2017 Nissan Maxima Reviews and Ratings

SV 3.5L *Ltd Avail*

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Nissan Maxima.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (21)
Overall Rating
  4.7 / 5
Reliability
  4.8 / 5
Interior
  4.6 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.6 / 5

By Harvey 9/8/2017 7:11:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
The Nissan Maxima beats the competition in handling, performance and comfort. The CVT automatic transmission is very smooth . I've owned a few before and this one is the best yet. Nav system is included as standard equipt.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Mike 9/7/2017 5:31:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Stylish and sporty looking vehicle with a quick, powerful engine. The Maxima is fun to drive and I have received several compliments.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By joseph 8/26/2017 8:41:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my car, the speed, the comfort, the navigation system. Its slick, reliable and fast.<br /> most important great deals from Nissan.<br /> we love Nissan
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/25/2017 9:47:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.5 / 5
the maxima is too much a sport car and not enough a luxury car which is what i expected. The seats are not very comfotable and car is too low to the ground.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   1.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By steve 8/24/2017 5:46:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
the driver side outside mirror can block the vision of the road. it is the right size for smaller people.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tracey 8/23/2017 11:20:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
The Nissan Maxima is a great car! It's reliable, sturdy, has great resale and is an easy drive. ... I like the look and silhouette of the last Maxima better 2010-2015 model...but I've owned so many Maximas because of the consistent dependability and quality of the car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Chandra 8/22/2017 4:21:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love the Nissan brand. I have owned an Altima, Pathfinder, Armada, and now a Maxima. My car brings me happiness. It is beautiful and drives smooth. It it truly luxurious in every way.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Joel 8/21/2017 6:13:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I bought this car for my wife. She really loves this car. The ride is excellent. The dash lay out and features are easy to access and operate. Seat comfort is excennent. Safety features are easy to use and understand. Camera system is clear and easy to see objects around you. Sound system is the best we ever had. Gas mileage is a bit better than advertised but be drive conservatively. However the sport mode option will impress you with the extra power. Uses regular gas with no decrease in performance. The autp sensing wipers are great. Wind noise from sun roof is nil. Visibilty is excellent with only small blind spot on back quarter area, but the blind spot detectors take care of that. I would definitely buy this modle again.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By JD L 8/20/2017 7:03:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I've owned my new 2017 Nissan Maxima (Platinum edition) for four months, and simply love this car. This car's exterior styling sets the bar for sedans with four doors. It's sleek, attractive, modern and sporty looking. The interior seating is very comfortable and roomy enough for a family, yet sporty enough for anyone. The electronics and navigation are outstanding, and sophisticated, offering a wide variety of information at your finger tips. The BOSE sound system has 11 speakers and very high quality surround sound you would expect from BOSE. The ride comfort is excellent, the cabin is very quiet, and the acceleration and responsiveness of the engine's performance would make you think you were driving a sports car, when needed. The purchase price was reasonable and within my budget as well as the cost for maintenance. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone and encourage them to consider it when comparing vehicles in its class.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ileana 8/19/2017 11:43:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is our 4th Maxima and our 7th Nissan. They've never let us down. The reliability and performance of the vehicles are extraordinary. Other than the regular maintenance and up keep of the vehicle, we have not had any issues and this is why we keep coming back to Nissan!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tom 8/19/2017 6:40:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
My Nissan Maxima is a fun car to drive. The experience has been excellent. I would recommend this car to my friends and family.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Ron 8/7/2017 7:02:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I am very much enjoying to have the Nissan Maxima. It drives very well. The responsiveness of the acceleration and steering are exactly what I expected. The suspension is a bit tight and can make large bumps a bit painful. The interior is awesome. The redesign of the interior with a ""cock-pit"" feel is very comfortable. The features available on this car and the interior finish are very near the luxury brands at a reasonable price getting close to the luxury pricing actually. Overall a very dynamic and redesigned Maxima that is fun to drive with the latest safety features.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Joe B. 8/3/2017 5:50:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Very sharp looking car good power and handling. Don't like it having a gas cap and wish there were a few more features but overall very nice car.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Samson R 7/31/2017 5:30:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I finally decided on buying the Maxima SV model with leather. Nissan did a great job with it by making it a near luxury vehicle at a great price point. The 2006 Maxima I had brand new with no leather had nothing on this version. I skipped the last model of the Max because it looked to much like the Altima and not very aggressive looking like the Dodge Charger. Nissan made a great version of their Maxima no regrets.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 7/31/2017 11:58:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Great vehicle for a reasonable price. Excellent performance. Good mileage with the latest technology.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Chris 7/30/2017 11:17:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I think the Maxima SL is a very good looking car both inside and out. I have had no issues whatsoever with it. The technology features are many and fairly intuitive. We have an Accord with the Sensing safety package and I think the Maxima has a better adaptive cruise control. It also has blind spot monitoring which the Honda does not. The only thing I'd call an issue is the camel interior gets marred easily by my shoe on the lower part of the drivers door panel.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Frank 7/30/2017 9:52:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The 2017 Nissan Maxima - Platinum is one awesome car to look at and to drive. It has a sleek design and the features inside are just easy to access with just one touch.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Megan 7/29/2017 11:44:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I am in love with My Maxima SL. It has tons of features and is good on gas and drives exceptionally!! It is fast and fun and looks great! I transitioned from a SUV to a car and I still feel I have plenty of room and storage.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Chirs L 7/28/2017 9:00:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
From the moment I test drove this car I knew it would be the car for me. The comfort of the drive from the seat and smoothness of the roll make this car a very exciting drive. The ease of controls make this a well built and easy to drive car.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Sree 7/27/2017 4:13:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I have a Nissan Maxima S and it is fantastic. I get good gas mileage for a V6 engine (24 city/32 highway/28 combined). The ride is smooth; I have a BMW x5 and this car is at that level. Passenger/cargo space is ample and the only downside is that the middle seat of the rear bench is raised slightly. In terms of styling it is great inside and out. There is no hint that I have a base model car when looking at the exterior. Most of the cabin upholstery is leather bound (excluding seats) with high-end materials present in most areas. I have gotten many compliments from people that have seen/been in my car. Driving is enjoyable with a heavy steering wheel and an efficient layout. A drawback is the fact that getting in and out of the car can be difficult; the seats are very low. The entertainment system is very simple to navigate. The audio experience is great for being standard. Driving is a cool experience because the car stands out while not being over the top. Overall my Maxima was a good investment.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Ron 7/26/2017 10:20:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is my 5th Maxima and they just keep getting better. Reliable good gas mileage fast and beautiful. Also very fast!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Nissan Maxima
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

Nissan Maxima was last redesigned for the 2016 model year, so it carries over unchanged, though the 2017 Maxima comes standard with Apple CarPlay.

Nissan dubbed the Maxima a four-door sports car, but today it’s more accurately described as a relatively luxurious, large midsize sedan. Despite its edgier design, highlighted by a sloped, floating-style roofline with blacked-out rear pillars, the Maxima feels most like a near-luxury family cruiser. Not many manufacturers have dared to develop such a polarizing shape, and the end result is quite appealing.

The Maxima shares its platform and powertrain with the midsize Altima, but they stand well apart in styling, as well as purpose. While the Altima is intended to transport the whole family, the Maxima is oriented more around the sophisticated couple.

Beneath the hood is an upgrade of Nissan’s familiar 3.5-liter V6, producing 300 horsepower and 261 pound-feet of torque and mating with a continuously variable transmission. A less-powerful variant of the V6 is an option for the Altima. Their CVTs are similar, but the Maxima’s higher final-drive ratio aims to keep the engine more settled.

Although the 109.3-inch wheelbase is shared, interior space is reduced in the Maxima. Its sloping roofline restricts headroom for a center-rear passenger. Head clearance also is limited by the available panoramic sunroof.

Even base-level Maximas come with an impressive selection of standard features, including an 8-inch touchscreen with navigation capability and a rearview camera. Maximas in sportier SR trim are equipped with a sport-tuned suspension.

A Midnight Edition option for Maxima SR adds a black spoiler and wheels. A similar Medallion Edition includes a special spoiler, illuminated kick plates, and accent lighting. Few factory-installed options are offered.

Nissan’s top sedan has earned five-star crash-test scores from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. (Fuel leakage during the initial test had resulted in a recall and stop-sale, but subsequent retesting was incident-free.) The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety named Maxima a Top Safety Pick+, rated Good in each test, including the tougher small-overlap crash. Several active safety features are standard on upper models but unavailable for entry trim levels. They include forward-collision warning, blind-spot monitoring with rear cross-traffic alert, and adaptive cruise control. Platinum models add a drowsy-driver alert, moving-object detection, and surround-view cameras.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Nissan Maxima S ($32,560) comes with cloth upholstery, power front seats, Bluetooth audio streaming, two USB ports, 18-inch wheels, and a rearview camera.

Maxima SV ($34,540) adds heated front seats, leather upholstery, and heated outside mirrors. Maxima SL ($37,040) comes with a panoramic sunroof, 11-speaker Bose audio, and LED lighting. A group of active-safety features includes forward-collision warning, blind-spot monitoring with rear cross-traffic alert, and adaptive cruise control.

Maxima SR ($37,820) features a significantly upgraded suspension for sportier handling. The panoramic sunroof is absent, but LED headlights and 19-inch wheels are standard. Ventilated front seats have Alcantara inserts. Nissan’s Dynamics-control module includes Active Trace Control, Ride Control, and Engine Braking.

Maxima Platinum ($39,990) aims at luxury, with plenty of leather and wood trim. Included are a power tilt/telescoping steering column, rain-sensing wipers, Nissan Connect telematics, surround-view cameras, power rear-window sunshade, moving-object detection, and a driver alert system.

Walkaround

Nissan designers took a decidedly fresh approach for a full-size four-door, giving it a level of style and vitality that reach well beyond what’s customary in this category. Despite sharing its foundation and powertrain with the Altima, the two models show little resemblance. Controversial it may be, but the Maxima exhibits an eccentric yet enticing flair, of the sort not often seen on larger, family-ready sedans.

Up front is a large grille, flanked by boomerang-shaped headlights, a style seen on other Nissan models. Blacked-out rear pillars help make the roof appear to float, almost overpowering the tall rear end. Unique shaping of the fenders appears to grasp every flicker of sunlight that strikes the sheetmetal. Viewed in profile rather than from the corners, the Maxima looks a bit less athletic, even subdued.

Interior

Although the plush cabin reveals some thoughtful elements, interior space and overall comfort don’t quite match that of Nissan’s related Altima. At 112.8 cubic feet, total space falls significantly below the average for midsize sedans.

The cockpit seems to wrap more snugly around the driver of a Maxima, compared to an Altima. Interior details in the Maxima, including a flat-bottom steering wheel and metallic trim, call to mind a sport sedan.

Deep bucket seats are firm but comfortable, using richly textured materials. In upper trim levels, they qualify as near-luxury. Maxima uses the same Zero Gravity, high-density-foam construction for its front seats as Altima, additional bolstering gives them greater support.

Rear-seat space and comfort excel even for taller occupants, provided they’re not in the center position, which lacks seat support and head clearance. Trunk space is about average, at 14.3 cubic feet.

Driving Impressions

Indisputably more sporty in nature than Nissan’s related Altima, the Maxima still doesn’t qualify as a sport sedan. Still, performance is relatively brisk. The 3.5-liter V6 can propel a Maxima to 60 mph in about six seconds.

Expect some engine noise when the Maxima is pushed, however, and not necessarily the satisfying, pleasing sort of sound. Accelerating hard, the engine can almost become downright loud. All but the base-model Maxima have active noise cancellation, which helps dampen any din.

In some models, Nissan’s CVT incorporates shift paddles that can be used to manually select programmed virtual gears. Responses quicken in Sport mode. Even so, enthusiasts typically frown on CVTs, preferring traditional gear-type transmissions. Other drivers applaud the invariably smoothly fluid operation of the CVT’s belt-and-pulley configuration and its efficiency.

Not only can Maxima drivers expect impressively well-balanced ride comfort, but the sedan tracks neatly on the highway. Steering is practically unaffected by pavement bumps.

With its fully independent suspension and all-disc brakes, a Maxima behaves well on curves and hilly terrain. For sharpest handling capability, consider the SR edition, which has the tautest suspension and larger tires. A chassis damper keeps the suspension from transmitting excessive road nastiness to passengers. To improve cornering in an SR, the car itself helps slow down the engine while it applies the brakes.

Reasonably fuel-efficient, the Maxima is EPA-rated at 21/30 mpg City/Highway, or 25 mpg Combined. Such fuel-saving features as stop/start technology are lacking.

Summary

Better looking and more sporty than the Nissan Altima, the Maxima could be considered a full-size sedan, sitting atop a midsize chassis. Nicely equipped even in base trim, the Maxima delivers good value in upper levels as well. A V6 engine driving a CVT might limit driving excitement, but the Maxima has plenty of other virtues for comfortable travel and daily use.

Driving impressions by Aaron Cole, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Nissan Maxima SV 3.5L *Ltd Avail* local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.