2017 Porsche 718 Cayman Reviews and Ratings

S Coupe

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Porsche 718 Cayman.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (12)
Overall Rating
  4.6 / 5
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.8 / 5

By Mike 9/29/2017 8:33:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
The 718 Cayman is a phenomenal car. I bought it to replace my much loved, but unreliable BMW M3 sedan. This is the 3rd Porsche I have owned and they have all been very reliable and obviously a blast to drive!
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/28/2017 4:15:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
What a joy to drive! Precise handling, lots of power and comfortable interior. There's a minimum of storage in the cabin but who cares?
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By John 9/5/2017 6:44:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
The driving experience with this vehicle is very good. The turbo charged engine does have a significant lag in throttle but the efficiency is outstanding (always +30MPG). I have 1 and possibly 2 quality concerns; 1) the storage compartment behind the drivers seat is rattling and 2) the brakes ""may"" have an issue as they are not perfect - I'll have a dealer investigate soon, but they have been the same since new. As for the rattle - a Snoopy blanket stuffed inside cures the rattle. For a daily driver sports car - it's good. For a weekend cruise and enjoying some rapid acceleration and over sped corners - it's very fun.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Mike 8/30/2017 11:48:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The Porsche Cayman is exactly the styling I was looking for with the safety features important to me. I like the blind spot indicators and read view camera. The interior styling and technology is great. This is a mini-911 with many of the same features and performance without the price. The fit and finish is impeccable. The driving experience is exhillarating and it always turns heads. Very happy with my new Cayman.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Nick 8/28/2017 9:29:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Had a very bad initial experience prior to 1000 miles with a major electronic failure that occurred due to sloppy work at the factory. Combined with poor customer service at the dealer set a bad impression for a brand I wanted to own since I was a kid. Car is great to drive though and is just a delight to look at, so maybe once these bad memories fade I will be in the mood for another.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/27/2017 9:18:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
EXCELLENT HANDLING AND POWER TO WEIGHT RATIO. VERY COMFORTABLE TO DRIVE. LOOKS GREAT. A TRUE SPORTS CAR. PRICE IS HIGH BUT QUALITY IS THERE. TOP GRADE MATERIALS. EXAUST NOTE NOT AS GOOD AS PREVIOUS PORSCHES. EXPENSIVE TO SERVICE @ DEALERS. FUN CAR BUT NOT VERY PRACTICAL. CAR LOVER CAR, NOT FAMILY CAR. EXPENSIVE TO INSURE.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By DH 8/24/2017 7:03:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Very impressive. Exterior styling combined with premium interior materials and fit and finish are imperfect concert with sublime handling and now considerably more low speed torque. Upgraded entertainment system with Apple CarPlay available is finally contemporary.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jeremy 8/22/2017 4:50:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This car is by far the most fun I have ever had while driving. The options on it are second to none...it even has a G-Force Monitor!!! This car is definitely one that will get you noticed. It is absolutely gorgeous from front to rear.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Smerdyakov 8/22/2017 8:26:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have owned several versions of the Cayman/Boxster in recent years. I traded a 2014 Boxster S for a new 718 Cayman S in November of 2016. The old car was a very nice one, but the new one is superior in every respect.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By William 8/21/2017 7:37:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Exceptional handling, acceleration, quality of materials.<br /> It is difficult to enter and exit if you have an impairment. E.g. Arthritis<br /> The cabin is rather small but very confortable.<br /> The air conditioner is excellent. The communication system is difficult to understand
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tom 8/20/2017 4:18:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I knew it would be fast and handle great but didn't realize how smooth and refined it is. Love it! Best Features - Handling, acceleration, style and I lways get 30-33 mpg.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Andros 8/17/2017 2:57:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This car is amazing. The handling is better than most other cars on the road. The engine is great, even for the base model. with 300hp, RWD, I still manage to get approx. 30 mpg on my daily commute. The build quality is second to none. If you have the money, and want an amazing sports car, this is the way to go.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Porsche 718 Cayman.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality Not Available
Overall Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Overall Quality - Design
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Design
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Design
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
Not Available

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Porsche 718 Cayman S Coupe local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.