Consumer Reviews
4.8
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
12 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Jeffrey
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 16, 2019
4,550 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Whether you're looking for a fun daily commuting car or a fully built track monster, not many cars can offer handling dynamics, reliability, and safety without breaking the $35,000 price barrier when brand new. Sure, this won't come with the horsepower that so many fans cry for, but here's the fun part. Making a lightweight car with a low center of gravity is much more difficult than adding more power. The hardest part of the homework is completed by Subaru/Toyota, and it's up to the owners to garnish it to their tastes. In fact, this is one of the best platforms to start as a fresh base car if you want to have a long project to build upon. Driving it: after daily driving in both light and spirited driving, I could feel that the BRZ is like very close friend -- forgiving, but also very honest. Unlike most modern cars that mask much of minor driving flaws and blemishes, the BRZ will give you the nudges when you miss the clutch engagement a split second too early, or steer into the corner a hair too far. Even experienced drivers will be needing some practices to smooth out every steering, gear shifts, and footwork movements. And that's what the driver's car is all about. Living with it: living in the state, anyone could agree that area has some of the roughest roads (or are they even pavements?) around. Subaru is known to use water based paint, which helps out the environment, but unfortunately it won't help out keeping the paint from chipping even at the smallest stones that could fly on the road. A tip for the new owners: have your car protected with ceramic coating or similar. In a nutshell, whether you're just looking a stylish coupe or a starting point towards your passion to cars, if you want to skip the headache of the complexities of more expensive sports cars, this is the car for you.
Lou
March 14, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Not the fastest. But the most fun. Awesome handling. 2 doors and rear wheel drive topped off with a six speed manual. Done right
Ann
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 07, 2019
4,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Subaru BRZ! The quality is top notch and it is fun to drive. I truly enjoy each and every time I get in this vehicle and drive it. We also purchased a Subaru Crosstrek and we couldn't be more pleased. The Subaru brand demonstrates pure quality and I intend to purchase from them in the future!
Abdel
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 01, 2019
2,600 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Subaru BRZ 2018 is a very nice car with a very easy and fun drive, Its exterior is what I liked at first about this car, and after you test drive it you can make a decision. The only things I dont like is the poor radio system it comes with, the App Pandora conected good the first month and now it never works, and the bluetooth conection is bad, have to "re-pair" from time to time. In regards of performance a little more power on low revs could be good. The clutch feels a little too close to the break pedal. Definitely a 4 rate.
Chris
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
6,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My little Subaru BRZ brings joy to my daily commute and I regularly take it up and down the winding, twisting back roads and it never fails to make me smile. It's "practical" for a sports car in that it has a trunk and some rear storage (the rear seats are seriously a joke), so it's not completely outlandish for daily/trip use. Now there are some oft-cited engine concerns - namely the acceleration and the infamous torque dip at ~3500 RPM. Yes, it lugs a bit when you keep the revs low - so keep it above 4000 if you're really goosing it. If you're truly concerned about gas mileage, this isn't exactly the right car for you (the automatic transmission does get better gas mileage, but don't be surprised when you see the manual purists grabbing their pitchforks). As for acceleration...yeah. It's not great compared to other modern sports cars and if you really just want to do crazy highway pulls and winding roads aren't your thing...then the BRZ is not for you. If the sight of a twisty road warning sign gives you a rush, maybe give this car a test drive. Make sure to pull some lateral G's while you're at it.
Laurie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
7,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The BRZ is a fun and beautiful car to drive. I am not surprised that I have not seen a single other BRZ - but even when I travel to other areas in the country, I still haven't seen my car. It is unfortunate that it is not a 4WD car, but I do have snow tires on it and the winter driving has been fine. I do keep the car clean and sharp looking; often others say positive comments about the car, or take second looks, when they see it in parking lots. Thank you Subaru & Toyota.
Tim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Subaru's BRZ is a blast to drive, the agility and handling make you feel like a rabbit on the road. Customization is endless on the coup if you want to, yet the base will suit you just fine as an enjoyable light weight joyride.
Bob
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
1,400 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Subaru BRZ is a fun vehicle. It reminds me of the Triumph TR6 or the original 240Z. It is light, has great steering, and corners better than the vast majority of vehicles. The Limited trim comes with a good looking leather and Alacantra interior. While it doesn't have all of the modern safety features, it does come with Android Auto/CarPlay and a 7 inch display screen. It only has 200 hp, so you are not going to win at the drag strip, but it has plenty of power around town. It is much more practical than the Mazda MX-5 and Porsche Cayman I was considering.
Gary
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
4,100 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The handling is outstanding. The power to weight ratio is superb for accelerating through corners. Its short wheelbase, rear wheel drive and low center of gravity make curvy roads a lot of fun!
Christopher C
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
28,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very reliable and cheap on gas very comfortable and great sound system I haven’t altered the vehicle at all and don’t think I will. It does sound weird when shifting but nothing major it’s also really easy to work on if you’re a mechanic I am able to see perfectly when I’m driving even when I turn to check my blind spots
Tod
September 18, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Dbdh
beeny
January 07, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2018 Subaru 1212 BRZ 31117 397992
Write a Review for the 2018 Subaru BRZ
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  Expert Reviews
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Subaru listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Subaru listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Find Your Auto Insurance
When shopping gets hard, keep it simple and save an average of $536* with State Farm.
Disclaimer
Advertisement
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Subaru BRZ
544
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel