Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
15 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Werner
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 20, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I like how I can customize my JEEP WRANGLER JL to make it stand out from others ! There is NO other Wrangler JL in the world, what looks like mine !!
Ernie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 17, 2019
8,400 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
well worth the money.fun to drive.gas lasts short time.color is good nice to take doors and top off.go free styleing.
JENNY
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 18, 2019
10,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
WE LOVE ARE TWO DOOR PUNKIN JEEP WRANGLER SPORT NICE RIDE THE ONLY DOWN FALL IS I WISH WE WOULD HAVE GOT ELECTRIC SEATS CONTROLS I WOULD BUY THE SAME JEEP AGAIN
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
14,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We needed a larger vehicle for our soon to be growing family. Wanted something that made us feel young yet responsible. I love the option of just removing the moon roof panels. Has tons of room behind second row. The heater is exceptional for those warm days that turn to chilling evening rides home with the top removed. We bought the Altitude package. Has the coolest looking hood that makes our Jeep stand out from the rest. The radio didn’t have the newest technology but it came with the best speaker system which was more important to us. If I had a dislike it would be it doesn’t have much get up and go. But that’s not why you’re buying a jeep.
Rhonda C
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
8,700 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Its Awesome no reqrets! I enjoy all the options and probably end up keeping for a long time. Its very reliable
Janet
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
4,260 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Wrangler is a joy to drive. I feel safe and confident while driving. I look forward to getting in it everyday for work and seeing where it takes me for fun on the weekends.
DAVID
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Wrangler Rubicon is fun and exciting to drive. It has opened up a whole new world to explore. It drives great with very good interior and technology features. I chose this jeep so we could go off the beating path and there are many aftermarket modifications you can do like add a sunrider top. It offers mainly flexibility between daily life and weekend adventuring.
Michelle
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Durable and seemingly tough for use in different environments. Great exterior color choices. Some dials and switches on dash are difficult to see. Good performance for a 4 cyl turbo but low mpg . Hate that it requires high octane gas
Allen A.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
6,579 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my jeep, it’ll go anywhere, snow or ice! It turns heads on the highway, it’s great on the mountain trails. Awesome features from heated seats to heated steering wheel. Acceleration is awesome.
Erin
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
7,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have wanted to own a Jeep Wrangler since I was 16 years old. through the course of my life there were several features that didn't match what my life needed. At 41, a change of events caused me to need a new car very last minute. As I looked at cars, even replacing my old vehicle with the same car newer model, I found the Jeep Wrangler, with a wider and longer wheel base, several of the same safety features in my AWD Chrylser I had just said goodbye to, but with the added bonus of a vehicle that could take many of the trails I had been doing on an ATV. While this vehicle is my daily driver, it is also a fun weekend vehicle. I like the way I feel in it, even though it is probably just me feeling 16 because it was the car of my dreams at that age. I am comfortable in the vehicle, the seats are not overly ridged, nor are they designed with too many bells and whistles. My children fit in the car, and they too love the idea of a Jeep. The back is much more spacious than they were in the 1990s. I can fit a full Costco run in the back, without blocking my view (a month of supplies for a family of four). The suspension features are comparative to my prior luxury SUV, I do not feel bouncy nor do I feel that I am in a 4-wheel drive vehicle most days while driving on everyday streets. I am very happy with my decision. I still smile when I walk to get in my car at the end of the day. And getting a Jeep Wave from other drivers always brightens the day.
Regina
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent current technology and performance. High quality craftsmanship, reliable and built to last. The new touch screen / infotainment interface is awesome!
Rob
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
15,534 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Jeep Wrangler JKU Sport, it has everything I want electric windows and locks, heated mirrors, and hardtop. This vehicle has not failed me with the weather and I feel that I can handle no matter what nature is throwing out to get me to point A to B with ease. This is by far my best and favorite vehicle ever.
Pete
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
5,700 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport S  looks great and is fun to drive. Terrific Alpine sound system.  AC and heater work exceptionally well. Heated front seats, steering wheel and mirrors.   Good power and super smooth 8 speed automatic  transmission. Remote start works great. I like sitting high giving good visuals.  Great in snow or off road.  800 mile round trip ride was a blast.  Very functional dashboard.  Mileage is on the low side. 18-23+ mpg.  Auto start/stop needs to be turned off at each key cycle.
Joseph
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
4,800 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best looking vehicle . I have the Rubicon 2018 JL with steel bumpers and upgraded wheels and tires. Had a 2014 Rubicon just had to get the new JL because of the look ofbthe front end
Anonymous
January 02, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2018 Jeep 1199 Wrangler 30909 397618
Write a Review for the 2018 Jeep Wrangler
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Tony Swan
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Jeep Wrangler is all-new for 2018, slightly larger, roomier, more refined, yet with improved off-road capability. The 2018 Wrangler comes in two-door and four-door Unlimited models.

Jeep is a brand name that has been expanded to cover five (soon to be six) different nameplates, but for serious off-road enthusiasts only one vehicle really merits that hallowed badge and this is it. Though it’s been refined and mechanically enhanced over the decades, the Jeep Wrangler continues to embody the rugged go-anywhere can-do spirit of the original, a vehicle General George C. Marshall characterized as America’s greatest contribution to World War II. (Greatest technical contribution, that is. General Marshall did not discount the millions of men and women who served in the armed forces from 1941 through 1945.)

How much does the latest Wrangler resemble the ones that rolled ashore at Normandy in 1944? Well, there are those seven vertical grille vents, which have persisted over the decades with all Jeeps, great and small. And like the Willys original, the Wrangler is a body-on-frame design: the body joins the chassis late in the assembly process.

No other Jeep meets that description. All are unitbodies, i.e., the body shell and frame rails are unitized. The same applies to all Jeep competitors. The advantage of unitbody construction is higher chassis rigidity and lower curb weight.

The advantage of body-on-frame is its ability to take a beating in rough going. Which is what this Jeep is all about.

Without a side-by-side comparison, previous generation and new, it would take a real Jeep expert to see the difference. Not surprising. The Wrangler is a sacred property, revered by many thousands of owners, and the design team trifles with its basics at their peril. Remember the firestorm that greeted the square headlights of the 1986 model?

So the new Wrangler looks very much like its predecessor: squarish fenders, rectilinear styling, removable doors, removable windshield, side curtains, rear mounted spare.

But there are many differences. For one, this is a slightly bigger Wrangler on a longer, sturdier wheelbase. And while bigger, it’s also fractionally lighter. A new 2.0-liter turbocharged gasoline engine option. Increased off-road capability. More ground clearance for the Rubicon model. More interior room. More comfort. Enhanced infotainment and connectivity.

And an irony. While the two-door Wrangler continues to be the most iconic of all Jeeps, with the closest ties to the WW II, the four-door version is the best seller, to the tune of 80 to 85 percent of Wrangler sales.

Model Lineup

There are four Wrangler trim levels: Sport, Sport S, Sahara, and Rubicon.

Walkaround

As noted, to a casual observer, the new Wrangler is all but indistinguishable from its predecessor. But there are many, and to Jeep cognoscenti some, at least, will be immediately apparent.

For example, not only is the new windshield easier to remove, its angle is less upright, improving the Wrangler’s aerodynamics. That seven-slot grille is more upright in its lower two-thirds, then cants rearward in the upper third. The headlights are closer to the grille The tailgate-mounted spare tire mount is a little lower, and the rearview camera sits at the center of the mount.

Also, though not visible to the naked eye, the tailgate is composed of magnesium, with an aluminum skin, part of the Wrangler’s weight reduction. Similarly, the hood, doors, and fenders are aluminum.

The soft top on the classic two-door is easier to remove, and the soft top version of the four-door Sahara is power operable, a Wrangler first.

Interior

Comfort isn’t the first word that comes to mind with a vehicle such as the Wrangler, but it’s an attribute that’s an appreciated part of the new Wrangler’s persona. It’s partly attributable to increased room, particularly in the rear seat, partly to improved materials. Interior noise levels are surprisingly civilized on paved roads, and of course there’s up-to-date infotainment and connectivity with Chrysler’s Uconnect system and available 8.4-inch touch screen.

The latest Wrangler has no luxury pretenses, but the product planners reason that rugged off-road creds and contemporary comfort aren’t mutually exclusive concepts.

The Wrangler’s aluminum hood shelters Jeep’s tried-and-true 3.0-liter V6 engine (285 horsepower, 260 pound-feet of torque), updated with a higher compression ratio, stop-start technology, and improved EPA fuel economy: 18 mpg city, 23 highway, paired with a new eight-speed automatic transmission, replacing the previous five-speed.

The new automatic is optional with the V6 engine; an equally new Aisin six-speed manual is standard.

As noted, a new turbocharged eTorque 2.0-liter four joins the Wrangler powertrain inventory. Rated for 270 hp and 295 lb-ft, the new turbo four also has an motor generator that provides an electric assist feature, making it a sort of mild hybrid.

The new eTorque 2.0-liter will be paired only with the eight-speed automatic.

As you’d expect, the Wrangler offers a number of off-road features: two four-wheel drive systems, more robust Dana axles front and rear, locking front and rear differentials, a taller wheel/tire package (32 inches versus the previous 31-inch tire), as well as a vast catalogue of Jeep Performance and Mopar goodies.

Driving Impressions

The most surprising element of the new Wrangler’s public road performance is smooth ride quality. This is true on pavement, and, more impressively, on graded dirt with stretches of nasty washboard.

Similarly, the cabin is reasonably quiet in most situations, although some wind noise begins to intrude at freeway speeds. Design enhancements may improve the Wrangler’s progress through the air, but aerodynamic efficiency it not this vehicle’s strong suit. It’s still essentially a brick, and still punches a good-sized hole in the air.

Other small demerits: acceleration with the V6 engine is unhurried; weight reduction notwithstanding, the new Wrangler is still pretty chunky for a vehicle of its size. The two-door is just 166.8 inches long, the four-door is 188.4, but curb weights range from just under two tons to over 4300 pounds, according to Jeep.

The 2.0-liter turbo’s abundant torque yields a little more off-the-line enthusiasm, but acceleration nosebleeds are not a Wrangler concern.

On the plus side, the eight-speed automatic is a smooth operator. And Wrangler faithful will be pleased that this rugged individualist retains a manual transmission option.

Good marks on regular roads, which is where a lot of Wranglers spend most of their time.

But where the Wrangler continues to upstage every other vehicle with off-road pretensions is, yes, off road. Part of the experience at the Wrangler press introduction, near Tucson, included driving a Wrangler Rubicon up a slope consisting of small to medium-size boulders that didn’t even vaguely resemble a trail.

It was a slope that would have been difficult to climb on foot. But Like the Little Engine that Could, the Wrangler chuffed and snorted and marched up the hill, skid plates scraping, occasionally teetering on two wheels, sometimes with just one wheel delivering traction.

This is the environment that makes the Wrangler special.

Summary

There are Wranglers that never leave pavement, and of all the Jeeps this one makes an automotive fashion statement that’s hard to ignore. But where it excels is where the pavement ends. There are Land Rovers that can tackle the rough stuff, but for the money the Wrangler has no peers.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Jeep listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Jeep listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Jeep Wrangler
527
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel