2017 Nissan Maxima Reviews and Ratings

SV 3.5L

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Nissan Maxima.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (21)
Overall Rating
  4.7 / 5
Reliability
  4.8 / 5
Interior
  4.6 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.6 / 5

By Harvey 9/8/2017 7:11:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
The Nissan Maxima beats the competition in handling, performance and comfort. The CVT automatic transmission is very smooth . I've owned a few before and this one is the best yet. Nav system is included as standard equipt.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Mike 9/7/2017 5:31:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Stylish and sporty looking vehicle with a quick, powerful engine. The Maxima is fun to drive and I have received several compliments.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By joseph 8/26/2017 8:41:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my car, the speed, the comfort, the navigation system. Its slick, reliable and fast.<br /> most important great deals from Nissan.<br /> we love Nissan
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/25/2017 9:47:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.5 / 5
the maxima is too much a sport car and not enough a luxury car which is what i expected. The seats are not very comfotable and car is too low to the ground.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   1.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By steve 8/24/2017 5:46:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
the driver side outside mirror can block the vision of the road. it is the right size for smaller people.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tracey 8/23/2017 11:20:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
The Nissan Maxima is a great car! It's reliable, sturdy, has great resale and is an easy drive. ... I like the look and silhouette of the last Maxima better 2010-2015 model...but I've owned so many Maximas because of the consistent dependability and quality of the car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Chandra 8/22/2017 4:21:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love the Nissan brand. I have owned an Altima, Pathfinder, Armada, and now a Maxima. My car brings me happiness. It is beautiful and drives smooth. It it truly luxurious in every way.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Joel 8/21/2017 6:13:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I bought this car for my wife. She really loves this car. The ride is excellent. The dash lay out and features are easy to access and operate. Seat comfort is excennent. Safety features are easy to use and understand. Camera system is clear and easy to see objects around you. Sound system is the best we ever had. Gas mileage is a bit better than advertised but be drive conservatively. However the sport mode option will impress you with the extra power. Uses regular gas with no decrease in performance. The autp sensing wipers are great. Wind noise from sun roof is nil. Visibilty is excellent with only small blind spot on back quarter area, but the blind spot detectors take care of that. I would definitely buy this modle again.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By JD L 8/20/2017 7:03:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I've owned my new 2017 Nissan Maxima (Platinum edition) for four months, and simply love this car. This car's exterior styling sets the bar for sedans with four doors. It's sleek, attractive, modern and sporty looking. The interior seating is very comfortable and roomy enough for a family, yet sporty enough for anyone. The electronics and navigation are outstanding, and sophisticated, offering a wide variety of information at your finger tips. The BOSE sound system has 11 speakers and very high quality surround sound you would expect from BOSE. The ride comfort is excellent, the cabin is very quiet, and the acceleration and responsiveness of the engine's performance would make you think you were driving a sports car, when needed. The purchase price was reasonable and within my budget as well as the cost for maintenance. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone and encourage them to consider it when comparing vehicles in its class.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ileana 8/19/2017 11:43:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is our 4th Maxima and our 7th Nissan. They've never let us down. The reliability and performance of the vehicles are extraordinary. Other than the regular maintenance and up keep of the vehicle, we have not had any issues and this is why we keep coming back to Nissan!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tom 8/19/2017 6:40:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
My Nissan Maxima is a fun car to drive. The experience has been excellent. I would recommend this car to my friends and family.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Ron 8/7/2017 7:02:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I am very much enjoying to have the Nissan Maxima. It drives very well. The responsiveness of the acceleration and steering are exactly what I expected. The suspension is a bit tight and can make large bumps a bit painful. The interior is awesome. The redesign of the interior with a ""cock-pit"" feel is very comfortable. The features available on this car and the interior finish are very near the luxury brands at a reasonable price getting close to the luxury pricing actually. Overall a very dynamic and redesigned Maxima that is fun to drive with the latest safety features.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Joe B. 8/3/2017 5:50:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Very sharp looking car good power and handling. Don't like it having a gas cap and wish there were a few more features but overall very nice car.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Samson R 7/31/2017 5:30:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I finally decided on buying the Maxima SV model with leather. Nissan did a great job with it by making it a near luxury vehicle at a great price point. The 2006 Maxima I had brand new with no leather had nothing on this version. I skipped the last model of the Max because it looked to much like the Altima and not very aggressive looking like the Dodge Charger. Nissan made a great version of their Maxima no regrets.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 7/31/2017 11:58:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Great vehicle for a reasonable price. Excellent performance. Good mileage with the latest technology.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Chris 7/30/2017 11:17:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I think the Maxima SL is a very good looking car both inside and out. I have had no issues whatsoever with it. The technology features are many and fairly intuitive. We have an Accord with the Sensing safety package and I think the Maxima has a better adaptive cruise control. It also has blind spot monitoring which the Honda does not. The only thing I'd call an issue is the camel interior gets marred easily by my shoe on the lower part of the drivers door panel.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Frank 7/30/2017 9:52:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The 2017 Nissan Maxima - Platinum is one awesome car to look at and to drive. It has a sleek design and the features inside are just easy to access with just one touch.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Megan 7/29/2017 11:44:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I am in love with My Maxima SL. It has tons of features and is good on gas and drives exceptionally!! It is fast and fun and looks great! I transitioned from a SUV to a car and I still feel I have plenty of room and storage.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Chirs L 7/28/2017 9:00:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
From the moment I test drove this car I knew it would be the car for me. The comfort of the drive from the seat and smoothness of the roll make this car a very exciting drive. The ease of controls make this a well built and easy to drive car.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Sree 7/27/2017 4:13:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I have a Nissan Maxima S and it is fantastic. I get good gas mileage for a V6 engine (24 city/32 highway/28 combined). The ride is smooth; I have a BMW x5 and this car is at that level. Passenger/cargo space is ample and the only downside is that the middle seat of the rear bench is raised slightly. In terms of styling it is great inside and out. There is no hint that I have a base model car when looking at the exterior. Most of the cabin upholstery is leather bound (excluding seats) with high-end materials present in most areas. I have gotten many compliments from people that have seen/been in my car. Driving is enjoyable with a heavy steering wheel and an efficient layout. A drawback is the fact that getting in and out of the car can be difficult; the seats are very low. The entertainment system is very simple to navigate. The audio experience is great for being standard. Driving is a cool experience because the car stands out while not being over the top. Overall my Maxima was a good investment.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Ron 7/26/2017 10:20:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is my 5th Maxima and they just keep getting better. Reliable good gas mileage fast and beautiful. Also very fast!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Nissan Maxima.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Nissan Maxima SV 3.5L local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.