Consumer Reviews
4.5
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
18 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Pilot assist
July 09, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Not rated Is Pilot Assist, the self driving feature is absolutely great. Lane keeping absolutely great. Warning for bike riders behind you as you back. Wakes you up and tells you to take a break. Self park. Nothing like these are rated This is computer nearly able to drive itself. A simple test drive will not tell the whole story. You will have to get used to all of the technology including the self driving features, the navigation, the integration with your cell phone, the list goes on....
Owned7volvos
June 11, 2019
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Could be our last Volvo! Love Volvos but this model has an air conditioning issue. It quits cooling and blows hot air. I was told they were aware of the problem over a year ago. They recommend you turn the A/C off for 15 minutes and it will cool again. This works. But living in the south where temps reach 95 to 105 in the summer with high humidity, turning the A/C off is not an acceptable solution nor is this acceptable for a $60,000.00 car. They have yet to come up with a fix or offered any resolution. Very disappointed with Volvo. I recommend you stay away from this car.
Sarah
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"We purchased our 2017 Volvo X90 primarily for the outstanding safety features, but there are so many other great features to the car as well. It is a smooth ride, and comfortable for all passengers. The technology is extreme! It was a good investment of time to learn how to best use all of it from the dealership. We are a ""Volvo Family,"" and know and trust the brand well. It is truly our cruising automobile!"
A.S.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 05, 2017
10,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Truly Exceptional drive and quality. State of art technology. I love to drive this car and feel safe in it.
Randy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 27, 2017
2,700 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Safe through high tech. Best Features - Cameras
Jennifer
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 27, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
As a mom of two children, safety was critical to me as I shopped for a new vehicle. I was looking for a SUV that was roomy but not ridiculously oversized! I am in love with my new Volvo XC90. It is roomy, stylish, modern, and has an array of terrific safety features. I couldn't be happier. It has a convenient third row that allows for friends, groceries and vacation getaways. It is great on gas. I am thrilled with this purchase and recommend this car to anyone looking for a family SUV - especially all the Moms out there. You won't be disappointed!
Natalia
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Beautifully designed, luxurious, most spacious, comfortable and readable car. Appropriate for either a male and a female driver. Perfect for a small or a large family vehicle. Very sturdy. Most technologically advanced. Upgrades available at reasonable cost.
Pat
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Safety features are truly outstanding! Ride is great and the engine has more than enough pickup. I was concerned about the 4 cylinder engine but no concerns there. Gas mileage so far is about 21/25. Still getting used to the differences between a Swedish made car, Volvo cx90, andc the American made cars, and yes there are differences!
Mark
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
13,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Styling and performance is outstanding but there are technology issues that the dealership is struggling to correct. I've had it at the dealership 4 times now for the same issue and it still is not fixed. Ive talked to other owners that share the same concern.
Deb
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
3,800 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
As a previous Volvo owner (2000 Volvo S80), I am partial to Volvo. As with my previous Volvo, I really like the sharp exterior styling and the comfortable seats. As always, the safety features Volvo offers are exceptional. I truly enjoy driving my new purchase and while the XC90 has many technology features to learn, I feel like I am successfully learning them. I truly appreciate the on-line owner's manual! So far, so good.
JOHANNA
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Volvo xc90 T6 Inscription is the best car I have ever own! I have always own a sport turbo car and I was concern of loosing performance on a SUV but this car is great. It feels like you are driving a sport car. I bought this car since we got a baby and wanted the safest SUV we can find. I feel very safe in it and is so luxurious. The exterior of the car is beautiful and I get compliments on the car all the time. If you are looking for a spacious, high performance, luxurious and safe SUV this is the one!!
Brenda
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Fun to drive. Reliable & the technology surpasses my expectations. This vehicle FEELS safe when being driven, is quiet & incredibly comfortable. The 2nd row seats are comfortable for adults as well as children & there's plenty of cargo space while the 3rd row is in use. MPG is on par with what is quoted on the vehicle information. Quick off the line & tremendous control at all speeds.
Tisa
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Volvo XC90. I travel a lot with my children and grandchildren and it's the safest vehicle I've ever owned. It gives me peace of mind while traveling.
Wendy M.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
5,400 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Volvo, I call it my baby. This has been the best car I have ever own. It keeps me safe and it's very reliable. My volvo is preforming exceptional well. When I need the power it has it. The features and look inside and out is far better than any car I have owned and seen. It drives like a dream and handles very well. Gas mileage is also very nice considering how big the car is.
TR
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
10,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"I have seen some negative reviews of the powertrain on the car, and as far as I am concerned, those reviews were not legitimate. Think of the term ""quick for a big man"". This vehicle is excellent."
Wisconsin
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
250 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Volvo is the safest car on the road, period. Quality build, luxury, safety and fun to drive. I feel like a kid again driving this car, wanting to go run an errand just so I can drive it!
Phil
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
4,300 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We love our new Volvo XC90 T6 Inscription! Volvo has crossed a threshold with this luxury model. We compared it with the Mercedes GLE, at about the same price, and definitely prefer the Volvo. Performance is excellent from a 4 cylinder engine that develops 316 HP. we are getting 24.4 MPG overall. We are long time Volvo owners and our 2004 XC90 was going strong when we updated to the new one. The 2017 is a little bigger and is a real road warrior. the range is over 450 miles. The luxurious well designed interior, excellent sound system, along with safety and semi-autonomous driving features make it a great land yacht for road trips. The radar controlled adaptive cruise control and lane keeping work well. On a well marked road you can take both hands off the wheel, but the car will nag you after 15 seconds or so. Distance keeping, from the car ahead, works very well and will bring the car to a complete stop, if necessary. The dash is very well designed, with a vertical touch screen center display.
Jay
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 2017 Volvo XC90 is the nicest car I've owned. It is extremely comfortable, loaded with easy to use technology and has an interior fit and finish that is the best I've seen. The engine has plenty of power even though it's only a 4 cylinder in such a heavy vehicle although it can be a little noisy on hard acceleration -- that's the only negative thing to say about this SUV!
2017 Volvo 1216 XC90 29387 385498
Write a Review for the 2017 Volvo XC90
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  2017 Volvo XC90 Expert Review
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
GEICO Car Insurance
15 minutes could save you 15% or more on car insurance.
Advertisement
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Volvo XC90
876
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel