Consumer Reviews
4.6
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
21 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Steve Foltz
September 12, 2019
2,600 miles
|
Owned 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Fantastic CUV! This Escape Titanium has completely reversed my opinion of Ford. I wanted a Cadillac XT5 after renting one, but after renting a Ford Escape for a week and was very impressed with the overall quality and driving experience I shopped Honda CRV, Subaru Forester, Chevy Equinox and Mazda CX5. To my astonishment, I found the Escape to be the most comfortable, most safety oriented, and best designed of all these. I am very happy with my decision to give Ford a chance. Sync3 works great with Android Auto and Waze, and this thing handles as well as most sporty sedans.
Jack
April 22, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love this car!!!
Gus
March 15, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
arnie
January 11, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
18titanium
January 10, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Absolutely great vehicle. Quiet smooth and roomy. The 2.0l Ecoboost is impressive. We very much enjoy driving and owning this vehicle.
my escape
January 02, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Hairtut
December 27, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
So far, I''m very pleased with my 2018 Escpe Titanium. I''m not impressed with the fuel economy.
husky man
December 03, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is the best Escape yet. Love everything about this vehicle. Not too big, not too small, just right. If anyone is looking for a great suv they need to look at ford and the escape.
Dhdesign
October 02, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Really like my 2017 Escape Titanium Awd which I purchased new. Currently has just over 18,000 miles. Only issue was with my navagation system. The dealership updated my Sync to 3.0 which fixed the issues. The performance is solid. Handling and ride is better than most Sedans and other SUV brands I test drove. The AWD system works fantastic. The Escape offers plenty of leather interior space for a small size SUV, while providing a comfortable ride with great handling. Technology is great. No regrets buying my Escape and highly recommend it.
Liz
August 02, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Lots of "get-up and go." Feels much larger inside than what you see on the outside. Glad I didn''t spend the extra money on an explorer. Always have loved Ford quality and dependability.
Tina
July 16, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
mike D
July 11, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
mike
June 15, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
KKat
June 13, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Tameka
May 29, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Wisergal
May 20, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I like most everything except that it is noisy in the cabin - measured 75-81 decibels on meter with service mgr. on chip sealed freeway. A little lower 69-73 on fresh smooth asphault. Dealer couldn''t explain why the one I ordered is louder than the 4 I test drove. The adaptive cruise control is great - will spoil you quick. The gas mileage is way lower than the rating I got 22 MPG on cruise on the freeway with no major hills.
Kaytee
April 13, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We just purchased this Vehicle it is a great comfortable ride!
Anonymous
April 02, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Perdue18
March 25, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Got an avg 20-24 avg mpg. Dealership told me it was normal for this 4 cyl. SUV (mpg). Traded it away. Got a 6 cyl. Jeep Cherokee... getting way better mpg 26-28 avg
Fig
February 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Maksim-18RUS
December 11, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Ford as always, on top.
2018 Ford 1065 Escape 30636 394345
Write a Review for the 2018 Ford Escape
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Ford Escape is no frumpy crossover. It’s more like a tall wagon than an SUV, with rakish styling and sporty handling. Competitors include the Honda CR-V, Hyundai Santa Fe Sport, Toyota RAV4 and Mazda CX-5, but the Escape offers the most responsive steering, crispest handling, and best body control (the CX-5 is a close second, along with the Subaru Forester). The Escape has the firmest ride, a consequence of the sporty handling.

The styling was freshened for 2017, to give it more of the Ford family look, and two new efficient four-cylinder engines were introduced, a 1.5-liter making 179 horsepower, and 2.0 liter making 245 horsepower. There’s also a 2.5-liter making 168 horsepower, which only comes with front-wheel drive. All-wheel drive is available with the 1.5-liter and 2.0-liter engines.

Escape is essentially unchanged for 2018.

The Escape earns but four stars in crash testing by the federal NHTSA. The 1.5-liter engine gets an EPA-rated 26 combined miles per gallon, the powerful 2.0 liter rates 25 mpg, and the 2.4 liter rates 24 mpg.

Safety features include adaptive cruise control, blind-spot monitoring, forward collision warning with braking, lane keeping, and active park assist that can steer the car into a parking space. A warning on the dash goes off if the car senses the driver is tired.

Model Lineup

2018 Ford Escape S ($23,850), SE ($25,605), SEL ($28,005), and Titanium ($32,045) come standard with front-wheel drive. All-wheel drive is available for all but the S model ($1350).

Available features include Sync 3 infotainment, navigation, HD and satellite radio, Bluetooth with audio streaming, push-button start, tow package, panoramic sunroof.

Walkaround

The design and styling of the Escape is very tidy. Compared to the Honda CR-V, it’s a few inches shorter with a wheelbase that’s nearly three inches longer. Less overhang past the front and rear axles, and a more solid planting on the highway.

The sheetmetal is clean, crisp, pert, stylish, direct and modern. Think outdoorsy millennial.

Interior

The cabin is heavily styled with bold contours, swoopy and finely detailed. It makes other compact crossovers boring. But it’s also plasticky.

The swoopy dash wraps around so much that it takes some knee and legroom away from the front passenger, but that’s still nearly two inches more than the Honda CR-V. Thick A-pillars steal some forward visibility.

The front seats are slim and firm. The electronic parking brake, small as a button, frees up center console space. There’s a horizontal vent under the LCD screen that does a good job of heating and cooling the climate controls and kneecaps. There’s a CD player on the center stack.

The rakish profile steals some airiness out of the cabin, but there’s still enough left. There’s plenty of headroom in the rear, at least without the panoramic sunroof that would make it more airy. The Escape is considered a five-seater but there’s only room for two adults, with one inch less rear legroom than the CR-V.

The rear seatbacks and headrests flip down easily, creating 68 cubic feet of cargo space. There’s an optional two-position load floor, flat or max storage, with an enclosed big square cargo bin that holds 34 cubic feet. The rear hatch can be opened by swinging a foot under the bumper, with the fob in your pocket or purse.

Ford’s Sync Connect enables remote access to the car’s functions via smartphone.

Driving Impressions

The standard Escape engine is the 2.5-liter making 168 horsepower and 170 pound-feet of torque. It’s neither modern nor exciting, but still smooth and competent. It’s not quick but it has adequate acceleration. It has a bit less horsepower and torque than the new 1.5-liter, and gets two less mpg.

The new 1.5-liter engine makes 179 horsepower and 177 pound-feet of torque. The transmission kicks down as much as with the 2.5 liter. For a little engine it makes booming sounds when you floor it, although its bark is bigger than its bite because it’s not exactly a rocket. But as 1.5-liter engines go, it’s good.

The only engine choice, in our minds, is the EcoBoost 2.0-liter turbo, making 245 horsepower and 275 pound-feet or torque, and zooming to sixty miles per hour in less than seven seconds. It’s a big bargain at an option price of about $1500 more. It separates the Escape from almost every other crossover in its class.

The six-speed automatic is a good match for the EcoBoost engines, with programmed shift points that balance fuel mileage (some transmissions are programmed for fuel mileage, which can make them shift at unnatural times). The 1.5-liter and 2.0-liter get paddle shifters, while the 2.5 has a lame sport mode with a switch on the lever to change gears.

All-wheel drive moves power from the front to rear wheels, up to 100 percent in either direction, where ever the traction is needed.

The Escape’s handling is sharp and engaging, responsive with great body control, much better than your average crossover. The steering is crisp, weighty and fast. What makes it so good might be the electronic torque vectoring, which dabs the inside front brake in a corner to help the car turn. That’s why it’s so sharp.

The ride is tightly damped, and sometimes can feel too firm; and with the 19-inch wheels as on the Titanium, it can feel harsh. The smaller wheels bring a smoother ride.

Summary

The Ford Escape is stylish and capable. We prefer the 2.0-liter engine. No flaws in the drivetrain, great handling, but don’t expect a soft ride. Can’t fit five adults, but can fit a lot of cargo with seats that easily drop.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Ford listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Ford listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Ford Escape
521
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel