2017 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews and Ratings

1.4T SE Manual

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Volkswagen Jetta.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (13)
Overall Rating
  4.7 / 5
Reliability
  4.7 / 5
Interior
  4.6 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.7 / 5

By Dawn Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 11:59am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
I love my Jetta SE it handles well feels solid is fun to drive and gets great gas mileage! For the options that it has it is extremely reasonably priced. I love that it has a back up camera and blind spot sensor!
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Anonymous Wednesday, August 16, 2017 - 12:45pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
I think the suspension and engine are where the 2017 Jetta really shines. The suspension and height of the vehicle make driving over bumps and inclines very smooth and easy to manage. The turbocharged engine paired with the automatic drivetrain make for a very smooth acceleration, with no moments where you feel lacking in power. The turbo lag is nearly nonexistent, which was a big surprise coming form the 1.4T Dodge Dart that had nearly an entire second of delay. I can easily get 25 MPG City and upwards of 33 MPG Highway, which is no doubt an ode to the smooth automatic transmission and carefully measured fuel injection. The active lighting that can shift horizontally during a turn and vertically when going up or down an incline is incredible. The CarPlay feature is also something I couldn't get over. To be able to have a barebones version of your phone screen pop up on the center touchscreen, complete with music, voice messaging, and navigation, is incredibly useful and has saved me countless times.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Alex Thursday, August 17, 2017 - 8:24am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It is an excellent option. It is an economic vehicle in the gasoline expense, also it is sure and comfortable. Very stable in the highway.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jerri Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 8:15am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I am very happy with the Jetta. Nice vehicle with great gas milage. Great price too. Salesperson was very knowledgable and helpful showed us how to operate technolgies.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Hugo R Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 9:59am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my Jetta. It's a very reliable car and I been traveling like I never has before. It's fun to drive and sexy looking
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ramont W Friday, August 18, 2017 - 6:14pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Drives well. Best Features - safety. Worst Features - bumper
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Justin Friday, July 28, 2017 - 7:07pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I really enjoy my new car so far but I've only owned two other cars that were both used so I feel my comparison may be skewed. Regardless my 2017 Jetta has driven smooth on road trips and I enjoy its appearance both inside and out.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Ellen Sunday, August 6, 2017 - 2:48pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Safely look fuel are all great. Only thing I don't like is too many manual operations e.g. key to open doors and start engine manual adjustment of seats.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By George Thursday, September 7, 2017 - 11:58pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
The 2017 Jetta TSI has been an amazing car for me. It came stock with a turbo and has just the right amount of kick you'd expect from such an affordable vehicle. Although I didn't get the luxury edition, I still love every inch of this car. The handling is great and the seats are very comfortable. A particular feature I like is how the vehicle has an assisted clutch so even if you're going too slow in first gear it'll keep you moving! All the features work spectacularly and are really easy to learn. The trunk space is quite larger than I expected! In addition the vehicle has a safety kit with loads of tools and equipment. I absolutely love this vehicle and would recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable, fun, sporty looking car with plenty of perks!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By David Monday, August 21, 2017 - 5:53am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have been leasing Hondas for years, and thought I'd try something different. The VW Jetta is a pleasure to drive, the a/c will freeze the occupants of the car, it gets 42-44 MPG on the interstate with 2 people on board, a/c blasting, and the cruise control at 78 MPH. It rode a little rougher than I would have liked at first, until I figured out that the dealer had overinflated the tires. Once I deflated the tires to 35 PSI the ride became much more compliant. I had concerns about the V-Tex ""pleather"" seats being hot to sit on, but they feel just fine, even in really hot weather. The 1.4t engine is fine for normal use. I have driven Jettas with the larger 1.8t and you won't notice much difference unless you really punch it, in which case the 1.8 feels stronger. I'm perfectly content with the 1.4 liter engine. Neat car, give it a try!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Alicia Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 4:24pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It drives like a dream, the gas mileage is great
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 3:12pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
This car is great to drive. All the buttons are in easy to reach and use places. I love that the side mirror lights up when a car is in my blind spot.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By oscar e s Friday, August 18, 2017 - 2:21pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Best features - Performance a economy in the open road. Worst Features - Phone and radio beside the 6 speed which is excellent transmission.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Volkswagen Jetta.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 5 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Volkswagen Jetta 1.4T SE Manual local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.