Consumer Reviews
4.3
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
12 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 16, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
how it rides/how it looks an feels inside/how it looks outside/good visibility/could have more safety equipement
Jim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 15, 2019
9,800 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my second Kia Cadenza. I owned a 2014 and just purchased a 2018 Kia Cadenza. The Kia Cadenza is the overall the the best car I have ever purchased. I have owned 30 cars in my life time.
Ckb
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 14, 2019
12,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The voice command leaves MUCH to be desired! It’s the most disappointing aspect and the one I wanted to most. It could use a few more cup holders and some that are retractable would be great. The backup camera is awesome. It is very comfortable to ride long distance and easy to drive.
Brandon
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 15, 2019
5,600 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Simply love this car! I didn't realize how nice the rear cross traffic alert is to have! This vehicle has the power I wanted with the V6 3.3L GDI engine. I love the panoramic roof, just allows the light in to make the interior bigger. The 2nd row has lots of room without having to move the front seats forward. The exterior of the vehicle gets me every time. Love the design and style of it!
Elise
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
3,500 miles
|
Owned 7 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Beautifically designed interior and exterior. Very appealing. Pleasure to drive. Very comfortable.
Donna
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
3,600 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Kia Cadenza is one of the best cars I've owned. It is easy to drive and is easy to handle. So far I have found it to be reliable vehicle. It has too many bells and whistles for me to use but that is not the fault of the vehicle. I have low mileage on the vehicle and the gas mileage is good...
Ralph
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
12,634 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have own three Mercedes. 2 were pre-own a 2003 E 350 & 2011 C 300. The last my wife chose off the show room floor, a 2016 C 300. My Kia Cadenza's ride and performance has been compatible to Them. The trunk is larger. and it run on regular Gas. which had a great Influence on my choosing the Cadenza. the body has a very futuristic look. and the interior is very comforting. the technology is cutting edge. I feel that I my a great choice
Ed
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,200 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the options that came with the car-the automatic windshield wipers, the heated steering wheel. The smart cruise is amazing! The seats are comfortable and the overall handling makes this a fun car to drive. Not to mention that it is a stylish looking car.
Marion J
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
20,250 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I just love ny Cadenza, the smooth ride the roominess. I enjoy the personal stripes n the warranties.
Carol
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
2,600 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have wanted a Kia Cadenza for several years and finally purchased my new car in June of 2018. I love everything about it with the exception that it does not have remote start. Really a minor oversight on my part and would not keep me from purchasing another Kia.
K7
August 18, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent so far
frick the saints
January 11, 2018
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
they lied it said it said it was a wagon but a car its and i wanted a wagon
2018 Kia 1200 Cadenza 30889 396292
Write a Review for the 2018 Kia Cadenza
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Once known mainly for its small cars, Kia now has a full range of models. The current lineup includes two premium sedans: the front-wheel-drive Cadenza and a bigger, more costly rear-drive K900.

Initially launched as a 2010 model, the Cadenza was redesigned as a second-generation sedan for 2017. Little has changed for the 2018 model year, except that the optional V6 Luxury Package now includes a panoramic sunroof and interior LED lighting.

Three trim levels are offered: Premium, Technology, and Limited (previously SXL). Each Cadenza contains a 3.3-liter V6 engine rated at 290 horsepower and 253 pound-feet of torque, driving an 8-speed automatic transmission.

With the original Cadenza, Kia didn’t simply prepare a bigger version of its other sedans. On the other hand, the company’s largest front-drive sedan didn’t veer far away from the mainstream. Styling is best described as evolutionary rather than groundbreaking, and fuel economy hasn’t been a strong point. Still, the Cadenza has matured considerably in its current, second-generation form.

Although a Cadenza lacks some of the luxurious touches offered in Kia’s rear-drive K900 and its compatriots, it offers plenty for a more accessible price. Even the base Premium trim level is quite well-equipped, including leather seat upholstery and a rearview camera.

A $3,000 option group for Premium trim includes navigation, an 8.0-inch touchscreen, panoramic moonroof, blind-spot monitoring with rear cross-traffic alert, lane-change assist, rear parking sensors, and 630-watt Harman Kardon audio.

As for modern safety technology, forward-collision warnings and automatic emergency braking are standard on the more costly Technology and Limited trim levels. Neither is available for the base (Premium) sedan, though the latter can be fitted with blind-spot monitoring. A rearview camera is standard for all; while a surround-view camera system comes with the Limited edition.

Crash-test data is incomplete. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has not crash-tested a Cadenza. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety named the Cadenza a Top Safety Pick for 2018, with Good ratings in all crash tests. Frontal crash prevention is rated Superior, but only if certain optional equipment is installed. In addition, only the optional LED headlights were deemed Acceptable.

Model Lineup

Premium ($32,290) comes with leather upholstery, a rearview camera, cruise control, dual-zone automatic climate control, heated front seats, a 7.0-inch infotainment touchscreen, and 18-inch alloy wheels. The infotainment system operates in accord with Kia’s UVO eServices telematics, including Android Auto and Apple CarPlay. (Prices are MSRP and do not include $900 destination charge.)

Technology ($39,290) gets 19-inch wheels, ventilated front seats, wireless smartphone charging, bi-function LED headlights, adaptive cruise control, and forward-collision warning with automatic emergency braking.

Limited ($44,690) adds Nappa quilted leather, sunshades, heated outboard rear seats, surround-view camera system, and a head-up display.

Walkaround

Few might call the Cadenza daring or audacious, but the design is pleasant enough, and even a bit interesting. Such details as LED lighting and a mildly concave grille up front provide a dash of liveliness, as well as a sense of character.

For a full-size four-door, the Cadenza neatly incorporates some styling cues that suggest a sport sedan. Most notably, this front-drive sedan veers emphatically away from the formal lines that identify the larger K900 model, which comes across as somewhat dowdy.

Base-model (Premium) Cadenza sedans have their own grille, whereas the front ends of Technology and Limited editions convey a stronger appearance. Upper models get LED headlights and foglamps, and ride on distinct 19-inch wheels, versus 18-inch for the base sedan. All models feature LED positioning lights.

Interior

With its wing-shaped dashboard layout, the Cadenza cabin has a familiar, rather predictable feel. Some might call it sedate, but the look is wholly modern. When trimmed in Nappa leather, though, it’s especially welcoming. The Limited sedan gets rather flashy stitching on its leather.

Materials quality and detail work stand above the pack. Basic-level plastics are limited to lower door panels and trunk liners. Nothing about the interior suggests the thrifty overall feel of some Kia economy cars.

Controls consist of actual knobs and buttons, grouped around the central touchscreen. They help make the Cadenza an easy car to operate. A considerable amount of sound-deadening materials ensures quiet cruising.

Five adult passengers can fit inside without notable discomfort, helped by a large back seat. Headroom and shoulder space are just fine, though clearance for taller occupants might be affected by the panoramic sunroof. The long roofline helps provide abundant head space in the back seat, while legroom can seem almost limousine-like.

Front seats are sufficiently supportive, without excessive firmness. Multiple seat adjustments are standard in all Cadenzas. Driver’s seats in Technology and Limited versions include a powered leg bolster that slides out, to give taller drivers better support. Kia’s simple infotainment system works nicely.

Among the biggest in its class, the Cadenza’s trunk holds 16 cubic feet. Small-item storage is very good, in the console as well as door pockets.

Driving Impressions

Cadenza riders can expect a quiet, even hushed, experience, with a powertrain that’s barely noticeable. Far from stiff, the ride supplied by Kia’s independent suspension is calm and relaxed.

Ride and handling are effectively coordinated. Though the driver might feel somewhat isolated, road feel never gets sloppy in nature.

Handling cannot be called crisp, but it’s well-composed, if a bit cushiony. Steering is somewhat heavy for a big car, but brakes respond well and are easily modulated. Body lean in corners is moderate, and body motions are well-controlled.

While the Cadenza might resemble a sport sedan, performance doesn’t quite warrant that designation, though it reaches above average for the class. With its 8-speed automatic, the Cadenza responds promptly. Low-end vigor isn’t the strongest, but the sedan enters traffic flow without hesitation. Downshifts to pass or merge occur quickly.

Comfort, Eco, Sport, and Smart modes may be selected, but differences are modest. Each mode alters steering and throttle response, but doesn’t affect the suspension, which is tuned for ride comfort.

Despite the use of an 8-speed automatic, fuel economy ranks as so-so. The Cadenza is EPA-rated at 20/28 mpg City/Highway, or 23 mpg Combined.

Summary

Kia earns plaudits for the Cadenza’s features and driving comfort, as well as ample standard equipment. Rivals may promise sharper handling, but quiet running and gentle ride qualities can give Cadenza the edge. So does the spacious cabin, with a back seat that almost qualifies as a benchmark in the full-size sedan category.

Driving impressions by Marty Padgett, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Kia listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Kia listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Kia Cadenza
816
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel