Consumer Reviews
4.8
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
21 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Farm Mom
August 07, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Highlander. Never owned a Toyota before (always been a Ford girl) but I love this vehicle. It rides great, drives great, site of vision is good and there are no blind spots as with other SUV''s I have driven. We are very tall family, 5"10, 5"11, my son is 6"3 and he has plenty of leg room in the 2nd row - that was the selling point for me. I will be honest, the 3rd row seats have never been used. Like every other SUV this size, there is absolutely NO leg room whatsoever back there. Can''t say enough about my car so, I would definitely buy another Highlander!
SUV Fan 2006-2019
July 28, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Downsized from a loaded 2006 Ford Expedition to 2017 Highlander Limited. Still have all the same luxury features and many more, but overall mileage increased from 15 to 23, and the 17-gal tank costs considerably less than the 27-gal tank in Expedition. Both handle like a dream in Minnesota ice and snow. Best feature: large amount of leg room and easy access to passenger row seats.
MrsLee
June 18, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We purchased our first official family suv just a few days ago and I feel like I was born again! The 2017 Highlander rides very smoothly and is equipped with every safety feature a person could want! Its super good on gas/mileage! Five stars!!!
Jelly
May 23, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I can only say all is great with this car. Comfortable, plenty of room, very fuel efficient. Best car I have ever owned so far.
Ron
March 24, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best car I have ever owned.
Big Mike
April 27, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
George
January 10, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
People just keep repeating the sticker numbers 29 MPG (highway) and 28 MPG (city). Have you driven this hybrid for any distance longer than 30 miles? It would never make anything closer to these numbers. In fact, at best it makes 22.5 MPG (city) and ~24.5 MPG (highway). Hey, these numbers are almost the same as the non-hybrid!!! Also, with this back el engine design it is not really a AWD; its more like "don''t-know-how-assisted FWD". On top of all Toyota navigation system is worse than the one you had in 1995. Slow and stupid! It cannot find the way to your home. Use GoogleMap and BE MERRY!
Anonymous
January 04, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Dale
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 04, 2017
5,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
a great package that fills our needs for a safe, comfortable, quiet and roomy ride that looks great and is economical
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 01, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We love how the highlander drives, very smooth and comfortable. Also like that it is AWD. Wish the storage was a bit bigger with a family of 6, if they were able to have the 3rd seat fold down into the vehicle like a van I think that extra space would be beneficial. The comfort of the ride and handeling is fantastic but wish the seats conformed to my body a little better, they seem a tad stiff.
Karen
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 28, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I feel very secure driving my Highlander. I love the comfortable seating, great visibility (for a short person), warning sounds and lights for safety in lane changing and backing. I especially like the captains chairs in the back seat. This is a great car for a road trip!
Raymond
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
5,300 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
High quality SUV with very quiet smooth ride and user friendly features eg rear seat adjustment and conversion to cargo use.safety features like BSD and rear cross traffic detection have already save me from potential collision. Only disilkes are engine shut off at intersections and puny front seat heaters.
Steven
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
5,200 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This vehicle is great i love all the safety features. Thia vehicle does everything i want it to with enough room to accomidate our growing family
Matt
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
13,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love all the new safety features and the new design on the 2017 Toyota Highlander. this is a must buy
Carla
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
3,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great for a family with car seats and a dog. Best Features - Cargo space. Worst Features - Difficult for elderly family members to get into the vehicle.
Jim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
3,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We love our new Highlander. It is roomy, spacious, with an upscale interior and plenty of power. Great highway cruiser. Getting exceptional gas mileage for a vehicle of this size - over the EPA ratings with AWD. Lots of neat features, including screens on the back windows, captains chairs on the second row, and three climate control areas. It also has the proven V6 versus a turbocharged engine which I prefer. On the downside, the infotainment and information system could be better. Maps are outdated and I am not a fan of Entune. There is also no Apple car play. The third row is also small for adults and older children as well if that is important for you. We primarily bought it because of expected Toyota reliability based on our experience with other Toyota products. Handling could be a bit sharper, but it is an SUV. We looked at Lexus RX, NX and Mercedes Benz GLC, but felt that the Highlander was a better value for the money. We have had no problems and we couldn't be happier overall.
Andy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
7,392 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2017 XLE Toyota Highlander is a very reliable easy to handle vehicle. Fun to drive and comfortable. The Highlander almost drives itself with the backup camera, lane waning when you drift into the other lane and automatic braking when obstacle is in front of you.
Gary
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent vehicle. Has a great reputation and I would have to agree. Easy to drive and quiet. I would highly recommend this vehicle. No $$ off extended financing etc. etc. just pay the price and don't look back because you don't need to.
Bob B
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
3,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Highlander is powerful for getting onto the highway but gets great mileage on a long trip. It is quiet, comfortable, and held all our gear for a week long fishing trip with room to spare. We drove 16 miles on dirt roads and the ride was still quiet and comfortable.
Dottie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 17, 2017
1,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Feel safe in this vehicle. Optional equipment is easy to access. Rides smoothly. So many extras I'm discovering every day.
Nicholas Theroux
February 19, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Prior to purchasing the Toyota Highlander LE Plus AWD, I test drove the Toyota 4 Runner. Comparing the two the Highlander handled great, was very quite interior, features were exactly what I was looking for without paying for interior or electronic features that did not fit my preferences. Acceleration merging into traffic or passing was perfect. I will soon be towing my recreation equipment, the towing option at 5000lb will be tested, my expectation is the vehicle will do well for a mid-sized SUV. The Toyota 4 Runner was originally what I thought I was going to purchase.
2017 Toyota 1214 Highlander 29930 389003
Write a Review for the 2017 Toyota Highlander
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  2017 Toyota Highlander Expert Review
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Toyota Highlander
707
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel