Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
12 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Bill
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
April 02, 2019
12,000 miles
|
Owned 11 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Awesome vehicle. Doesn't have the range of the Tesla but substantially less expensive as well. Additionally, I don't have to worry about the company going out of business.
Juan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 20, 2019
7,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The I3 is a great electric city car. No maintenance, no gas and lots od fun driving. The acceleration and handling are one of the strongest points of this car (aside of cost per trip). It is a 4 passenger car, the front seats are comfortable and provides a large access and space for tall adults. he rears have doors that open opposite to the front, sometimes in tight spaces it becomes a bit of a challenge, but it allows easier entry for rear passenger. rear passenger space is comfortable and a bit small. overall really happy with the car
Ted
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 17, 2019
2,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is vehicle for a fairly specific driver. You commute locally, less than 20 miles each way. You can use another vehicle on long drives, or when you're out and about on weekends. The battery range precludes long commutes. On the other hand, if you have charge stations available at your workplace (even better, if they're free), then this is a great car. I have not paid a penny to charge this car since I got it. It's like getting free gas. I still have the charging cable provided with the car in the frunk (front trunk). When we go out and about on weekends, we take my wife's car. The i3 is an ideal car for a local commuter. We live in the snow belt, so I bit the bullet and bought snow tires for it. I had no problem getting to and from work through a pretty severe winter. The battery range dropped by about a third during the sub-zero week we had, but I simply plugged it in an extra time that week. Charging takes 2 to 3 hours. The interior is a little spartan, but BMW used sustainable materials for the interior, so it doesn't look cheap on the inside. Seats are comfortable, and there's plenty of room on the inside, since there are fewer mechanical components (no transmission). Acceleration is great. It can beat most piston engines from a standstill, as power goes directly to the wheels from the electric motor.
MJ
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 01, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Last year I leased the 2018 BMW i3 REX from my local dealer. It was the second such i3 I've purchased/leased. At the time of purchasing a new vehicle, I looked at many electric car options including the Chevy Volt, Nissan LEAF, and Tesla. In the end, after getting an extended test drive (5 days!) with the i3, getting a thorough training on its state-of-the-art tech, AND all the rebates and incentives I received, I choose the BMW i3. I truly love this car. It's environmentally friendly, easy to handle, and has some amazing tech. I frequently use the apple car play, voice to text/talk, and "advanced cruise control" features. BMW has been great since the start and goes above and beyond with their service and gifts. I spend ZERO dollars on gas, ZERO on maintenance, and with the apps for electric vehicles always know where the nearby charging stations are located. On the downside: It does take some time to charge depending on the type of charging station, you're unable to take long trips (over 200 miles) in the vehicle, and there is no AM radio. Other than that, I highly recommend this vehicle to anyone and everyone. I love it!
Funbags9960
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 28, 2019
8,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Do not buy this car. I have leased it for 10 months now and have gone through two rims, (5) rim repairs and 2 tires already. each rim cost $800 & each tire is $269. This is because BMW came up with the worst design for this cars rims and tires. I have spent over $2,500 on these items because of POTHOLES. BMW is a total rip off when it comes to its maintenance costs. I cant wait for this lease to be over
Steve
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 27, 2019
6,900 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Before I purchased my BMW i3-REX I had not considered an electric vehicle. This car put my concerns to rest. First of all, the car is totally "green."  The frame is recycled aluminum and the body is carbon fiber. Inside the seats are also made from recycled materials. The car is a true BMW. The workmanship is beautiful. It handles like my earlier 3 series cars, and it has amazing power...with much more immediate torque than any gas engine car I have ever driven. There's no lag when you step on the accelerator. From a highway entry ramp the car is up to highway speed almost immediately.   The car has a 113 mile range on a full battery charge, and the REX model will give you an additional 87 miles from the internal generator.The i3 will charge from an ordinary 110VAC socket. From completely dead it will take about 14 hours to make a complete charge. I have a 220VAC outlet in my driveway and I plug the car in overnight. It's usually full in about 7 or eight hours. This car is a pure electric, not a hybrid. BUT, the REX model includes a small gas engine that only comes on to provide electricity when the batteries drop to 6% power remaining. The gas motor (a scooter engine) is not connected at all to the drive train. There's a three gallon gas tank. So, while you might run out of battery power the car is capable of making it across the country on gasoline, though refilling the tank every 80 miles might become annoying. The gas engine is not able to charge the battery, it just provides running power to keep the car going. My understanding of this issue is that in order to meet requirements for the car to be a pure electric BMW was not allowed to have the gas engine charge the batteries. If you plug in and don't rely on the gas engine, it will automatically power up in a self-maintenance mode while you're driving every. That happens every seven weeks for nine minutes (after your battery power drops to 75%) unless you've been driving with power from the gas engine earlier.  On a personal note, I bought the car at the end of May, 2018 and by this date (end of FEB 2019) the original 3 gallons of gas I got from the dealer is only down about 2 quarts. Running on electricity is sooooooo much cheaper than gas! The car is comfortable for four large people, though  there isn't a lot of cargo space. I think it's the perfect vehicle for getting around town and moderately short trips.
Dee
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 27, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The acceleration is great for getting on highways. The ability to not have to gas up is liberating. I did opt for the extender just for security reasons, but I have not needed it as often. However, I hope that BMW makes it longer range. I liked that I could add the options that I wanted. While I have the sports model and looks way better than the nonsports model, I am a bit disappointed that the ride is fairly bumpy and is the one thing that BMW should work on. I would hope that BMW comes up with another electric version that has longer range and has a more appealing style.
Paul
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
5,750 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Overall, I am very pleased with my 2018 i3 REX. The interior is well thoughtout and stylish with comfortable seats. The ride is quiet - as expected in an EV. The narrow tires are good for maximizing range but less than optimal on wet, slippery roads. Unlike Tesla, BWM EV's utilize third-party charging stations that vary widely in cost and are not nearly as plentiful. This, along with significantly less range, are the i3's largest drawbacks vs Tesla. The i3 is wildly overpriced. Heavy tax incentives bring the cost to within reason.
Glenn
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
10,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I purchased the BMW I3 all electric for a couple of main reasons. I wanted an all electric to eliminate the combustion engine maintenance. The second reason was to be able to drive in the carpool lane as a single person.(I was deciding to transition from a motorcycle to a car and still wanted the advantage of being in the car pool lane.) I have really enjoyed one pedal driving and never going to the gas station. The acceleration and handling make it a great commuter and in town car. I commute 50 miles round trip a day and the range works well. I have stretched it out a few times with longer drives but would not suggest a regular commute of greater than 90 miles round trip unless you can charge at your stopping point. With variations like air conditioning and driving faster you may find yourself with range anxiety. I have loved the navigation and apple car play. The upgraded stereo is very nice. The active start stop cruise control is very cool also. It will even work well in stop and go traffic. There has been one electrical fault that the dealer has had some trouble fixing but it has not caused any operational problems. Overall I love to drive the I3 and am firmly convinced that electric cars will become more and more popular. When people drive my car they are impressed with the performance and have a big smile.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I recently bought my second BMW i3. I love the styling, the environmental smartness of the car, and the driving dynamics. This car is totally fun to drive. I've had no maintenance issues with either BMW i3.
Bernie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 09, 2019
2,400 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Road handling and acceleration provide the fun, efficiency and quality the satisfaction, operating cost and environmental friendliness the good feeling and the whole package says that I made an excellent, timely and successful decision to buy.
SPEKERE
November 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I WANNA BE THE FIRST TO USE VEHICLE BECAUSE IT IS STUNNING NOT BECAUSE I''M THE OWNER AND FOUNDER OF WEBSITE. THE CAR IS VERY MODERATE EASY TO PRE-PER EARM. AND I THINK THEY SHOULD USE OVERALL QUALITY THAT THE CAR IS POWER MORE BEATIFUL AND PREANY TO USE.
2018 BMW 1026 i3 31062 397539
Write a Review for the 2018 BMW i3
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  Expert Reviews
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Surprisingly great rates
Switch and save an average of 25%* on car insurance.
Disclaimer
Advertisement
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 BMW i3
870
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel