Consumer Reviews
4.6
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
31 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Tyler Warner
October 14, 2019
4,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very comfortable car to drive. Fits my family of 5. Very quiet inside for a near 500 hp car. Doesn't handle like a track car. But it isnt that kind of car.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 23, 2019
13,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This a fun car to drive. It looks great. The 18 speakers, yes 18, sound amazing. I wish that this car did better on gas mileage, but kept the performance and styling.
DJ
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 16, 2019
3,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Didge Challenger SXT offers serious power at an affordable price. It also has solid body construction and great visibility all around. Has modern features while paying tribute to its classic roots.
Tejon
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 16, 2019
6,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I leased (3yr) a Challenger RT 5.7L Hemi with Shaker Package, very cool looking car. Dodge cuts no corners on the performance features of this vehicle. My intent is to sell outright or trade at the end of the lease. The car looks great and sounds awesome. It is an attitude adjustment, every time I get in it! My only negative comment is that the "Premium Alpine Audio System" was just factory junk utilizing the Alpine brand. I replaced the speakers and added an amplifier and now my music sounds as awesome as my exhaust! I might get another one, if I do, I would love to upgrade the the wide-body HellCat model.
Al
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 16, 2019
29,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
What i like about my car is that it has that mean muscle car look ,and what i dont like about it is that the inside could of been alot better.
Marco
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 13, 2019
3,001 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
DODGE CHALLENGER IS THE BEST AUTOMOBILE IVE EVER OWNED, IT HAS CLASS AND STYLE AND THE CAR WILL BE TRENDING FOR DECADES
jAMES
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 13, 2019
3,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I LIKE ALL FEATURES, EXCEPT THE APPLE CAR PLAY, WHICH DOES NOT WORK AS EXPECTED. HOPEFULLY, THE DEALER CAN HELP WITH THIS ISSUE..
John
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 05, 2019
3,600 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love the rumble and steering once the shock tower brace was Installed. Car likes fuel, no way to keep your foot out of it. I have heard brakes are expensive, but seem to be holding well to this point
Joe B.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 02, 2019
15,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am a big fan of the exterior styling of the car. The body is wide but sleek and the stripe is powerful. The color combination stands out a lot. The interior is incredibly comfortable for me as well as all of my passengers and the stitching on the leather is excellent.
MikenPat
February 24, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We Love, Love Love this Car!
Tim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
2,700 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is the first Chrysler product I have owned. Still very few miles, has been reliable and hoping it will be for the long haul. Love the response and acceleration of my Challenger and also the looks and compliments it recieves. Dodge has come a long way since I was a kid.
Jeff
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
1,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Dodge Challenger Scat Pack, 6.4L. I love this car. I feel that considering the options and performance, it's a good value. I consider it a "luxury muscle car" with it's ventilated and heated seats. The sound that the exhaust makes causes the hair on the back of my neck to stand up. Just looking at it makes my heart race. The only draw back is that I do not drive it in inclement weather, so I spend a lot of time looking at it in the garage. Oh, and the Harmon Kardon stereo is totally EPIC.No one does an interior better than Mopar. Material are on point with much more expensive cars. I'm considering buying an AWD Challenger for year around use...
Steve
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5,800 miles
|
Owned 11 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my 2018 Dodge Challengers AWD, with AWD I can drive my car year round, I love that they made it look closer to the older Challengers and that it has alot if awesome features
Eddie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5,400 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Realiable, Fast, decent on gas, beautiful car and Big. I've choose this car because I've always wanted this car I wanted that V8 hemi.
Kurt
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 10, 2019
2,200 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My 2018 Challenger is truly a blast to drive. 392 shaker hood scat pack 6 speed. I was shocked by the sticker price and all the features that was included. I traded in my truck and I was afraid of the trunk room. With the ability to fold down back seat I was able to stack 30bags of wood pellets that are 40 lbs each. With all that weight I was still able to spin them.
MattB
January 25, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love this car but there is one very frustrating drawback if you live in the northern part of the US where it often snows and gets very cold...without having a garage to keep it in. The door windows will freeze preventing you from being able to close the door back until the ice is melted away to free the window up. Which is a problem when the defrost air doesn''t enter the door unless its closed so it can take some time. I''m often waiting 30 mins. or so to be on my way.
war daddy
January 17, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
tkerker
November 28, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
mr mopar
September 11, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2018 5.7 T/A. go mango. just love looking at it. great power and the exhaust on the T/A is amazing. handles and brakes excellent.
great car!
pelligan
September 10, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Awesome Vehicle.I love the acceleration.Fuel economy is excellent 23mpg during driving. Excellent cornering/handling.Great braking/stops on a dime.I use the sport mode ,great feel for the road,steering is perfect realfeel for the road.5000 miles not a problem.Seating is very comfortable.
Smitty
August 14, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Widebody a little hard to get use to,but ILove the sound and power
Scattie
July 05, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
this is a really powerful car , the interior is nice and comfortable but it does lack the luxury of a 47k price tag . exterior is absolutely bad *** for sure the toughest looking car of 2018 . I have the indigo blue and I love it . the car does produce a lot of power , a lot . as far as the haters go yes she is big and wide and heavy but the 8 speed auto maneuvers you through the rpms so well and with 475ft lbs its more than enough to move this big *** to fast 60 times and low 12s in the 1/4 mile, mustangs camaros go trade for a scattie or better your stuff is better on paper no muscle
Rufus King
June 07, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I picked the Yellow Jacket SXT Plus April 2018. Awesome machine. Fuel,handling and acceleration is excellent . Exterior and Interior is awesome.
Anonymous
May 28, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Casey
April 23, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love my car!
Jdog
April 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Jamn
April 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
cdanner
April 20, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Owned a 2009 R/T and loved it. Hoping to have a Hellcat one day...
AMD
March 27, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The car is iconic. A blast to drive. With this much power on hand it always brings a smile to my face when I hit the gas peddle
Anonymous
March 21, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great car needs to offer a manual for the v6 otherwise no complaints from the plus
Plum Crazy Girl
March 02, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I would have loved the Challenger in Plum Crazy, but got it in Go Mango and I love it. It''s a great drive, and the from drivers seat is very comfortable. Good looking car!! I got the Black Top Package....I really wanted a chrome gas cap, but I love the black gas cap that comes with the Black Top Package. Overall, I am very pleased!
2018 Dodge 1052 Challenger 30502 393333
Write a Review for the 2018 Dodge Challenger
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Dodge Challenger, Ford Mustang and Chevrolet Camaro are three of a kind (never mind that in NASCAR it’s the Mustang, Camaro and Toyota Camry, the latter front-wheel drive in production form).

The Mustang and Camaro are smaller, nimbler, and more graceful, so the Challenger can’t run with them in the corners. But MoPar fans don’t much care. They have the 707-horsepower SRT Hellcat, with its 6.2-liter supercharged V8. Megahorsepower can quickly make up for handling disadvantages.

And now, the SRT Demon joins the 2018 Challenger lineup. Try 840 horsepower and 770 pound-feet of torque. Why? Well, it’s a factory production drag car, the fastest muscle car in history, offering acceleration from zero to sixty in 2.3 seconds, a quarter-mile time of 9.65 seconds, and a top speed of more than 200 miles per hour. It’s the first production car that will do a wheelstand: 2.92 feet, as certified by Guinness World Records.

But wait, there’s more. For 2018 there’s another new model, the Hellcat Widebody. It gets fender flares, 20-inch aluminum wheels that are 11 inches wide, and 305/35ZR20 Pirelli tires.

The 2018 Challenger Hellcat gets a new grille and fender badges, so-called Air-Catcher headlamps with the Hellcat logo, and Demonic Red Laguna leather upholstery. New options include Brembo brake calipers painted black, orange and gunmetal; and a wheel finish called Matte Vapor.

Drive one of those, and you can sneer at Camaro and Mustang drivers.

There are more new performance upgrades and options for 2018, as well.

We would be here a long time, if we got into the details of all of the Challenger possibilities. There are no less than 16 models. Challenger SXT, SXT Plus, R/T, R/T Plus, R/T Shaker, R/T Plus Shaker, R/T Scat Pack, T/A, T/A Plus, T/A 392, GT AWD, 392 HEMI Scat Pack Shaker, SRT 392, SRT Hellcat, SRT Hellcat Widebody, and last but for sure not least, the SRT Demon.

Base engine in Challenger SXT is Chrysler’s 3.6-liter V6 making 305 horsepower and 268 pound-feet of torque. The R/T uses a 5.7-liter Hemi V8 with 375 horsepower and 410 pound-feet of torque. The R/T Scat Pack and SRT 392 use a 6.4-liter Hemi V8 making 485 horsepower and 475 pound-feet. The Hellcat’s supercharged 6.2-liter V8 makes 707 horsepower and 650 pound-feet of torque, and can do the quarter-mile in 11.2 seconds and reach a top speed of 199 mph.

Transmissions for the Challenger are an 8-speed automatic or 6-speed manual. It depends on the model which one is standard, and which one is optional.

The V6 gets an EPA-rated 23 combined miles per gallon with the automatic (30 mpg highway), while the 5.7-liter V8 gets 18 mpg combined with the 6-speed manual and 19 mpg with the automatic. The manual needs premium fuel, while the automatic is okay with regular. That’s because the engine mated to the manual gearbox is a bit more powerful.

In crash testing, the NHTSA gives Challenger five stars overall, with four stars for frontal collision and rollover. The IIHS gives top Good scores for moderate overlap front and side impacts, but only Marginal in the difficult small-overlap front collision test, with Acceptable grades for roof strength head restraint security. Automatic emergency braking isn’t available on the Challenger.

Model Lineup

The 2018 Dodge Challenger lineup ranges from the entry-level V6-powered SXT ($26,995) to the SRT Demon ($83,295). In between are the R/T with the 5.7-liter Hemi V8 ($33,495), and the T/A 392 with the 6.4-liter V8 ($38,995), and the Hellcat ($63,795).

Challenger SXT includes hound’s-tooth cloth upholstery, 18-inch alloy wheels, dual-zone automatic climate control, rearview camera, power driver’s seat, leather-wrapped steering wheel, 7.0-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto. The infotainment and rearview camera are newly standard for 2018.

The Challenger GT is the all-season car, with all-wheel drive standard. It adds an 8.4-inch infotainment screen, heated and ventilated leather-upholstered seats, Alpine-branded audio, rear parking sensors, and more.

The R/T designation means hemi. Challenger R/T models get bigger wheels, brakes and a rear spoiler, among other things. The Shaker designation means a bulging hood with wide but relatively slim and restrained intake for the cold air induction. The 392 means 6.4 liters.

Challenger SRT models have things like HID headlamps with automatic high-beams, lightweight 20-inch aluminum wheels with grippy tires. Black cloth upholstery is standard, with regular or fancy Nappa leather available.

There are many options, either stand-alone or in packages, including LED headlamps and taillamps, synthetic suede upholstery, adaptive cruise control, a forward-collision warning system, blind-spot monitors, and cross-traffic alerts. For 2018 there are a quite a few new and miscellaneous equipment and trim upgrades and availabilities, to all the models. Things like optional Brass Monkey wheels on the SRT 392; optional red Brembo brake calipers on the R/T and R/T 392; a Performance Handling Package on 5.7-liter models with four-piston Brembo brakes and the high-performance suspension; and new F8 Green and IndiGO Blue colors, to add to the already eye-catching Plum Crazy.

Walkaround

The Challenger might not have a roofline or profile as sporty as the Mustang or Camaro, but its lines are clean enough to hold its own. It’s pure and retro all the way, with a shape much like the original 1971 Challenger. And the 2018 version looks very similar to the 2008 model that marked the rebirth of the Challenger. Nice face that has become iconic, nice flared fenders and hips. The Shaker hood with the power bulge may be a throwback to the Sixties, but then you might say that about any car with a hood scoop, including a Subaru.

Interior

The hound’s-tooth cloth trim might be throwback, but models with leather make the cabin feel a bit like a luxury coupe. Well, close. The front seats would be at home in a Mercedes, especially in Nappa leather. There’s a base high-tech 7.0-inch customizable instrument cluster TFT screen, or 8.4-inch touchscreen with sharpened resolution and quicker software for infotainment.

Acoustic glass and heavy sound insulation keep the cabin noise down even with high-performance tires. The Hemi’s engine noise enters the cabin, as it should; that’s what any Hemi buyer wants. The Hemi uses a 2.75-inch electronically controlled active exhaust system to deliver that signature sound.

The rear seat falls a bit short, compared to the front. Three people can fit only for a short time. There’s less headroom than the Challenger’s size might suggest. And climbing in through the front doors takes some contortion.

The trunk is very large, 16.2 cubic feet, more space than some midsize sedans. It’s wide, long and shallow, able to fit several large suitcases, making this muscle car a good traveling car. When that passenger in the middle of the rear seat starts complaining, you can offer them more room in the trunk.

The thick roof pillars and high beltline detract from rearward visibility when on the road, but the new-for-2018 rearview camera solves the backing-up issue.

Driving Impressions

The SXT with its 3.6-liter V6 is the easiest to drive and has the most compliant suspension; taller sidewalls on the tires help. It’s still firm enough to handle fairly well. With its 305 horsepower and paddle-shifting 8-speed automatic, there’s enough power to feel like a muscle car; after all, it wasn’t that long ago that 300 horsepower was considered a lot for a V8. The SXT isn’t short on acceleration for passing, unless of course you compare it to something extreme like a Hellcat. The SXT is an easy car to live with that exudes a lot of style.

The different models have different suspension setups, so they ride and handle differently, but any Challenger is stable and predictable even on twisty roads, and can be driven quickly. Not as nimble as a Mustang or Camaro, but the electric power steering is accurate and nicely weighted.

The SRT models are markedly firmer, while reducing body lean in the turns a significant amount. An upgraded Performance Handling Package tightens the suspension on R/T models and adds four-piston Brembo brakes.

The Challenger GT offers all-wheel drive for winter weather capability.

Jumping up to the SRT 392 with its 6.4-liter V8, you get 485 horsepower and 475 pound-feet of torque, along four-piston Brembo brakes and 20 x 9-inch aluminum wheels. You also get adaptive suspension and SRT drive modes that determine power, transmission shift points and speed (if you don’t shift manually with the paddles), steering quickness, stability control levels, and even suspension firmness. The drive modes include Sport, Track and Default modes, while Custom mode enables drivers to choose separate settings.

The Hellcat’s power steering is hydraulic, which gives it more road feel, although that feel is anything but delicate, given its weight of 4500 pounds. Still, it’s relatively easy to drive for a car with such a humongous amount of horsepower. The Hellcat dampers are high-tech Bilsteins, but there’s an available adaptive suspension whose Normal mode isn’t much firmer than the standard SXT. Optional Pirelli P Zero performance tires give the Hellcat heaps of grip on dry pavement, but they’re scary on snow or ice. Big Brembo brakes inspire about as much confidence as you can have in a 4500-pound car that can go 200 miles per hour.

Our seat time in the Hellcat included one 30-minute blast at daybreak on a remote Oregon road that twisted upward into the mountains. We didn’t pass a single car in either direction. We drove it like we stole it, which to say almost as fast as we could without risking tossing it over a cliff. We reached the small town for coffee in about half the time it took 24 other autojournos driving different high-performance cars, and our smile was twice as broad. Mind-blowing acceleration out of corners and a quick-shifting 8-speed automatic transmission will do that to you. The Hellcat was indeed a beast, but we were almost amazed by how composed it remained.

The Demon will push back your eyeteeth, with a g-force of 1.8 g in its acceleration from a standing start to 30 miles per hour in one second. To increase horsepower from the Hellcat’s 707 to 840, a few changes were made to the 6.2-liter supercharged engine. Including a bigger supercharger with increased boost pressure to 14.5 psi; upping the redline to 6500 rpm; SRT Power Chiller liquid-to-air intercooler chiller system; After-Run Chiller that keeps cooling the supercharger/charge air cooler after the engine is shut off; Air-Grabber induction system with hood scoop having a huge 45.2 square inches of intake. Changes to get that horsepower to the ground include the TransBrake system for grippy launches; and Torque Reserve, to bring over-the-top torque at launch.

Do the arithmetic between the Demon and Hellcat, and you’ll find that you pay $19,500 to raise the horsepower from 707 to 840. There are a number of engine changes to justify that but maybe what you’re really paying for is the ability to say your car is the quickest production car in the world, in a straight line (and prove it if you go to the drag strip), and the only one that can do a wheelstand.

Ironically, for that extra 20 thou you also get no rear seats, and just two speakers. It’s all about saving weight. But to add madness to the irony, Dodge will sell you back your rear seats for $1. And never fear, leather upholstery and an 18-speaker Harman Kardon sound system are optional. Plus, Demon buyers get a free one-day session at the Bob Bondurant School of High-performance Driving.

Summary

No argument here on pros and cons vs a Mustang or Camaro. Nothing will change your mind if you’re in one corner or another. The 2018 Challenger is a worthy MoPar. It’s handsome. It handles. Good transmissions. The SXT is both retro and stylish, and quick, no longer a dinosaur, if you need to justify a V6. If you’re not the type to worry about justifying your stuff, the Hellcat or Widebody Hellcat is for you. The Demon is for racers.

Sam Moses contributed to this review, with staff reports.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Dodge listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Dodge listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Dodge Challenger
633
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel