Consumer Reviews
4.7
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
29 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
STP
October 11, 2019
15,349 miles
|
Owned 1 years 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Has proven to be an excellent vehicle for travelling in as well as running around town. The interior is functional and comfortable. It performs exceptionally well with the 3.2L and is capable in the snow as well. All around a very nice vehicle, interior is comfortable for four adults as well.
Reinaldo
April 20, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love it!
Vikki
February 20, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 2018 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk has been my favorite vehicle, which says a lot, being I have a new vehicle every 2-3 years.
The only reason I am selling this is I had an accident working in my yard and have not worked in months. The Trailhawk is beautiful and so cool to look at.
eyerishgrl2
February 06, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I just got my 2018 Renegade Lattitude about a week ago and am very satisfied with it.I wosh there was more cubby holes to stash things in but at least I do have a nice size spot for my cell pjone.
AALS
January 06, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Billie
January 01, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Redfox
November 25, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
shankan
August 27, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
zxr92
August 21, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I''ve been surprised how much I like this vehicle. My only very minor complaint is the transmission is a little slow in "auto" to find the gear. But that''s REALLY nitpicking after all the positives of the ride, power and even how it tows. I have the V6 4x4.
Bob
July 30, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love this SUV. Very comfortable on the highway.
Mushman
July 01, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Have owned a trail hawk and a latitude,
The latitude almost $9000 less actually is a better ride. The six cylinder is more then enough power for this SUV.
Anonymous
June 30, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
1941
June 29, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
nice but gas milage is ok ride is great we will see how this is my lastnew car ever I hope
JD
June 16, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought the 4.2 about 2 mo. ago, and love it! Yes its a little lacking on acceleration and mpg but the stability and safetys for this vehicle more than make up for those in my mind. I have owned close to 20 different makes, models, and years in my life and so far, this is the best.
2018 Cherokee
May 30, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I purchased 2018 4x4 with V6, love the card, not much of a SUV person but love this one. Had a business trip and had to drive a Nissan Rogue 2017 AWD SL model and it was horriable, loud and just was nasty to drive. Sold on this Jeep So much bought a Second.
Thumper
May 30, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The first Cherokee we bought had the I4 FWD and was not strong enough for carrying passengers with luggage as well as finding the right gear in traffic on the interstate. I traded it in on the 3.2 V6 4x4 and have enjoyed the overall complete package of the Jeep. It not only was amazing on long road trips in the housands of miles, but the ride quality for a small UTE like this was excellent. The problem with the nin speed not finding the right gear in the I4 is not an issue with the V6 and the 4x4 capability it showed up North in the snow was excellent.
Jp
May 24, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great car.... Couldn''t be any happier with ever part of this suv
KeithA
April 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I never considered a Jeep when shopping for a vehicle.I began looking for a vehicle towable by our motor home. After test driving a new 2018 Cherokee Trailhawk, I had to buy it. I''ve only had it for3 months, but so far I am extremely pleased with comfort, ride, handling and performance (V-6). My only complaint, though minor, is the small gas tank, limiting range between fill-ups.
Sasquatch
March 16, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
4 banger a little under powered.Acceptable for non towing.Avg 20.5 mpg.Interoior top notch for price range.No CD player with 8.4 Uconnect.I still own 8 tracks.Only off road done is snow covered oil well roads.No issues in that reguard.Purchased at 23,300 + TL for 18 latitude plus cold weather package.
Sharl
March 13, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought my second Cherokee. Dependable and handles well in all types of weather and road conditions.
Bowhunter
March 05, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Really like this vehicle. Cant wait to c how it toes
Chuck G
February 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I been wanting to own a Jeep since I was a teenager, I''m very happy I finely had the chance to buy one. I''m moving back to Toledo, Ohio area after many, many years from California. I''ll know the Jeep will help me get through the cold, hard winters. I love my Jeep Cherokee and I know I''ll enjoy it for many, many years to come, in safety
Mattman
February 18, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Dave
February 13, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Purchased the 2018 Jeep Cherokee Latitude- love it. Great ride, comfortable, lots of room. Wife loves it! ???
Anonymous
January 24, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Lazy Chuck
January 08, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I own two Cherokees. One for hauling small stuff and another that''s the family car, loaded. Good FOV, as well.
Duffy
December 09, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
ShibaGirl
November 28, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I''ve had my 2018 Cherokee Overland for a few weeks now and I''m in love. Big upgrade over my 2015 Limited. Can''t wait to take it on my upcoming road trip!
danny
October 24, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2018 Jeep 1199 Cherokee 30545 393692
Write a Review for the 2018 Jeep Cherokee
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Jeep Cherokee is a mid-size crossover SUV, with available four-wheel drive and superior off-road capability. Cherokee is larger than the Compass, which is larger than the Renegade.

There are no major changes for 2018, though trim levels have been changed, mostly adding equipment. Cherokee was last redesigned for 2014.

The 2018 Cherokee comes as five models: Latitude, Latitude Plus, Limited, Overland, and the off-road oriented Trailhawk. (The Sport, the previous base model, has been discontinued.) Front-wheel drive is standard, but Cherokee makes much more sense with the available all-wheel drive.

Latitude brings more standard equipment to the entry level, including a rearview camera, high-intensity HID headlamps, roofrails, foglamps, aluminum wheels, and body-colored mirrors and door handles. Latitude Plus is a new model intended to offer more features for the dollar. Limited and Trailhawk models likewise offer more standard equipment for 2018 than previously.

The Trailhawk is all-wheel drive, with Active Drive Lock, a locking rear differential; it also gets skid plates and tow hooks, to go with unique front and rear fascia and ground clearance that’s higher by one inch.

The other models come with front-wheel drive, with all-wheel drive optional. Active Drive I is the basic setup, for four-cylinder models. Active Drive II adds a dual-range transfer case. Selec-Terrain adds modes for Sport, Snow, Sand/Mud, and Rock.

The standard engine is smooth and quiet, refined but aging, a 2.4 liter four-cylinder making 184 horsepower, which is enough if there aren’t back-seat passengers or heavy cargo.

The 3.2-liter V6 is more like it, making 271 horsepower and 239 pound-feet of torque; with a tow package, it can tow up to 4500 pounds.

A 9-speed automatic transmission is used with both engines.

The front-wheel-drive Latitude with the four-cylinder engine gets an EPA-estimated 21 City, 30 Highway, 25 Combined miles per gallon; it falls to 23 Combined mpg with the Active Drive I all-wheel drive, and the same 23 mpg Combined rating with Active Drive II, but 1 less mpg on the highway.

The front-wheel-drive V6 gets nearly the same, rated at 21/29/24 mpg. With Active Drive I it rates 20/27/23 mpg, and Active Drive II it gets 18/26/21 mpg. The V6 comes with Stop/Start technology, which turns off the engine at stoplights and pauses, intended to save a bit of fuel.

The heavier all-wheel-drive Trailhawk gets 19/25/22 mpg with the I4 engine, and only 1 less mpg with the V6.

Cherokee only gets four stars overall from the NHTSA in crash testing, with five stars for side impact. Active-safety features come on the Overland and Limited models, including lane-departure and frontal-collision warnings, blind-sport monitoring, adaptive cruise control, and parking sensors.

Model Lineup

The 2018 Jeep Cherokee Latitude ($24,395) comes with 2.4-liter engine, front-wheel drive, cloth seats, air conditioning, rearview camera, power features, cruise control, keyless entry, 17-inch wheels with all-season tires, and a 5.0-inch touchscreen audio system with a USB port and Bluetooth with audio streaming. The V6 isn’t available on the Latitude.

Latitude Plus ($26,295) adds an 8.4-inch Uconnect radio with touchscreen with smartphone-app connectivity, leather panels in the cloth seats, an eight-way power driver seat, a 115-volt outlet, keyless ignition, and satellite radio, ambient lighting, and 17-inch aluminum wheels.

Cherokee Limited ($29,795) upgrades with leather, 18-inch wheels, satellite radio, remote start, power heated front seats, and dual-zone automatic climate control. Equipment that became standard for 2018 includes blind-spot monitors, rear parking sensors, and a power liftgate. All-wheel drive is available ($1500).

Overland ($34,095) adds a leather-wrapped steering wheel with wood add-ons, power-adjustable passenger seat, Nappa leather, foglamps dual exhausts.

Trailhawk ($30,995) is equipped like the Latitude Plus, but with a tougher suspension and more ground clearance, tow hooks, transmission and oil coolers, skid plates, new front and rear bumpers for better departure angles, grade-climb control, and 17-inch wheels with all-terrain tires. The features that have been added as standard for 2018 include blind-spot monitors, rear parking sensors with cross-path detection, and dual-zone climate control.

Walkaround

The Cherokee has lovely lines for an SUV, not traditional; even the seven-bar grille is stylized. The headlamps are separated from the LED running lights, giving the front a tiered appearance that’s less than Jeep-like. It’s sure not square, like a Jeep Patriot for example. Even though the design has been around for five years, the Cherokee’s unexpectedness keeps it fresh.

The rear end and sides are more ordinary.

Interior

The cabin is handsome and quiet. It’s nicely finished, generally well composed, and quite refined. It’s more sporty than suv-like, blending colorful elements with subtlety. We just wish the controls weren’t hard to find. It would be nice if function matched the form.

However, the infotainment system is clearly laid out, and the screen is responsive. In-car data is available by subscription.

The front seats are comfortable, but the cabin is narrow so shoulder room is limited, as wide drivers might rub the door panels or console, and tall ones might have trouble finding a suitable position. The headrests sit somewhat forward.

The rear seat can take a third passenger in the center, without argument, for a short trip. The three of them will feel cramped, although the seat slides back a few inches, and that helps.

There’s plenty of storage spots for small items, around the cabin. For larger items, there’s a decent 24.6 cubic feet behind the rear seat, and a healthy 58.9 cubic feet when the rear seats and front seat are folded. The cargo floor is somewhat high.

Driving Impressions

The 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine is a Chrysler global engine (called Tigershark), powerful enough for the globe maybe, but with no power to spare. No room for a heavy load. With five occupants and/or a dozen cinderblocks in back, it’s a slug.

For the small fuel cost and extra price, the 3.2-liter V6 with nearly 90 more horsepower is a better call. It’s quick, confident and refined. It does make the Cherokee heavier in front, so it’s less nimble, and that’s a consideration. The V6 might not be the call for rugged duty, like a lot of driving on dirt roads. But it’s the call for sure if we’re talking highway towing.

The 9-speed automatic can be balky, indecisive and late to shift. Sport mode makes it better.

Cherokee behaves okay on the pavement, about average. The steering is crisp and the ride well-damped, but for everyday driving, there are better crossovers.

Off the road, where Jeeps rule, it’s another matter. With an I4 engine and the Active Drive II system, the Cherokee’s backwoods talents are amazing.

A Cherokee Trailhawk can conquer hills like you wouldn’t believe, while continuing safely and very slowly back down, using the hill descent control. With its taller ride height and off-road tires, at low speeds, the Trailhawk absorbs almost everything.

Summary

Jeep Cherokee has many faces. We recommend getting all-wheel drive. The V6 is superior for everyday driving, though the four-cylinder offers better handling on unpaved roads. The Trailhawk is best for rugged terrain. The Overland is nicely trimmed, if it’s in the budget. We found the 9-speed automatic unrefined.

Sam Moses contributed to this review, with staff reports.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Jeep listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Jeep listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Jeep Cherokee
489
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel