Consumer Reviews
4.5
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
31 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Need2slodown
July 28, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very happy with my 2018 Compass Trailhawk. 4wd Luxury and Sporty all wrapped up in one vehicle
Lisa
July 27, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
this is a very underrated SUV
Unhappy
June 17, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Manual version has many blind spots, clutch pedal is too close to brake pedal, clutch pedal sticks up much farther than brake pedal. Did I mention there are far too many blind spots.
JuJu
May 21, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Joepo
May 15, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Alien
May 11, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Everything you need
Streetglide
April 16, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Rated my 2018 Jeep Compass Trailhawk high. Driving is mainly in town. Braking with stop and go excellent. Less blind spots. Good visibility all around. Built sturdier.
Ann
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
April 02, 2019
4,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
LOVE our Jeep Compass. Love being able to start it from inside on freezing cold days. LOVE the comfort of it. LOVE the FREE sirus for 1 year. LOVE the way it handles on the road, & the 4 wheel drive on our snowy, icy days. Just LOVE the overall feel of the vehicle.
Robert M.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 24, 2019
11,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I drove around in a beat down Chevy Cobalt. I made my way to Chrysler and Jeep, with intentions on getting a brand new vehicle 8 months ago. My dream car has been a brand new Jeep Compass. My new vehicle is so amazing, great on gas! Eco friendly. Loaded with tons of safety features, such as auto emergency e-brake in case my car is on and in park if my niece or nephew were to numb the gear shift my E-brake will automatically set it self. I would not trade my car for the world and I value my decision every moment I take a seat in the driver seat. It’s honestly an amazing vehicle.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 03, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great in snow/ice. Very important to me driving in Michigan, this car makes me feel safe in bad weather. Also very stylish
Ryan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 17, 2019
5,513 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This Compass has all the features I was looking for in a car that would provide safety and reliability for my family as it's their primary vehicle. The safety package was well worth the extra money and it's a very comfortable car with exceptional handling.
Tammy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,200 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love my Jeep Compass! It rides so smoothly and handles well. I also get excellent gas mileage. It looks classy, as well!
Lisanne
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I really enjoy the versatility and get up an go that my Compass Sport delivers. It responds and delivers in every way.
Laura
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
7,200 miles
|
Owned 11 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my new jeep Compass I am so glad I leased it. It has every option that is perfect for winters. From the heated seats to the heated steering wheel. It has an electric starter and can hold everything I can imagine putting into the back.
Rachel
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
6,100 miles
|
Owned 7 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Jeep Compass handles excellently in the snow. Although I opted to not go for the Trailhawk model, I still believe that my Compass performs well on off-road terrain/higher altitudes. Although the acceleration isn’t exactly what I would like and the stop/start feature makes me feel like the engine is stalling every time I accelerate from a stoplight—I am thankful I am able to turn that feature off—I love my vehicle. I feel safe, I feel like it’s a dependable vehicle, and I love the luxurious leather interior and technology capabilities. Thank you, Jeep, for my first “big kid” car!
Lindsay Annie
January 14, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is the second jeep that I have owned and I really like the upgrades on this compared to the liberty. Love all the bells and whistles and a great all around vehicle. Gas mileage could be better but other than that, no complaints!
JSA
October 12, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought it for my wife and we love it! We have the 2018 Compass Altitude 4X4. We also added 6 years/120,000 miles bumper to bumper warranty. The only thing that I would like to change is the 5" radio that comes with it. I''m looking to upgrade it in to an 8'' inch one in the future but overall, we love this jeep.
July 30, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
cinder
July 14, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Rocky
March 29, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love the 6 speed stick, allows the 2.4 engine to rise to it''s full potential. Very solid vehicle
joed
March 13, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Kayla
February 22, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Its my first Jeep and Im very happy with the look and feel of the Jeep. Just wish it had more power.
jeep1918
February 19, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
everyone talks about no power. It has plenty of power if you don''t drive it like granny and use the transmission the way it is designed. Great lines on the Compass the interior could be jazzed up a like but it is very well designed. There is one thing that does bug me it has a shut off engine feature that is on when you start the Compass, so if you don''t want to use it you have to shut it off,It should be the other way around if you need it then turn it on. We love it.Drive one!!!
DoubleJJ
February 12, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great compact 4X4! Car has plenty of room for 4 average size adults. Handling is great and the interior appointments are good for a vehicle in this price range. You do need to plan your entrances onto freeways and leave lots of room for passing on 2 lane roads but overall the acceleration is good for city driving. First jeep that I have purchased but it won"t be the last!
Anonymous
February 08, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
February 03, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
donjr
December 30, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
WILLIE
December 26, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
GREAT "ALL AROUND VEHICLE"-HANDLES VERY WELL-GOOD GAS MILEAGE
SO FAR ABOUT 30 MPG-HIGHWAY !!! WELL PLEASED & AND AFFORDABLE !!
WE SEE-A LOT OF JEEPS ON THE ROAD--NEW & OLDER MODELS-MUST NOT
BE THE ONLY PERSON WITH -A "GREAT REVIEW" !!!!
Michael
December 06, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very nice suv not to big not to small and the trailhawk is great off road a little under powered but every thing else is great get a lot of compliments
Luis
September 09, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
jim bob
July 31, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
stuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuupendous!
2018 Jeep 1199 Compass 30537 393578
Write a Review for the 2018 Jeep Compass
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Jeep Compass, a front-wheel or all-wheel-drive compact crossover, is all new for 2018. Based on the sub-compact Renegade, the all-new 2018 Compass looks more like the midsize Cherokee, although it’s narrower (and slower).

Compass is powered by an aging and underwhelming 2.4-liter engine making 180 horsepower and 175 pound-feet of torque, mated to a 6-speed manual transmission, 6-speed automatic, or 9-speed automatic that isn’t as smooth as the new GM 9-speed.

But it handles well, and has a steady and comfortable ride on the standard 16-inch wheels and tires.

Compass is EPA rated at 26 Combined miles per gallon with front-wheel drive, 1 less mpg with all-wheel drive.

We most like the offroad Compass Trailhawk, which feels more like an authentic Jeep. It’s not serious about off-roading like the Wrangler or Cherokee, but the Compass Trailhawk beats other crossovers on the trails. It has higher bumpers for clearing rocks and climbing and descending ridges, along with one inch added ground clearance and more rugged all-terrain tires. Its 9-speed transmission locks into first gear with a 20:1 simulated crawl ratio, so you can go very, very slow, an important feature in rugged terrain.

Competitors include the Ford Escape, Toyota RAV4, Honda CR-V, Mazda CX-5, Nissan Rogue, Chevrolet Equinox and GMC Terrain. Compact crossover is a tough game. That’s why the Trailhawk stands out.

Model Lineup

Compass Sport ($20,995) is well equipped, with rugged fabric seats, rearview camera, full power equipment, air conditioning, two USB ports, keyless ignition, 16-inch wheels, Bluetooth with audio streaming, and a 5.0-inch touchscreen audio system. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Compass Latitude ($24,295) adds 17-inch wheels, cloth/vinyl seats, roof rails, a leather-wrapped steering wheel, and more available equipment packages. Among them are a sunroof, Beats audio, navigation, blind-spot monitors, power tailgate, 7.0-inch touchscreen, tow package, and a safety bundle including forward-collision warnings with automatic emergency braking.

Compass Limited ($28,340) includes an 8.4-inch touchscreen, leather seats heated in front, 18-inch wheels, and an LCD screen in the instrument cluster.

All-wheel drive is available in these three models ($1500).

Compass Trailhawk ($28,695) comes standard with all-wheel drive and offroad rigging, including a 115-volt power outlet that’s useful for camping. But it also comes with leather, and upgraded infotainment.

Walkaround

The all-new Compass is quite attractive, faithfully copying the form and profile of the Cherokee only in about 7/8 scale. From the front, it looks more like the Grand Cherokee, having its seven-slot grille, with a black air intake below the body-colored bumper. There’s a lot of silver trim, but fortunately not the Cherokee’s thin grille and strange split headlamps.

The body looks sleeker with the optional black roof. Without the optional roof rack and alloy wheels, it looks very plain. The 17-inch wheels are big enough, 19-inch wheels overkill.

The Trailhawk brings some Jeep back into the Compass, with its higher ground clearance and all-terrain tires. But the nose and tail are less clean, with a front bumper that rises over a larger air intake; and horizontal silver trim on the liftgate that appears to have gotten lost on its way to the Limited.

Interior

The cabin speaks Jeep’s current design language, with a lot of pleasant curves and organic shapes. It’s well finished. Climate controls are neatly positioned on the center console below the infotainment screen, and over a big dial that sets the modes for the all-wheel drive.

The quality of materials is generally high, although it might be brightened with savvy trim packages. The dash panel is soft-touch plastic, and the substantial fabric seats in the Sport feel durable. The Latitude blends fabric and synthetic leather, while the Limited gets inexpensive leather.

But overall, the Compass doesn’t match its rivals. Headroom and legroom are good enough for four adults, but because it’s narrow like the sub-compact Renegade it’s based on, you can forget about five, at least in comfort. Even in the front, the occupants’ shoulders are close. And the seats need better padding in front and rear. Also, the headrests are angled too far forward, something manufacturers do to get better crash-test scores.

However the front seat is height adjustable (manual on the Sport, power on the Limited), which is useful for its versatility.

Despite its narrowness, the cabin feels sizable for a compact. There’s 27.2 cubic feet or cargo space behind the rear seat, which splits and folds to create more. But the cargo floor is 31.1 inches, a bit high for loading.

Driving Impressions

The Compass needs and deserves a better engine, to keep up with its ride and handling. Its 180 horsepower and 175 pound-feet of torque don’t sound so lame on paper, but on the road it struggles with more than two occupants. Add two more people and some gear in back, and it becomes work to keep the speed up.

The Sport and Latitude come standard with a 6-speed manual transmission, while the 6-speed automatic is optional. Unfortunately we haven’t driven a Compass with either of these transmissions, just the 9-speed automatic that we have found to be clunky in the Cherokee and other Chrysler models, especially downshifting for acceleration. So we might prefer the 6-speed automatic. By comparison, the new 9-speed in the GMC Terrain is smooth.

The independent suspension is tuned for comfort, except on the Trailhawk. But even the Trailhawk delivers a good ride. The Sport’s 16-inch wheels deliver the best ride, the Latitude’s 17-inchers are fine too, but with the 19-inch wheels the ride gets jittery.

There is some body lean, but the Compass still enters corners with confidence. The thick steering wheel suggests a level of sportiness that the chassis and steering don’t deliver, however. The Compass doesn’t handle like a Ford Escape or Mazda CX-5.

The Trailhawk offers something that the other compact crossovers don’t, never mind that it’s still only half-way to offroad. It’s a gentrified small Jeep, not a true-blue one. But it’s a nice compromise.

The raised bumpers give it higher approach and departure angles, but they detract from the clean styling. The one inch increased ground clearance gives it a total of 8.4 inches. The 9-speed automatic is programmed for rock crawling at very slow speed. But mostly, the traction control system adds two modes.

Summary

The Compass is one of the best looking compact crossovers. Its engine is dated and the 9-speed automatic lacks refinement. Ride quality is fine. The cabin is too narrow for comfort and the seat padding is too slim.

Sam Moses contributed to this review, with staff reports.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Jeep listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Jeep listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Jeep Compass
404
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel