Consumer Reviews
4.3
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
14 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
PK
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 04, 2017
9,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
my Mercedes GLS 450 is beautiful and comfortable. It rides smooth and goes when I want it to go. It has comforts like drink holders that keep your coffee warm or water cool. It is very quiet. The back stores a lot. I can keep golf clubs in there all summer and still have room for stuff. I love it.
Dave
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 04, 2017
5,600 miles
|
Owned 11 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The GLS 550 rides beautiful, however, it is by no way user friendly as as features. The germans just cant make things easy. The buttons have no meaning to me. My new Ram 1500 is so much more user friendly. The GLS bluetooth lacks greatly compared to my other american made cars. Considering the size, storage, ie center console, glove box, door panel lacks greatly compared to a similiar vehicle. I would never spend this kind of money again for a Benz.
js
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 08, 2017
8,700 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"The 2017 GLS 63 AMG S is a fantastic SUV and sports car in one vehicle. The power to weight ratio is very satisfying on the corners and on the highways at speed. Acceleration and torque are nice to feel in a heavy SUV. Cornering is very tight. The electronics seem a bit clumsy and dated compared to other in car systems like Chevy and Ford. The voice command feature truly sucks as it struggles with commands especially phone and text commands. The mouse, wheel and menu control is fine but the lack of inspiration on the screen is frustrating. I am not happy with the tire war on this car as MB tends to use Pirelli or Continental tires that are way too soft. Expect to change tires every 10-13k miles even with loving non-aggressive driving. Expect to pay 2200-2500 per set. No other complaints."
Robert
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
3,200 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Fit and finish are excellent. Ride quality and handling are also impressive. Love the safety technology - though it takes getting used to as the vehicle will attempt to keep you in a lane if you drift without signaling. Trusting the self steering and automatic distance control on cruise took some time.
William
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 29, 2017
5,400 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Just a joy to drive Look forward to driving trips Smooth ride. Excellent feel in steering wheel good gas mileage
Saul
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 28, 2017
6,800 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have had a very good experience with the car, the drive of the SUV is very smooth and quiet interior. Have a lot of room for the kids and dog which is great. Im a bit disappointed with the center Navigational and Entertainment portion. Otherwise I am happy with the purchase.
Mondavi H
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 27, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The integrity of the team at Mercedes Benzes is instutialized as a greater sum, and there quest to be a clear choice is without question.
Steve
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought this truck due to the cargo and people capacity, and also because my prior truck did not have the latest safety features. I chose a larger engine size (550) for the quicker acceleration. On the way home from the dealership (i.e. within the first 10 miles) on a highway, the vehicle lurched sideways and gave me a warning message regarding the active roll bars--not a very safe situation. I immediately called the dealer, but they couldn't help over the phone, so I had to bring the car back to the service department the next day; they couldn't find the problem, but they bled the system and replaced the fluid. A couple of weeks later, I received a coolant error message, and I noticed that the wood trim on the driver's door was cracked in a strange curved pattern, without any prior impact. I scheduled an appointment and brought it back. They topped off the coolant and ordered replacement trim. Overall, extremely poor initial quality for such an expensive vehicle from a prestigious brand. After driving the vehicle on some longer trips (~2 hours), I found that the vehicle was uncomfortable due to the placement of the pedals too far to the left (to clear the center console), leading to twisting of my hips and back while driving. My wife and I also became nauseous after being in the vehicle for longer periods. After 7 months, I traded in the vehicle for something else.
Kathleen E
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
15,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Extremely comfortable and roomy. Has a lot of cargo space. For those that like technology, this car has it all. Great driving experience!
Anton
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We heard alot about the GLS MB but when we drove it, we quickly realized what a ride, we love it, won't trade it for anything.
Michael
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
2,099 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Powerfull and we'll built vehicle. This vehicle is a pleasure to drive. It's performance is second to none.
Kevin
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
4,300 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Mercedes is a high quality brand; excellent product. Sales and service exceeds my expectations. Staff is very experienced.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 17, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It is an excellent vehicle. I purchase the vehicle because of the brand name associated with it. I will buy the same vehicle again.
ACE
March 24, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
You get what you pay for. Get the GLS 450 since there is no 350 D on the market. Best SUV in that class. Dont waste your cash on the 550, if u do get the amg if cash is no issue.
2017 Mercedes-Benz 1115 GLS 29305 384020
Write a Review for the 2017 Mercedes-Benz GLS
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Mercedes-Benz GLS SUV, a three-row flagship, was until last year known as simply the GL, but the S was added to its name to raise its stature, make it sound more like the S-Class sedans, because Mercedes-Benz considers it to be the S-Class of SUVs.

We think it’s close, but not quite. Not even with 2017 changes to styling, cabin, infotainment, and powertrain, a new 9-speed automatic transmission intended to boost the fuel mileage a bit.

We drove the new GLS in the Austrian Alps, where we found it to be relatively nimble in the tight curves, despite its size, nearly 17 feet long. Its ride is smooth on standard air suspension, and it handles like a much smaller vehicle.

There are four models, three of them with 4MATIC all-wheel drive, each with a different engine: one diesel, one V6 and two V8s, all turbocharged. They are the GLS 350d 4MATIC, GLS 450 4MATIC, GLS 550 4MATIC, and the AMG GLS63 uber-performance sports SUV.

The GLS 350d uses a 3.0-liter V6 turbodiesel making 255 horsepower and 455 pound-feet of torque. The GLS 450 uses a twin-turbocharged 3.0-liter V6 making 362 hp and 369 lb-ft. The GLS 550 uses a 4.7-liter twin-turbo V8 making 449 horsepower and 516 pound-feet; it’s the tow master of the line, if not the class. And if you want to give six young soccer players a real thrill, pack them into the 577-horsepower AMG GLS 63, and hammer the throttle so they can feel 561 pound-feet of torque under their butts, and hear the howl of its 5.5-liter twin-turbo V8.

There is an available offroad package that raises the ground clearance from 8.5 to 12.0 inches. So it can look brutal: way big and way high.

The GLS offers room in all three rows, a rare thing with any SUV; in fact, two six-footers can fit in the third-row seat, with adequate headroom and legroom, although it will take some agility to get back there. The 50/50 third row folds on each side with the push of a power button, and when the second row is also folded (manual or power), there’s almost as much cargo space as a Cadillac Escalade with long wheelbase.

The GLS350d, with its diesel engine, gets the best mileage of the models, EPA-rated at 22 miles per gallon Combined city and highway. The GLS450 with its V6 gets 17/22/19 mpg City/Highway/Combined. The GLS550 with its V8 is rated 14/18/16 mpg, and the AMG GLS63 gets just 14 miles per gallon Combined, but what do you expect with 577 humongous horsepower?

The government and insurance industry haven’t crash-tested the GLS-Class because of its low volume, but there’s little doubt that it won’t come out ahead in a crash with another vehicle, or maybe even a brick wall. Standard safety equipment includes six airbags in front, side curtain airbags extending to the third row, and the Collision Prevention Assist Plus program, that warns the driver of a possible crash with an object ahead, and applies the brakes if the driver doesn’t respond quickly enough.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Mercedes-Benz GLS-Class includes the GLS350d, GLS450, GLS550, AMG GLS63.

Optional safety systems include Active Blind-Spot Assist, Active Lane Keeping Assist that tugs on the steering wheel when sensors think you’re wandering, and automatic braking for pedestrians you might miss.

Optional opulent features include heated and cooled cupholders, ventilated front seats, designo leather upholstery, and Harman/Kardon or Bang & Olufsen sound systems.

Walkaround

The 2017 change to the face of the GLS makes it look bolder, with a wider grille with two bars that look like a biplane wing, a bigger three-point star emblem, racier air dam, two long power bulges on the hood, and more aggressively sculpted fenders.

But it still looks dated, the same upright boxy shape with vertical tailgate that’s been there for five years. At least the styling shows more class and less chrome than some luxury SUVs.

The lights (front and rear), bumpers, and alloy wheels are also redesigned for 2017. Taillamps and DRLs are now LED.

The GLS 550 has fender flares around 21-inch wheels, while the AMG GLS 63 has its own body pieces. There are exterior packages that add things like aprons, running boards, and side flaps that don’t sound very Mercedes-like to us.

Interior

The cabin of the GLS cavernous, comfortable, and almost as versatile as a minivan while being far more luxurious. The textures and trim are tops. The interior palette ranges from black leather with piano black dash to Ginger Beige and Espresso Brown. Lighter shades of leather and trim make the cabin feel more airy, as does the optional glass sunroof that’s so big it extends over the rear seat.

The instrument panel, console, steering wheel and display screen have been redesigned. The screen now rises from the dash like other Mercedes cars and SUVs. There are two large all-digital instruments behind the steering wheel, separated by a smaller info panel. The COMAND system infotainment knob is on the center console. The metal-trimmed vents stand out for their rectangularity, as most new vehicles have round vents nowadays.

The front seats are supremely comfortable, with standard heat and eight-way power. Available comforts include four modes shiatsu-while-you-drive, from slow to fast and vigorous.

Wide rear doors make it easy to climb in and out. The second row flips and folds with a feature called Easy Entry, either a manual handle or power actuator that’s noisier than we would expect from a Mercedes. With the seats up there’s only 16 cubic feet of cargo seat in back, but with the third-row down there’s 49.4 cubic feet.

With the 50/50 split power-folding third row of seats up, the GLS has a modest 16 cubic feet of cargo space. Flip them forward and that rises to 49.4 cubic feet, and with both rows folded there’s a very spacious 93.8 cubic feet.

The GLS is quiet inside at 70 mph, despite its blocky aerodynamics. Even the open sunroof doesn’t add much wind noise.

Driving Impressions

The GLS-Class is one of the most composed full-size SUVs on the planet. On the road, it doesn’t feel 17 feet long, for sure. It feels almost like a C-Class sedan. Its standard Airmatic air suspension delivers a soft ride, better than the Escalade or any SUV with a live rear axle, and especially in Comfort, the default mode.

In the parking lot, you’ll know for sure it’s 17 feet long. However its light steering makes it easy to maneuver, and its 40.7-foot turning circle is tight for its size. In the Austrian Alps, where we drove the new GLS, we could toss it around the climbing hairpin turns. There is some body roll, but there’s an optional Active Curve system that electronically stiffens the front and rear anti-roll bars. We drove a model with this system, and found we preferred the GLS without it, because it felt more natural.

We also prefer the standard 19-inch wheels and tires, rather than the big wheels with low-profile tires that add bounce. The variable-ratio steering on standard wheels and tires doesn’t deliver a lot of feedback, but its resistance is about right.

The three all-wheel-drive 4MATIC models use the new 9-speed automatic transmission, but the powerful AMG GLS63 needs the beefier and older 7-speed automatic. There’s some turbo lag in all of the engines, and the 9-speed uses that lag time to kick down two or three gears when you floor it, for example on a freeway onramp. The tall ninth gear keeps the rpm below 2000 at freeway speeds.

The Dynamic Select dial enables five drive modes. There’s Comfort, Sport, Slippery (we like the name of that one), Off-Road, and Individual, to mix the functions to personal preferences. We think this last one is overkill, a bit complex for owners, and too precise because road surfaces change so quickly.

The available Off-Road Engineering package adds a sixth mode, Off-Road+, with a locking center differential and additional reduction gear to enable a crawl over rocky ground. It also lifts the GLS-Class to one foot of ground clearance.

Comfort is the default mode, and it’s a good one, for family trips and good fuel economy. But we loved Sport mode in the Alps; it gives a bunch more power, stiffens up the suspension, and makes the steering heavier and tighter.

We used Slippery mode as well, facing some icy roads and snowy Tyrolean mountain trails. Our GLS was confident and sure-footed, running down hills at 25 to 35 mph in rutted snow, as the anti-lock brakes stopped the big SUV quickly. Thanks to its sophisticated electronics controlling the vehicle’s power and traction delivery, the GLS will be safer in American winters than just about any vehicle we can think of.

Summary

The Mercedes-Benz GLS-Class is not without competitors for the crown of ultimate full-size luxury SUV, but when you look at each category, it’s consistently up there. Four engine choices give it versatility, four entrants in sub-categories. We can’t see any dealbreakers, except maybe price.

Driving impressions by The Car Connection.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Mercedes-Benz listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Mercedes-Benz listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Mercedes-Benz GLS
1217
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel