

Atlas 3.6L V6 Launch Edition ($33,500) adds a panoramic moonroof, satellite radio, and footwell lighting.

Atlas 2.0T SE w/Technology Package ($35,690) includes automatic emergency braking, lane-departure warning, adaptive cruise control, and auto-dimming mirror. Atlas 3.6L V6 SE w/Technology ($37,090) substitutes V6 engine.

Atlas 2.0T SEL ($39,160) gets a panoramic moonroof, power tailgate, power passenger seat, driver’s seat memory, front/rear park-distance control, and automatic emergency braking. Atlas 3.6L V6 SEL ($40,890) substitutes V6 power.

Atlas 3.6L V6 SEL Premium ($48,490) has V6 and all-wheel drive, along with leather upholstery, navigation, power-folding mirrors, heated rear seats, ventilated front seats, Fender audio, surround-view camera, and 20-inch wheels. A 12.3-inch screen replaces the regular instrument cluster.

Optional captain’s chairs can replace the three-seat rear bench in SE and SEL models.

Walkaround

Wide, flared fenders and modestly angular design elements might suggest the top Jeep SUV. With its overall conservative appearance, however, the Atlas is closer to Volkswagen’s two-row Touareg model, despite the latter’s more European look.

Some muscular details are evident, coupled with a wide stance, yet the Atlas tends to look a little smaller than its actual dimensions would imply. Every Atlas has full LED headlights flanking a wide grille, while LED taillights are optional.

Interior

Conservative design extends into the cabin, which combines clean lines with logical layout. The driver’s compartment might lack pizzazz, but everything is easy to use and intuitive. The cabin is impressively spacious and versatile, functional and easy to use.

Compared to nearly every rival, the Atlas cabin seems low-budget, however. Even the top model (SEL Premium) gets curious-looking simulated wood, while its leather upholstery looks more like vinyl. Some of the plastic trim looks mediocre. Volkswagen interior used to be among the best, but cost-cutting to make pricing more competitive is evident.

Standing out on the dashboard, Volkswagen’s Car-Net infotainment system works with an 8.0-inch screen. Unfortunately, its glass tends to highlight fingerprints. SEL Premium trim gets a full LCD instrument cluster, shunning conventional gauges.

All three seating rows promise stretch-out space. Large front seats give the driver and passenger good leg support, helped by an uncommonly long cushion.

Even the third row is relatively roomy. Capable of transporting average-size adults, that rearmost seat warrants best-in-class honors, though its cushion sits rather low.

The second-row bench slides fore/aft, to ease access to the rear compartment. Optional captain’s chairs can replace the three-place bench, reducing capacity from seven passengers to six.

Road noise is apparent, but cargo space excels.

Driving Impressions

On the road, an Atlas feels lighter than expected for a vehicle of its size and weight. Even with optional 20-inch tires mounted, occupants can anticipate a soft ride. Untroubled by undulating pavement, the fully independent suspension absorbs bumps capably and confidently.

Feeling like a smaller vehicle, the Atlas ranks among class leaders for roadgoing behavior. When pushed assertively into a curve or corner, this crossover remains composed and refined.

Though far from frugal by today’s fuel-efficiency standards, the smooth, near-silent V6 is both muscular and refined. With several passengers aboard a 4,500-pound vehicle, acceptable acceleration even with the V6 may require hearty stabs at the gas pedal.

Steering can be adjusted for a heavier feel, while the transmission may be altered to downshift quicker. Despite 8-inch ground clearance, the Atlas is not intended for more than the mildest off-road treks. Also, the tires don’t grip well in slippery mud on unpaved roads. With a factory towing package, an Atlas is rated to haul 5,000 pounds.

Fuel economy with V6 power ranks with the worst-in-class. The all-wheel-drive Atlas EPA-rated at 17/23 mpg City/Highway, or 19 mpg Combined. Front-drive raises that estimate to 18/25/20 mpg. Estimates are not yet available for the four-cylinder engine.

Summary

The Volkswagen Atlas drives very well and is long on utility. The interior appears low-budget, however. Though costly, Atlas excels in available technology. Best choice may be the Atlas SE with Technology Package, which includes several valuable safety features. Buyers also get an excellent warranty.

Driving impressions by Andrew Ganz, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality Not Available
Overall Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Overall Quality - Design
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Design
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Design
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
Not Available

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2018 Volkswagen Atlas 3.6L V6 SE 4MOTION local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?
}


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.