2017 Nissan Altima Reviews and Ratings

2.5 Sedan

Best Performance and Design
J.D. Power Award

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Nissan Altima.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (21)
Overall Rating
  4.7 / 5
Reliability
  4.7 / 5
Interior
  4.7 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.8 / 5

By Daniel 10/4/2017 5:46:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
i chose this vehicle because of it's safety ratings, I personally have been in a Nissan Altima when it was in a spin at 70 miles per hour and the handling was awesome, did not flip, the mileage is great, 37-39 MPG on the open highway! The interior is very nice and comfortable! Very little maintenance is needed! The power in a quick take off is great! Handles beautiful in curves!
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Veronica 10/2/2017 6:07:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
If your looking for a luxury car that's comfortable, great on gas, has trunk space amd can fit four kids , do not go looking any where else and it also has great features, bluetooth, hands free, and rear camera for when your backing up or parallel parking.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Pedro J 8/29/2017 8:02:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Very happy with the car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/29/2017 3:47:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Get to know your car before you drive it off the lot and ask questions about your car feel comforted
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Nick 8/29/2017 6:48:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I am very satisfied with this vehicle. It looks great on the outside and interior and is very comfortable to drive for long trips. It has decent acceleration and good fuel economy. The cruise control is also very nice because it slows down for you if you are approaching another vehicle. The only negatives are the limited adjustments of the equalizer on the sound system and the absence of the lane departure warning feature. I would have liked it if they had included the feature that tries to keep you in the lane unless the turn signal is on and would like to have the vented seats like the Malibu has. Overall even with the shortcomings on the technology package I am still very happy with it and don't regret the decision to purchase this car at all.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Tena 8/28/2017 7:10:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I would rate my vehicle a 4.5 out of 5. I really love my Nissan Altima, in fact it is my third one and my children still drive my older ones. The best thing about it is the gas mileage, I drive around 106 miles daily for work and this is a critical feature for me. I like not stopping for gas all the time. The size is perfect and is easy to manage, on the highway and in parking lots. These cars have been so reliable, never leave me stranded, special thanks for the automatic lights! The backup camera, standard now, is one of my favorite features, especially when parking. The only thing I feel that needs improvement is the noise barrier, external road noise can be loud. I will probably always own an Altima!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Irma P. 8/25/2017 4:26:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
It keeps a good space between cars when on cruse and saved us when an accident happened in front of us by breaking befor we even realized what was happening . We love this car !
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Elizabeth 8/22/2017 4:53:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
To be honest, I like pretty much everything about my '17 Altima SR. The seats are very comfortable.<br /> We no longer dread long trips. In fact, it would be quite easy to fall asleep in the seats. Power is good, it's easy to pass cars if needed. There is plenty of passenger room as well as trunk space (that thing is huge). The Altima rides well and we experience no vibrations (other than what Michigan roads offer). Steering is responsive and braking is good. Styling of this car is what attracted us in the first place. The things I don't like are the limited availability of options for this trim level. I would have liked Android Auto and Navigation. All in all, we are happy with the purchase of our '17 Altima SR.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/22/2017 2:11:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
finally a car that I don't hit my head or knee when I get in or out of. Total class inside and out. And good gas mileage to boot.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jimmie 8/22/2017 5:35:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
This is my 4th Nissan and I have been very pleased with all of them. My Altima gives me 37 mpg in town and 40 hwy. It handles great and is very quiet on the road. The seating is very comfortable.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/21/2017 6:12:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.5 / 5
three stars<br /> Having purchased Nissans in the past I needed 2nd car for "station" use. I should have known a medium price car would be mediocre to drive.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Seyhan G. 8/21/2017 5:53:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
ITS COMFORTABLE,DEPENDABLE,GREAT DESIGN,REASONABLE PRICE,GOOD FINANCING LEASING OPTIONS,SERVICE DEPARTMENT GREAT.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kayla 8/21/2017 3:07:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I love my Nissan Altima! The gas mileage is great. I also love the additional safety features that are added on to this car. I can't say enough great things about it.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By John 8/20/2017 10:01:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Nissan Altima is the fifth Nissan that I have owned and have had no significant problems with any of them. The first Nissan Maxima that I owned was a 2007 model and between my son and I we drove it for 160,000 miles.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Donna 8/20/2017 6:21:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Love my Altima! The gas mileage is even better than they said. I feel safe and comfortable in my car. I plan on leasing another one when this lease is up!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sonya G 8/19/2017 9:38:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The vehicle is amazing and has given me everything I need in a car. Best Feature - bluetooth feature with phone pairing.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By tom 8/18/2017 1:56:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
exception handling. Best features - all
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Terry 8/12/2017 12:00:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Very good vehicle for the price.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bob 8/2/2017 10:17:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Our Nissan Altima is an outstanding car. The new safety innovations are truly outstanding namely the intelligent cruise control and blind sight notification system. Car styling and drive are very good. There are a few minor issues namely that the gas mileage is a little overstated and the drive is a bit noisey plus some wind noise when driving.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ronald B 7/28/2017 1:23:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The 2017 Altima SR is a nice ride the gas mileage and new sporty look is awesome. I would recommend the car to anyone.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bill 7/27/2017 7:04:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Altima SR ""Midnight Special"" edition has a sporty look - black rims gunmetal exterior and racy curves: it looks like it belongs on a track. Great pick up with a smooth ride. It handles with the race car feel of most car commercials for higher end luxury cars (Infiniti/Lexus). I'm 55 and I feel younger driving it. I've actually lost weight to match the persona my car projects. bought a cross trainer to do it. It also has great 'grown-up' amenities: a backup camera & I can listen to Audible books from my Bluetooth enabled stereo system. Superior air conditioning to any car I have owned before. Tire pressure gauge lets me know if its low which I often forget to check. Roomy trunk space. Practical and fun! What more could you ask for in a car? Haven't been this excited about a car since I got my first one at 16.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Nissan Altima
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Nissan Altima is a roomy midsize sedan. Still one of America’s top-selling cars in the segment, the Altima has been part of Nissan’s lineup since 1993. Except for some infotainment upgrades, nothing has changed for the 2017 model year. A Midnight Edition package, including black wheels and rear spoiler, is now available.

Unlike some midsize sedans, the Altima can have either four-cylinder or V6 power. Five trim levels are offered: base, S, SV, sporty SR, and top-shelf SL. Each comes standard with a 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine, making 179 horsepower. Fuel economy on the highway is rated by EPA at an impressive 39 mpg.

Only Altima SR and Altima SL sedans offer the 3.5-liter V6, which develops 270 horsepower and 251 pound-feet of torque.

Both engines mate with a continuously variable transmission (CVT), which is tuned for peak efficiency. With V6 power, the CVT can provide virtual gear ratios, mimicking a conventional automatic.

Not much is included with the base sedan, but the S model adds a proximity key and a 5-inch color LCD screen for the audio system. Altima SR features upgraded suspension tuning and bigger alloy wheels, suggesting a modest revival of the sporty nature that marked early Altimas. SV, the mainstream model, adds blind-spot monitoring and remote engine start. Leather upholstery and Bose speakers are among the premium extras in SL trim level.

All Altimas have a 4-inch LCD information screen ahead of the driver, as well as Bluetooth audio streaming. Nissan’s navigation system, available for SV and SL versions, gets a 7-inch video screen and a selection of smartphone apps.

Named a Top Safety Pick+ by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, the Altima earned five stars from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for its frontal and side-impact crash testing. A four-star rating was given for rollover resistance (a calculated figure).

Availability of advanced safety technology isn’t quite as impressive. Only the SL edition can be equipped with forward-collision warning that includes automatic emergency braking, for instance, and it comes in a costly option group. With the optional Tech Package, the Altima earned a Superior score from IIHS for frontal crash protection.

Still, Nissan offers a number of safety items, including blind-spot monitoring, rear cross-traffic alert, and adaptive cruise control. A rearview camera is standard on all but the base model.

Model Lineup

Altima 2.5 ($22,500), the base sedan, comes with the 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine, four-speaker audio, woven fabric seats, power windows/locks, and 16-inch steel wheels. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.) Altima 2.5 S ($22,900) adds a rearview camera, steering-wheel controls, six-speaker audio, and pushbutton start.

Altima 2.5 SR ($24,470), the sporty trim level, includes special suspension tuning, 18-inch alloy wheels, and a power driver’s seat. Design upgrades give the SR a somewhat distinctive appearance. Altima 3.5 SR ($27,990) is equipped similar to 2.5 SR, but with the V6 and LED headlights.

Altima 2.5 SV ($25,460) adds to S-model equipment such features as a power driver’s seat, 17-inch alloy wheels, blind-spot monitoring, and rear cross-traffic alert.

Altima 2.5 SL ($28,570) features leather seat trim, a power passenger’s seat, 18-inch alloy wheels, and Bose speakers. Adaptive cruise control, automatic braking, and navigation come in a Technology Package. Altima 3.5 SL ($32,690) is similar to 2.5 SL, but with V6 engine.

Walkaround

Despite revised styling for 2016, the Altima falls short on visual flair. While clearly worthy of consideration for its road behavior, it’s largely inconspicuous.

For plenty of midsize-sedan buyers, of course, that’s not a drawback at all. While exhibiting a pattern of external bulges, the Altima is nevertheless cleanly designed. The sporty SR trim level derives a somewhat different look from smoked headlight housings, a deck lid spoiler, fog lamps, and distinctly styled wheels.

Interior

Controls are easy to reach and logically positioned on the Altima’s nicely shaped dashboard, helping to give the cabin a well-balanced and symmetrical, if somewhat bland, appearance. Interior materials are largely soft-touch, besting those used on several competitors. A big storage bin sits within the wide center console.

Optional leather upholstery on upper trim levels adds an appealing luxury factor. Still, the interior fails to come across as upscale or stimulating.

Impressively spacious overall, the Altima provides ample room in the back seat, thanks in part to the relatively long wheelbase. Dimensionally, though, rear legroom ranks around average for the midsize class, and passenger feet might not slide easily beneath the front seats. Most heads won’t contact the headliner.

Comfortable Zero Gravity front seats, initially designed in accord with recommendations by NASA, offer plenty of head and leg space, even for a taller driver. Knee space is a tad limited by the dashboard. Acoustic glass and ample sound-deadening help keep the sedan pleasantly quiet. Measuring 15.4 cubic feet, trunk space ranks close to average.

Driving Impressions

A few years back, Altimas were known for relatively sporty behavior. Nowadays, they promise refined ride quality, but don’t stray far from the midsize pack in terms of driving dynamics. Most buyers aren’t likely to feel deprived, appreciating the sedan’s quiet comfort.

Even in SR trim; an Altima cannot accurately be called sporty or particularly stimulating. Still, the SR, turbocharged or not, differs markedly from other Altima models. Stabilizers bars are thicker on the SR, and dampers stiffer. The suspension provides a welcome balance between passenger comfort and firm handling, without turning stiff. Other versions can yield a sense of floatiness when rolling through rough pavement.

Electro-hydraulic power steering tends to be slow, with excessive slack, though sufficiently precise. Brakes are effective, with good pedal feel.

The four-cylinder engine is wholly adequate and impressively thrifty. Acceleration is swifter with the V6, but that engine can sound a bit hoarse at lower speeds. On the highway, it’s louder than expected in a sedan that’s known for sedate travel.

Nissan has been a leader in CVTs, and the Altima version is impressively smooth as well as responsive. Using the virtual gear ratios in V6 and 2.5 SR models can reduce the tendency of the engine to run at high rpm, which otherwise yields a droning sensation.

Nissan’s frugal four-cylinder powertrain is EPA-rated at 27/39 mpg City/Highway, or 31 mpg Combined. The SR drops to 26/37/30 mpg. A V6 Altima is EPA-rated at 22/32 mpg City/Highway, or 26 mpg Combined.

Summary

Nissan Altima remains a fine mainstream choice in the midsize category, though some competitors offer considerably more modern technology. Choices range from a fleet-oriented four-cylinder base model, up to a V6-powered SL that blends energetic responses with luxury fittings. Even the lower Altima trim levels are better-equipped than might be expected.

Driving impressions by Andrew Ganz, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
5 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Nissan Altima 2.5 Sedan local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.