Consumer Reviews
4.3
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
20 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Anonymous
June 25, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
tobyamp
June 24, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Cheryl H.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 16, 2019
8,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
On my 2nd Jeep Renegade (went from a leased Trail hawk to a purchase a 2018 Latitude with incentive deals). Quite happy with 4x4 handling in bad weather (avoided a skid accident this year ) & love features like Sirius XM, Uconnect/navigation package, conceige key fob, back up cam, remote/push to start! Very happy to actually “own” this smart Jeep Renegade Latitude!
dive61364
March 15, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
great vehicle for the money.
Ron
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 17, 2019
5,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
great gas millage 31.3 average city/hi 40 mpg highway. interior is kind of plain but the info center / radio works great, good back up camera. peppy little 4 cylinder turbo moves it right along, manual 6 speed is much more peppy than the automatic version,
Kim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 17, 2019
10,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am so very glad I bought the Jeep Renegade. Our first winter storm made the news because the state didn’t prepare for it. A light dusting as the weather channel said it would be turned 20 min commutes into eight hour drives. My little Jeep made it home safely without sliding. It powered up the massive hill I drive up, and went down perfectly smooth. I felt warm with my seat heaters and heated steaming wheel while still feeling both safe and secure. It’s great on gas and the perfect car for me.
Liz
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 16, 2019
4,800 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great driving experience. The power I need when I need it. After a 8" snowstorm it took me right to work with no issues. I would like a little more storage but I can work with what the renegade comes with. I love that it has a full size spare tire. The trailhawke package has everything I want. The multiple choice of snow, mud, gravel is wonderful. I used the mud mode after a large rainstorm and it pulled right through without spinning out. I love my Jeep Renegade!!!
Alexis
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I LOVE my jeep renegade! Its so easy to drive. It is a very safe vehicle. gets great gas mileage, and looks great too!
Shirley
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
12,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I absolutely love my 2018 Jeep Renegade. It is the best financial decision I have ever made. It has exceptional gas mileage and it drives like a dream. The maintenance on it is reasonable and it is the best car I have ever owned.
Tammie H
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
3,900 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Renegade has great handling in all weather. Super sporty. Easy to park. The interior looks like an expensive vehicle but durable for kids and animals. The Renegade looks small from the outside but inside it is so roomy, that my 6'1" 215 lb husband can drive it comfortably.
Susan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I’m sold on the heated steering wheel and heated seat features. Love, love, love. We also enjoy the sunroof feature, especiallly on beautiful days. I have a long work commute so gas mileage is important and my Jeep gets me the gas mileage I need.
Mama
November 08, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
HD883
October 05, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Acceleration would be better if it had better transmission. Roomy interior. Great brakes.
Moke
September 09, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love this car. Great build, ride, low noise level, etc.
George
August 28, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am very pleased with my 2018 Renegade Sport. Gets me through any kind of weather. I''ve been averaging only about 23 miles per gallon, but the other jeeps are much worse.
georgie b
August 23, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
.great looks, lots of room, handles nicely and accelerates surprizingly well considering the size of the engine....all in all, a very nice ride
BigGuy
August 13, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
If you are tall or a Big Guy, this is very roomy. I am a little over 6''5 and 300 pounds. Very roomy fit underneath steering wheel with plenty room to still adjust. Acceleration is better than average, I am not racing the SUV so why ask for anything more. Breaking excellent, and handles very very well. There always blind spot on any SUV, not too bad, test drove worse with Nissan Rouge. I would recommend the 2018 Jeep Renegade. Anyone who is tall are big. Great SUV and great Price.
RandyK
June 30, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love this smaller Jeep. The suspension is tight, which is great. I think the handling is excellent, despite the previous review. My only real 2 beefs are fuel economy, at 17 mpg, and the 9 speed transmission, although It is pretty easy to find equipment to overide the factory shift settings. Overall I have to say that I love my Trailhawk, but would also love an available 6 cylinder engine.
Alan
June 07, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Really good car. Touch screen lags or crashes sometimes in my Jeep. I get 23 in city 28 on highway. I have the sport 4x4.
Anonymous
January 02, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2018 Jeep 1199 Renegade 30480 393096
Write a Review for the 2018 Jeep Renegade
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Jeep Renegade is the smallest crossover you can buy. Less than 167 inches in overall length (13.9 feet), it’s shorter than a Range Rover Evoque or a Subaru Crosstrek. Being so efficiently small, it fills a need, easy to park, relatively rugged, and having fantastic off-road traction with its two-speed transfer case providing low-range gearing.

The Renegade is built by Fiat Chrysler in Italy, on the Fiat 500x chassis, the first Jeep product built completely outside North America. It’s very popular in countries where gas costs much more than here (mostly due to taxes).

Renegade was introduced as a 2015 model. For 2018, the interiors have been revised with new seat colors and fabrics and fresh bezel treatments. A new Selec-Terrain shifter dial allowed the creation of more storage space. 2018 Jeep Renegade models are available with the latest Uconnect system with larger displays and more features, including navigation, Android Auto and Apple CarPlay are available. 2018 Renegade models come standard with a rearview camera, and sunroof options have been expanded.

Renegade is smaller than the all-new Jeep Compass, the next size up in Jeep’s crossover lineup. The Wrangler is shorter than the Renegade, but it’s a highly focused offroad vehicle, not a crossover.

There are no precise competitors for the Renegade. There are all-wheel-drive crossovers that might be considered, but they’re oranges to the apple. For example there is the Nissan Juke, the Honda HR-V, the new Toyota C-HR, Hyundai Kona, or even the Range Rover Evoque, which matches the Renegade’s traction, but it’s in another class altogether.

Renegade comes with two powertrains, with front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive. The base engine is a turbocharged 1.4-liter four-cylinder making 160 horsepower and 184 pound-feet of torque, mated to a 6-speed manual transmission.

The more powerful option is a 2.4-liter four-cylinder making 180 horsepower and 175 pound-feet of torque, mated to a 9-speed automatic. It comes standard on the Trailhawk and Desert Hawk models.

The 1.4-liter turbo gets an EPA-rated 27 miles per gallon Combined, while the 2.4-liter rates 25 mpg Combined city and highway.

The federal NHTSA gives the Renegade four stars for crash worthiness, while the insurance industry’s IIHS gives it top scores in all but the small-overlap front crash test on which few vehicles earn a Good rating. Optional active-safety features include forward-collision warnings and automatic braking, lane-departure warning, and blind-spot monitors.

Model Lineup

The 2018 Renegade comes in Sport ($17,995), Latitude ($21,495), Altitude ($22,190), Limited ($27,195), Trailhawk ($26,895), and Deserthawk ($28,390). (Prices are MSRP for 2017 models and do not include destination charge.)

Walkaround

The Renegade is short in length, but relatively tall, exaggerated by sides that are flat and vertical. It has a spunky kind of distinction, or a distinctive kind of spunk. Details flaunt the fact that it’s a Jeep, from the seven-bar grille to the big round headlights. The black fender flares are oversized, making the tiny Renegade look tough. The taillamps have an X shape in them, intended to suggest jerry cans strapped to the rear, as a reminder of Jeep’s WWII heritage.

Interior

Imagine a bulked-up subcompact, and you might see the Renegade interior, with its big round knobs and center vents in a pod on the dash.

The front seats are comfortable and well bolstered, with good shoulder room. But in the rear, the subcompact size comes back with seriously limited legroom. For there to be reasonable comfort for back-seat passengers, the front seats have to be slid forward.

The rear seats fold flat, and so does the front passenger seat, creating a ton of cargo space for the Renegade’s size.

In short, Renegade is better for two plus their cargo than it is for four adults.

Driving Impressions

On paved roads, the Renegade feels adequately refined. We like the combination of the 1.4-liter turbo engine with front-wheel drive in the city, even with its manual gearbox. It’s lighter and more direct than the 2.4-liter.

The Trailhawk feels ponderous around town where handling is tight, because of its additional weight.

Off road, the Renegade is no Wrangler, but with its modes for Mud, Sand and Snow, it’s quite remarkable. We drove it up steep and rutty hills, nearly 45 degrees, and back down again using the hill descent control to control the speed, and grip at each wheel. The little Jeep will cross streams and climb boulders almost as tall as its wheels. No worries about getting it muddy, or getting to the other side of the bog.

The Trailhawk has one inch more ground clearance and bumpers that allow steeper approach and descent angles. There’s also a Rock mode, which enables the Trailhawk to crawl along at less-than-walking speed, a great feature.

Summary

The Jeep Renegade is a solid small utility vehicle, with a suspension and two-speed transfer case that add capability over rugged terrain. Excellent powertrains, especially the fuel-efficient 1.4-liter turbo, make the Renegade compelling. The manual transmission keeps the Jeep real. Comfortable front seats. Big cargo room for the tiny size, thanks to rear and front passenger seats that fold flat.

Sam Moses contributed to this review, with staff reports.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Jeep listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Jeep listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Jeep Renegade
449
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel