Consumer Reviews
4.3
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
9 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Tony
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 31, 2019
10,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I've been pleasantly surprised by this car. I've regularly received 30 mpg or higher on my 45 min commute without being in eco mode. Comfort is excellent and the good looks of both the interior and exterior are just a bonus. The car is very functional and has hatchback like useabilty. The trunk has a under compartment that I like to use so that I don't hear items moving around. What I do not appreciate is the higher maintenance costs that I will encounter when the factory maintenance is up. It's tight in the back for larger people. Wide people will feel it's tight in both the front and back. Tech level was pretty low for a 2018 car. I would have expected adaptive cruise control, blind spot monitoring, LCD instrument cluster, a larger infotainment screen, cooled seats, auto high beams, and maybe even a hybrid or plug in option. Another annoyance is the armrest. It does not move front or back and sits quite far back, which attempts to force you to sit far back in the car, leaving little room for people behind you. The instrument cluster is tilted upward, so you better be tall or put your seat at a high setting if you want to see everything there. In that high seat setting, I feel like i'm not fully utilizing the space in the car in terms of visibility, which is also caused by my seat having to be closer to the wheel to read the cluster. For tech, i'd like to add that BMW seems to have addressed most of my concerns in the 2019 3 series. It's just a head scratcher that Hondas and Kias can come with more tech than a much more expensive car, like a BMW X2. I have zero complaints about ride quality. The only complaint about the engine is that there's serious turbo lag off the line, which can be annoying when taking off at a green light. Some people will complain about visibility but I am now used to working with the visibility that the car provides. I find it slightly annoying that the autopark feature isn't as simple as pushing a button and only works with parallel parking. I purchased the car in August 2018 and chose it over a Tesla Model 3 for monthly payment purposes. I don't regret that decision. I see Model 3's everywhere now and rarely see my car.   Reliability takes a slight hit due to minor bluetooth connectivity issues and a sensor that was tripped when I let the car sit in zero degree weather for about a week. With all the above being said, I still love the car and find that it fits all of my needs. I spend a great deal of time in the car, driving to work and court house to court house. The comfort really provides great value to me.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 26, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The most comfortable car to ride and to drive. The sports package seats are amazing with comfort and the 19 inch wheels add driving comfort.
Priscilla
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 19, 2019
9,500 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my X2 it's different. That's the reason I purchased it. You don't see a ton of them on the road, unlike the Lexus where it seems everyone has one. There are some features inside that I wish I could change example, where the cup holders are the location of the center console. The handle of the vehicle is amazing. Overall its a beautiful vehicle that I enjoy driving.
Megan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 16, 2019
10,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I’ve had my BMW X2 for several months now and I look forward to driving it daily. I have quite the long commute to work and I wanted a car that was comfortable, reliable, and hot! I got all that with my White X2 which I have nicknamed my “White Winged Dove”....Stevie Nicks fans will approve!
S.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
6,523 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My previous vehicle had well over 100,000 miles when I realized I would have to replace the transmission. I realized that that may still eventually put me in the market for a new car. I started saving to move forward with either decision. At the same time I'd started reading customer reviews. Watching reviews on YouTube, and reading MotorTrend and multiple other subscriptions to guide me through what could lead to a new SUV purchase. During my search I wanted to look at as many options as possible, even brands I wouldn't have typically. Prime example, BMW. Through the years BMW has had reliability issues that concerned me, as well as being expensive to maintain. I think it was the 2017 North American Auto Show, or one similar, where I was checking the industry's hybrid/electric trend when I looked at upcoming vehicles. Most of the time the artist's rendition gets lost in translation by the time the cars make it from the show room to the sales room. But when I saw the X2, I was surprised that the design was BMW because it was round vs. boxy. It is also sportier than the X1 and sexier than the Mini. I was impressed with the quality feel of the steering wheel in my hands and the front seats bolstering and range of adjustability. I appreciate the rear seat position and that they're collapsable. I can see easily all around the vehicle with assistance from the right side mirror angle when backing up. The A pillar is pretty narrow, which allows me to see without craning my neck, even though I'm short. A negative for me is the seatbelt's position on the B pillar. Because it is towards the top, it comes right by my face. I think when they were designing the X2 after the X1 they left this in the same position. With the roof of the X2 being lower, the point I just mentioned sticks out. I've gotten somewhat used to it, but it would be nice if they had an aftermarket seatbelt holder I could slide onto the headrest's posts. Another thing that I could do without is the heads up display. I've tried using this and it constantly needs adjusting, as it slides out of view. I don't miss it though because the piece-de-resistance is the center console where I control my cockpit universe. I really enjoy the seamless experience of the entertainment system. Moving through the options have become second nature in such a short time. So there's really a very short learning curve even though I'm new to BMW. One caveat though, I am experiencing a nagging intermitant jerky issue with my steering wheel that the service department can't seem to identify. But overall, I really like driving my X2. It is fun, comfortable, and apparently an eye catcher, because people have waved me down to say as much.
Richard
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
9,741 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The quality, size, speed, and overall style of the X2 is the absolute best of the vehicles I had considered.
Felix
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
6,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
easy to use and select answers, questions were precise and clear to understand. overall great experience to add my review to different car models
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought the BMW X2 in a hurry. I loved my BMW 328i for 6 years and love the BMW brand. I have nothing bad to say about the X2 but I never fell in love with it like my first BMW. I recently traded the X2 in for a Tesla Model 3 Long Range with enhanced autopilot. I am so happy now and love the Tesla. My son still has my old 2012 BMW 328i and I still love riding in it.
ELENA
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I LOVE THIS CAR! THE ONLY THING I CAN SAY THAT IS NOT EXCELENT IS THE CONFORT OF THE BACK SEATS (MY CHILDREN LOVE THE CAR BUT THEY SAY IS NOT CONFORTABLE AT ALL IN THE BACK). THE FRONT SEAT ARE VERY CONFORTABLE. I AM COMPLETLY SATISFIED WITH ALL THE OTHER FEATURES.
2018 BMW 1026 X2 31125 398024
Write a Review for the 2018 BMW X2
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  2018 BMW X2 Expert Review
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 BMW listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 BMW listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Find Your Auto Insurance
When shopping gets hard, keep it simple and save an average of $536* with State Farm.
Disclaimer
Advertisement
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 BMW X2
705
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel