Consumer Reviews
4.1
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
13 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Kandace
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 22, 2019
17,330 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my 2018 Mazda6! It drives smooth and fast! I love the features it offers: cool and heated seats and steering wheel. Reads the road and even tells you to brake and put your hands on the wheel!!! It is definitely high tech and fun to drive!!! This is my second Mazda6 and my fifth Mazda!!! I have been in two serious wrecks one in which I should have died...I honestly believe it was the make of the Mazda that saved my life!  BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED!
Driver
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 15, 2019
8,900 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Well made, quiet, good handling, decent gas mileage, looks good inside and out. Getting in and out on driver's side a bit tight.
Merv
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 13, 2019
2,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car (Mazda 6) has been a revelation for me. At it's price point I know of no other current model that is across the board excellent. Handling, check; interior refinement, check, quiet, check, fit & finish, check; reliability, yes so far.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 03, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent driving and handling dynamics along with styling that incites passion. The interior styling is refined, simple, and elegant with high quality materials. Real wood trim is a great touch and virtually non-existent in this segment. Only complaint is that the infotainment system is very very slow at start up. So slow that I find it unacceptable and for this reason alone this infotainment system should not have gone to market. That said, navigating around the infotainment is pretty easy.
CHARLENE
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 23, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Not Rated
Interior
Not Rated
Exterior
Not Rated
Driving Dynamics
Not Rated
I have had issues such as the front camera showing the crash light and there was not crash. I was told by the dealer that there was an issue with the sun glare that caused the crashed light to come on. The tire pressure light come on for no reason. The key fob stop working I had to put the key against the start button and the battery was not dead(per the dealer). I took it back to the dealer and they stated there was nothing they could do and that I could call corporate. I called Corporate Mazda and they reached out to the dealer to help me get assistance and the dealer told them they will not be doing anything to assist me with the issues that I am having with a brand new car that had 11 miles when I purchased. I guess they didn't think I was going to reach out to corporate. I have the voice mail to prove that. I will never purchase another Mazda vehicle again.
Chuck
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 19, 2019
3,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car would be near perfect except for the seats. They are extremely uncomfortable and that is after Mazda re-designed the seats for this model after complaints about the seats. You sink down in the bucket seats to the point that it causes back pain, no matter how the seats are adjusted. I have to sit on two folded towels to avoid the pain. Extremely disappointed because the car is advertised as a driver's car and otherwise lives up to the hype. For this reason alone, I have to sell the car and would not buy another one.
Lauren
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
12,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my 2018 Mazda 6! It's reliable, has great gas mileage, and it's beautiful! I feel like I'm driving a luxury vehicle at an affordable price.
Lori
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,300 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am very happy with my purchase of the Mazda 6. Very beautiful car inside and out. Outstanding gas mileage blew me away when I went on a 12 hour road trip. I would definitely recommend this vehicle to others. I have not been disappointed at all with this vehicle.
sigi
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Mazda 6 Turbo is fun to drive, is well equipped, has great exterior and interior styling. There are numerous safety features which I certainly appreciate. The acceleration and handling are good, but I feel that it is still friendly for the environment. It is not the typical car around, but the price was extremely reasonable. It is roomy and practical, but it is not a big gas hog.
Phil
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Came off a lease of a 2015 Mazda 6 Touring, leased a 2018 Mazda 6 Grand Touring. Got a bigger engine but performance is pretty much the same and MPG is down about 15%. Love the way the car looks and drives, has all the latest technology features that I want. Very happy with the vehicle but slightly disappointed in the gas mileage.
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,577 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Mazda6 is designed for the driver's comfort. Everything I need is within easy reach, set at the right eye-level for easy visibility, and the seat fits like a glove. Driving enhancements include lane change warnings, heated seats, adaptive cruise control, and much more. Mazda6 lives up to its reputation in a superior manner. ZOOM ZOOM!
Margaret
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
1,800 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Overall, it is a good looking, fast accelerating car . But one feature that is advertised is non- existent; the SCBS, or Smart City Braking System. To me, this is a gross misrepresentation. I found this out only after I leased the car. It ruined the whole experience for me.
" It looks like a Jaguar"
August 15, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Styling is a very pronounced feature on the 6, and the refresh for ''18 deserves every accolade coming its way; the car is absolutely gorgeous from three sides. Being over 6'' myself, upgrading to the GTR was required to get seats with the greatest range of motion. Ventilation on the throne is awesome in this car, and in combination with the heated steering wheel, adaptive cruise, active lane assist, heads-up display and auto-brake feature the overall value proposition is staggering. What''s not to like? Would you believe a car with this technology doesn''t have a self-supporting hood?
2018 Mazda 1203 Mazda6 31274 399104
Write a Review for the 2018 Mazda Mazda6
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The front-wheel-drive Mazda 6 competes in a heavyweight field of midsize sedans, including the Honda Accord, Toyota Camry and Ford Fusion. Sleek and evocative, it’s the most eye-catching among them, while bringing the best roadside manners. It was last redesigned for 2013, refreshed for 2016, infotainment-updated in 2017, and now, for 2018, gets a powerful new engine.

The new optional engine is a 2.5-liter turbocharged four cylinder making 250 horsepower on Premium gasoline (227 hp on Regular) and an awesome 310-pound feet of torque. The smooth engine comes out of the full-sized Mazda CX-9 crossover, where it carries 500 more pounds with no sweat, so it should make the Mazda 6 zoom.

Along with the engine will come suspension upgrades, a steering rack mounted directly to the chassis for sharper steering, and stiffer body construction to reduce NVH (noise, vibration and harshness). We haven’t had a chance to test one yet.

The standard engine is a normally aspirated 2.5-liter four cylinder making a modest but still frisky 187 horsepower and 186 pound-feet of torque. It’s built with Mazda’s SkyActiv technology, including direct injection, variable valve control, and a very high 14:1 compression ratio (in pursuit of fuel mileage).

Both engines get a six-speed automatic transmission, while the base engine also has a six-speed manual available.

With the automatic transmission and base engine, the Mazda6 gets 26/38 mpg City/Highway, or an EPA-estimated 31 miles per gallon Combined. With the optional stop/start and a regenerative-energy system called i-eLoop, it can get up to 40 mpg Highway.

With the available automatic emergency braking, the Mazda6 is rated a Top Safety Pick+ by the IIHS. In the rollover test, NHTSA gives it a 4.

Model Lineup

Three models are available: Mazda6 Sport, Mazda6 Touring, and Mazda6 Grand Touring.

Sport comes with cloth upholstery and includes all the usual airbags and stability control, and a rearview camera. The Touring adds blind-spot monitors, rear cross-traffic alerts, and forward-collision warnings with automatic emergency braking. Grand Touring adds LED headlamps with automatic high beams, adaptive cruise control, and automatic emergency braking that functions at a higher speed.

Walkaround

The Mazda6 is lean from every angle, with sinewy lines that are almost Italian. It has muscular front fenders and an arched coupe-like roofline. In its class, only the Ford Fusion gets as much attention. The grille boasts the same winged design as Mazda crossovers, while the tail is finely detailed.

Interior

The trim quality is high and the sculpting tasteful. The sweeping dash is crowned by a bright seven-inch infotainment display screen that was new in 2017, along with a color TFT screen replacing previous monochromatic gauges. The standard Mazda Connect infotainment is quick enough, but its control device is balky and the mapping isn’t as good as that on some of its rivals.

There’s impressive interior space, with good leg room and knee room even in the rear, although the roofline does cut into rear passenger headroom. The split rear seats fold forward for more room, and the trunk has an average 14.8 cubic feet but a wide load opening.

The seats remain excellent, whether upholstered in cloth, leatherette, standard leather, or the Nappa leather that’s on the Grand Touring, with heated rear seating available in a Premium package that upgrades the Nappa leather.

We’re looking forward to driving the 2018 with the new engine and better NVH that might make it as quiet inside as a luxury car. Visibility is good, thanks to narrow roof pillars, possible with Mazda’s high-strength steel.

Driving Impressions

The base SkyActiv 2.5-liter four-cylinder is smooth, and quick enough for most buyers; with a curb weight of about 3200 pounds, the Mazda6 is light for a midsize sedan, which takes a load off the engine. It’s a small joy with the 6-speed manual transmission, which comes with the Sport model and is available on the Touring. The engine is happiest when it’s being revved. It’s more than competitive against the four-cylinders in its class.

Mazdas are known for their good balance and handling, and the Mazda 6 enhances that reputation with its standard G-Vectoring Control system of computer-controlled braking to separate front wheels in corners, bringing increased composure by shifting the weight distribution to where the grip needs it. Mazda says the deceleration force is just 0.01 g or less, so it’s undetectable, but it makes a difference to the dynamics. The turn-in is more secure.

If a plush ride is a priority in your midsize sedan, the Mazda 6 might not be for you. The ride is firm and sporty on the standard 17-inch alloy wheels, and firmer with the 19s on the Touring and Grand Touring models. The steering is direct and communicative. It comes alive on a curvy road. There are clear bloodlines to the brilliant Mazda Miata.

Summary

Not one thing for us not to like in a midsize sedan: elegant styling, a roomy cabin with good materials, superior handling, and now for 2018 an available engine fully worthy of the rest of the car. That’s us. The instrumentation and infotainment, and firm ride, might give pause to some.

Sam Moses wrote this review, with staff reports by The Car Connection.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Mazda listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Mazda listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Mazda Mazda6
476
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel