2017 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Reviews and Ratings

E 400 4MATIC Coupe

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Mercedes-Benz E-Class.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (19)
Overall Rating
  4.5 / 5
Reliability
  4.7 / 5
Interior
  4.4 / 5
Exterior
  4.4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By Ingrid 10/2/2017 12:48:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  3.6 / 5
I miss having a CD Player.I wish they would put a C D Player. I'm thinking of a car witha spear tire & CD player
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  2 / 5
Exterior
  2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Michael 9/28/2017 1:33:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I am very happy with my purchase of the new E-Class. The technology is truly superb and after a minor adjustment to the user interface, it is very intuitive and user friendly. Really like the touchpads on the steering wheel and the volume control in the center console. Safety features are top notch and truly make me feel I am safer as I drive. Lastly, build quality is exactly what I've come to expect from Mercedes Benz. .
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Johnnie 8/29/2017 6:44:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Everything about my car is exceptional. The technology is easy to use and affords exceptional safety features. If I have trouble, Mercedes is there quickly with just a touch of a button. The car is beautiful but more importantly a pleasure to drive and makes me feel secure. We started driving Mercedes 40 years ago and have strayed for 3 times, only to sell those mistakes quickly and come running back to the MB.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bernie 8/29/2017 1:34:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
This vehicle is the 5th MB that I have purchased new and the decision came down to Safety. Being retired and over 65 I was looking for something similar to my other Benz vehicles yet providing me with a host of new safety features. I was also looking for a vehicle that retained that comfortable ride of my other cars. In the end it was Safety that sold me on this car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Anonymous 8/29/2017 8:49:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Outstanding engineering. However I find the styling a bit on the "common" side. The options are expensive and many are not necessary for my needs.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Steven H. 8/24/2017 12:50:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
If you like all the bells and whistles Tech wise, this is the vehicle for you. There is a learning curve to the tech part and the dealer needs to be pushed to help at Mercedes.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By John 8/24/2017 10:19:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
I'm not sure what other car I would drive other than a Mercedes-Benz. My previous one had a V-8 engine and thought I would be losing power going to a 4-cylinder turbo; I was wrong. This car has performance. My only gripe is that the Apple Car Play seems to be hit or miss with performance. Intermittent problems with my screen going out totally while music plays. However, this car has the perfect blend of comfort and performance.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/23/2017 9:27:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Mercedes Benz is a very nice car providing safety, luxury and convenience. I have been very satisfied with all of my Mercedes Benz purchases.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jenkins 8/22/2017 2:48:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Before buying the Mercedes E 300 I also looked at BMW, Maserati, Tesla and Jaguar. In my opinion the Mercedes has better handling, better interior and more advanced technology.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/20/2017 5:33:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
That it is dependable
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Scott 8/18/2017 2:06:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
This is my sixth Mercedes. I was leery of purchasing a 4 cylinder engine, but the twin turbo's give it more power than it needs and the gas mileage compared to my previous 5 Mercedes is off the chart. Mercedes tend to be heavier and have solid handling. This car is just as massive but the handling can only be described as spritely. It is as responsive as any car I have driven and my other ride is a BMW. This car is such a pleasure to be in that we use it to run errands. We have had it out on three extended road trips and have arrived at destinations and back home with zero road fatigue. I'd rather be in this car than in my favorite chair at home.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Delta 8/12/2017 8:39:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love this car!!! We insisted on the option3 package which is a must. The seats are not only comfortable they actually give you a massage. The automatic braking is excellent as is the feature that keeps you in your lane. I strongly recommend the extended driving screen, you can configure which features display and the amount of detail for each feature. I also enjoy the heads up display which allows me to know my speed at all times. The auto park is cool but it takes waaaay too long to actually use in a parking lot. We also find that the adaptive cruise control receives bad speed limit data and will slam on the breaks because it thinks the speed limit on the Interstate slowed from 70mph to 15 mph. I'm afraid I'm going to get rear ended, I only use about 1/3 of the technology. I also find the Mercedes interface is not nearly as intuitive as the pervious 4 Lexus's we have owned. Overall the car is sharp looking, comfortable, gets great gas mileage and the valets all fight to drive it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By David 8/11/2017 12:31:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Very pleased with the E300 purchase. Exactly what I wanted from a luxury vehicle inside and out. Styling and performance are both outstanding. I knew MB's were safe, but the latest safety features have really impressed my wife and me.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Dayo B. 8/10/2017 11:45:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Outstanding. Pros: interior lighting
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Harry 8/7/2017 9:04:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I ordered my E300 with luxury package and many safety comfort and styling options. I have driven the car in all of Wisconsin's the road conditions and can say that I have never had a vehicle that reacts to the road conditions like this car does. I'm 72 years old and I have driven it three times to my daughter's home 680 miles away in 9 1/2 hours in comfort. On my last trip home I got a little better than 35 miles per gallon which is much better than the rating. My passengers always comment on the quiet comfortable ride. I'm not a salesman but I think I could sale the 2017 Mercedes Benz E300.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 7/29/2017 5:21:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This vehicle has exceeded my expectations. It has all the latest technology combined with quality and good looks.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By John 7/28/2017 9:18:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.9 / 5
No owners manual ! All the buttons and electronics are confusing. Saying to use a stupid website for an owners manual is just plain stupid and is cheap !
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Anonymous 7/27/2017 7:07:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
great car drives well and has some awesome technology/features. Pros: performance safety and computer operating system and displays. Cons: windshield wipers
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Scott 7/27/2017 4:43:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
For me this car was uncomfortable. I have had back problems and surgery. After driving for 30 minutes it becomes unpleasant. The seat bolsters inhibit the ability to adjust position in the seat (e.g. lean on the arm rest). You are pretty much placed in the same position and not able to adjust. Did not know this from a basic test drive.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Sam Moses

Introduction

The 2017 Mercedes-Benz E300 sedan is all new. It’s bigger, better looking, more efficient and more substantial than before. It’s more technologically advanced than the flagship S-Class, with more infotainment and safety equipment. The E300 can practically drive itself.

Competitors like the Audi A6, BMW 5 Series, Lexus GS, Jaguar XF, and Cadillac CTS can’t do that, although the American Tesla Model S can.

The 2017 E300 sedan is the first of the all-new E-Class. It will be followed by an all-new 2017 E-Class Wagon. The E-Class coupe and convertible continue in the form of the previous generation. We have seat time in the new E300 in heavy traffic outside Lisbon, Portugal, and freeway traffic outside San Francisco.

The new Mercedes-Benz E-Class sedan grows by 1.7 inches to 193.8 inches long, with a wheelbase that’s 2.6 inches longer, at 115.7 inches. It weighs about two tons, and would weigh more if it weren’t for the body’s aluminum panels and higher-strength steel.

For now, the new E-Class sedan has just one engine and transmission, the E300 with a 2.0-liter turbocharged four-cylinder making 241 horsepower and 273 pound-feet of torque, mated to a 9-speed automatic. Rear-wheel drive is standard, 4MATIC all-wheel drive available.

The 2017 E300 is fairly quick, able to accelerate from zero to sixty in 6.2 seconds (on the way to 130 mph), but it’s also gruff. The outgoing silky V6 engine the four-cylinder turbo replaces will be missed.

Two suspensions are available for the E300, and the handling varies with them. There is a firm multi-link suspension with adaptive dampers in either base or sport (firmer) tune, or an air suspension with adaptive dampers. In addition to that, the wheel sizes range from 17 to 20 inches, mounted with different tires. It’s not your father’s E300.

Driving systems with modes are also available: economy, comfort, sport and sport plus, that alter the suspension, steering, transmission, and throttle.

The 2017 E300 hasn’t been crash-tested by the government or insurance industry yet. However, crash ratings nowadays take into consideration not just crashworthiness, but crash-prevention features. Which is subjective. For example, the new E-Class will change lanes on its own, after the turn signal is on for two seconds. This is a good thing? Why? Can anyone besides us see the problems with that? Starting with maybe you want to give the person behind you more than two seconds’ notice. The government and insurance industry might say it’s safer than the driver making the decision to change lanes when he or she sees that it’s safe.

Other safety equipment includes the car telling you when it thinks it’s time for you to take a coffee break; a shriek when it thinks you’re going to crash, followed by automatic braking; maintaining an exact distance to the car in front of you at 130 mph like a NASCAR driver, meaning the guy in front of you has his feet on your pedals. When he floors it at 10 mph, your car does; when he slams on the brakes, your car does.

Another issue is inconsistency; the auto-driving turns itself off after about 20 seconds, maybe in the middle of your thinking it’s driving for you. And the cameras that see the white lines at the edge of the road can’t see a white line that’s faded. So you might think it will keep you from running off the road, but it only keeps you from running over visible white lines. It only knows a road is a road by the paint.

Meanwhile, there are potential virtues. A new system hits the brakes if you don’t see oncoming cross-traffic, preventing you from being T-boned or T-boning another.

It will park or unpark itself using a smartphone app. And there’s a trigger that will inflate a seat bolster that shoves the passenger three inches farther away from impact.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Mercedes-Benz E300 ($52,150) comes in Luxury and Sport models, with rear-wheel drive or E300 4MATIC ($54,650) with four-wheel drive.

Walkaround

Like the latest S-Class and C-Class, the new E-Class is balanced and handsome, with a long hood and short trunk. It looks more relaxed than the more compact C-Class. A deep line at the shoulders tapers under a carefully draped roofline, to the LED taillamps with a charming pattern Mercedes-Benz calls Stardust.

The Luxury model gets a tri-star badge mounted on the hood, while the Sport model gets it in the less flashy grille.

Interior

The E-Class cabin speaks in a rhythm of textures, wood and metallic weaves led by stitched and vividly colored leather rising and falling from the door panels to the center console. It glows under 64 shades of ambient lighting from ivory to purple, studded by circular air vents.

The dash can be dominated by twin high-rez 12.3-inch display screens that replace the gauges and controls, although most E300s will come with one screen and a handsome set of dials and climate switches underneath. In place of a shift lever, there’s a touch-sensitive control puck for the COMAND infotainment interface.

The couple inches of added wheelbase brings a bit more interior space. Front seats have lots of lumbar support, and available massage. Rear seat is also a bit bigger, with a middle armrest, cupholders, and available laptop holder.

There’s a choice of Burmester sound systems that use structural parts of the body as passive speakers. One has 23 speakers and 3D sound.

Driving Impressions

For now, the four-cylinder E300 is the only E-Class sedan. It’s no hot rod, but it is responsive, with its 273 pound-feet of torque coming on down low at 1300 rpm, giving good early acceleration. Its paddle-shifting 9-speed transmission helps keep it in the perfect spot of the powerband.

The 4MATIC all-wheel-drive system splits power front to rear at 45:55.

The standard suspension uses multi-links and adaptive dampers, and comes in base (firm) and sport (firmer) versions. A sport-tune steel suspension has a mildly firm setup, but the air suspension and driving modes give the E-Class breathtaking versatility. It can cruise with lots of suspension travel, slow and smooth shifts and light-touch steering in Comfort mode, or approach AMG levels of heft and stiffness when set in Sport+ mode.

The top suspension is called Air Body Control, and, coupled with the driving modes, gives the E300 vast versatility, so we recommend those options, along with 4MATIC all-wheel drive. They improve the car so much, we think they warrant the cost.

The air suspension system uses springs with two chambers per front strut and two chambers per rear strut; the chambers inflate and deflate at lightning speed based on sensor readings from the road. It lowers the ride height on the freeway for better aerodynamics and fuel mileage, and can raise it when more ground clearance is needed.

The modes are Comfort, Economy, Sport and Sport +. Comfort offers languid steering and shifting, and lengthy suspension travel. We often preferred Sport mode, which brings the best compromise of a good ride and quickness from the throttle, steering and transmission.

Summary

If you know you’ll be happy with a 2.0-liter four-cylinder, and won’t long for more power and smoothness later, then the E300 stays in the game. But look carefully at the electronic takeover of your steering wheel and pedals, before you think it’s a good idea to give them up to engineers who will never be in the car with you.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
2 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Mercedes-Benz E-Class E 400 4MATIC Coupe local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.