Consumer Reviews
4.5
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
18 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Mark Whitley
August 18, 2021
132,000 miles
|
Owned 4 years 5 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Purchased new in 2017 - This is a nice overall car however this was my first Subaru purchase. Things were fine until I needed to replace a gasket on the engine for $3K. The car only had 125K miles on it so I was not happy. Turns out there is a flaw in the design of the boxer engine that creates this problem. So I was told I would need to spend another $3K after 125K miles again. I told them I had a 97 Toyota Land Cruiser, 2 2014 Honda Civics and a 2000 Honda Accord with a combined 1 million plus miles on them and had not spent a combined $3k on them. No more Subarus in this family.
Remy M.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 12, 2019
7,610 miles
|
Owned 11 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my vehicle and I am planning on getting another one, its one of those vehicle that gives you 400-500 mileages on a highways on a full tank.
Spicemann
January 08, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Minor things the dealer has been able to resolve, worst was interior wind noise. This took 3 visits and I was ready to submit lemon law paperwork.
mike
December 21, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
These are great cars the gas mileage for a larger car is very good, ride is good as well, I enjoy the heated seats & mirrors as well as the sunroof . The road noise could be better but overall not a bad car to own and the AWD speaks for itself .
Phil
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 03, 2017
3,600 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
As an elderly person I needed a car that provides safe driving, parking, and backup features. My Subaru provides all of that, and I am much more relaxed driving it than any other car I have owned.
Anonymous
October 02, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 29, 2017
8,200 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Like the quick response braking and the eye site option and handling. All wheel drive in snow is very good. Two things that bother me is when the car is put in gear doors don't lock. Excessive engine noise while idling compared to my Toyotas
dan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 29, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
reliable, safe and economical. exceptional value, 0% financing, good dealer and service. great car and wish i bought one earlier
Marna
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 27, 2017
10,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"I was torn between the Subaru Impreza hatchback and Legacy. Although the Impreza would have supported my love for outdoors a little better, I ultimately purchased the legacy for its superior ride and comfort. I get decent gas mileage for the short distances I drive. The side windows fog easily and tend to stay fogged until you crack the windows, but I didnt get options to defog side windows. The dash seems to require window shades, mine is already worn with sun. Is not parked in direct sun very often, and RI is not that hot. Other than that I have had no maintenance concerns with my new Subaru, and recommend it overall."
Marie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 26, 2017
1,200 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
CVT performance exceptional. Eyesight truly outstanding as is adaptive cruise control. Gas mileage excellent.
jeremie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
very reliable and capable, however it is an absolute dog when it comes to acceleration. handling is very good, but cannot get out of it's own way when it comes to pressing the gas. I would recommend this vehicle highly, but only if you don't care how fast it is or how it accelerates. the CVT is very functional, but can be very irritating .
Ray
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"What I like about my Subaru: 1. It is reliable 2. Great Gas Mileage 3. Comfortable to drive 4. Easy Driving 5. Great Windshield Wipers 6. Service made easy"
Kathy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Our Subaru Legacy is great for our living in a state that has winter driving. I love the size of the trunk and the safety features offered. We love our Subaru Legacy.
jeff
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
8,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Solid reliable car handles well exterior looks good interior looks good lots of safety features good power"
Jim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
4,100 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I've owned Camry,accords,Maximas. All very good cars. For the same price, I get a very good car WITH awd. Living in the Northeast, it's a no-brainer!!
Kevin
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
3,200 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have owned five Subaru Legacies over the past 15 years. My oldest child was in a terrible accident as a young driver when a semi-trailer truck hit her broadside, but she and her younger brother both walked away safely. I value the safety of the Subaru and the four-wheel drive, particularly during the winter months. I will not buy any other car, and the value for the money continues to be excellent year after year.
Enter Your Namemike
February 17, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I traded in my 2015 with 34 K on it because of so many problems .My 2017 seems to be built better engine doesn''t knock , radio works better, gas mileage is good , nice ride ,awd woks well in Pa, lots of room inside ,and the trunk is large also, I enjoy the sunroof & heated seats,
Mary j Crisafulli
July 30, 2016
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car is beyond safe, Previous owner of a 2015 Subaru Legacy 2.5i Limited, and now proud owner of a 2017 Subaru Legacy 2.5i Limited! Eyesight even built in to the Rear of the car when in Reverse!!! #1 difference i noticed between the 2015 & 2017 models, is when accelerating, the engine is now quieter than before. Superior handling even when out of control. The headrests make impact easier, lessoning the whip lash damage. Curtain airbags keep everyone safely in the vehicle. Starlink now comes to save the day, whenever your in a collision, or just need assistance! perfect for accident prone!
2017 Subaru 1212 Legacy 29608 386380
Write a Review for the 2017 Subaru Legacy
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  Expert Reviews
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
GEICO Car Insurance
15 minutes could save you 15% or more on car insurance.
Advertisement
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Subaru Legacy
408
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel