Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
6 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Crockerfeller
March 03, 2019
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I rented a Jaguar F-Pace 30t from Enterprise Ft Myers Florida. Spent a week driving it, and I am disappointed.
The 4 cylinder engine was surprisingly agile, but the transmission in all driving modes was sluggish, and not smooth at all.
The drivers side door had poor fit and finish, with a sharp edge that cut my hand open with a nice slice due to poor design. A car should not draw blood!
The electronic control systems are far too complicated to use. Lane drift avoidance was fighting me the entire time. The center console UI is ugly, difficult to use, and the Nav system sucks!
chief
October 18, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
jennin5280
September 13, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I traded my 2015 Range Rover Sport for a 2018 Jaguar F Pace 35t R Sport. It has the exact engine my RR Sport had; a nice 3.0 Liter Supercharged V6. I was in my 3rd RR Sport (and I LOVED my Sport) and I knew it was going to take one amazing car to get me to switch. But with the Velar in the early marketing stages back then, I opted to just test drive one and ended up taking one home. Caesium. Now, if you came from RR Sport and went to any Jaguar F pace that isn''t THE 35t R Sport (340 HP) or an S (380 HP), I''m pretty sure you''re going to miss your Range Rover. I love my Jag. LOVE IT.
Ray
July 23, 2018
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Traded my 2016 Range Rover Sport for this 2018 Jaguar F-Pace and it has been a huge disappointment! Two days after purchasing it I had to have a speaker replaced due to defect. The car has a very rough idle. I looked on the Jaguar forums and many owners mention this problem. When I first start the engine, it is extremely loud and sounds like its about to take off. It looks great.... but I hate it and will be trading it in very soon.
Anonymous
March 23, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Mark L
November 30, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2018 Jaguar 1091 F-PACE 30176 390583
Write a Review for the 2018 Jaguar F-PACE
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Jaguar F-Pace crossover SUV was introduced as a totally new vehicle for 2017 with a 340-horsepower supercharged V6. Within months, Jaguar added a high-mileage 2.0-liter turbodiesel, and six months after that added a bread-and-butter 2.0-liter turbocharged four-cylinder gas engine. That was enough for the F-Pace to be named World Car of the Year.

For 2018, a fourth engine is added: a more powerful 2.0-liter turbo four, making a strong 296 horsepower and 295 pound-feet of torque. Designated the 30t, it can accelerate from zero to sixty miles per hour in 5.7 seconds and gets an EPA-estimated 25 Highway miles per gallon on Premium gasoline. It costs about $3000 more than the base turbo-four engine, called the 25t, which makes 247 horsepower with 269 pound-feet of torque, and accelerates from zero to sixty in 6.4 seconds while getting a couple more miles per gallon than the 30t.

Meanwhile the supercharged V6, now called the S model, gets boosted from 340 to 380 horsepower, and accelerates from zero to sixty in 5.1 seconds.

Other changes for 2018 include available driver assistance technologies such as Forward Vehicle Guidance and Forward Traffic Detection3.

The F-Pace uses the same solid rear-wheel-drive structure that is the foundation for the Jaguar XE sedan, although the architecture is expanded for the SUV; for example, all-wheel drive is standard on all models. All engines transmit thrust through an 8-speed automatic transmission, primarily to the rear wheels, sending power to the front wheels when needed.

Size-wise, the F-Pace is bigger than the BMW X3 and smaller than the X5. Its careful proportions disguise its size. It doesn’t look it, but it’s also slightly bigger than rivals like the Audi Q5, Mercedes GLC, and Porsche Macan. Notably, it’s lighter, thanks to a body shell that’s 80 percent aluminum.

It’s dynamically and visually athletic, as well as versatile, being roomy inside, and quiet. Infotainment and telematics are substantially improved over previous Jaguars. Even all-terrain capability has been addressed, with a new system called Surface Progress Control that allows the driver to select a very slow speed for crawling up or down slopes, great for icy roads.

Fuel economy is average, with the supercharged V6 EPA-rated at about 20 Combined miles per gallon. The 20d turbodiesel earns a 26/33/29 mpg rating, while the 25t turbo four is good for 22/27/24 mpg, on Premium fuel.

Model Lineup

The 2018 Jaguar F-Pace comes in five models and four engines: base, Premium, Prestige, R-Sport and Portfolio, with the 20d turbodiesel, 25t base turbo four, 30t powerful turbo four, and S supercharged V6. Every F-Paces uses an 8-speed automatic transmission.

Prices span from a low of $42,065 for the base 25t, to $46,275 for the Premium 20d, to $59,775 to the S, to a max of $63,000 for the Portfolio S, and $62,000 for the Portfolio 30t. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge of $995.)

The 30t with the more powerful turbo-four engine costs about $3000 more than the 25t.

Walkaround

The Jaguar F-Pace is surprisingly conservative, that is to say it’s not overtly distinctive like the Porsche Macan. But it still stands out, thanks to muscular haunches. The surfaces are taut, with an aluminum skin that fits like Spandex. The profile reveals a roofline that slopes rearward and a beltline that rises rearward, like its cousin the Range Rover Evoque, only not so radical.

Interior

Even the base 25t model feels elegant inside. Maybe not the elegance of walnut-and-leather Jaguars of past years, but a modern blend of quality materials, handsome design, painstaking craftsmanship, and up-to-date infotainment, something that Jaguars haven’t been known for. The standard touchscreen in the F-Pace is big, with bright icons and a nav system that’s cooperative and accurate.

The F-Pace is roomier than its German rivals, with ample leg and head room behind the front seats, and lots of space behind the rear seats. It’s called a five-seater, but the middle rear seat straddles the driveshaft tunnel.

Driving Impressions

The F-Pace feels as athletic as it looks. The body motions are well controlled; steering is precise and tactile on center; and tire grip, augmented by all-wheel drive and torque vectoring (sending power to the wheel with traction), inspires a high level of confidence.

We got some seat time at high altitude, which saps power because of thinner air; but with the V6, because of its supercharger, the power remained impressive. The S model has available modes; the Dynamic setting quickens throttle response, raises transmission shift points, cuts their shift time, adds weight to the steering, and turns the gauges red.

In addition to the brisk acceleration and agile dynamics, the F-Pace S is also quiet at most speeds on most pavement, and delivers a surprisingly supple ride.

We’ve only driven an XE sedan in the 20d model, with the 2.0-liter turbodiesel making 180 horsepower and 318 pound-feet of torque. The F-Pace is heavier, but the performance of the diesel should still be respectable.

Summary

The Jaguar F-Pace matches the performance, quality and style of the best cars in its heady class. It upholds Jaguar tradition. Excellent choice of engines, all with sharp 8-speed automatic transmission. The new turbo-four engine brings it all together.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Jaguar listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Jaguar listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Jaguar F-PACE
873
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel