Consumer Reviews
4.6
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
25 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Ze
July 08, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Zee
July 08, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent vehicle 6 cylinder , much power, leather heated srats
luv subies
June 29, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My 5th outback, best one yet
Bullet
March 28, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
March 03, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Audio217
December 23, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have owned this Outback 2017 3.6r limited for 16 months. I average around 20 mpg in the city and on the highway I have gotten 32.5 mpg and 26.5 mpg average. It has good acceleration and the CVT shifts smoothly and quietly. I am 6''2" and I need use seat memory to try and get a comfortable seating position especially for a long trip. The GPS Navigation is not very intuitive and takes a little time to set up for a trip. The lane sensing and adaptive cruise control work well and is great on a long trip.
Paul
March 26, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Owned my Outback Limited 3.6R since 11/2016, demand is high in my area for the 3.6R. Great accereleration and torque, especially in mid & high. The torque will rival sporty 4cyl turbos. High end 80-90 is comfortable, higher gets a little dicey. Dont get too cute on curves. In rough terrain THE BEST, snow & sand are fun again! Get the Eyesight package! It saved my butt a couple times now. Easy to do basic maint (oil,filters,etc) & 89 Octane ($$). NAV & tech work fine but could be improved. My only gripes, long warm up times in cold, so-so AC, seats not so good on longer rides.
LA EEBI
December 21, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Kristi
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 01, 2017
7,500 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love my Outback! This is my 5th Subaru and my 4th Outback. The improvments over tbe years are exceptional. This car has an exceptional amount of cargo area, more ground clearance than most 4x4 pick ups and the all wheel drive is superior to any others I have driven. Tight turns are done with ease and no chatter when cranked tight in either direction. Living in snow country I feel all wheel or 4 wheel drive is essential. The 4 cylinder boxer engine has plenty of power and super fuel mileage. The interior is nice looking and comfortable with more than enough seat adjustment. Controls are mostly visable with the exception of the clock. It is mixed in with other digital displays and difficult to see. The sound system is very good and although I am not a techy person I think a techy person would be satisfied with with the offerings. I personally do not use most of these options. I do use the blue tooth, it is easy to operate and good quality sound. The exterior is very nice looking. The finish is high quality and retains it shine easily. Did I mention this is my 4th Outback!
PA 3.6R
September 30, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Expensive but way nicer than my 4 previous Outbacks. Excellent quick power is better than previous six. Cabin is deluxe but too many gadgets to give trouble down the road.
marsh
September 21, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
September 09, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Mitch
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 05, 2017
11,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Living in the mid-west with 2 young children and a lot of travel for work and pleasure, this vehicle met all of my needs and had some fun extras. 32 mpg on an AWD with almost 9"" of ground clearance is great. It also has as much room inside as my wife's Jeep Grand Cherokee. The navigation and eyesight features are very helpful for keeping me on the road and not having to look at my phone. I consider all of these safety features in addition to the crash ratings. I can tow our 18ft speed boat. I can manually shift when needed. The sounds system is adequate. There are too many positives to list. Also, I absolutely cannot wait to drive this in the snow! I have always driven FWD and done well but I hear that these are so much fun."
Kk
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 03, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Good family car. Plenty of grocery room. Comfortable seating. My husband is 6'4"", he has plenty of head and feet space."
Chris
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 31, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Outback in just about every way except one small criticism about the interior. This is one of the premium models, but the interior has this cheesy fake wood panel on the front doors. I'm sure these are probably going to wear better than real wood, but why have these at all? Other than that, I'm very happy with my purchase. Oh, and someone rear ended me at a red light a month after I bought the car. It was a pretty good pop, and my heart sank. BUT I got out of the car and there was NOTHING on the bumper. The guy that hit me breathed a huge sigh of relief, and, once again, I remembered why I replaced my old (15 years) Forester with another Suburu.
Babbs
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
5,500 miles
|
Owned 7 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought a 2017 Subaru Outback 3.6R limited. For the most part, it has been an excellent vehicle. It drives nicely and has power. It is however quite uncomfortable for long distance driving. It makes my behind side ache. It is also quite noisy for such an expensive car. I am also not impressed with the safety features. Too many safety features involved. It slams on the brakes as I'm backing out of my driveway because it sees the pavement and thinks there is something there. Wish I could turn a bunch of the safety features off. If I had a choice, I would purchase a different model or a different vehicle all together.
Paul
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"The interior is quiet and it handles well. The steering and brakes are responsive. I really like the Eye Sight and safety options"
Fred
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
5,700 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My insurance costs actually went down with all the safety features. Eye sight system is awesome. Love my Subaru
Tim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"The outback is the best SUV even close to it's price range for the following reasons: 1.) Best AWD and tracking system available. Seriously have to pay 2x as much to grab a kitted out Audi or Mitsubishi to get close. This thing makes Jeep's look silly in the snow and dirt (just don't go mudding in one). 2.) Priced at $24,000-36000 depending on options, it's less than many cars 1/2 it's size. Yet the interior is HUGE. It has 10ft^3 more room than all it's competitors, yet you don't feel that when you are driving. 3.) Gas mileage is insanely good for a car this size. I'm getting 29.5 avg doing a mix of city/highway and I have a bit of a lead foot. It is getting better mileage than my old Impreza did during the winter and it is easily 2x the size! 4.) It is as reliable as they come, extended warranties are cheap and cover almost everything. 5.) Somehow even with more ground clearance than anything else in it's class, it handles way more like a car than an SUV. Even better than the forester. Drive one back to back with a Mazda MX-5 or Ford Explorer, and they seem like boats. Seriously, there is no other better SUV out there atm unless you are willing to pay $45-50Gs. I've tried them all, and they all come up short."
Dennis W
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
good vehicle with 4 wheel drive but lacks some technologies in the standard version. Will have to pay more for keyless ignition.
Dan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love the all wheel drive especially during the winter months. The front seats are extremely supportive and comfortable. I also appreciate the excellent cabin visibility
Linette H.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
8,006 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have owned 2 Subaru's and will not own any other vehicle. I the mountains of WV, it will go anywhere in the snow.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is the 4th Subaru i have purchased. It is a great ride, very good on gas & mileage. The safety features are great & really make my ride comfotable.
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 16, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent vehicle. Outstanding handling. Very good mileage. Very quiet. Lacks storage area of other competitive models. Extremely comfortable seats.
Sue
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 14, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I purchased my 2017 Subaru Outback in April 2017 after researching multiple vehicles and visiting 5 different dealerships. I have been very pleased with most aspects of the this 'long term' family investment. The tungsten colored exterior hides dirt well and the black splash/tar panels around the bottom are wonderful!! I really appreciate the excellent vision I have thru all windows and the user friendly, voice activated infotainment system. However, I haven't taken time to learn about all of the Sirius radio options The availability of the STARlink satellite-guided safety button component is comforting, as well, but it is an added fee as is Sirius. The ride is smooth and there is a solid 'sealed' sound when we shut the doors.
2017 Subaru 1212 Outback 29614 386424
Write a Review for the 2017 Subaru Outback
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  2017 Subaru Outback Expert Review
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
GEICO Car Insurance
15 minutes could save you 15% or more on car insurance.
Advertisement
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Subaru Outback
511
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel