2017 Volkswagen Tiguan Reviews and Ratings

2.0T Wolfsburg Edition 4MOTION

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Volkswagen Tiguan.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (9)
Overall Rating
  4.1 / 5
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  4.1 / 5
Exterior
  4.3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  3.9 / 5

By Tara Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 4:07pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
My new Tiguan drives better than my 3 series BMW. It's comfortable sporty and reliable. I absolutely love driving it.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Corinne Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 12:29pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
I am very happy with my Volkswagen Tiguan. It is the perfect size for me; I can fit a lot in the trunk of the car and I don't feel too low driving next to trucks but it also drives well in narrow streets and parking is easy in this size. It has great gas mileage and the car is very comfortable perfect for driving longer distances. I also love the new technology and bluetooth features. The car is safe reliable and practical and overall a great buy.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Ramana T. Wednesday, August 2, 2017 - 7:29am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
Build quality and good features for less price. Pros: audio backup camera leather seats. Cons: less trunk space and WORST fuel economy
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Pete Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 4:30am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.8 / 5
I have owned many VWs over the years. I traded my Passat in for the Tiquan primarily for the higher sight lines and the hatchback. The car is noisier than the Passat and gets worse gas mileage. I like the exterior look. The interior is cheap. Which I have never thought of a VW before this purchase. The phone system seems out of date. Not very good voice recognition. The noise makes it hard to use the hands free mic.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   1.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Joh Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 5:17am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is our third Tiguan. Love the workmanship and overall quality. Simply a great vehicle. Style, interior and engine performance cannot be beat.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Meredith Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 5:33pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I like how it sits up on the road. Its the perfect size with not being too big but the truck space is great! It has great value for the price.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Elizabeth Friday, August 18, 2017 - 9:40pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.4 / 5
The car really isn't the best for families since there isn't much storage at all to hold more than just a stroller in the trunk. The great thing though is even though I don't have the truck space the backseats can move forwards so its easier to reach my baby when I need something. I feel like the inside has great features like leather heated seats and hands free dialing/connects to my phone allowing me to use SIRI. My favorite feature is that I don't need to ever take the keys out of my bag to unlock or start my car it just senses its close and unlocks! Sirius XM also sounds so good inside the car!
Reliability
   1 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Anonymous Sunday, August 27, 2017 - 5:19pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
This is my third Tiguan. They are comfortable and roomy. They drive and run well. Best Features - interior and exterior look.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Peter Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 4:42pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Reliable, good performance and handling. Very comfortable on 1,000 mile trip with three passengers and luggage
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Volkswagen Tiguan.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.