Consumer Reviews
4.8
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
33 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
general lee
August 23, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Milton
August 05, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Mopar o no carro
magnum0173
May 21, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Ralph F.
April 28, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Granite Man
April 07, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
1 year of ownership and no issues, it has been a pleasure to drive. I feel so safe on the highway when I can pass any truck or bad driver quickly and efficiently. I drove over 200 miles the other day and my MPG was 27 for what car with this power its just amazing and this is with me punching it on several occasions.
dave
March 06, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
everything that I expected , I received.
God gift
February 19, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Tourglide
February 06, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
David
January 06, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my 2018 Scat Pack coming from a 2012 Charger R/T. I bought it in the spring of 2018. The 392 is a blast to drive plenty of power, I love the cold start , when starting for the first time of the day. But you can not record that to do it justice have to hear in person. I also agree the 275 size tires should have been the standard tire size the 245 size of tires just spin to easy by accident.
Surveyor
December 23, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am very satisfied with this Charger. I prefer this by far to a Camaro, Mustang or Corvette. It hauls 5 passengers has a big trunk, great looks and very fast. The 392 Hemi is a fantastic engine. The 8 speed TH70 transmission is the best, IMO. The 2018 Charger Scat Pack with all of the tech features is a dream to own!
Huntergsimm
December 14, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
LF
December 01, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love my 2018 sxt plus. She''s one sexy girl.
James
November 01, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The perfect American muscle car. No problem as a daily driver but unleashes furiously when you punch it. It comes alive on the interstates. It feels eager for more at 85.
Kurt
October 29, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Driving this car never gets old. Hearing the exhaust purr never gets old. Seeing how many people notice this car never gets old. This car is a treat to own and drive daily. Buy it, drive it, love it guaranteed.
Phil
October 13, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The finest high performance car I have ever owned with an engine sound and note that is amazing. The value is the best of any muscle car now on the road. If you test drive it you will buy it. It is a monster of a muscle car: a win, win, win: power, confort, and thrills beyond any expectations. I paid $40,000 even and it has been the best value for me of any muscle car I have ever owned. Drive it like you mean it and it will scare the *** out of you. It is unbelievable. Your friends and neighbors will drool.
Web1350
October 03, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great car! Looks are phenomenal. Performance just as phenomenal
Sopolev
September 26, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Shon
September 23, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Ralph F"
September 20, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This my second SRT. My first one was a 2013. This new one is even better than the old one. It has a better sounding exhaust and it is a little bit faster as well. I am extremely pleased with my purchase! I can afford a Hellcat but I choose to own an SRT 392 instead. I dont want to drive a car that is so dangerously fast that it cant be safely driven on the streets. Also who wants to buy new rear tires every month !!!
Alex Martinez
August 20, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
August 15, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
VectorAlpha
August 01, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Customized with Ruby-Red Alcantara, Dynamics 275 Hellcat wheels/tires, Brembo 6-front/4-back, 8.4 NAV, Beats, etc. Funniest car I''ve ever owned. Jumps in directional response, rockets from get-go (often with unavoidable tire squeal), safe for the wife to drive, Ruler of the Highways! I particularly enjoy watching the POS''s Acuras+Infinities creeping up in my rear-view with their foot to the floor speed gain, then just when they side-by-side at 80mph, hit the ''Speed" mode and watch them disappear in my dust. Only maxed-out mustangs/cameros and vettes can beat you. Go get you one and enjoy li
Gregg
July 21, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great car have a 2014 charger sxt plus . Love this car i have 3.6 v6 impressed by the power and get up and go . Nothing bad to say about this car . I had a 2007 charger and the 2014 is way better and more high teck. Go get one you won''t be sorry .
DRB
July 13, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Charger Scat Pack, only thing I would change is the tires. Dodge should have made the 275s standard. The 392 is just to much engine for 245 tires.
Kit
June 04, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
berg
April 15, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We needed a reasonably priced full size four door sedan with plenty of power, great brakes and decent handling. The 392 Daytona has turned out to be a terrific match for these criteria. It also has the advantage of not being an overrated, overpriced and underpowered German thingy.
car crazy
March 26, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2018 Scat Pack Dodge Charger. Great car, performance is strong, seating for 5 & a trunk that is very usable. Fuel mileage is average but for the performance of the car is not bad at all. Highway mileage is better than I thought it would be.
Anonymous
March 21, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bergie
February 25, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My neighbour spent $30k more than I did on my 392 for an Audi or BMW, who can tell. Can''t even hear the thing when he starts it unless he revs it up.... then it reminds me of mom''s sewing machine. How lame is that?
K HAIRE
February 05, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
LUXURY RIDE AND DRIVE, BUT WHEN YOU WANT TO BE A PRO RACER IT HAS ALL THE POWER W/OUT LOSING ALL THE FEATURES THAT ARE IMPORTANT
1st Time Dodge Buyer
January 12, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love it more and more every time I drive it. I have a SXT RWD V6 Black Top Edition, don''t really need anymore plus it would get me in trouble........LOL. I''m a Toyota fan but found myself like the charger and Challenger more and more every time I seen them. Stopped at a Dodge dealer one evening checked it out, salesperson spit some numbers out with great rebates and a nice trade in offer. No out of pocket cash and good interest rate as well. I''m a BIG guy with a hip issue and it doesn''t hurt getting in and out, finding it spadeish and comfy. It''s a keeper for sure. Hope this helps.
topgun77th
December 30, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Second Charger I''ve owned. The 2018 GT Plus is a great car for snow and ice in the barren northern tundra we find ourselves in six months of the year. Car has great handling, very sure footed on the bad roads and every changing weather. Nicely appointed interior, price wasn''t bad and we never had any problems with the 2012 STX Plus AWD. It has a few more features that the 12 didn''t have but it drives just the same, which is to say. Awesome. Got to be the coolest sedan out there. Put another way; We traded the 2012 for a 2014 Durango Lim 5.7 and traded that back for the 18 Charger G
Old Soldier
September 12, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Previously owned a Challenger ScatPak and regretted the day I traded it for a Jeep Wrangler. A year later I couldn''t take the lack of power in the Jeep and traded it in for the 18 Charger ScatPak. Averaging 23mpg without attempting to worry about the gas pedal. Extremely comfortable car for being a cross between a sports car and a luxury car.
2018 Dodge 1052 Charger 30491 393211
Write a Review for the 2018 Dodge Charger
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Dodge Charger is a full-size rear-wheel-drive sedan. It’s reminiscent of an old-school muscle car, a four-door longer in wheelbase than the two-door Dodge Challenger, with retro styling. Yet it’s comfortable and user friendly, with modern technology.

Charger’s body was last refreshed for 2015, and changes since then have been plenty but not major. For 2018, the Charger Hellcat gets a new grille and fender badges. There are some minor equipment changes for 2018: a rearview camera comes standard, a V6 performance package for the SXT has been added, and new colors are available for paint, wheels, brake calipers, and leather upholstery.

The scary-fast 707-horsepower Charger Hellcat gets the most attention, with a new grille and fender badges, and new options including aluminum wheels with a finish called Matte Vapor; brake calipers painted black, orange and gunmetal; gunmetal gray body stripes; and Demonic Red leather.

There are four Charger engines, all mated to an excellent 8-speed automatic transmission. The responsive 3.6-liter V6 makes 292 horsepower; the 5.7-liter Hemi V8 makes 370 horsepower; the 6.4-liter V8 (392 cubic inches) makes 485 hp; and last but hardly least comes the SRT Hellcat with its supercharged 6.2-liter Hemi V8 making 707 epic horsepower. It will go 204 miles per hour. It’s surprisingly composed for a beast.

The Charger strikes a brilliant balance between performance and livability, and it’s beautifully finished for the money. Though if it’s luxury you want, the Chrysler 300, which shares the Charger platform and powertrains, is the call.

The GT and GT Plus models are all-wheel drive, using an active transfer case and front-axle disconnect that can shift into rear-wheel drive to save fuel. The V6 engines in the GT models make a bit more horsepower, 300, to pull the extra weight of the system.

Shopping for a Charger could be very confusing if you’re not already a MoPar aficionado. There are many choices in equipment, so you have to be sure of things, in particular knowing what engine, suspension, exhaust and brakes you want. If you just want a Charger and don’t care about all that, the SXT works very nicely.

Fuel economy for the Charger V6 with rear-wheel drive is an EPA-estimated 19/30 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 23 mpg Combined. V8 models with cylinder deactivation get 19 mpg Combined, while the Hellcat gets 16 mpg Combined.

The Charger gets five stars in safety from NHTSA, while the IIHS gives it the highest score in every category, including rollover and side impact, but a Marginal in the small front-overlap crash test. Standard safety features include airbags for the driver’s knee and full-length curtain airbags, as well as active head restrains in front.

Safety features including rear cross-traffic alert, blind-spot monitors, lane departure warning with lane-keep assist, forward collision warning, adaptive cruise control and automatic emergency braking are optional, or come with packages and higher trims.

Model Lineup

Charger SXT ($28,495), SXT Plus ($30,495), and SXT Plus Leather ($33,495) come with the 292-hp V6 engine. Charger GT ($32,495) and GT Plus ($35,495) come with all-wheel drive and a 300-hp V6. Charger R/T and Daytona feature a 370-hp 5.7-liter V8. Charger R/T Scat Pack, Daytona 392 ($44,995) and SRT 392 ($51,145) get a 392-cubic-inch V8 with 485 horsepower. Charger SRT Hellcat ($67,995) gets a 707-hp 6.2-liter engine.

Walkaround

Unlike the Challenger, which is trimmer and more shapely, and still looks great for the times, the Charger’s retro boxiness seems to be wearing off. It looks dated. (We wonder ourselves why we think it looks dated, since its whole point is to look retro. But never mind.)

Charger rides on a wheelbase that is four inches longer than that of the Challenger, though the Challenger is only two inches shorter than the Charger.

Charger’s low nose with black grille and fascia has a storm-trooper look; that’s the Blacktop Appearance Package, available even on the SXT, offering a lot of style for the money.

Charger’s profile shows swollen hips, a high beltline, and hard-edged pillars. But its short overhangs and big wheels are contemporary, and the blunt ends make it look more compact. Those big hips, the rear fenders, are smooth and not bulbous, tapering to LED taillamps whose shape dates to the Sixties. At night, a rectangle of red light comes out, piping that traces the perimeter of the rear end.

Each model has its own style. We like the R/T’s restrained aggression. The Hellcat gets a new grille and fender badges for 2018.

Interior

The Charger is big, and comfortable for four. Legroom in the rear seat is less than some other full-size sedans, but it’s still decent. Headroom is good, although the high window line limits downward visibility out the sides.

The wide front seats with aggressive bolstering are race-inspired. The available retro hounds-tooth cloth upholstery isn’t. But Nappa leather is also available. Dodge brags that its top audio system is exclusive to the segment. It’s a 552-watt BeatsAudio system with subwoofer in the trunk.

The interior is simple, with above-average comfort, quality and technology. The surfacing is subtle, with soft-touch materials and trim accents in matte metallic. A 7.0-inch display screen is standard on the SXT, while other models use the Chrysler 8.4-inch touchscreen. But the SXT uses the same dashboard, center console, and door materials as the upper models. Which might not exactly be a selling point for them, since they cost thousands more.

The interior is quiet, with an active exhaust system allowing the satisfying soft rumble of the Hemi V8 into the cabin. In reviews of other Chrysler cars with that engine, we’ve called it plain loud. We think we’re right both ways, it depends on the silencing, and the Charger has it just right.

Driving Impressions

No worries about the 3.6-liter V6 in the Charger SXT and GT. It’s plenty quick enough to stay ahead of traffic, its 292 horsepower boosted by 260 pound-feet of torque. There’s a nice resonance to the exhaust note in the midrange.

The 8-speed automatic rifles through the gears with excellent shift action and logic. It can do its shifts in a very quick 160 milliseconds. On the SRT models it blips the downshift to match the engine and transmission speeds and make the downshift smoothly. The shifter is clunky, however.

The Charger GT offers all-wheel drive for winter weather capability.

Meanwhile, the 5.7-liter V8 will stay ahead of traffic at half throttle, using its 370 horsepower and 395 pound-feet of torque. It can accelerate from zero to sixty in less than six seconds, a brisk pace.

The 6.4-liter V8, a bored-out 5.7-liter Hemi, can do that time in a very quick 4.5 seconds. The Hellcat, with its supercharged 6.2-liter Hemi, can do it in a super quick 3.7 seconds.

The ride in some models is a bit soft, as after all it is a standard sedan, and there’s some body lean, but the handling does not feel retro at all. It’s capable and composed. The steering is accurate and nicely weighted. With so many available suspension setups, the ride and handling changes, but we have found all models will feel balanced within their limits.

The SXT gets an option to improve handling with the Super Track Pak, including Bilstein dampers, a 3.07 rear axle ratio, performance hood with air induction, performance front and rear fascias, sculpted side sills, and the Dodge Performance Pages data system and indicators.

The SRT with a firm suspension delivers remarkable control given its hefty weight of more than 4000 pounds. The SRTs use huge Brembo brakes with six-piston calipers in front, adaptive dampers, and a drive-mode system with Sport, Track, Default and Custom mode, allowing the driver to make selections for transmission, throttle, and steering. The Bilstein adaptive damping suspension also has modes: Auto, Sport and Track.

It’s this system that enables the 707-horsepower Hellcat to be civilized on the highway. There’s also a lock to limit horsepower to 500, which is 400 horsepower more than is needed for valet parking.

If you don’t feel like being civilized all the time, you can hammer the throttle of the Hellcat and burn rubber and slide the tail in the turns. It gets nervous chasing through canyons, the suspension dances on smooth roads. To drive it quickly, in any direction other than a straight line, it’s a handful.

Summary

The Dodge Charger won’t disappoint MoPar enthusiasts, and that’s what matters. It gets top marks for the engines, transmission, cabin, and handling. The entry-level SXT has all the right features, as long as you don’t need that V8 rumble under the hood. If you do, the choices are rich. Enjoy them.

Sam Moses contributed to this review, with staff reports.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Dodge listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Dodge listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Dodge Charger
940
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel