2017 Nissan Frontier Reviews and Ratings

King Cab 4x2 Desert Runner Auto

Highest Quality
J.D. Power Award

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Nissan Frontier.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (13)
Overall Rating
  4.5 / 5
Reliability
  4.6 / 5
Interior
  4.3 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.4 / 5

By andrew 10/9/2017 2:44:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
The Desert Runner FM Atlanta to San Diego and Back, Smooth ride all the way a True Performer!!! i would highly recommend this truck, great on gas, easy handling and worth every bit i spent on her!!!
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Brian 10/1/2017 2:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I like most everything about my vehicle the size, style and handling . I wish that it came with remote start and headlight that you didn't have to manually turn off.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By David 9/8/2017 11:09:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
My 4 cylinder Frontier has good fuel economy but is a little underpowered in hill country. It's ride stability is awesome due to the excellent wheelbase and the tire size being well above what one would expect on this size truck. The only difficulty I have with the vehicle is that the cruise control does not track well below 50mph. My disappointment with that feature is probably enhanced by the fact that I have a 2016 Rogue that tracks perfectly. There is plenty of head and leg room for a tall person and the ride is comfortable for several hours.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By David 9/8/2017 11:09:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
My 4 cylinder Frontier has good fuel economy but is a little underpowered in hill country. It's ride stability is awesome due to the excellent wheelbase and the tire size being well above what one would expect on this size truck. The only difficulty I have with the vehicle is that the cruise control does not track well below 50mph. My disappointment with that feature is probably enhanced by the fact that I have a 2016 Rogue that tracks perfectly. There is plenty of head and leg room for a tall person and the ride is comfortable for several hours.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/31/2017 1:09:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great truck
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jerry 8/25/2017 9:25:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I've done the research. The Nissan Frontier is the best truck in its size for the money. It rides like a comfortable full size pickup.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mark 8/22/2017 3:47:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
Great truck for the price.Comfortable interior and easy access to the rear storage area behind the seats. Good power for pulling a light trailer. Replaced an old Toyota Tacoma with this truck and so far I am very pleased. My wife loves driving it more than her fairly new Highlander.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/22/2017 3:01:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This Nissan sv 4x4 flex fuel extended cab truck 4 liter v 6 is smooth handling accelerate uacceleration
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jack 8/22/2017 2:50:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
My Nissan frontier desert runner is a great truck. I use it to pull travel Trailers, and it gets the job done every time. The best thing about it is how simple it is.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Anonymous 8/21/2017 7:52:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I purchased a 2017 Nissan Frontier for its styling, performance, reliability. This makes my fourth Nissan Frontier that I have owned since 1987. I still have my 2002 Nissan Frontier with 194000 miles , it still looks and drives great. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking to purchase a new vehicle.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Larry N. R 8/19/2017 8:49:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
With the failure of Ford to provide a small truck, I was forced to shop. I found Nissan and was very satisfied with the engine size and power. Mileage is in the 19-23 range and accessories as provided are more than adaquite. Other than 125% tire failure I have experienced no problems with either of my Frontiers. The dealership is another thing altogether.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By jared 8/12/2017 8:36:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Nissan Frontier is perfect for the city! It zipps along in traffic and is small enough to park downtown with no problem. Has enough cargo room to for household projects and enough power for urban and weekend mountain trips.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By thomas 7/27/2017 2:44:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
this truck does all that you want it to do plus more4wd works great and it rides very well on the highway.plus it looks good and is easy to clean and it looks good any where you want to take it.had four of these trucks and they all did the job I wanted to do very well.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Nissan Frontier.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 5 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
5 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.