Consumer Reviews
4.6
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
47 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Jesse L Gerling
September 16, 2019
23,000 miles
|
Owned 1 years 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
whats it worth
JMAN
July 03, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great truck, Ram is really stepping it up.
dacsdeal
July 01, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Surprised and glad I own one.
Ram sport
June 16, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Ive owned more than a dozen trucks ,one Ford the rest Chevys. this is my First Chrysler product and ILOVE IT!!! The motor has Lots of power, the interior is Black leather with orange stitching !!! I bought my Ram 1500 Sport, with the most Beautiful Copper paint iob Ive ever scene!!! I found out later this was a factory paint and the truck is called Copper Head
orange st
Anonymous
April 10, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
junior
March 30, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
popcorn
March 08, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Don
December 26, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I''ve owned this vehicle for approximately two years it has running boards spray in bedliner it has Wi-Fi Sirius XM all the gadgets you want on the truck
Pat
November 28, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
d
November 15, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
don,t like shift on dash
THOMAS
October 11, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Fred Fun
October 10, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Feels like I''m driving a luxury car.
Charles
September 29, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
8,500 miles
LRAMOSIII
September 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best vehicle I own.
Harvey
September 01, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my 5th dodge truck I have owned and it the best truck Ive had in a long time.
Jim
August 30, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Review
David
August 19, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have a 2017 ram 1500 crew cab. It is an awesome truck it is very powerful and smooth and the ride is much better in my opinion then the other brands. My truck has been very dependable so far and has a very aggressive look.
Willie
August 16, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Get 22 MPG on highway driving. Added K&N air return for hp increase of 15.5 and torque 12 more pounds. Then step on the gas and listen to the ROAR ! Love my RAM HEMI .
Jason D
June 20, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I drive alot for work. 9 months and 20,000 miles later, very happy. I push 21mpg constantly with my Hemi. Can''t really complain about that.
Ac
June 16, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Truck has done great with really good fuel economy the ride is also very good
Bob C
June 12, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Handles as well as my SRX SUV.
Anonymous
June 06, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
doeboydave
June 05, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
RW
May 21, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the Ram truck line and all the features that are standard on the Big Horn
Markw
May 02, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
coot
March 15, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
crissy
February 17, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Tires!! $48,000 dollar vechile and they put *** 4 plys tires on it. beware! 2 blow outs under 7,000 miles.
Masshole
November 13, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Deb
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 11, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My hubby is a Ram man thru and thru... We have owned Dodge Ram for 18 years. There is no changing him.
Jerryb
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 07, 2017
1,000 miles
|
Owned 1 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My dodge ram 1500 lov it lots of room very comfortable good looking truck 4x4. Handel nice very comfortable Drive good gas mileage extremely comfortable lots of legroom in the back seat
Wendell
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 07, 2017
6,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I purchased my 2017 Ram ...in CO and have been incredibly pleased with my purchase. The Ram is a great truck with great design inside and out. The performance and reliability has been fantastic, and the service I received at the dealership was truly wonderful.
William
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
14,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"I love me 2017 Ram Rebel. The overall styling is aggressive looking and the 5.7 hemi 400+ horse power makes it and blast to drive. The ""Ram Boxes"" are amazing, I use them all of the time. The interior quality is awesome and the seats are so comfortable. The Uconnect access ap is so convenient. My Ram Rebel is awesome off road, the Toyo Open Country mt tires have great traction. The adjustable air ride suspension makes towing my 30 foot trailer an easy experience and improves driving experience while towing."
David M
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 02, 2017
8,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My 2017 Ram 1500 is the best purchase in a vehicle I've made since my 2006 Dodge Charger I love how smooth drives powerful the 5.7 Hemi engine is and how much space in the quad cab I have. I'm truly truly in love with this vehicle and would recommend it to anyone in the market for a 4x4.
Bill
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 02, 2017
14,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It's great but I need a 2500 to tow my travel trailer. The 1500 maybe able to tow it but I think I'm going to go with the 2500
BC
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 31, 2017
8,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I specifically bought this for towing an 18 ft travel trailer. We did our first outing this year to Grand Marais, MN. Going down or up hills the 8 gear transmission worked perfectly. The most impressive part was during a passing lane section just before Two Harbors I passed a couple of cars that were purposely trying to keep me behind them so the 5.7 Hemi showed its stuff and passed them both up while towing the trailer!
John
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 30, 2017
8,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Overall great vehicle, smooth ride and very reliable. Gets me destination to destination without any problems.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 30, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It's a great truck everything you need for light hauling and towing the hemi really gets up and goes. I would prefer the 2500 or 3500 though as we pull trailers and haul things regularly
Jim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 27, 2017
8,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Good quality, looks, performance,and appearance. Best of excellent mileage in all uses, on and off road.
Barbara
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
35,000 miles
|
Owned 11 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It really is a great vehicle, with great pulling power and if you need the speed it is there and it looks good,not just the average looking truck
Michael
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
7,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I recently purchased a 2017 Ram 1500 Sport Night Edition. I absolutely love the space it provides and the extra storage capacity. The interior far exceeds those of most trucks and the exterior definitely stands out from most trucks out there. Acceleration, handling, and comfort are spot on and I have absolutely no issues with any aspect of my vehicle. Best vehicle I have ever owned.
Terryl
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
4,400 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Truly a powerhouse truck with a ride like a car. Best Features - Ease of entry, backup cam,in floor storage.
Chef
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
4,900 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Good looking vehicle with all the ""bells and whistles""!"
Evan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
1,220 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I think that they did a great job with this truck. The one thing i hate the most is the knob shifter i want to be able to put the truck in gear with a center shifter! I know it i picking little things but that's what this survey is about I guess. I love the inside of the truck it is very comfortable. If there was a glasses holder above that would be cool i have glasses so i like to store a pair in the car just in case. What i love about the truck is that it has a ton of storage in the center console! The toughness of the appearance is very nice! I chose this over a FORD Rapter so you know i like it! I wish you guys found away to make a twin panel moonroof i would have gotten that if it was available! I went with out the sunroof the single one took away for the toughness i was looking for. But over all i would definitely get another one after this truck i love it and am glad i made the right decision!
Sandy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
11,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great truck runs great no problems, have made several road trips in comfort and safety. Love this truck.
Al
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
3,335 miles
|
Owned 6 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
DIslike the Gear shift turn nob Wish I could get out of the lease (wanted to buy) the dealership said Dodge only gave discounts for leases. Had hard getting running board, and tow package.
Tammie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
2,500 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I've been driving Ram trucks since the first purchase in 1996. And I've never looked back. They are some of the most reliable trucks on the road. So much so, in our family, there are now 5 Ram trucks being driven. 2 gassers and 3 diesels. We are Ram!
Patrick H
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 13, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Besides from the gas mileage, this vehicle is great. The drive is smooth, turns on point, and it can pick up speed.
2017 Ram Truck 1386 1500 29600 386214
Write a Review for the 2017 Ram Truck 1500
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Mitch McCullough
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The 2017 Ram 1500 is the last model year for the current generation, and an all-new version is expected for model year 2018.

2017 Ram 1500 pickups feature roomy cabs with comfortable, easy operation, big, intuitive screens, lots of cubby storage. The optional Ram Box bed is a compelling feature, while the optional adjustable suspension kneels for easier ingress.

The Ram 1500 competes with the Ford F-150, Chevy Silverado 1500, GMC Sierra 1500, Toyota Tundra, and Nissan Titan. All but Ram and Tundra have been redesigned within the past three years.

Ram compares well to the competition. Its styling is distinctive, and some of the Ram models ride relatively smoothly.

The 2017 Ram is the fourth generation, introduced as a 2009 model. A fifth-generation truck is expected in fall 2017.

The available turbocharged 3.0-liter diesel engine delivers 420 pound-feet of trailer-pulling torque, good for a maximum tow rating topping 9000 pound. Yet it rates an EPA-estimated 20/29 mpg City/Highway.

A 3.6-liter V6 comes standard on all models. A 5.7-liter V8 Hemi is optional. All come with 8-speed automatic.

Crew Cab versions are the most popular for their roomy back seats. Bed lengths range from 6-feet, 4-inches or 5-feet, 7-inches on Crew Cab and Quad Cab models to the full 8 feet with Regular Cabs.

Interiors range widely by trim level. It’s functional and comfortable on base models. Upper levels are outfitted in handsome fabrics and leathers with impressive attention to detail, making them very nice vehicles in which to spend time.

Model Lineup

The Ram 1500 lineup includes the SLT, which comes with cloth upholstery. Big Horn, Lone Star, Laramie, Outdoorsman, Sport and other models upgrade seats, cloth and features.

Walkaround

Though dated, the 2017 Ram remains distinctive. Each trim level gets a unique grille. We prefer the mainstream designs over the black grille on the Ram Rebel or the nostrils on the Limited. Upper-level models are further distinguished by LEDs and exhaust faired into the rear bumper.

The Ram Box adds utility and lockable bed storage. The Ram Box can be unlocked with the remote key fob. Drains in the boxes allow them to be used as ice chests.

Interior

The 2017 Ram has controls that are easy to operate, with large knobs for climate and audio, even when wearing gloves. Large touchscreens are easy to see and operate, better than Ford.

The upper trim levels show great attention to detail, some of which may not be noticed immediately. The Ram Rebel, for example, features a delightful mix of materials and design, including a tread pattern on the seats that matches the tread design of the Toyo all-terrain tires. Deluxe two-color stitching and interesting graphics add charm and the rear-seat area is trimmed just as nicely as the front.

The Laramie Longhorn has handsome stitching and fine wood grain trim.

Driving Impressions

The Ram 1500 is comfortable and enjoyable for long drives. It rides smoothly and steers well, with responsive electric steering.

The 3.0-liter diesel boasts an EPA rating of 20/29 mpg City/Highway. The turbocharged diesel is rated 240 hp and 420 pound-feet of torque. It’s a quiet diesel, with a faint clatter.

The 3.6-liter V6 engine is popular for drivers who need a pickup bed to haul but want good fuel economy. The V6 is EPA-rated at 17/25 mpg City/Highway, or 16/23 mpg with 4WD, on Regular gas. The V6 is rated at 305 hp and 269 pound-feet of torque. It will haul a load without much effort. Floor it and it sounds strained at higher rpm. The V6 is rated to tow up to 6,500 pounds. The 8-speed automatic works well.

The 5.7-liter V8 is rated 395 horsepower, 407 pound-feet of torque. Ram says it can accelerate from 0-60 in 6.7 seconds. We can report it does this with an enthusiastic growl. The V8 is the best choice for towing, offering a rating as high as 10,650 pounds.

Part-time 4WD is available, and an on-demand AWD system is offered with V8s. The former is generally better for rugged terrain, the latter is generally better for snow, ice and inconsistent road conditions.

Summary

The 2017 Ram 1500 is the outgoing model. Look for bargains as dealers sell down their remaining stock to clear the way for the all-new 2018 Rams.

Mitch McCullough, editor-in-chief, New Car Test Drive, contributed to this report; with staff reports by The Car Connection.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Ram Truck listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Ram Truck listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Ram Truck 1500
733
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel