Consumer Reviews
3.4
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
14 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Big J
September 05, 2019
32,000 miles
|
Owned 1 years 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car is great. Can't complain.
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 19, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the 2018 Acura ILX. Both exterior and interior are beautifully designed. It gets great mileage and drives great. Acura did a fantastic job with the ILX.
Nicole
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 19, 2019
3,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Not Rated
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Acura sold me a faulty care knowingly. There were engine problems, and many problems with this model, and the sales manager sold me the car anyway. Less than 12 hours after owning the car, I had to have it towed. Battery charging issues, issues with the computer/dashboard, and even after the dealership replaced the battery the car staled on me more than 5 times in less than 2 weeks. The dealership was waiting for a part to be delivered to repair the issues but did not offer me a rental or replacement instead just let me drive the car and make sure to refill the tank every 85 miles. I ended up calling the manufacturer and that is when things changed. Still driving the car, and it seems fine with the new part. Headache with Acura for almost 2 months.
Adam
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 14, 2019
1,900 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It is like I'm driving myself at speeds that I am not capable of driving. Full control of the auto from 0-150. It goes 0-60 faster than any car I've owned previously, and seems to prefer riding at high speeds once it gets there. The smooth riding ILX shows an impressive mile per gallon meter that is completely full at over 70 MPG when cruising 80 MPH on the highway. If needed, it certainly has another gear above that as well and can reach it quickly. This car is not only a great value, it drives like it is not.
Hiroyuki K
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 19, 2019
1,500 miles
|
Owned 7 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Although Consumer Report's rating wasn't good, Acura ILX gives my wife and me comfortability in driving which we haven't had with Volkswagen Jetta.
Tony
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 16, 2019
1,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My vehicle's right hand side front bumper has a quarter inch to half inch gap away from the head light. The grill is off too.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 16, 2019
1,002 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I really like the Acura brand. They make quality cars with safety top of the list. I don't like they had my car for the first couple of months due to an issue with the fuel tank they couldn't figure out how to fix. I did love the loaner vehicle they put me in. It was a fully loaded Acura RDX. I didn't like going back to my small ILX after driving it for a couple of months. ILX is in our budget, RDX is not. That is why we chose the ILX in the first place...great value, sportiness, safe, good gas mileage, sunroof, latest technology without navigation. I did have them tint the windows and was really pleased how they turned out. It adds to the sportiness of the car. I do not like the way you have to manage your phone features while driving. I do like there is bluetooth with a nice sound system. Red makes my car have the spunk I was looking for going into my 50th year of life! I would like a more powerful, faster car on my next lease.
Tasha
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 16, 2019
600 miles
|
Owned 4 months
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Not Rated
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Not Rated
My 2018 Acura IXL vehicle is 4 months old and the axle on the car broke. It broke without any warning. The car just stopped in the middle of the street. The dealership had to order the parts and it has been almost 3 weeks and the part still is not in. I would not recommend the car to a friend because their motto is safety and they will not exchange the car.
Bettye B.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 15, 2019
4,300 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My new car has done exactly what the Salesman said it would. I love the reliability of my vehicle and the style it brings to what I'm looking for in a new car.
Margaret
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 14, 2019
4,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I chose my vehicle because of my relationship with the dealer and I had heard Acura is a well made auto. I have an ILX and so far my only complaint is that it is sporty and not as comfortable as I'd like. It is a little difficult to enter and exit. Otherwise I enjoy driving it and get reasonably good gas mileage.
Sam
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 13, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I like all Acuras. This one is the cheapest, I believe, but has all the functions of the other models, although the camera is not as good, and the gas tank is smaller, But it handles well, and has sufficient pick up. You do have to pay extra for anything other that an AM/FM radio. That should be standard.
testtest
April 20, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love the car and hope to own it some day!
Sandra
January 17, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Absolutely love this car. It handles so well and is a real head turner.
Bill
November 30, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love my ILX!!!
2018 Acura 1187 ILX 31047 397442
Write a Review for the 2018 Acura ILX
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The 2018 Acura ILX is a sporty front-wheel-drive compact sedan launched as a 2013 model and substantially revised for the 2016 model year. The ILX competes with the Audi A3 and Mercedes-Benz CLA 250.

A new ILX Special Edition model is available for 2018 that affordably adds 18-inch alloy wheels, rear spoiler, and a body kit.

The ILX is a simple car, with one powertrain and just three models available. However, its simplicity makes it no less sporty, with a sharp 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine and paddle-shifting twin-clutch 8-speed automatic transmission. It makes 201 horsepower and 180 pound-feet of torque.

Meanwhile the cabin is sweet, with contoured surfaces and instruments that are easy to read.

The ILX gets good fuel mileage, rated by the EPA at 25 City, 35 Highway, and 29 Combined miles per gallon, a bit more than the A3 and a bit less than the CLA 250. That’s on Premium gasoline. It’s recommended but not required; power and mileage go down when using Regular octane.

The NHTSA gives it five stars for crash safety, and the IIHS gives it top scores including in the small overlap frontal impact test, which very few cars ace. Acura’s available advanced safety systems were rated Superior, to give it a Top Safety Pick+ rating.

Model Lineup

2018 Acura ILX ($28,100) standard equipment includes power moonroof, power driver’s seat, a multi-view rearview camera, and Bluetooth. The Premium adds leather, power passenger seat, dual-screen infotainment, satellite radio, blind-spot monitors and rear cross-traffic alert.

ILX also comes in Premium ($30,100), Technology Plus ($33,100), and the new Special Edition ($28,900).

Walkaround

The ILX is clearly Acura, without being distinctive. It can’t be called edgy despite some sharp edges, down low at the bottom of the front fascia, and the rockers along the side below the doors. Its front bumper is V-shaped, following the V of the grille, and looks like a pointed chin; it’s a dated look that most of the rest of the Acura line has left behind.

The flat black plastic surrounding the round foglamps is dull and awkward. The 18-inch 10-spoke wheels are uniquely ugly, kind of like 10 legs with big feet on them, and look like they should be moving (not like they are moving) when they are standing still. They look better moving and blurred.

Interior

The instrument panel is basic and not so sporty, with a spare look to the plastic and vents; but it’s easy to read. The interior materials are fine, improved in 2016 along with the upgraded dual-screen infotainment system. The fit and finish is very good, but it would be nice if the materials showed more color and originality.

Things are laid out neatly, comfortably, ergonomically and intuitively. It’s easy to operate the controls without taking your eyes off the road. Except, unfortunately, for the infotainment system.

Overall the cabin is quiet and refined, with fairly thick glass and standard active noise cancellation system that absorbs small but annoying sounds from the powertrain or road. It uses the sound system’s speakers, a cabin microphone, and a sophisticated processing algorithm.

The front seats are supportive and very adjustable for the driver. But Acura seems to be missing an opportunity here, because although there is a bit more headroom than most compact cars, there could be more if the seat adjusted lower, as appears possible.

In the rear, the ILX earns praise for providing enough leg room and knee room for six-footers.

The overall interior space is impressive, with plenty of room for small personal items. Unlike in the frustrating Audi A3, there are well-planned bins and cubbies everywhere. The 12.4-cubic-foot trunk can hold two large suitcases, or a large cooler, or even a wheelchair. The split rear seatbacks can be flipped forward for access to the trunk with extended space.

Driving Impressions

The direct-injection 2.4-liter engine, making 201 horsepower, delivers strong and satisfying performance. It’s the same engine as in the next biggest Acura model, the TLX. Acceleration is smooth and linear, and we had no problems merging into fast traffic or passing on two-lane roads.

The 8-speed, dual-clutch transmission is the perfect companion, superbly responsive. It uses a torque converter for low-speed smoothness, while it shifts very quickly with the paddles yet not jerky, when driving the ILX aggressively, including rev-matched downshifts in Sport mode. In Sport, the ILX holds gears longer and downshifts perfectly when decelerating, providing some extra oomph.

The ride is pleasant, tuned more for comfort than cornering. It’s nose-heavy, which makes it a better choice for cruising and commuting rather than tackling demanding roads. The ILX has a weight distribution of a whopping 63/37 front/rear, compared with the near-50/50 balance of the BMW 2 Series or the 58/42 split of the Audi A3.

The ILX is reasonably quiet, with mild road noise on bumpier roads. Active noise cancellation picks up engine and road sounds from a microphone and pipes in noise-combating frequencies through the car’s speakers.

The A-Spec performance package with 18-inch wheels that are 7.5 inches wide, with very low-profile tires, improves handling. However, the low-profile tires make the ride harsh on bumpy roads. We got a lot of seat time in an A-Spec, and don’t believe the harder cornering allowed by these wheels and tires is worth the compromise in comfort.

Summary

The Acura ILX can be an enjoyable car, but limited in its appeal. The price is right, if you don’t expect anything special. The styling is common; the engine is quick enough but not thrilling; and the cabin is quiet, refined and functional, sweet for those things, but still mundane. The one exceptional feature is the superb 8-speed dual-clutch transmission.

Sam Moses contributed to this report, with staff reports.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2018 Acura listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2018 Acura listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2018 Acura ILX
521
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel