Consumer Reviews
4.4
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
23 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Rodi53
April 24, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have a love/hate relationship with my 2019 Outback. Its a good looking vehicle that gets decent mileage and rides pretty well. Mine is the 2.5 liter 4 cylinder. Its a weak engine, and the CVT makes it worse. The 6 cylinder is a gas guzzler so it really needs an intermediate engine option. Other negatives are: gas cap on passenger side, lackluster sound from Harmon Kardon sound system, terrible nav system, and weak factory battery. Driving nannies are annoying but most cars have them now. Probably wont buy another Subaru.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 29, 2019
15,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I liked this car because it was affordable but also great bang for your buck. For less money you don't compromise features or quality with subaru and I have loved owning this one.
Dan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 26, 2019
16,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We drive a 2018 Subaru Outback. It has preformed exceptionally well in both deep snow and on sandy beaches. As far as a road car, this has to be one of the best over the road cars I have driven. And around town it is great. It goes where I want when I want, exceeding my expectations. We can haul grandchildren in car seats and bikes for them to ride all at the same time. The height of the car makes it easy to enter and exit. This has got to be the best car I have ever owned.
Sue
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 13, 2019
14,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I've never enjoyed a car this much in 40 years of driving! I can't imagine ever buying another brand. My Outback is fun and comfortable to drive with great safety and reliability. It has great acceleration and performance from the 3.6 engine. Reliable traction and handling in snow and rain with X-Mode a great plus when needed. Great ground clearance. The features and options are everywhere you look in this vehicle from heated seats to tracking headlights. Lots of cargo space inside (and space to stow the cargo privacy cover) and the self-stowing crossbars on the roof rack are a great feature! Harmon-Kardon stereo system is fabulous. This vehicle takes me from client visits in the city and suburbs to the hardware/lumber store to camping and music festivals. Additional features I wish it had are a higher seating profile for traffic visibility, heated steering wheel, cooled seats, tow hitch and the app-powered remote start and door locks that come with other Subaru models.
Bryan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 25, 2019
10,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My 2018 Subaru Outback is a phenomenal car for my needs. The All-Wheel Drive is amazing in the wet and snowy weather that I have to drive through to get to work. It is very fuel efficient and has had no issues since I purchased it. The built in media and Apple Car Play are extremely helpful when traveling and makes driving the car very enjoyable.
Sara
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 17, 2019
24,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 2018 Subaru Outback is a good quality vehicle. The handling of the vehicle is stable and fluid, and lacks road noise. The vehicle is very well built. The only problem with the vehicle is the navigation system struggles to catch up, and the fuel recall situation has been slightly unfortunate.
Matthew
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 16, 2019
6,600 miles
|
Owned 11 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This vehicle is perfect for road trips to fun locations--remote or not. I've been extremely happy with the safety features and the auto adjusting cruise control. They just make the vehicle enjoyable to drive. You may need to spring extra cost for more safety features, but if you have an android or iphone, you don't need to spring extra for navigation, as it's not as good as the phone-integrated maps. The interface of the center console has failed us three times, there doesn't seem to be a fix for this yet; other than that, this vehicle has been great so far!
Fred
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 15, 2019
4,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great bang for the buck. Has all the features and options as more expensive brands plus a great safety rating.
Jim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
3,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The vehicle demonstrates safety and dependability with a very good, comfortable ride.The 4 cylinder engine is very adequate and the mpg is around 28.
Melvin
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I always admired the Subaru for safety, all wheel drive, and dependability. My Outback Touring model has all the goodies and handles like a dream, under all road conditions. I could not be more pleased with the performance of my Outback. This is a very comfortable and quiet riding vehicle. I highly recommend the Subaru Outback.
Bill
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Have already had two recalls and had to return car to dealer for almost three weeks while entire Harmon Carden radio, GPS, etc. was replaced.
merlin
February 12, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My car is the Limited with additional options. The driver aids, such as the adaptive Cruise, lane control, avoidance warning are great. Its a close as you''ll get to an autonomous car without having one. Id like a bit more power, but its adequate. Comfy touring car that''s hard to beat. My Average mileage is 28 MPG. And i have a lead foot.
mike
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
10,500 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
High quality construction outstanding safety features. Sharp styling good on all terrain. comfortable and good mileage
Angel
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
10,012 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We bought our 2nd Subaru Outback in June. Our first Outback was a 2011 Limited. We replaced it with a 2018 2.5 Touring. This car has more safety features such as lane departure, distance pacing, blind spot assist and a back up camera. We don't use these features. Our first Outback didn't have these features and it hasn't been easy adjusting to the new "bells and whistles". That being said, our next Outback (and there will be a 3rd someday) will probably be just a basic package.
Sheryl
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We bought this car as it was a little bigger than the Subaru Crosstrek and the Kia Niro. We were looking for a car that had great gas mileage, and was comfortable ride if we were to go on a long drive. We like the idea that the Outback had all wheel drive and it also had many other optional features which we selected.
Steph
January 05, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am very disappointed in my new 2018 Outback 3.6 Limited. I love the look of the car and how it handles. What I cant stand are the annoying rattles coming from the steering column. My car has 5,800 miles on it, has been at the shop to fix the rattles 5 times. No such luck getting them fixed. And now my leather is dirty from the mechanics and the steering wheel is scratched from them too. I am on this website to find my trade-in value so I can go get a different car. Back to Toyota I go.
Gary
October 26, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have been wanting an Outback for several years now. I am very happy with my experience so far. I Have the Limited Edition with the Sight package which takes a little getting used too I must admit.
0R 0H 0E
August 28, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is the smoothest, most responsive, most powerful Subaru we have ever owned! The 3.6R Touring edition is the cream of the Subaru line-up! True comfort inside with a greay sound system on top of that! Love this car. Will keep it...forever.
Broad Shoulders
August 15, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
George
July 29, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Kurt
May 10, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
AWDPete
December 17, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I don''t know why I did not get one sooner. It sits higher than my SUV and the side and rear view from the drivers seat is so much better. Premium is the right word for this car. My last two Hyundais were SO noisy when I compare them to the Outback. This is a tight car! Looks great.. and not missing ANY SUV room or road view.
Nick
December 13, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent car. First one and would buy it again. Sorry that I didn''t buy it sooner.
2018 Subaru 1212 Outback 30724 394880
Write a Review for the 2018 Subaru Outback
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  2018 Subaru Outback Expert Review
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Subaru listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Subaru listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Find Your Auto Insurance
When shopping gets hard, keep it simple and save an average of $536* with State Farm.
Disclaimer
Advertisement
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Subaru Outback
480
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel