Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
8 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Stephen
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 15, 2019
2,300 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the car, but like many sports cars, it can be a little rough to ride on interstate. Everyone who sees the car likes the color (long beach blue).
KS
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
13,000 miles
|
Owned 11 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The BMW M240i is a great car if you value power and handling and don't need a ton of space. If you like driving or want to like to drive, this is the car. The inline six cylinder engine is smooth and provides plenty of power and torque whenever you need it. I highly recommend trying out the 6-speed manual transmission. It's fun to shift and has auto rev matching for super easy downshifts. It is unfortunate that the only way to disable the auto rev matching is to fully defeat the traction and stability controls. This is not great if you prefer to heel toe yourself. That said, the auto rev matching does work very well in just about every situation. The M240i has excellent handling. It feels very composed around corners. With its small size, it is easy to throw around and any parking spot is fair game. You can definitely feel the difference between comfort and sport modes from the changes in the adaptive suspension. My only quip is that it doesn't come standard with a limited slip differential. With a driver and one passenger, the M240i manages to feel roomier than you'd expect for a car of this size. My car has the red leather seats and accents, so the interior doesn't get too drab inside (I've heard this is an issue with all black). There are plenty of convenience features to like such as heated seats with position memory, automatic climate control, and redundant dial and touchscreen controls for the excellent (and excellent looking) infotainment system. The only thing that's not great is the size of the rear seat; it's fine for your stuff but not so fine for full-sized adults. The trunk is large, though, and comes with netting to strap down items that might slide around. One odd quirk about the climate control is that you can't sync the two sides. Trust me, I've tried everything including reading the manual! This is an odd omission on BMW's part and is a standard feature on most other cars with dual-zone climate control. As for the exterior, it is stylish but not overly flamboyant. I like that it is somewhat conservative in its styling, at least compared to say, an M2. For the most part, the M240i looks like a normal 2 series apart from the M badging. This makes it great if you want your car to look good but don't want to stand out too much. All in all, great car. 5 out of 5, would recommend.
Carole
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
15,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I live my BMW 230i. Driving is fun-- the car handles so well, has terrific acceleration and easy maneuverability. This BMW is extremely comfortable and looks great, even with the top up!
Dan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
10,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
BMW has lost their performance edge, still expensive but initial quality is very poor, the handling and performance is degraded (compared to 2010-2016), Short warranty (Now 3 years/ 36k miles), very poor service for anything but routine maintenance. Had Brake, Computer, and Battery problems, 3 dealers would not address, had to pay to fix my '18 with 150 miles at local shop. Last BMW I'll buy.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Instrument panel confusing and not user friendly. Owner's manual is over 300 pages and not vehicle specific.
MoTigers
October 25, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Test drove this car and fell in love with it - I realized why they call this the Ultimate Driving Machine! Car seems to have perfect balance - no understeer or oversteer - none I could feel accelerating while in a tight curve at 70 MPH. Suspension tight enough for fun - loose enough to drive on the road. I have the manual transmission. I also have the M performance Exhaust - and it is worth the upgrade. I love inline 6 cylinders and the turbo is just icing on the cake.
Oz
October 14, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Gave the 4 ratings on most because there is always room for improvement in anything, fuel economy is not a Prius and for the performance I guess mileage is acceptable but overall this car is almost perfect as a drivers car
mahdi
January 19, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2018 BMW 1026 2 Series 30721 394862
Write a Review for the 2018 BMW 2 Series
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  Expert Reviews
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 BMW listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 BMW listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Find Your Auto Insurance
When shopping gets hard, keep it simple and save an average of $536* with State Farm.
Disclaimer
Advertisement
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 BMW 2 Series
679
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel