Consumer Reviews
4.6
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
12 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Giff
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 12, 2019
9,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car is very reliable for traveling low center gravitity sharp car seats are comfortable the design is great the features are great
JOHN
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
March 11, 2019
7,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
A driver's car. Handles great. Not luxurious on the inside, but comfortable. Don't plan on using the back seat.
Snoopoid
March 01, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Fun car to take to the track. A pure driver''s car, stiff suspension and lots of interior noise make it not the best highway cruiser but like it''s sister car the BRZ great for autocross or track day. The simple interior is refreshing with no displays and dials and so forth like most cars have to distract you. And definitely get a manual, because it''s just more fun that way. Not the fastest car under acceleration but that''s not why you buy this car. A car I wish the Europeans still knew how to make at a reasonable price like Toyota has done.
Bill
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 16, 2019
3,382 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Toyota 86 is an excellent car if you are looking for a low power sports car to practice driving in. The car is great at handling and is very responsive. Even with 205 horsepower, the 86 manages to be fairly quick and is extremely fun to drive. You’ll probably never win a race in it, but it is nice for driving on curvy roads and sliding around parking lots. The 86 has beautiful design inside and out, and the seats are very comfortable. It has a good amount of space in the trunk, and it can be a pretty good daily driver. I believe that the Toyota 86 is a really good car overall as long as you can tolerate the lack of power.
R4RatedR
December 20, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I think its better to lease when single with not much payments going on and no kids. Great sports car by Toyota and good on MPG!!
Tim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 11, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Toyota 86 is a true joy to drive. Responsive Subaru Boxer engine with the right amount of acceleration, especially on the upper end. Corners well, hugs the road and understands apex of the curve. This car defines fun and with minimal tuning and a couple after market products, the horsepower can be throttled up for even more torque! Sounds great, turns heads and gets a lot of compliments as most people have not seen this Toyota 86 badge.
Mike
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 07, 2017
2,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
A fun car to drive, plenty of power, reliable, a lot of comments from friends and family, good gas mileage. There are a couple of things I'd like: more sound insulation, better sound system and seatbelt digs into my neck.
Bernice
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
i drove from Saint Robert Mo. to Denver Colorado, and back on $103, is very enjoyable easy to go fast , I love this car, lot of giddy up and go,,,,I'm very Impressed
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
4,050 miles
|
Owned 2 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 86 is a quick, nimble little car. I bought this as a replacement for my 86 GT-S Hatchback. The suspension is quite stiff so potholes will hit you hard, but the tradeoff is exceptional cornering at high speed. The controls are responsive and you feel secure at speed, sometimes barely noticing how quickly the vehicle accelerates. This is offset though by a rather flat 4th gear, though I admit I'm biased because I was used to a Supra I previously owned. Regardless, it holds its weight against others and offers a smooth, balanced ride. The custom seats and interior all feel like they wrap around you like a glove, and it's packed with enough safety features to feel good about having my kids in the back, though it is cramped. I love the simplistic look and feel of the interior controls and gages- they are exactly what I've come to expect from the 86- just enough for the utilitarian. While I'm not crazy about it's outward appearance, it is growing on me. It looks like a blend between a MK3 Supra and an MR-2.
Ryan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very cool color orange, interior feels like a sports car, but is still functional, and lots of fun to drive.
Courtney
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
921 miles
|
Owned 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the way the Toyota 86 handles and it's safety features. One of the main reasons I bought it was the Hot Lava color and styling. Simple yet classy.
ZACHARY
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
6,100 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The driving dynamics that toyota has imporved is amazing. One pf the best cars you can buy for driving down a curvy road.
2017 Toyota 1214 86 29575 385948
Write a Review for the 2017 Toyota 86
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  2017 Toyota 86 Expert Review
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
GEICO Car Insurance
15 minutes could save you 15% or more on car insurance.
Advertisement
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Toyota 86
486
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel