Consumer Reviews
3.6
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
9 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Kay
August 14, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Ive owned this car 1.5 years now. Very happy with it. The gas tank could be larger so I could stop less for refills but other than that the car is perfect. No mechanical issues to date. Comfortable car and a great size.
RDX Tranny
May 20, 2019
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I purchased 2019 basic model manufactured from Ohio, the vehicle was delivered in Oct. It started to show harsh shift when gearing up from 2nd to 3rd from the time we drove it out. The symptom is pretty same as others posted here. https://acurazine.com/forums/3g-rdx-problems-fixes-458/harsh-shifting-2nd-3rd-971060/, Looks like Im not the only one who sensed rough transmission transition at low speed. I believe 2019 RDX has a serious transmission problem, the vehicle jerks before its warmed up,
Staci
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 03, 2019
8,400 miles
|
Owned 10 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my 7th Acura. Had it been my 1st, I would not have purchased another. The quality of workmanship has really decreased. I purchased this vehicle because Acura provides more bang for the buck than BMW and Audi. The ride is very smooth, but my 2015 RDX without all the safety features was much more fun to drive. The electronic system for the radio "sticks" and does not display the current station. The bluetooth phone feature will not read text messages from recent Android phones. The brakes are constantly requiring repair.
Anonymous
February 23, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I do not find the dashboard and electronics to be easy to use. Navigation is slow. Gas tank is smaller. Beautiful and sporty but not luxurious ride.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 21, 2019
13,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Safety and reliability made the choice easy for me.I was a Honda Accord owner for many years and we stepped up to an Acura and are very happy with it.
Carlos
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
4,500 miles
|
Owned 7 months
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
To expensive. Salesman gave me a bad deal. I wont buy from Acura again. Could have a better technology package . I lost features when i got the car. I'm already liking for my next place to get a car.
NEIL
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 11, 2019
8,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
All features in the car are excellent,except the voice commands, that most of the time does not recognize the voice correctly. Navigation system seems to have 3 years old database, for a $30k plus car, should have more actaualized maps in the Nav system Chose this vehicle, for its v6 powerful engine and the smooth ride with a very decent MPG. Higher quality in the workmanship, and of course,the resale value. but, most importantly...5 stars on safety
Happy
December 05, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best car in its class!
Ray
September 05, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very disappointed with the Human Interface for the Technology Package (Navigation, Audio, Phone).
Design is very clumsy, difficult to use, and not predictable. Also does not have additional storage under the rear cargo area for emergency equipment, etc.
2018 Acura 1187 RDX 30634 394326
Write a Review for the 2018 Acura RDX
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Acura RDX is a compact crossover now in the sixth year of its generation. It was a trailbreaker when it was introduced, a daring step into the uncharted territory of compact sport SUV. It’s long in the tooth now.

Available with front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive, RDX comes with a 3.5-liter V6 that makes 276 horsepower and 252 pound-feet of torque. It’s mated to a slick paddle-shifting six-speed automatic transmission.

Over the years its mission has grown to near-luxury, to the point where a fully loaded RDX can match the starting price of rivals like the BMW X3 and Mercedes GLC. But its entry-level model is still quite a lot less, bringing the value of affordability to the RDX.

Model Lineup

Acura RDX comes standard with 3.6-liter V6 and front-wheel drive, with all-wheel drive available ($1500).

The 2018 Acura RDX ($36,775) comes with dual-zone automatic climate control, moonroof, power liftgate, keyless ignition, LED headlamps, rearview camera, and heated front leatherette seats, power adjustable. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

RDX with the Technology package ($40,475) has real leather upholstery, higher infotainment on 8.0-inch screen, upgraded audio and 18-inch alloy wheels. AcuraWatch includes adaptive cruise control, automatic emergency braking, forward collision warnings, lane departure warnings, and lane keep assist ($1300).

RDX with Advance package the ($43,475) brings ventilated front seats, foglamps, auto-dimming exterior mirrors, remote start, and parking sensors, and AcuraWatch.

Walkaround

The busy RDX features a beak nose on a two-box shape. It’s reasonably harmonious. The five-square LED headlamps blend smoothly. The nose is neither aggressive nor flashy. You don’t do a double-take.

The base 17-inch alloy wheels could stand to be a bit more flashy, like the machine-finished 18-inch alloys that come with the Technology package.

Interior

The busy cabin shows its age, especially in gray, and struggles to meet that near-luxury tag. For example some matte silver painted plastic trim looks like it came off the modest CR-V. But close your eyes and the RDX feels like a crossover costing much more. It’s solid and quiet. Open them and you’ll see that the large center console has lots of storage space. The thick-rimmed three-spoke steering wheel suggests cornering tenacity that’s not quite there.

Front occupants will find it spacious and comfortable, with power adjustment on both seats, even the base model, with especially good lumbar support.

The rear passengers face a low bench seat, in an attempt to improve headroom which remains limited. It supposedly can fit three adults but we don’t recommend it. It folds almost flat, to create a good-sized 61.3 cubic feet of cargo space. And then there’s the bonus of another 15.6 cubic feet under the cargo floor.

The infotainment on the Technology and Advance RDX isn’t user-friendly. The menus are complicated, and a second screen in the process doesn’t help. Another drawback to the system is Apple CarPlay or Android Auto aren’t available.

Driving Impressions

The 3.6-liter V6 engine is powerful and refined, and brings a lot of grunt with its torque. It makes 279 hp with 252 lb-ft.

The electric power steering is direct, better than that the Lexus RX. And the handling is accurate, if not entirely sports-car-like. Out on the wide-open road, at high speed, it’s rock steady. The suspension takes the bumps in stride.

Summary

We’ll stick to the base model, in avoidance of the frustrating infotainment on the upscale models. We’re fine with the good leatherette, and we still get the great V6 and slick six-speed paddle-shifting automatic. Comfortable supportive seats. The rear passengers will be a bit tight, but when they’re gone there’s tons of room for cargo. Sharp direct handling at all times. Cheaper than a BMW. So what if the trim isn’t fancy.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Acura listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Acura listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Acura RDX
728

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel