2017 Nissan Altima Reviews and Ratings

2017.5 2.5 S Sedan

Best Performance and Design
J.D. Power Award

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Nissan Altima.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (21)
Overall Rating
  4.7 / 5
Reliability
  4.7 / 5
Interior
  4.7 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.8 / 5

By Daniel 10/4/2017 5:46:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
i chose this vehicle because of it's safety ratings, I personally have been in a Nissan Altima when it was in a spin at 70 miles per hour and the handling was awesome, did not flip, the mileage is great, 37-39 MPG on the open highway! The interior is very nice and comfortable! Very little maintenance is needed! The power in a quick take off is great! Handles beautiful in curves!
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Veronica 10/2/2017 6:07:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
If your looking for a luxury car that's comfortable, great on gas, has trunk space amd can fit four kids , do not go looking any where else and it also has great features, bluetooth, hands free, and rear camera for when your backing up or parallel parking.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Pedro J 8/29/2017 8:02:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Very happy with the car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/29/2017 3:47:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Get to know your car before you drive it off the lot and ask questions about your car feel comforted
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Nick 8/29/2017 6:48:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I am very satisfied with this vehicle. It looks great on the outside and interior and is very comfortable to drive for long trips. It has decent acceleration and good fuel economy. The cruise control is also very nice because it slows down for you if you are approaching another vehicle. The only negatives are the limited adjustments of the equalizer on the sound system and the absence of the lane departure warning feature. I would have liked it if they had included the feature that tries to keep you in the lane unless the turn signal is on and would like to have the vented seats like the Malibu has. Overall even with the shortcomings on the technology package I am still very happy with it and don't regret the decision to purchase this car at all.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Tena 8/28/2017 7:10:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I would rate my vehicle a 4.5 out of 5. I really love my Nissan Altima, in fact it is my third one and my children still drive my older ones. The best thing about it is the gas mileage, I drive around 106 miles daily for work and this is a critical feature for me. I like not stopping for gas all the time. The size is perfect and is easy to manage, on the highway and in parking lots. These cars have been so reliable, never leave me stranded, special thanks for the automatic lights! The backup camera, standard now, is one of my favorite features, especially when parking. The only thing I feel that needs improvement is the noise barrier, external road noise can be loud. I will probably always own an Altima!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Irma P. 8/25/2017 4:26:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
It keeps a good space between cars when on cruse and saved us when an accident happened in front of us by breaking befor we even realized what was happening . We love this car !
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Elizabeth 8/22/2017 4:53:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
To be honest, I like pretty much everything about my '17 Altima SR. The seats are very comfortable.<br /> We no longer dread long trips. In fact, it would be quite easy to fall asleep in the seats. Power is good, it's easy to pass cars if needed. There is plenty of passenger room as well as trunk space (that thing is huge). The Altima rides well and we experience no vibrations (other than what Michigan roads offer). Steering is responsive and braking is good. Styling of this car is what attracted us in the first place. The things I don't like are the limited availability of options for this trim level. I would have liked Android Auto and Navigation. All in all, we are happy with the purchase of our '17 Altima SR.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/22/2017 2:11:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
finally a car that I don't hit my head or knee when I get in or out of. Total class inside and out. And good gas mileage to boot.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jimmie 8/22/2017 5:35:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
This is my 4th Nissan and I have been very pleased with all of them. My Altima gives me 37 mpg in town and 40 hwy. It handles great and is very quiet on the road. The seating is very comfortable.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/21/2017 6:12:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.5 / 5
three stars<br /> Having purchased Nissans in the past I needed 2nd car for "station" use. I should have known a medium price car would be mediocre to drive.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Seyhan G. 8/21/2017 5:53:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
ITS COMFORTABLE,DEPENDABLE,GREAT DESIGN,REASONABLE PRICE,GOOD FINANCING LEASING OPTIONS,SERVICE DEPARTMENT GREAT.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kayla 8/21/2017 3:07:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I love my Nissan Altima! The gas mileage is great. I also love the additional safety features that are added on to this car. I can't say enough great things about it.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By John 8/20/2017 10:01:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Nissan Altima is the fifth Nissan that I have owned and have had no significant problems with any of them. The first Nissan Maxima that I owned was a 2007 model and between my son and I we drove it for 160,000 miles.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Donna 8/20/2017 6:21:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Love my Altima! The gas mileage is even better than they said. I feel safe and comfortable in my car. I plan on leasing another one when this lease is up!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sonya G 8/19/2017 9:38:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The vehicle is amazing and has given me everything I need in a car. Best Feature - bluetooth feature with phone pairing.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By tom 8/18/2017 1:56:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
exception handling. Best features - all
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Terry 8/12/2017 12:00:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Very good vehicle for the price.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bob 8/2/2017 10:17:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Our Nissan Altima is an outstanding car. The new safety innovations are truly outstanding namely the intelligent cruise control and blind sight notification system. Car styling and drive are very good. There are a few minor issues namely that the gas mileage is a little overstated and the drive is a bit noisey plus some wind noise when driving.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ronald B 7/28/2017 1:23:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The 2017 Altima SR is a nice ride the gas mileage and new sporty look is awesome. I would recommend the car to anyone.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bill 7/27/2017 7:04:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Altima SR ""Midnight Special"" edition has a sporty look - black rims gunmetal exterior and racy curves: it looks like it belongs on a track. Great pick up with a smooth ride. It handles with the race car feel of most car commercials for higher end luxury cars (Infiniti/Lexus). I'm 55 and I feel younger driving it. I've actually lost weight to match the persona my car projects. bought a cross trainer to do it. It also has great 'grown-up' amenities: a backup camera & I can listen to Audible books from my Bluetooth enabled stereo system. Superior air conditioning to any car I have owned before. Tire pressure gauge lets me know if its low which I often forget to check. Roomy trunk space. Practical and fun! What more could you ask for in a car? Haven't been this excited about a car since I got my first one at 16.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Nissan Altima.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
5 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Nissan Altima 2017.5 2.5 S Sedan local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.