2017 Nissan Murano Reviews and Ratings

2017.5 AWD SV

Best Performance and Design
J.D. Power Award

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Nissan Murano.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (13)
Overall Rating
  4.7 / 5
Reliability
  4.7 / 5
Interior
  4.6 / 5
Exterior
  4.8 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.7 / 5

By Barbra 10/1/2017 7:33:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
I LOVE my Murano. I have nothing negative to say about it. If I had to chose something it would just be that the online feature in the car doesn't always work.....I still LOVE my car!<br /> I upgraded from a 2012 Nissan Murano, to a 2017 Nissan Murano, it's beautiful.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Jake 9/8/2017 5:52:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Great handling. Interior finish is beautiful. Very fun to drive. Best Features - Navigation and back up camera. Worst Features - Smaller back windows then I would like.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sue 9/4/2017 12:59:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Nissan Murano offers plenty of interior space, lots of cargo room. Easy to use navigation. Great gas mileage.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Cecil C 8/23/2017 12:39:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Great ride! Comfortable. Quiet. Very roomy. Seat belts needs some attention too. The cross belt needs to be higher.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Sarah 8/22/2017 5:04:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I previously owned a Rogue but my Murano feels more solid. I think the mileage for this vehicle is great. It has great pickup. The only downside is the cargo area. Out of all the vehicles I've had this one has the least amount of space in the trunk area.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/22/2017 2:04:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
I don't like the cover around the driver seat. I'm always hitting my leg on it. I wish I could have it removed
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/22/2017 10:09:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
gas comsumption is hight.The promotion of sale says 21 mpg/city and 28 mpg road. Nissan murano platinum do 15 mpg/ city
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Mai 8/21/2017 6:10:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Great handling oh highway, very comfortable for road trips with the family. Family friendly yet stylish. lots of room for cargo. I love my Murano!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/14/2017 8:22:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It has great gas mileage..It drives and handles great! Would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone interested in purchasing a new car ....It has lots of room to travel comfortably...
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/11/2017 6:10:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Good value for the price. Looks stylish and includes new safety features without a high price tag.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bob 8/5/2017 2:52:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I bought my 2017 Nissan Murano in April and I love it. It is one of the quietest smoothest riding cars I have ever driven and I am a previous owner of a BMW an Infiniti and a Mercedes. It has all of the creature comforts you could want along with great safety features and has great styling inside and out. I would recommend it to anyone.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 7/31/2017 11:10:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
This vehicle is beyond value...it rides and looks just as good or better then the higher cost vehicles. You won't regret purchasing the Nissan Murano.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By MW 7/27/2017 4:06:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have always wanted a Nissan Murano. Driving this car is a dream. It is powerful yet smooth in the ride. The audio system is outstanding. There passenger and cargo space is more than is found in similar vehicle models. .... i would highly highly recommend the Nissan Murano!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Nissan Murano
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Nissan Murano is a front-wheel-drive crossover that fits between the Pathfinder and Armada, size-wise. Its radically swoopy styling stirs love-it-or-hate-it emotions, among automotive journalists as well as normal people. Some think it’s expressive and head-turning, a charming outlier of design. Others think it’s like a ship lost in space, a design lost in translation.

Competitors include the Lexus RX and Acura MDX, both of them spirited. But the Murano is intended to be more comfortable than sporty. The ride is gentle and the cabin quiet. The car doesn’t engage much with the driver, it’s just there.

The racing-inspired 3.5-liter V6 engine makes 260 horsepower and 240 pound-feet of torque, mated to a CVT that doesn’t feel as soul-sucking as it does in the Pathfinder, but it does suck away some of the engine’s sweet performance.

Naturally it’s available with all-wheel drive, which delivers the same fuel mileage of 21/28/24 miles per gallon City/Highway/Combined.

The IIHS gave it a Top Safety Pick+ in 2016, probably because of optional safety equipment. An optional safety package uses four cameras and three radar sensors see the various threats outside your car, and warn you with alarms. Especially backing up, with park assist and cross-traffic alert. It’s pretty much impossible to ever back up without both alerts going off. There’s always something behind you or beside you when you back up.

The Murano remains essentially unchanged for 2017, except for Apple CarPlay availability.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Murano comes in four models: Murano S ($29,770) with front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive ($31,370); Murano SV with all-wheel drive ($34,570), Murano SL AWD ($38,900), Murano Platinum AWD (about $42,000).

The SL and Platinum models have blind-spot monitoring and rear cross-traffic alert; a package for those models includes forward-collision warning. Platinum has heated and cooled front seats, heated rear seats, and power-folding rear seats

Walkaround

The bold nose features Nissan’s so-called V-motion grille. It flares diagonally from the bumper, down to the airdam, up to the hood, and into the boomerang headlamps. A crease flows from the bulging front fenders down and in to the beltline, where the sheetmetal tapers back out to the rear wheels, as if to mimic the flagship Infiniti QX70.

The roof floats over black pillars, supported by the upward swooping windowline that arches back down toward the taillamps, hinting boomerang shape to match the headlamps. The vast majority of crossovers settle for convention at the rear, but the Murano goes for it all. There’s a hint of 1950s Chrysler in there.

Interior

The cabin is less daring than the exterior, but more daring than its rivals, grander and swoopier, with a quiet and refined ambiance. Nissan says it was designed to be a panoramic space, and we can see it. There’s a lot of passenger room and good cargo options. We like the suede-like upholstery in the S and SV models more than the perforated leather (although only the leather is heated). We also like the clean controls with simple interfaces and intuitive buttons, the V-shaped centerstack, the way the dash flows into the front doors, and the low storage bins at the footwells.

The hooded gauges and matte-metallic trim offer a touch of sport. There’s no woodgrain available, but the plastic works for us. All models beyond the S offer a new infotainment system with eight-inch touchscreen, voice recognition for navigation and audio, and SiriusXM Travel Link services for fuel prices, weather, movie listings, stock information, and sports scores.

The driving position is right, the correct height for entry and exit. The low dash will work for shorter drivers, while taller ones will have good headroom, even with the available moonroof. The seats copy what NASA calls neutral posture and Nissan calls Zero Gravity; they’re supposed to reduce fatigue over long hours, by giving more precise support from the pelvis to the chest and in the lumbar. We think you have to try Zero Gravity yourself; not all of us want to be astronauts when we grow up. But we agree among ourselves that the back support is good, while there’s not quite enough thigh support, at least not as much as the Ford Edge and Jeep Grand Cherokee.

The rear outboard seats are among the most comfortable we’ve ever sat in, and that includes luxury cars. They’re the same height as the front seats, so you don’t have to shout upward to talk to people in front. The middle seat isn’t so great. But when it’s empty, given the wide center console, Nissan calls the space conversation alley. And since the rear seat folds flat, the alley could carry a small stack of silent two-by-fours, if you’re willing to rest them on the conveniently low dash.

Driving Impressions

The 3.5-liter V6 engine that’s in the Murano has proven itself many times over in many different Nissan cars. It’s smooth, civil, and sounds nice. The double-overhead-cam mill makes 260 horsepower and 240 pound-feet of torque, mated to a Nissan-made continuously variable automatic transmission (CVT).

The Murano is not terribly quick, but it’s quick enough, because 240 pound-feet of torque is enough to get it going. Nowhere is it sluggish. In fact, the lag in acceleration that plagues the Nissan Rogue and Pathfinder (and other cars), because of programming in the CVT, does not exist with the Murano. The CVT kicks down, the revs raise, the car goes, and climbs its steps.

The electro hydraulic rack-and-pinion steering feels firm but relaxed. The crossover chassis is car-like, with struts in front and multi-links rear. The subframe absorbs the big bumps and nicely connects the car to the road. The suspension trades off response and precision for comfort, true to Murano intention. It leans a lot in tight corners, but doesn’t lose its composure. The vented disc brakes modulate well and inspire confidence.

The standard 18-inch wheels handle nearly as well as the optional 20-inchers, and ride more softly. Some people just want those 20s for the looks, but you can save money by insisting on standard wheels and tires.

Summary

Great engine with CVT that could be worse. Nice ride with lots of room inside. Looks like a space ship. Misguided or not. You decide that one.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Nissan Murano 2017.5 AWD SV local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.