Consumer Reviews
4.4
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
45 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Kirk Hewitt
February 23, 2021
5,000 miles
|
Owned 1 years 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great truck, gas mileage is disappointing but probably to be expected. Its a head turner, many compliments.
Henry Lavayen
May 18, 2020
50,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love my Truck no issues other than I had bad tires. But dealer replaced them, 50,000 miles and that’s the only issue.
Jimmy altrude
May 06, 2020
18,000 miles
|
Owned 3 years 2 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great Truck! About the only complaint that I have is that mine is the Four cylinder five speed and it definitely is under powered. Next time I would opt for the 6 cylinder.
travis b
November 30, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Tundra owner that moved over to Tacoma, best truck I've owned.
Phil
June 10, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I''ve had my TRD 4x4 Tacoma just under 2 years now, and have no regrets about buying it other than I wish I''d gotten a 6'' bed. It wouldn''t have fit in the garage I had at the time though, so just as well. Fuel mileage was a little lacking at first, but I''m now getting 18 local and 24 Highway, so can''t complain! 4x4 is necessary for Iowa winters, but fun to play with too! The wife wanted a Crew cab so we can haul 4 adults comfortably, and *I* like the way the seats fold down flat so I can haul stuff in the cab. I keep my vehicles 10 years or longer, and this should be no exception.
Anonymous
May 05, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
not pleazed
March 12, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
truck surges worse when you are backing up and turn steering wheel
when at a stop light and you step on gas pedal it shoots ahead real fast sometimes Toyota knows the problem but wont fix it had factory rep in truck and they agree but cant fix it don''t buy one they tell you they are working on it but have not heard back in 8 month all BS
yolo
February 26, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Really cool design, great ride comfort and handling, the transmission is set to conserve fuel but the Tacoma will get up and go if you want it to. Handles great off road. The vehicle feels really solid. It''ll take you camping, or to the lake, and its really fun to drive. Its a sport truck. I personally love mine.
Dan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 21, 2019
13,500 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the look of my vehicle and it is exactly what I need for the daily commute, family, and our weekend activities. It is very comfortable. The heated seats and off road capabilities are a plus in the winter.
WSaffold
February 13, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Probably my last truck. I wanted something special.
LOUIS
February 03, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
gajim
January 13, 2019
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Poor performance, will not accelerate properly, jumps, runs rough have to run 93 octane gasoline to get to run halfway right. Toyota will not fix the problem. had a 2011 Tacoma that was great but this 2017 is a piece of junk as for the way it runs every thing else is great
JBR
January 04, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Outstanding!!!!!!
sdp1114
December 21, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is not the same quality Toyota that I''ve enjoyed in the past. Overpriced, Entune system is all but worthless and Toyota won''t stand behind it. Poor gas mileage, not even close to advertised. Fit and finished is not Japanese build quality like my older trucks and SUV''s. Toyota corporate does not care about their customers also Gulf States Toyota is a complete joke. I regret my purchase.....looking at the new Ford Ranger in 2019 to replave this Toy.
GaryD
July 30, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Charlie
May 24, 2018
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Acceleration/power is absolutely horrible. I cant understand how Toyota could put such a sick engine in an otherwise good truck
Matt
May 05, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my 2nd Gen 3 Tacoma, 5'' bed and love it! I wish the seating inside was better though. Anyone with longer legs looses out due to the shortness of the seats themselves. I think Toyota should extend the whole truck about a 1'' to give more space inside the cab and backseat.
Other than that, it handles well, getting 18/20 MPG, and overall happy with the purchase!
Steve
March 20, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
cowboy
March 18, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
had a tundra with v8 motor. wasn''t to sure about going down to a v6 motor in the Tacoma. so far so good and pleased all around with the truck. would of liked more aggressive tread tires. will see what is on the market when these wear out. overall ; great truck to drive when my wife hasn''t taken it.
hih
February 15, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Have had it for 2 months with no problems at all.RUNS GOOD,RIDES GOOD AND AVERAGES 23.2 MPG ON HIGHWAY.Well satisfied so far.Have owned 3 Toyota Tacomas.Always have had good service with them.Great resale value when you trade them in.
Anonymous
January 26, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Docgolf
December 28, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love my 2017 Taco
SAPPER
December 28, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2016 Toyota Tacoma TRD-Offroad double cab 4x4. Best Tacoma I''ve ever owned. Traded a 2015 TRD-Offroad double cab for this new design. Absolute love it! The ride is quieter, softer. The engine noise is considerably quieter. It takes some time learning to live with the Atkinson cycle (direct injected). The transmission 6 gears have a tendency to use higher possible gear to save fuel. There is more than enough power when you need it! I love my truck.
Rod
December 12, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
LWJ
December 01, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great truck. This is my second Tacoma and it is even better than the 15.
sothga old man
November 29, 2017
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Have a 2017 toyota tacoma trd off rd v6 crew cab. Have a problem surging constantly/jerking/ shaking. got 2500 miles on it and had it in a toyota dealer shop 4 times. they/the service adviser, the factory rep tells me that this is the results of new technology in the transmission where the torque converter is programed to lock in and out causing the problem and that there is no fix for it. I have owned 4 other toyotas and never had a problem with any of them but this one is not right and looks like no hope to get it fixed. If nothing is done to correct the problem I will never buy another.
Montana man
October 22, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Roughly 5000 miles driven in mine so far. Smooth ride both on and offroad. Crawl control has been a fun feature to utilize.
Seaking
October 09, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent Truck for the money!
Joe
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 07, 2017
8,500 miles
|
Owned 10 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"I love my 2017 Toyota Tacoma TDR sport! I'm a first time truck owner and I don't think I'll ever go back to driving a car again. This truck has all the technology and comfort of a car which was necessary for me as it is my full-time vehicle. I would definitely recommend this truck to any one. Pros: 4WD, towing capability, and 4 doors for my family Cons: Auto Transmission is a little jerky when changing gears. Unsure all trucks are like that...this is my first truck"
Rachel
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 04, 2017
14,600 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love to play in the back country and needed a reliable vehicle in order to do so. When I purchased my Toyota Tacoma I wanted a L4/H4 but got so much more. It gives me the options that allows me to feel safe in whatever driving condition I might come up against.
P. G.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 03, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"I bought my Tacoma TRD 4x4 Off Road for the rugged looks and capability. Likes: I like the fit and finish and the solid feel of the truck; it is very capable off-road and the Bilstein shocks make the suspension very compliant. Dislikes: I feel like the truck is lacking in how the engine delivers power. The engine is powerful but has to be revved high in order the get into the power band as it lacks torque at low revs; automatic transmission seems to not stay in the same gear at highway speeds. It constantly downshifts to maintain momentum even on minimal uphill grades."
Gary
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 03, 2017
15,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best feature was finding out it would go anywhere my 4-wheeler would go. I thought I had to buy a SXS to get to our camping spots with my wife, and found that we could just drive there with all our gear in complete comfort and safety. Saved me $10K in cost avoidance because I don't need a SXS now. Only complaint is the black interior. It's impossible to keep clean. Get a tan interior!
Bruce
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
15,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Toyota Tacoma is very good in all types of driving conditions. It is very reliable and never breaks down.
Randy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 01, 2017
2,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Front seats are a little low to the floor. Best Features - V6 Power and handling, ride, fuel economy. Worst Features - Low Front Seats
Gary D
August 30, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Traded 2009 Taco for 2016 Taco, all double cabs. 09 was great and never had an issue with 100K miles . 2016 had nothing but lemon problems. 2017 is perfect. Great at everything, especially 4 wheel craw mode (very cool). Rides like a truck and seats could be more adjustable. Wind noise is not bad and handles well. Brakes are controlled by computer, so they feel like the old brakes of the 70''s, but required for craw control. This is a very solid truck and I am very pleased with it. My 2009 lasted forever without issues, and I am sure this will be the same. These also hold their value very well.
manny
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"this vehicle is amazing. in and off road. easy to park in a shopping center.I love this tacoma perfect truck"
Mark
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"The Toyota Tacoma is a great truck mechanically and it looks really good, but the sound system is ATROCIOUS!!! I didn't really test the radio enough before I bought it because, come on, how bad could it be? But it is so bad I thought it was broken and was about to call the dealer until I went online and found out that they're all like that! There is a website ""TacoTunes"" that exists solely to replace the sound systems in Tacomas - that's how bad it is! The Tacoma speakers are so cheap that Toyota actually ""de-tunes"" the radio head unit so you don't blow the speakers! So it doesn't go loud enough and it sounds like garbage - and I am by no means anything close to being an audiophile. I still love the Tacoma, but I am going to spend another $1,000 to replace the speakers and put in an amplifier. I'm just thinking of the extra cost as the true price of the vehicle. I can't stress how much of a piece of junk that sound system is. Whoever is in charge of that at Toyota should be fired."
Erin
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
2,300 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"I love my 2017 Toyota Tacoma. The exterior is such a sleek look. I call my truck ""My Sexy Beast"". It is bigger than the older models but not as large as the Tundra. There is not one thing that I would change about my truck except to personalize it. That will be coming soon! I am a small framed female so this being my first truck was the perfect choice! I enjoy my truck daily!!"
Brent
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 6 speed automatic transmission shifts poorly and needs improved software. At times, it seems to stutter like it does not know what gear to use. This is apparently a known product issue. Two trips to Toyota service did not improve the issue. Otherwise, the 2017 Tacoma is a great truck with nice styling, comforts and technology. I am a big Toyota fan, but I am disappointed in the drive train quality of this pickup.
Pat
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent for trades. reliable and power train is very good. Had a 2009 Tacoma and that vehicle treated me right.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Tacoma SR5 with V6 and 6 speed auto transmission gets better mileage than the 4 cylinder with 4 speed transmission. 22mpg for 4 cyl, and 26-28 mpg for the V
Carlos M
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
2,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Look nice.....prefect truck for you business and family.......and the price good for the customer....
Jared
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
2,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Tacomas and Toyotas in general have been in my family for some time now. The reliability is why we really love them. Very rare to have any issues and when they do, its pretty simple to fix. If you got a Toyota once, you'd be sold too.
Chris
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
6,700 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The new 2017 Tacoma lives up to the hype of the many years of predecessors. It has plenty of interior roominess. The exterior styling is aggressive and bold. The technology you can get on the Tacoma is more than enough for anybody that wants tons of tech or just basic items. The ToyoCare really makes you feel comfortable with using a dealership service department and helps you feel good about long term maintenance and costs. The dealership I purchased from, ... ... was great as well. The salesman... is phenomenal from product presentation to demoing all the features that were important to me as well as not wasting my time with things I didn't need explained to me. The finance guy ... was fantastic as well. Wasn't pushy about the products he was selling but instead explained the added benefits of the lease wear and tear policy which was very reasonably priced for how much it covered. Tacoma crushes the competition head to head in all categories, I've never had a moment of buyers remorse!
Newton
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 13, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I'm 6'1, getting in and out of the vehicle is uncomfortable, but I fit ok once in. The rear view mirror is too much in the driver direct view of the road for tall drivers, I find myself moving around to see around the mirror at the road and potential pedestrians around.
2017 Toyota 1214 Tacoma 29605 386322
Write a Review for the 2017 Toyota Tacoma
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  2017 Toyota Tacoma Expert Review
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Toyota Tacoma
618
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel