Consumer Reviews
4.6
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
28 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Michael S
August 13, 2020
31,850 miles
|
Owned 3 years 2 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Leased the Forester XT Touring brand new in 2018. Had some suspension issues out the gate and had to take it to the dealer once a month for the first three months to have tire balancing done. All-in-all, I was at the dealership 4 times before hitting 800 miles on the odometer. It ended up "cupping" the tires as the dealership put it. I'm guessing something happened to one of the rims, which screwed up the tires, but they wouldn't replace the rim. So, I think I'm done with Subaru after my fourth one, but it's been a good run.
JRT
July 18, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very Good overall, better fuel economy, good handling, braking is excellent one complain is the overall cargo weight.
John
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 19, 2019
7,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very responsive, stable and great in the snow. This is the third Forester I have owned and can't see leasing any other brand .
Meredith
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 16, 2019
7,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought the Subaru executive’s demo car (a Forester Limited) which had just about 4,000 miles on it. It has every technological whistle, including a remote start. The color, style and performance have been great thus far and it handles so well in the Maine weather conditions. I’ve been so pleased with my purchase...beginning with my sales rep. I may only drive Subarus from here on out. Suggestions for improvement: sunglass compartment and vents in back seat.
Johnny
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 15, 2019
3,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Dependable and great gas millage and above all very safe to drive. however it did not come with all the exterior extras for a sar of this price.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 14, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great all-around vehicle. It's vey comfortale, enjoyable to drive, goes any place, decent gas mileage, and oh-so reliable! Can't do better!
Sunhee
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 13, 2019
7,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have the 2018 Subaru Forester SUV. This car is very safe especially winter snow day, and efficient by terms of using gasoline. Also, I'm satisfied with the interior and wild trunk space.
Zurrk
February 24, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have no brand loyalty. This is my first Subaru and was not really expecting to be impressed. To date it has dramatically exceeded my expectations, in the snow it is unstoppable. It is a comfortable ride with plenty of power and great visibility.
Masha
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 23, 2019
8,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
limited storage space (compare to a van), uncomfortable armrest, touchy operation of the back door, those are the minuses
Miguel
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 18, 2019
13,100 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love this vehicle and this brand. No other brand can come close to it. the AWD system is the best in the world.
Priya
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 17, 2019
2,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great drive and exceptional safety features in a sleek compact SUV. I love how it handles the road and I feel safe driving in all weather conditions.
Jordan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 15, 2019
11,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My new 2018 Subaru Forester XT Touring model is truly an amazing vehicle. It has the space my family and I require for various activities and is more than capable off-road for backpacking/camping trips, going to the motocross track and long road trips. It is extremely comfortable, handles very well with AWD, and being the last year Subaru produced the XT turbo variant for the Forester, it can get up and go surprisingly well for an SUV. Lastly, we love the safety features, primarily Subaru's EyeSight technology. It helps you as you drive to maintain awareness of the surrounding road/drivers and the adaptive cruise control is awesome for longer road trips.
michelle
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
2,800 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car has no blind zones. Great visibility and runs smooth! Runs great through the snow and ice! Very reliable!
Rich
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
1,400 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the style, reliability, safety and looks of my Subaru Forester. My only negative is I am used to much better performance. My wife was the main force for us buying it as she is concerned mainly about safety.
Marilyn
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I totaled my old car and vehemently decided that my next car would provide safety and security. That is why I opted for a Subaru Forrester. Not only do I feel safe in my current vehicle, but as a petite woman, I find visibility much improved.
Merle
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
11,500 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Things we like: 1) Quality, reliability. As long as we keep up the regular maintenance, this car just may outlive us. 2) Gas mileage. We can't remember ever getting less than 30mpg on a tank of gas. 3) The sunroof is huge. We originally did not want a sunroof but this one made us fans. 4) It rides nicely and the interior is quiet. Things we don't like: 1) Virtually all of the Eyesight features, none of which can be turned off. The adaptive cruise turns itself off in the slightest inclement weather: light fog, drizzle... even when the weather is not that bad. And no adaptive cruise means no cruise at all. The backup detection warning beeps frantically even when your foot is on the brake and the car is not moving. If you're trying to back onto a street with steady traffic, it will continue to beep frantically until the coast is clear. 2) Early on, we could pull up a list of channels on SiriusXM. The list function quit working about a month in. Sirius says it's a Subaru issue. Subaru says it's a Sirius issue. Neither cares one whit about fixing it. 3) The footwell seems small to. The center console is wider at the base than at the top and it seems to take up about 1/4 of the footwell. 4) We wish they had but the gear shift where the cupholders are and vice versa. 5) The navigation system is so user unfriendly that we use the Google maps app instead. To be fair, the things that we don't like about the Forester may be things that would be the same in any other make/model. We have not yet chosen to shop for a replacement so can't speak to that. If all of them are like this then we're happy to have the Subaru. That's why we gave it 4 stars instead of 3.
JIM
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
16,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Here's a well kept secret about my Forester - the gas mileage is amazing. I have reached 45 mpg in the past. I drive gently & am always mindful of fuel economy. I'm 6 feet tall and 250 pounds and am quite comfortable in this SUV.
J.R.T.
January 20, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My second Subaru, the first one was a used 08Outback great car although gas mileage was mediocre, traded this one with 77000 miles. It started to cost more for upkeep. Took delivery of the 2018 Forester in March 2018, we live in Connecticut and drove it to Virginia and back. Comfortable and good visibility are some of its selling points.
the crow
December 31, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
to many people *** about the little things.
enjoy life. the forester is a great all around car.
paul
Not too excited
October 22, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I loved the car at first, but now not so much. Foot rest "feature" is starting to bother leg. HD radio spotty in my area. Eyesight turns itself off occasionally. Acceleration is very bad when starting from a dead stop. A/C fan will sometimes lower (no, I don''t have it in auto mode. I think there is another auto mode built in).
Chuck
October 18, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Solid all around value.
Anonymous
August 05, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Day
June 13, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Alix
May 01, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my new Subaru, my first. Handles well, can accelerate quickly if need be on freeway even though it is a four cylinder. Lots of visibility, passengers say comfortable. Great for camping or loading up garden supplies. Looks sharp. Best of all it can get up to 36 miles per hour on the highway if I drive at a steady rate. I will drive it till the wheels fall off, which will be a good long time I hear!
Biker Bill
March 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
First new vehicle purchased in a while. I am impressed by the myriad of safety equipment and features, but this is also a fun car to drive. We love it.
howard
January 15, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Charlie
December 25, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great size ,all safety and creatures comforts of the Big competitors on the road.,handles,very well,solid as a steel drum,with the turbo ,goes like a shot! Excellent quality, convenient service. I don''t miss my Infinity QX 50. ,except for the snob appeal!
Cat woman
December 11, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Seats are hard and uncomfortable. Water coolant light on tach gauge is an eyesore. Doesnt go off till your car has been running for 2-3 min. Nice big windshield. Handles well.
2018 Subaru 1212 Forester 30565 393874
Write a Review for the 2018 Subaru Forester
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  Expert Reviews
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Subaru listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Subaru listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Find Your Auto Insurance
When shopping gets hard, keep it simple and save an average of $536* with State Farm.
Disclaimer
Advertisement
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Subaru Forester
476
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel