2017 Volkswagen Beetle Reviews and Ratings

1.8T SE Auto

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Volkswagen Beetle.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (10)
Overall Rating
  4.9 / 5
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  4.9 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.9 / 5

By Robin L. 8/28/2017 8:01:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
LOVE my Volkswagen Beetle. It's a fun, safe, and reliable vehicle and is really cute! This is my car for LIFE, but PLEASE bring back the ICONIC YELLOW Beetle color!!!! I was SO disappointed that it was discontinued....
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By James O. 8/27/2017 11:26:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Volkswagen Beetle handles flawlessly, and drives like a charm. The gas mileage I get is better than I expected; currently averaging 30 MPG for mixed city and highway. It is surprisingly comfortable and roomy, and even though I live in Florida - the heated heats are a blessing - they alleviate my chronic lower back discomfort. I also found that I really enjoy the Sirius XM for the extensive variety of stations.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mike S. 8/24/2017 9:02:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love the styling of the 2017 VW Beetle, especially the more bold look of the vehicle front. The vehicle is very wide inside and being 6'1" my front leg room is more than adequate and I drive with the seat back one position. I like the streamline roof styling and it does not interfere with access, exiting, or inside head room space. I like every feature of my 2017 Beetle. I also like that it is not a real common vehicle that I notice on the road everyday.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/23/2017 2:21:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Very easy very quick helpful like dealership seems that car buying process is getting easier and easier
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Karen 8/22/2017 6:44:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My VW Beetle Convertible was #2 on my Bucket List. I love her! The convertible top is automatic, and the windows respond to the top. The interior looks like it came out of the fifties. It's been good on gas, oil only gets changed every 10,000 miles, and it's just a pleasure driving.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/22/2017 2:38:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The car handles and looks great. I have a turbo convertible. I wanted a manual transmission, but VW has discontinued this, which was a great disappointment. The cover for the top when it is down is EXTREMELY awkward to use and worse to store when not in use. Very poorly designed. I special ordered my car in order to get all options on it, and in spite of being told it would take 90 days to receive, it took 207 days - not acceptable!! Love the car and the dealer was good, but I hate the VW corporation because of their disregard for this customer. This was not my first Beetle, but will be my last. I highly recommend the car's looks, performance and overall fun to drive, but suggest buying off a dealer's lot if you're not particular about the options.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Don 8/18/2017 12:05:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
My '71 gave me no problems for over 150,000 miles and then I sold it to a shipmate. I've had several other VW's and they have all given me great service. This is my wife's first VW and she loves it, it's fun to drive, looks good and keeps us young
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tara 8/17/2017 7:47:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The Beetle is just so much fun! I kind of wish I had bought a yellow or red one but my white one is awesome! Everyone loves it and people in the parking lot come over to see the interior! Safe car, good miles and so much fun! I am the kind of person who puts the roof down even in a light snow! I enjoy every minute of it !
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Mitch 7/31/2017 5:11:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my VW convertible - it is the perfect car for Florida Treasure Coast. I would recommend the car!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By deba 7/27/2017 3:27:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The volkswagen beetle car is an exceptional car. Most people think by looking at it up close or at a distance that it is too small but it is all but that. The inside is very comfy and the driving experience is awesome and it handles the road very well. We just came back from a long road trip and enjoyed every part of it in our new car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Volkswagen Beetle.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Volkswagen Beetle 1.8T SE Auto local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?
}


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.