2017 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews and Ratings

1.4T SE Manual

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Volkswagen Jetta.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (24)
Overall Rating
  4.3 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.1 / 5
Exterior
  4.3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.4 / 5

By David S. 10/12/2017 11:42:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
I love my Jetta. It handles exceptionally. I stay comfortable on long drives. The base model included back up camera, blue tooth connectivity, and alloy wheels. Power (150 HP) and Torque (185 ft-lbs at 1500 RPM) are outstanding and make the car very driveable for such a small engine. I've gotten around 44 MPG (manual trans) on long trips and have been able to exceed 600 miles on a 14.5gallon tank of gas before refueling. Styling is understated but timeless. It is a truly great car and a great value.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Tracy 10/9/2017 9:07:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
Nice smooth ride, very reliable, excellent gas mileage. Great car for work or for a college student.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Rick 10/7/2017 5:12:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My 2017 GLI is the perfect blend of performance, comfort and safety features. It gets exceptional miles per gallon. It could use about 40 additional horsepower to be an exceptional vehicle.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Zach 10/2/2017 12:00:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I enjoy the cruise control features, the gas mileage and the reliability of my Jetta and am very pleased with my purchase. It gets the job done while being fun to drive.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Vince M. 10/1/2017 1:43:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.4 / 5
Over all happy with my choice. small glitches at first but getting them corredted over time. Dealer has been very good.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By George 9/7/2017 11:58:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
The 2017 Jetta TSI has been an amazing car for me. It came stock with a turbo and has just the right amount of kick you'd expect from such an affordable vehicle. Although I didn't get the luxury edition, I still love every inch of this car. The handling is great and the seats are very comfortable. A particular feature I like is how the vehicle has an assisted clutch so even if you're going too slow in first gear it'll keep you moving! All the features work spectacularly and are really easy to learn. The trunk space is quite larger than I expected! In addition the vehicle has a safety kit with loads of tools and equipment. I absolutely love this vehicle and would recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable, fun, sporty looking car with plenty of perks!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Alicia 9/6/2017 4:24:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It drives like a dream, the gas mileage is great
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/6/2017 3:12:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
This car is great to drive. All the buttons are in easy to reach and use places. I love that the side mirror lights up when a car is in my blind spot.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By jimn 9/4/2017 4:57:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
My car handles very well and is comfortable on long drives. The gas mileage has been well within what the sales sticker stated. The only drawback is space. Prior to owning this vehicle I owned a van. But that was a of my choosing therefore it is not a major problem.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Justin 8/24/2017 6:07:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
I like the touch button ignition and the smooth ride. It's spacious yet ergonomic. The outer design is classy.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Anonymous 8/24/2017 4:30:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My car gives me peace of mind using it. for now I don't have any thing to worry about it. I love my car, its really cool. I find out alot people keep looking at me when ever I drive it around, people tells me that my car is cool.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Rhiana 8/22/2017 7:06:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2 / 5
Great gas mileage. Fun to drive. Roomy and sporty looking. Expensive parts is the only down fall in my opinion.
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Samantha 8/21/2017 6:36:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.4 / 5
I love my 2017 VW Jetta SEL. It gets excellent gase mileage and accelerates very quickly. It's extremely easy to park and has many options for a low budget vehicle.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Frances 8/21/2017 2:15:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
I love the pickup that it has, it's nice and compact or small without it being cramped inside. It is also very roomy inside and comfortable
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By David 8/21/2017 5:53:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have been leasing Hondas for years, and thought I'd try something different. The VW Jetta is a pleasure to drive, the a/c will freeze the occupants of the car, it gets 42-44 MPG on the interstate with 2 people on board, a/c blasting, and the cruise control at 78 MPH. It rode a little rougher than I would have liked at first, until I figured out that the dealer had overinflated the tires. Once I deflated the tires to 35 PSI the ride became much more compliant. I had concerns about the V-Tex ""pleather"" seats being hot to sit on, but they feel just fine, even in really hot weather. The 1.4t engine is fine for normal use. I have driven Jettas with the larger 1.8t and you won't notice much difference unless you really punch it, in which case the 1.8 feels stronger. I'm perfectly content with the 1.4 liter engine. Neat car, give it a try!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ramont W 8/18/2017 6:14:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Drives well. Best Features - safety. Worst Features - bumper
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By oscar e s 8/18/2017 2:21:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Best features - Performance a economy in the open road. Worst Features - Phone and radio beside the 6 speed which is excellent transmission.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Alex 8/17/2017 8:24:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It is an excellent option. It is an economic vehicle in the gasoline expense, also it is sure and comfortable. Very stable in the highway.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/16/2017 12:45:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
I think the suspension and engine are where the 2017 Jetta really shines. The suspension and height of the vehicle make driving over bumps and inclines very smooth and easy to manage. The turbocharged engine paired with the automatic drivetrain make for a very smooth acceleration, with no moments where you feel lacking in power. The turbo lag is nearly nonexistent, which was a big surprise coming form the 1.4T Dodge Dart that had nearly an entire second of delay. I can easily get 25 MPG City and upwards of 33 MPG Highway, which is no doubt an ode to the smooth automatic transmission and carefully measured fuel injection. The active lighting that can shift horizontally during a turn and vertically when going up or down an incline is incredible. The CarPlay feature is also something I couldn't get over. To be able to have a barebones version of your phone screen pop up on the center touchscreen, complete with music, voice messaging, and navigation, is incredibly useful and has saved me countless times.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Ellen 8/6/2017 2:48:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Safely look fuel are all great. Only thing I don't like is too many manual operations e.g. key to open doors and start engine manual adjustment of seats.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Dawn 7/29/2017 11:59:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my Jetta SE it handles well feels solid is fun to drive and gets great gas mileage! For the options that it has it is extremely reasonably priced. I love that it has a back up camera and blind spot sensor!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Hugo R 7/29/2017 9:59:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my Jetta. It's a very reliable car and I been traveling like I never has before. It's fun to drive and sexy looking
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jerri 7/29/2017 8:15:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I am very happy with the Jetta. Nice vehicle with great gas milage. Great price too. Salesperson was very knowledgable and helpful showed us how to operate technolgies.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Justin 7/28/2017 7:07:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I really enjoy my new car so far but I've only owned two other cars that were both used so I feel my comparison may be skewed. Regardless my 2017 Jetta has driven smooth on road trips and I enjoy its appearance both inside and out.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Volkswagen Jetta.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 5 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Volkswagen Jetta 1.4T SE Manual local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?
}


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.