Consumer Reviews
4.6
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
12 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Michael
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 19, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I absolutely love the overall handling and driving experience. Mazda has always delivered when it comes to providing a sport-like drive with their vehicles without the high-dollar price tag that comes with some of the models of their competitors. Similarly, the outer aesthetic combined with the sleek looks and eye-grabbing design features of the vehicle's front end constantly has heads turning. I enjoy the attention as it allows me to talk about just how much I enjoy the product I have invested in. The only areas of opportunity for improvements in future models would be around the quality of the driver's side dashboard around the steering column. While the plastic looks high-quality from the driver's seat, upon cleaning them or pressing on them with a firm touch, their hallow feel I can potentially see causing concerns in the next several years. But, other than this, I am in love with every part of the vehicle - both inside and out - and look forward to continuing to be a loyal Mazda customer.
Vito G.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 14, 2019
10,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The only problem I have with my vehicle is, my previous Mazda had automatic door openers. They removed this feature on my current Mazda.
Heather
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 11, 2019
8,500 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Mazda3. It drives well and is easy to maneuver. My top favorite features are the sunroof, leather seats, heated seats and electronic seat adjustment. The only thing that irks me about this car (I had the same exact car but a 2017 that was totaled) is the interior pieces on all 4 doors and the middle console, where the gear shift is, scratches very easily. Other than that, I love how the car looks and feels. It's like luxury without the luxury price tag.
Catherine
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 27, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my car. I couldnt be happier. Its beautiful and im proud to drive. I used to hate driving but now I drive everywhere every chance I get
Joel
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 25, 2019
4,300 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 2018 Mazda3 is truly fun to drive and offers a significant value for the money. I have the Grand Touring trim with the premium package and it looks like a much more expensive car than it really is.
Paloma G
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 20, 2019
12,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love Mazda , great customer service Car is great on mileage love the features on the car Bluetooth it’s was the closest one to my budget and a great monthly payment
Randall
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 15, 2019
2,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Mazda 3 is fun to drive, handles well and I love the heads up display. The interior has a quality look and fee with very tight stitching and the material is very soft to the touch. I love to drive this car. I have had it 4 months and have already taken 2 long weekend trips.
Khadijah
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
5,687 miles
|
Owned 11 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Mazda has always done an outstanding Job with all of that they have done with the vehicles. very pleased to be a Mazda owner
Norm
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
10,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
For a basic car this car has lots of extras plus it rivals hybrids I get 35-40 miles to the gallon and about 36 at freeway driving
Kyle
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
7,500 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It is a nice new body to the Mazda and one of the few cars remaining that has the Manual Transmission option.
Vr
November 13, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Compared for weeks did plenty of homework on plenty of other brands I''ve been a loyal Toyota customer for their quality but the ride the handling the quickness of the Mazda 3 is superb incomparable to others so I had to choose this vehicle & I am super pleased with it I recommend it
Nick540
May 14, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Amazing car with high end feel and fun to drive
2018 Mazda 1203 Mazda3 4-Door 30637 394352
Write a Review for the 2018 Mazda Mazda3 4-Door
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Mazda3 is an extremely popular front-wheel-drive compact hatchback and sedan, for good reasons. It has standout styling, superb driving dynamics, and terrific value.

Mazda3 got a bunch of improvements for the 2017 model year. For 2018, there are few changes. Automatic emergency braking becomes standard equipment on the 2018 Mazda3.

Mazda3 competes with the Volkswagen Golf, Honda Civic and Ford Focus, and we think it’s the most fun.

Called Smart City Brake, Mazda’s automatic emergency braking system can prevent a collision at speeds up to 12 miles per hour. There’s an optional system called Smart Brake that can stop the car at higher speeds. More available safety equipment for 2018 includes active lane control and automatic headlights.

The base engine that comes in the Mazda3 Sport model is a 2.0-liter four cylinder making 155 horsepower and 150 pound-feet of torque. Mazda3 Touring and Grand Touring models get a 2.5-liter making 184 horsepower and 185 pound-feet. The engines are mated to either a 6-speed automatic or 6-speed manual transmission that makes the most of the power.

Fuel mileage for both engines is outstanding, rated by the EPA at 28/37 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 32 mpg Combined for the 2.0-liter engine with automatic, and, more impressively, about the same for the 2.5-liter. Both engines have high compression ratios, but don’t require premium gasoline like many other small cars with high-compression engines, Subaru to name one. That’s another impressive and important thing, often overlooked when it comes to value.

The Mazda3 was named Top Safety Pick Plus by the IIHS. All-wheel drive is not available on the Mazda3, or most compacts (Subaru being the main exception in the class).

Model Lineup

The 2018 Mazda3 comes as sedan or hatchback in Sport ($17,845), Touring ($20,045), and Grand Touring ($22,545) models.

The Sport is well equipped with cloth upholstery, air conditioning, rearview camera, Bluetooth, keyless ignition, steering-wheel audio controls, internet radio, 7.0-inch infotainment touchscreen, and 16-inch wheels.

Touring and Grand Touring models get the more powerful engine and more features.

Walkaround

The Mazda3 is distinctive and stylish with its cab-back design, including a long hood that makes it look more costly than it is. There’s also a raked windshield, sweeping roofline and high tail contributing to the sleek and athletic shape of the hatchback. The shoulder line rises and meets pointy taillamps on a rounded hatch. We love it in white.

This styling is a result of some re-touching in 2017 with a lowered front fascia, pushed-up grille, and trimmer foglamps and turn signals. At the rear, a cleaner bumper eliminated some cladding.

Meanwhile, the sedan looks more like a rear-wheel-drive car, than front-wheel drive.

The hatch is especially stylish.

Interior

The cabin materials are excellent, with the exception of a flimsy headliner and plastic door inserts. There are four seating materials: cloth, upgraded cloth, leatherette (vinyl), and leather. The perforated leather in the Grand Touring is luxury level.

The controls on the instrument panel are arranged symmetrically around the driver, with an available head-up display to complete the efficiency and driver focus. We like the electronic emergency brake. The throttle pedal is hinged at the bottom like the pedals of an organ (or a Mercedes-Benz).

The front seats are supportive and comfortable, among the best in the class, with lower cushions for longer legs. The seatbacks afford a natural sitting position and good lateral support. Legroom in the rear is slim, however, with only 35.8 inches.

There’s a lot of content for the price, especially on the touchscreen, but it would be nice if the infotainment were better.

The sedan offers 12.4 cubic feet of cargo space in its trunk.

That’s nothing compared to the hatchback’s 20.2 cubic feet behind the rear seat. The rear seat in the hatch folds down to create 47.1 cubic feet of cargo space, about the same as the Chevy Cruze hatchback, not far off from the cargo capacity of a small SUV.

Driving Impressions

The standard 2.0-liter engine is reasonably responsive, with a consistent and linear throttle pedal, but it has a high torque curve with a maximum of 150 pound-feet, so the power doesn’t come on strong until 4000 rpm, which makes it awkward and less responsive around town. The standard 6-speed manual transmission helps, but not without work.

The power in the 2.5-liter is more available at lower rpm, while the torque max is 185 pound-feet, a difference you can definitely feel over the 150. This engine never gets caught flat-footed. The fact that it gets nearly the same fuel mileage as the 2.0-liter makes the 2.5 a better call. And it’s so very smooth.

The manual transmission is standard, and it’s a good one, as it shifts neatly and precisely, with a clutch take-up that’s easy and clean. But with the 2.5-liter engine we prefer the 6-speed automatic that shifts with paddles, and with the decisiveness of a dual-clutch automatic-manual transmission.

The ride is a bit busier than most compact cars, and a bit harsh. We’ve found it’s smoother with the standard 16-inch wheels and tires.

The electric power steering, like other steer-by-wire systems, does not enhance dynamic driving due to its lack of feedback to driver, and the electro-hydraulic system in the previous generation was better in that regard. The electric system offers a strong sense of center at lower speeds and out of corners, but it doesn’t do well on oddly crowned roads, and it doesn’t track all that well at highway speeds, calling for frequent small adjustments to keep the car straight. (Some of that could be due to tires.)

These cars handle well and are enjoyable to drive in a spirited manner, probably.

Part of what makes them enjoyable to drive comes from the engine management system called G-Vectoring Control, which modulates torque to the front wheels based on steering input, to reduce body roll and improve directional stability. It also squeezes on the brakes to shift weight forward onto the front wheels to carve a tighter line around corners. It’s all magic, in that you can’t feel it happening, you only feel the result.

Driving Impressions

If you want to criticize the Mazda3, you might find a smallish rear seat, limited infotainment, and slightly bumpy ride. But the many significant positives overwhelm those flaws. Stylish looks in the hatchback that move it out of the realm of compact or economy car. Precise handling that comes from the invisible G-vectoring Control. Comfortable front seats and driver-focused instrument panel. Huge cargo space in the hatchback. Best safety rating. But most of all, awesome 2.5-liter engine with a top-notch 6-speed paddleshifting automatic transmission, and stunning fuel mileage.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.

Summary

“”

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Mazda listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Mazda listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Mazda Mazda3 4-Door
430
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel