Consumer Reviews
3.7
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
19 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Raven Webb
September 19, 2019
50,000 miles
|
Owned 1 years 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
N,NN/,
Anonymous
June 18, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Cramped and loud on the road
Sharon
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 26, 2019
800 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Smooth, quiet ride, easy to maneuver; I am a very short female, therefore I prefer an SUV as I can see more road/traffic being seated higher. I feel safer in a larger vehicle. I couldn't be happier with a vehicle than I am with this beautiful Dodge Journey GT!
Kim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 26, 2019
11,400 miles
|
Owned 8 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I like the sitting and cargo space. I do not like the towing capacity.The technology could be much better.I have not had any issues so far. The design needs to be jazzed up.
Lavonna
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 25, 2019
26,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Dodge Journey is a very economical, safe, roomy and mechanically in tune. It has a nice interior design and is a very comfortable steering system. The electrical system is nice very tech savvy. The clock set itself for when the time changed, and it has touch screen computerized heating and air system that operates extremely well. The electrical system gives alerts when something is not operating correctly. For instance, my blinkers went out on the rear right and the indicators kicked right in. I feel very comfortable with my Dodge Journey and surprised it is so modern and attractive. I get many compliments on it. I chose my Journey because it surprised me with modern features, hidden ice coolers in the floor and versatile seating, the third row converts to extend the luggage area.
Sha
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 19, 2019
20,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my first time trying Dodge and I absolutely Love me Journey! It's reliable and gets me from point A to point B.
Don
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 22, 2019
20,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Engine is underpowered, hard to pass people. Terrible in the snow, needs all-wheel drive at least. Drives nicely when not pushing it too hard. Very comfortable seating, good ergonomics.
RONALD
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 18, 2019
5,800 miles
|
Owned 5 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
GREAT VEHICLE HANDLES GREAT FEEL SAFE WHILE TRAVELING WITH MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS PRICE WAS JUST RIGHT WHEN I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE
BASSIM
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 16, 2019
4,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great car for the price. Space inside is a little tight but can't beat the price. The blue tooth doesn't always automatically connect
Brian
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have had a dodge journey for about 9 months so far. I never drove a dodge before and did not have any intrest in them being a chevy guy, but i have to say i am pleasantly suprised!! Overall handling and space have worked out for my family and i. In future vechicle purchases i will not overlook dodge products anymore.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love all the features of my vehicle. It is not to plain but not too overwhelming for the road. I love my vehicle.
Tonjsyanikki
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
1,700 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bad performance I choose this car because I thought I was getting a good deal but to find out it was a very bad choice for me I’m not pleased with it.
Rosa
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best purchase..happy with the decision we made..i love the fact it is roomy and safe.to drive my daughter around in...i
Amber
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
3,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Electrical problem radio don't work blue tooth barely works seats are uncomfortable and drives rough
Brennan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
7,000 miles
|
Owned 11 months
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought for third row seating, the third row is rather uncomfortable but i blame my self for not really trying it out for myself first, its nice for 4 people to ride in but wouldnt advise any more than that cause it gets really cramped and dont put a carseat in cause definitely going to be uncomfortable for other passengers even if small children, will definitely be trading it back in cause its to small for my family of 5. Its nice if you don't have children or if you not trying to get alot of people in for a trip or etc., runs and drives well for a 4 cylinder but the acceleration is very slow going hence the small enginge definitely would recommend 6 cylinder if going to purchase one, gas mileage isnt bad but expected better on the 4 cylinder. I also think that if you purchase one of these Dodge Journeys, make sure you get all the bells and whistles cause i could really only afford the mist basic package which nothing is automatic besides powerwindows and that is pretty much it but you buy what you can afford if i could di it over i would hit the whole package maybe would of had a better experience with this vehicle, thank you and i hope you enjoy what ever new vehicle you purchase and i hope this review helped, if you were looking at a dodge journey.
Anonymous
October 25, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bob
July 02, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Had it for a year + this vehicle has treated me right. Don''t care for the gas mileage though.
Penny
May 28, 2018
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Jeff C
January 08, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2018 Dodge 1052 Journey 30476 393058
Write a Review for the 2018 Dodge Journey
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Introduced as a 2009 model, the Dodge Journey midsize crossover SUV gets a simplified lineup for the 2018 model year. Still appealing to budget-minded families, the 2018 Journey comes with seven-passenger seating. Journey Crossroad models now ride on 19-inch Black Noise aluminum wheels. The optional Blacktop Package is now available on the 2018 Journey SE, as well as SXT and GT versions.

Four value-focused trim levels are offered: SE, SXT, Crossroad, and GT. Front-wheel-drive versions except the GT come with a 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine that produces 173 horsepower and 166 pound-feet of torque. All-wheel-drive models get a 3.6-liter V6 that develops 283 horsepower and 260 pound-feet. It’s optional on front-wheel-drive models and standard on GTs.

Every four-cylinder Journey uses a 4-speed automatic transmission, at a time when competitors have turned to transmissions with several more gear ratios (though many have refinement issues with 8- and 9-speed automatics). That’s just one of the ways in which the model is clearly behind the times. Fortunately, a 6-speed automatic mates with the V6 engine.

The Crossroad edition, in particular, retains some rugged design features, suggesting off-road potential. In reality, that model is no more capable of off-pavement driving than its mates.

Journey’s appeal as a family vehicle is diminished by crash-test scores, as well as a lack of modern, high-tech safety equipment. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration gave the 2017 Journey a five-star rating in its side-impact crash test, but only four stars overall and for the frontal-impact collision. Rollover prevention also is rated four stars, but that’s typical of relatively tall vehicles. The 2018 Journey has been given only a partial crash-test score by the federal government: four stars for frontal impact and rollover. Partial crash-testing by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety yielded Good scores on side-impact and moderate-overlap frontal tests, but the small-overlaps frontal test for the driver’s side earned a Poor score. Headlights also were rated Poor.

As for safety features, only the Crossover and GT trim levels can be equipped with a rearview camera, and it’s part of a Driver Confidence Group. Even comparatively common safety features, such as blind-spot monitoring, are not available at all. Neither are adaptive cruise control and automatic emergency braking.

The Journey was not a class-leading product when it was introduced as a 2009 model, and now it’s a dated product. Look for deals on these.

Model Lineup

Journey SE ($22,495) has a 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine, front-wheel drive, power windows and locks, 4.3-inch touchscreen audio with USB, three-row seating, and 17-inch steel wheels. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.) Journey AWD SE ($26,895) has the V6 engine and all-wheel drive.

Journey SXT ($25,695) adds appearance upgrades, foglamps, alloy wheels, and body-color mirrors. A greater number of options are available. AWD SXT ($29,195) has the V6 engine and all-wheel drive.

Journey Crossroad ($27,895) comes with leather/mesh seat upholstery, an 8.4-inch infotainment system, Bluetooth, unpainted cladding, and 19-inch alloy wheels. Options include navigation and rear-seat entertainment. AWD Crossroad ($31,395) gets the V6 engine and all-wheel drive.

Journey GT ($32,495) has a stiffer suspension, leather upholstery, heated front seats, a heated steering wheel, and comes standard with the V6. A trailer-tow package is optional only for GT. AWD GT ($34,395) gets all-wheel drive.

The Blacktop Package, available on all except Crossroad trim, includes black roof rails, black mirrors and grille, and 17-inch alloy wheels (19-inch on SXT and GT).

Walkaround

The Dodge Journey looks downright dowdy compared with the latest crossovers, a lingering throwback to the past. Journey SE models are distinctly downscale, with untinted window glass and 17-inch steel wheels with plastic hubcaps. Journey SXT trim moves it up a notch with alloy wheels, LED taillights, body-color mirrors, and foglamps.

The Crossroad relies on more rugged looks, not unlike Subaru rivals, but off-road capabilities are no better than other versions. The chrome roof rails and a body kit jazz up the Crossroad a bit. The bright bars front and rear, intended to suggest skid plates, visually stand out too much.

Measuring a modest 192 inches overall, a Journey might fit into some garages that would be tight for a minivan.

Interior

Versatile and functional, the well-configured Journey cabin falls short on flair. Trailing most rivals, it’s also less spacious than newer crossovers with three rows of seats.

No Journey qualifies as luxurious, by any means. Yet, interior materials are generally good in view of Journey prices. Cloth upholstery in SE and SXT editions feels durable. Easy-clean leather-faced seats are optional on Crossroad and standard for GT. Leather/mesh in the Crossroad is the most enticing choice.

Though it’s contoured, with soft edges and good-looking graining, the dashboard can only be called dull. Crossroad and GT trim brings an 8.4-inch infotainment system that’s delightful to use. Unfortunately, it’s incompatible with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

Cabin space is decent, for a three-row vehicle of the Journey’s size. Front seats are average, with no height control for the passenger. Two riders fit neatly into the second row, but three will be a squeeze. The bench slides fore/aft, but the seat-folding mechanism trails that of newer crossovers. Children are the best candidates for the third row, which falls short on space.

With both the second and third rows folded flat, cargo space totals 67.6 cubic feet. Raising all seatbacks leaves only 10.7 cubic feet behind the third row. Small-item storage is ample, abetted by under-seat bins in the second-row floor.

Driving Impressions

Ride comfort is adequate, though quality varies. Standard 17-inch wheels yield the most supple ride, while optional 19-inchers can produce jiggly responses on troubled pavement.

Journeys handle confidently, though all models suffer considerable body lean when cornering. Hydraulic-type power steering feels natural and centers appropriately during highway driving.

Chrysler’s four-cylinder engine isn’t strong enough to propel a two-ton Journey with much vigor, and can feel overmatched when carrying several passengers. The 4-speed automatic is a relic from an earlier era, and deserves to be ditched.

Especially with all-wheel drive, the V6 engine is the wiser choice. Acceleration is strong, but the 6-speed automatic can grow confused at times, especially at low speeds.

Journeys trail the competition on noise and refinement. Both engines emit a rumbling that intrudes into the cabin.

Aged transmissions impair fuel economy, which trails most rivals. Four-cylinder models are EPA-rated at 19/25 mpg City/Highway, or 21 mpg Combined. With front-drive, V6 models are EPA-rated at 17/25 mpg City/Highway, or 19 mpg Combined. Estimates drop to 16/24/19 mpg with all-wheel drive.

Summary

Considering the number of three-row crossover competitors that are way more refined nowadays, the dated Journey’s only real drawing card is its price. Substantial discounts should be available. Even so, standard features are limited, and a Journey feels well behind the times in just about every area.

Driving impressions by Andrew Ganz, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Dodge listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Dodge listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Dodge Journey
486
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel